Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lace Convertible Slip

Convertible lace slip mid-length dress with stretchy, smocked upper bodice. Dress can also be worn as a maxi skirt. Bottom hem is trimmed with gauzy cotton. Straps are adjustable and removable. Lined with mesh.
overall average rating:
4.13 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Lace Convertible Slip
Review 1 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Great slip.
1.29.2014
"167cms, 35 inch/88cm bust, 32c bra, 55kg/123 pounds.
Read the reviews and sized up to a medium. Fits around the bust if I wish to wear it shorter however it is to big around the waist if I want to wear it as a long skirt. Keeping it nonetheless as it really is a beautiful slip, sorry I didn't see it earlier in the other colours. Purchased in the black.
Sheer, so will need another slip to wear underneath. Great vintage feel to it.
Highly recommend."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:albuquerque, nm
age:21-25
body type:slender
in love!
5.27.2013
"i absolutely love this! it is soooo gorgeous and way prettier in person. it's not the softest material but i don't even care. i usually size up with my clothing whether i think i'm bigger than i am or like a tad looser fitted clothing. i ordered a medium and it fit perfectly around the hip but when pulled up it was a bit loose, not form fitting at all. i'll be wearing a shirt or other dress over it when it is pulled up because it's not very flattering alone. i am a 27" waste, 112 lb, and 34b. my hips are definitely wider than up around my ribs so i don't know if this should've fit both but was looser on top for me or what. either way i would size up 1 size if you'd like to wear it lower on your hips. i'm 5'5" and when worm on my hips it hit the floor and potentially will drag a little bit. to fix that i'll probably pull the skirt higher up and roll it over to still fit low on my hips but not drag as much. the upper material is thin enough to not make me look wider in doing so, so rolling it over is a good solution. i ordered the tea and the contrasting colors of the actual skirt and the trim is gorgeous! i love it so much i'm going to order it in black."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:SC
age:over 45
body type:slender
I love it!
5.10.2013
"Wear it as a skirt with bike shorts underneath. One of the crop tops look good with it. Thank you, Free People for great clothing!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Boulder
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Lovely as a skirt
4.15.2013
"My 18 yr old daughter has this dress in the ivory color. She normally wears a size small, but she had to size up to a medium. Even then, the top is tight. More importantly, the cut of the top, when worn as a dress is just not very attractive. It looks unfinished and ill conceived.
However, my daughter is small and short enough (5'2") that she can wear this dress as a skirt. The stretchy top, worn low over her hips, creates a super short mini that covers her bottom and deals with the sheerness issue. The effect of the cascading lace and ruffles is lovely and and this piece rides that perfect FP line: provocative given the uber short skirt and semi sheer lace, but romantic and feminine at the same time.
Wearing the dress this way is not going to work for everyone. Taller girls are likely going to find the top too short for adequate coverage when worn as a skirt over the hips. Curvier girls might find the fit too form fitting for comfort. Still, petite girls might try this as a skirt if they don't like the look of it as a dress."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
in love
3.16.2013
"runs alittle small in the smocking. doesn't give alot of stretch. this is great basic for layering. i bought all the colors. like it better as a dress than a skirt"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Denver
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Not worth it!
3.7.2013
"I was planning to order this dress, but then I found it at one of the FP stores. I tried the L, but the elastic top was too tight and did not stretch much. The rest of the body fits well and the lace looks nice. The slip though is completely sheer. I tried the tea color, don't know how it works for other colors. I am not too crazy about the bottom hem coloring as well. In all not worth the price for me. Might work for others, but not for me."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
too tight, too sheer
3.6.2013
"i bought this to wear under other see-through slips. i sized up, and it still fits tight around the chest as a dress. as with some of the other intimate pieces, the "lined with mesh" part is kinda silly because it's still see-through and i'd have to wear yet something else under this layering piece. the top part is also too long so it doesn't work with my other sheer pieces, as the seam from this is very visible."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Texas
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Pretty but lots of fabric
3.5.2013
"I usually order small in slips, but i chose a medium in this! very pretty and love the detailing. I ordered the black, but it didn't fit right in the chest area on me!
Must wear with a slip under it though!
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:ireland
age:over 45
body type:petite
feminine
2.20.2013
"beautiful dress i'm petite in height and slim in build size small fits perfect,straps are a bit flimsey but you don't really need them with a small build it has static cling but dose'nt bother me,it is transparant but with a half slip problen solved.i would recommend it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Fort Worth, TX
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Great little basic!!!
