Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Criss Cross Stripe Maxi

Striped cotton maxi dress with gauzy cotton bottom hem. Crisscross straps in the back and halter neck ties. Crisscross straps are adjustable. Bottom hem is raw edge and frayed. Stud detailing at front of neckline where straps begin.
overall average rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Customer Reviews for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Review 1 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:NJ
age:14-20
body type:petite
LOVE THIS
3.4.2014
" i love free people, but as a college student paying for an expensive education i don't always get the chance to buy FP (price). I saw this dress at this amazing price and picked it up instantaneously!!! this dress is so cute belted or not belted, with beautiful detail and super comfy! definitely worth every penny! (if you're a small get an xs) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:Irvine ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Not really good for any shape or size
3.2.2014
" Not good for me.. Which I am curvy.. An Wear a "DD" bra..Not good for my daughter that is 100lbs (an not curvy at all)... "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:Missouri
age:31-35
body type:petite
Nice Dress
2.23.2014
" I ordered this dress in the pink, size x-small, based on previous reviews that the dress runs a bit large. I usually wear a small in free people tops/dresses. I am 5'2" and about 115 lbs. This dress is flowy and fun to wear. The fabric is soft and the adjustable straps give the dress some sexiness, esp. in the back, as it hangs low. Perfect dress for spring/summer months. I wore this dress to a pre-wedding dinner with sandals. I did not wear a bra though but there was enough fabric to cover everything. The hem is unfinished and makes for some threads hanging down. It's a keeper. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:Earth
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Pretty in Pink!
2.18.2014
" FInally an order comes, undamaged! This is ALOT OF DRESS! I ordered a small, usually wear a medium, and have enough dress for 2 people....BUT there is a lot that can be done with the dress. The tiny model in the picture has to have here dress clipped in the back, because even with a belt, there's still a lot of dress.....but again, it's really cute. I ordered it in pink. I'm 5'9, caramel complexion, and the color really looks great on. For $29.95 ( I LOVE a FP sale) I'm going to pair it with a brown belt and rock on with my bad self. You really don't have anything to lose ladies.....If all else fails, you can save it for a really cute maternity dress later in life. LOL. I dig it a lot. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:Queensland, Australia.
age:41-45
body type:slender
Comfy Dress.
1.27.2014
" This dress is a lovely colour (cranberry) and it's very true to the photo. The cranberry fabric is not see-through at all. It is a roomy fit, but looks good with a belt. I am always looking for dresses such as this, as I live in a hot climate. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:14-20
body type:athletic
I found this dress unique...
1.16.2014
" When I ordered this dress, I knew what I was getting, a tent. But it's way cooler than that, it's like a comfort zone of a dress that lets you wear it as it is or alter it if you choose. It doesn't have limits. I'm 5'11", so the length was great and I like it with or without a ribbon/belt. Yes it's huge but make the best of it! I can't wait for summer days where I can relax in my tent/blanket/dress and be stylish at the same time! The Cranberry color is elegant and it looks just like the picture! I would recommend this to everyone if you like comfort and style! Great Quality! Thank you, Free People! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:Missouri
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute, but not for me
12.30.2013
" The dress is see through as others have stated. I thought it was going to be really wide on me because I'm pretty petite (5'3' and 95 pounds). I saw some thought it was. I didn't mind it because I added a belt, but the threads at the bottom kept getting caught on my feet because it landed near my ankles on me. I'm afraid this dress just won't work for me, but it is simple and lovely in its own way. Probably looks great on anyone who is at least 5'6 or taller... "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:KS
age:26-30
body type:slender
Beautiful...but a lot of dress
4.10.2013
" This dress is really beautiful, but I agree with the last two reviews saying that it runs large. I’m 5’5” and 115lbs. I ordered the blue in XS and there is still TONS of room, so I would also suggest sizing down. At first I thought it was way too big for my frame, but it honestly fits like it does in the pictures and the length hits at the same place on my legs as it does on the model if not an inch or two lower. The adjustable straps as well as the halter tie are very helpful with the fit as you can adjust the top portion as low or as high as you need/feel comfortable with. The dress is not lined and you will probably need at least a skirt slip of some kind, but as far as the top portion goes I think you can get away without a bra, at least with the blue color, which is true to the photos. Overall I am happy with my purchase. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:New Braunfels, Texas
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Adorable and comfy
4.5.2013
" The dress is a very cute style but runs very large. It has a lot of material so I would go down at least one size from your normal FP size chart and possibly even two. Also both the white and the blue have a thinner material which is transparent in most lighting so you would most likely have to wear an undergarment of some type under the dress to prevent that. Overall cute and a decent price for a comfy summer look. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Criss Cross Stripe Maxi
Name:
Location:Charleston SC
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
eh
4.4.2013
" I knew this would either a) be an awesome go to that was super flattering or b) make me look heavy and formless - unfortunately it was the second. The material kind of bulged out rather than falling against my skin. Didn't work for me "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large