Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Spun Gold Top

Bohemian peasant blouse with pretty embroidered detailing. Keyhole opening at front of neckline with rope chord ties. Slightly oversized, babydoll fit. Sleeve hems are elastic. *100% Cotton *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 27 3/4" Bust (all around): 38 1/2" Sleeve Length: 23 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Spun Gold Top
Review 1 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Prettier online
3.23.2013
"I thought this blouse was really pretty when I pulled it out of the box today....... embroidery is really pretty (just the right amount -- not too much). Fabric is a little heavier than I imagined. I thought it would be lighter weight for warmer months. Then I put it on........... Runs very large (and a little smaller in the bust). Top of arm also a little tight and then the bottom is VERY billowy. Proportionately, it just didn't work somehow. I didn't feel it was figure flattering (although it looks beautiful on the model in the photo)! It would be great to see this same blouse in a more flattering cut and in more colors --- lighter weight fabric. Perhaps, I would give it another try with those adjustments."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:Central IL
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Great Peasant
3.15.2013
"Really nicely made and high quality. The fabric is just the right weight. The embroidery is exquisite. I love that FP has so many embroidered items, not just printing on top to "look" like embroidery. Another winner!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:Phoenix
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Oh wow ! Oh wow !
2.11.2013
"I have been looking for that perfect white peasant top for two years now. I found it. Its beautiful ! The embroidery is very nice ! Its a tad see through, but i would prefer something light weight for the summer.
I am 5.5, 112 pounds, got an xs. Its definitely a little big, but i think that is how it should be.
Free People, you have done it again.
If you are in the market for something like this, pick this one !
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Weird Fit but love it!
1.29.2013
"I saw the other reviews of this and was hesitant about ordering it, but decided too. I was glad I did. I usually wear FP tops in small but ordered a medium because the reviews stated that the fit was odd. My Med fits perfectly. The arms do have a weird fit so if I got a small, it would not have fit properly. It would have been too tight in the upper arms and shoulders. The embroidery is absolutely beautiful and the picture does not do it justice. Very bohemian. I am loving this shirt."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Color Not as Pictured - Odd Fit
1.16.2013
"I hate giving anything 2 stars even if it deserves it, but I had to with this top. I ordered the cherry colorway which appears to be a deep warm pink in the studio photos. In real life, it is red. I don't wear red, but if that were the only issue, I would have exchanged for the ivory. I measure 38-26-36 and typically wear a M in FP tops. I contemplated sizing down as I do for many voluminous tops, but stuck with a M in the end. The body of the top is huge, but I could not have gone smaller as the bodice pulled across the upper bust. The sleeves are poorly designed unless you have toothpicks for arms. Since I am athletic, there is no way my arms would ever look right in this top. The top of the sleeves are skin tight, but the bottoms are billowy and pretty. There is just something off in the fit through the entire bodice and sleeves. Since other reviewers have touched on this too, I will assume it is the top and not me. LOL It is a shame because the pintucks and embroidery are really pretty. I love the "Camelot like" concept, but it failed upon execution for me."
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:Arkansas
age:36-40
body type:slender
I love this top
1.14.2013
"This was my first free people purchase:) I bought it in the ivory. It is gorgeous. The embroidery is high quality. I am 5'6" and weigh 125. I usually wear sz 2 top but got this in small because I knew I would wear a cami under it. It is perfect. The top is somewhat sheer. The embroidery is a tan/beige with gold bands at the sleeves and gold stitching at the neck. I love this top so much I'm getting it in the red:)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:boston ma
age:21-25
body type:slender
perfect peasant top!
1.10.2013
"I adore this top, the embroidery on the sleeves is lovely and the top is even more beautiful in person. I am 5'6 and 118lbs and typically wear a xs or s, I got this shirt in a small and it fits perfectly! One of my favorites."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:Texas
age:31-35
body type:petite
Lovely!
12.28.2012
"This top is very well made. The embroidery is beautiful and the fabric is not sheer. I often have difficulties with white fabric looking too sheer. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this top and can't wait to wear it! I ordered the XS and usually wear an XS or S in FP tops."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:over 45
body type:slender
VERY DISAPPOINTED
12.18.2012
"On me the armhole is too narrow at the point where it starts to curve under in the front & back causing the blouse to pull across my upper chest & upper back. On me the armhole is too low restricting the movement of my arms. On me the top runs small in this area. I can wear XS in oversized tops but the small and even the medium were not comfortable on me. I'm not suprised but I am very disappointed. Otherwise this is a beautiful high quality well constructed blouse."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
I TRULLY LOVE BOHEMIAN!
11.24.2012
"Beautiful detail on the embroidery design. I am very impressed with the quality of this top! You can practically wear this top year round. It's very natural and hip! You need to see it in person especially after you put it on; you'll fall in love with it!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Spun Gold Top
Name:
Location:St. Louis, MO
age:21-25
body type:slender
Lovely
11.7.2012
"The stitching and details on the sleeves are so unique and nice. The fitting is good, it doesn't make me look pregnant as other similar tops do. I'm usually an S (5'5 130lb) and I got an XS because I knew peasant blouses usually fit loose around waist area. And I'm glad that I did. My only concern is the stitching across the chest area. It's a little weird and is right above my boobs, making them look unflattering and restricted. So I won't wear a push-up bra underneath this blouse. But overall I love it!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large