2.9.2013
"I thought I'd only get a bit of mileage out of this little slip. However....it truly is a versatile piece. I tried on the M but it was a bit tight around the bust - especially if I wanted to pull it down for a maxi skirt. The L is comfortable both as a dress and skirt. I am contemplating getting the other two colors as they're amazing layering pieces. It is a bit sheer but nothing that can't be fixed with a pair of bike shorts or capri tights. The only drawback is that the straps are kinda flimsy. I'm just going to replace them with thicker bra straps if I find I need the support."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:MI
age:over 45
body type:petite
LOVE!
1.29.2013
"I bought this in the white. The cream colored ruffle lends interest, looks so antique. I ordered mine in large just to be safe and it fits perfect. I will wear it with boots, can't wait for warmer weather. It is so versatile, a dress, a skirt, and length choices all in one. I call it a dress but will of course layer it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Awesome!
1.21.2013
"I typically wear earth tones only (call me boring!) but I decided to go out on a limb & got this in the magenta. SOOOOO glad I did! It still somehow has a vintage-y feel to it but with a hot pop of color. I saw the white in the store after purchasing the pink & I must say, I think the pink is much more unique and flirtier. I haven't tried wearing it as a skirt yet, but wearing it as a dress, it is super tight in the top so you may want to size up (I just tough it out#. It is sheer, but I just wore a little white FP skort/slip underneath and it worked fine. I wore it with a little furry white sweater #FP) and I get alot of complements on it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
<3 <3 <3
1.18.2013
"In love with this little piece! I purchased it to wear as a maxi slip and I sized up 1 size and the ruched band fits around the waist perfectly. The slip itself is white and the ruffle on the hem is a yellowed material, not quite "yellow". Looks vintage and works well layered under skirts. Highly recommended!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
age:26-30
body type:athletic
white slip has a gross yellow ruffle hem
1.3.2013
"I ordered the slip in white, and they ruffle hem is this gross unbrushed-teeth yellow color. the coloring in the picture does not depict this. returning. the fit, however, was very flattering."
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Wow with flare!
12.30.2012
"I bought this to wear as a skirt, and it's hot! It fits tight through the booty, and then leaves that layer of curiosity. It's slightly see through, so I need leggings, because I don't have the best thighs. If you have young, slender legs, then the fitted bodice area will cover you sufficiently. You can see in the pink, she has shorts on underneath. It has a slightly deconstructed feel, so I look in touch with my edgy side. Gotta love a sexy mom!
I also liked it enough to pay full price!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Rebel slip
12.29.2012
"I love this slip but would love it even better if the fabric wasn't as synthetic as it is. It creates a lot of static and gets in the way. I ordered the Black in M but sent it back as it looked too 'ordinary.' I am trying the pink and white instead (same size) as I will have a better chance at layering it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:nyc
age:31-35
body type:petite
sheer again...
12.20.2012
"I cannot understand FP`s fascination with sheer, artificial fabrics.I personally would much prefer if they used natural ones, cotton perhaps?And the need to wear slips with most of their, otherwise pretty skirts and dresses, is annoying. This skirt is very pretty but the fabric makes it look like it was remade from old curtains. Artificial, creates static and once again it needs a slip. I really do not want to wear slips all the time, especially in warm weather."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:over 45
body type:petite
so pretty & feminine
12.15.2012
"I loved this when I tried it on in the store-biggest complaint, too sheer & soooo full of static!!! However, I am going to keep it & plan on taking it to Florida to wear for New Years Eve!! I thought it ran a bit small on the top, so went up a size-I know that I will find soo many ways to wear this!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Lace (Not That Convertible) Slip
12.11.2012
"I bought this in the pink color and it is true to the images. Very bright and festive. It's actually more opaque that I was expecting, which is great, but you still need an under layer. My only gripe is that I was looking forward to wearing this more as a skirt than a dress, and the bodice is so snug that it just doesn't work if I pull it down to my waist and wear it as a maxi. Also the bodice part hits at a weird spot which makes it almost impossible to wear it as a skirt. Other than having to mentally restyle, this is a fun festive slip and the bright pink will be fun in the bleak winter months, as well as all summer."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Lace Convertible Slip
Name:
Location:Milwaukee
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Gypsy Heaven
11.28.2012
"This piece is just what I needed to add to my closet. It does in fact work as a skirt and a dress, I think it looks marvelous with my burgundy moto boots and a denim jacket or sweater. Bought it in the black, M, definitely true to size, but like the other reviewer, I took away a star because it is way more sheer than pictured!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>