Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress

Sheer lace deep-V neckline dress stretchy smocking at back of waist. Hem is shorter on the sides. Comes with slip dress to wear underneath. Ruffle lace trimming around neckline and sleeve hems.
overall average rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Reviews for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Review 1 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Spring ready
3.25.2013
"This is a lovely dress! I do agree with other reviewers that it fits better if you have a bigger chest (which I do not) but it still looks lovely. The lace is excellent quality and the built in slip is great. Got a million compliments when a wore it. Definitely a keeper!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Sonoma, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Returned.
3.21.2013
"The concept of this dress is amazing. I love the design, the bodice and lace. BUT this dress runs large. I ordered an XS and I've had this problem before with FP where some XS dresses fit perfectly and show off my curves but then there are others where I seem to be swimming in fabric! Unfortunately, I experienced the latter with this dress.
I am 5''2 (115lb & 32DD) Since the dress was large, it exposed a lot of cleavage up top and covered down to my ankles down below (definitely not at my knees like on the model).
I really wish FP would start sizing all of their dresses by numbers though because it's really a 50/50 whether a dress fits me with an XS and I usually have to buy online since there isn't a store nearby :("
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
I agree with most of the reviewers
3.14.2013
"Most people have suggested going down a size and I definitely agree. I ordered my usual small and you can't really tell that its too big but it's definitely not as form fitting as it is in the pictures, or as much as I would like it to be in the waist. Also, one reviewer mentioned it was difficult to get on because of the slip being attached to the dress. They must have fixed this issue because mine is attached with snaps so it can be removed and reattached easily. AND the dress is gorgeous. GET IT."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Duck Key, Florida
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous Dress
3.12.2013
"This is my wedding dress for August, 2013 in Montana!! I ordered it right after I saw it, and it was nothing less than perfect. Fits great .. comfortable, yet flattering. The fabric is heavy with quality and the details are perfectly placed. I CAN NOT WAIT to wear this down the isle this summer :)!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:curvy
great dress
3.11.2013
"Dress fit great. I am 5'7 130 34DD. I usually wear a size 0 and I wore the XS. I am wearing it for a beach wedding. The lace is stunning and wears well. I am much shorted than the model in the picture so it hits me mid calf. It is stunning and a great price."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Love it!
3.11.2013
"This dress is perfect! I'm 5'9" 120 lbs and unlike with other FP dresses, the XS is actually long enough to cover my behind. Wore the ivory with some ankle boots and a cargo jacket and got compliments all day and night on it :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Mountains, NC
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Fit is normal
3.11.2013
"Based on other reviews I sized down when ordering this, and I wish I hadn't. It's really tight. My normal size would have fit just fine, so I'm not sure what other reviewers were talking about. So my feedback is to order your normal size.
Other than that, I love the dress. You can't tell it's too tight, so I'm going to keep it. I'll just be a tad uncomfortable when wearing it. I'm five foot ten and the length works for me about like it does on the model. It's really pretty and overall I love it. One tips I'd offer is to pull the slip loose at the top where it's attached inside the shoulders. Otherwise it's a pain to get into. The dress is beautiful... I got the pink and I'm planning to wear it with a cropped moto jacket and boots. Otherwise the pink is a little too precious, I think."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Napa, CA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
difficult to slip on
3.8.2013
"I must admit, I have trouble with dresses with slips sewn in, I much prefer to get a shear dress, then find my own slip; I had to try it on with the exsisting slip so as not to ruin the dress. Once I finally got it on, I wasn't impressed, it made me look frumpy, partly because it runs large, but also I don't have a bust to fill it out. I think the dress would look great on a curvy woman, like the Marilyn Monroe body type. Not for me."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Sooo cute
3.7.2013
"I got this for my brother's wedding in pink, and it is perfect - a good blush pink color. The xs hits at the ankle for me (110, 5' even, 34D) but is perfect with heels. The reason I didn't give it five stars is because I wish the slip underneath was longer. It makes me feel like a delicate Grecian goddess! Love it!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Classy and lovely
3.4.2013
"This is a lovely dress. I got the black and it's very good quality, good enough for me to wear it in the office or on a date night. I love how it's a little longer in the back and shorter on the sides so it shows off the legs. Top is a little loose but not too bad."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:kansas city missouri
age:36-40
body type:slender
best retro dress yet!
3.2.2013
"This dress is so cute on. It just reminds me of a style I wore in my younger days! It's perfectly fitted around the waist, up a little high, but nice. it is roomy on top so, bustier women will find this fits too! I am contemplating adding one in another color, because the quality seems good too."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:brooklyn
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Not Flattering
3.1.2013
"This dress is not appealing. I am 5' 8" and 125 pounds size 34 A and ordered a size small. I just didn't like how it laid on me. It looks like I wrapped myself in a table cloth. Looks a bit nerdy. Not for me. Going back to the store."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
LOVE IT!
2.27.2013
"This dress is amazing! I am so happy that I bought it. I am 5'9, 120lbs, 32D and it fits just like on the model! After reading reviews I ordered the xs, which was the right choice...the shoulders/bust could even be a a bit tighter, but I can't complain. The lace is thick/heavy, very good quality....and the slip is super cute and will be great to wear with other things! LOVELOVELOVE it!"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Fairy dress~
2.27.2013
"Titania would wear this ! Perfect for a wedding, summer festival , tea party or just a stroll in the garden ( of Eden) . It is a bit lose in the bust and shoulders as stated by other reviewers but i work with that by wearing it off the shoulder and it looks great that way. If you are large busted that may not work out. I would not be able to size down or the waist and hips would not fit. It is a dreamy, well made dress and with the attached slip nothing else is required underneath. Not for everyday wear but a great special occasion dress and now a bargain at the sale price !"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Delaware
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Absolutely beautiful
2.13.2013
"This is my favorite dress by far, it's very beautiful and flattering. The lace is very heavy, I have no concerns about tearing it by accident. The cut fits me perfectly. It runs very large, though, I'm usually a medium and the XS fit well. I'll be wearing this for my wedding in August, and I'm so excited to look amazing in this!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:center valley
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Beautiful and classy dress
2.13.2013
"This dress hugged my curves in all the right places. I'm verging on an e cup size and the dress showed my chest off without making me look fatter, pancaked, or falling out. I like the pink color and the quality of the lace. All in all worth the money."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle eastside
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Cute and sexy dress
2.5.2013
"I got the dress in a size S in black. I'm 5'8", 140 lbs, athletic build. The dress is adorable! It's a bit loose in the shoulders, but nothing major. Fits great everywhere else. Looking very forward to wearing it when the weather warms up."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:slender
Pretty Dress
1.30.2013
"I ordered this dress in an x-small and i'm 5'4, 110lbs, 34C. Very nice heavy lace, nice lining and the color of the pink is as pictured. However, it is much too long for me even with high heels :( If you are taller, this is gorgeous and would suit a spring wedding or party. Alas, for me, it has to go back."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
too wide, too long
1.30.2013
"the top and shoulder of this dress fits way too wide, making you look much bigger on top than you really are. the waist fits but since it's smocked, sizing down shouldn't be an issue. i'm 5'3" and the longest part is around my ankle. the lace is ok, similar to all the other fp lace dresses. overall, the fit is unflattering."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP X Garden of Eden Lace Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:slender
Size down
1.26.2013
"I'm 5'7'', and around 120 lbs...I ordered the small and it is very roomy and a lot longer than pictured. Love the dress so I am going to exchange it for the XS."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large