Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

High Plains Boot

Rugged leather military knee high lace-up boot with inner side zip and wide buckle accents at top and bottom. *By Jeffrey Campbell *Leather *Import *1" heel, 19" tall, 15" shaft circumference
overall average rating:
4.226 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Customer Reviews for High Plains Boot
Review 1 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Love Affair
2.3.2012
" I have these boots in the olive color. Since I'm 5'10", they hit just below the knee but I can see from the other reviews why these boots would be problematic if you're shorter. These boots are well-constructed, easy to zip up, and have a bit of extra width in the toe box (which is great for me). I would say they are lightly distressed, particularly in the toe area (as shown) but it's not too much. More fine work by Jeffrey Campbell! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Missouri
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Wanted to love them
1.26.2012
" I ordered these boots in the light tan the color was off from the picture but the size was perfect I'm usually a 8.5 or 9 and the 8.5 fit great. My biggest disappointment was the height, I'm 5'7 and they hit right in the middle of my knee it was uncomfortable and awkward. I also didn't like how big and heavy the buckles looked. I really wanted to love these boots but i ended up sending them back. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:SLC
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Sooo close
1.5.2012
" these boots were gorgeous. even more so in person. however... the leather was really stiff and the boots are REALLY tall. I'm 5'8 and they still rubbed the back of my knee. Having said that, I was willing to live with it to have them because I loved them so much. UNTIL the 2nd time I put the on, when the zipper on one of the boots broke. There is no excuse for boots that cost this much to have such a cheap zipper. They went back... "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:NJ
age:31-35
body type:petite
I think they are great!
11.14.2011
" They are really cute. Love them. They fit slightly bigger than I would have preferred but that is my fault because I ordered a half size larger to be on the safe side. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:scituate
age:14-20
body type:curvy
pleasant
11.11.2011
" i am obsessed with these boots! they're very durable and feel great. jeffrey campbell did good "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Great Boots but !@#!! Zipper!
10.17.2011
" This boots are beautiful, and if you have muscular calves, they are adjustable (cue heavenly choir!). I am 5'9 and they are a little too tall, striking right behind my knee, but I don't mind. I love these boots so much, but I took a star off the rating because of the cheap plastic zipper that split the SECOND time that I wore them. I wasn't being rough with them or trying to ram the zipper up...quite the contrary actually. I had read another review that stated the zipper was cheap and to be careful, so I was...I handled that zipper like a newborn baby. Still, despite my gentleness, it split open. Complete BS, right? Why anyone would pair up $300 boots with a cheap, flimsy plastic zipper?! With the use of my handy dandy pliers, I was able to squeeze the zipper assembly to make it tighter and then slowly work the zipper back and forth until it closed up again....so 45 minutes later, the zipper was closed and that's where it will stay. When i wear that boot, I have to unlace the whole thing and then lace it back up. What a pain in the butt! If I wasn't absolutely in love with how these boots fit and how they feel on, I would have sent them back with a very nasty note. However, its difficult for me to find boots for my athletic legs, so I don't want to give them up. I'm just going to have the zipper replaced with a higher quality one (expensive!) and never order boots from FP again. If you order these, I hope that you have better luck. The zipper is the only flaw , but it might cost you.... "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, California
age:14-20
body type:slender
Great boots!! :)
10.3.2011
" I loved these boots the moment i saw them online. I ended up having trouble submitting my order at first, so i called customer service and the woman i spoke with gave me free shipping so that was nice too! When the boots finally arrived after a week of waiting, I put them on not expecting them to come up on my legs as high as they did! :/ They come over my knee, which i wasn't too excited about due to the fact that they cut me off and make me look shorter then i really am. I'm 5'6 so if you're 5'7 or taller these will be the perfect length for your legs, just like the model in the photo. Other than that, i love these, the quality is fantastic! The leather is really nice and these boots have a unique look to them that i havent been able to find anywhere else. I get compliments everytime i wear them! :) "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Joppa, Maryland
age:41-45
body type:athletic
One of my best buys!
9.9.2011
" I knew these would be my favorite pair of boots when I opened the box. I got SO many compliments on them the first time that I wore them! They are comfortable and versatile...looked equally as awesome with my black jean leggings as they did with my frilly skirt!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:CA Bay Area
age:26-30
body type:petite
High Plains Boot & Joe Lace Up Over the Knee Boot
9.3.2011
" I agree with another reviewer that this pair is way better than Joe Lace Up Over the Knee Boot. I got both JC boots and it is not difficult to choose b/t them. Size wise I am normally a 6.5 but I got the size 6 for this pair as 6.5 was not available when I made my order. Size 6 is a little tight but I can still squeeze my feet in with socks (the lovely ruffle one from FP as well). For Joe Lace Up Over the Knee Boot I got size 6.5 and it fits perfectly. So I would say get your normal size if you can. Quality wise this is far better than the other. High Plains Boot truly has the vintage look while Joe Lace Up Over the Knee Boot totally got a cheap/flimsy look. I would say $298 for Joe Lace Up Over the Knee Boot is way toooo high but this pair worth every penny. Also for short girls Joe Lace Up Over the Knee Boot IMO is a little too over the knee LOL. I highly recommend this pair other than Joe Lace Up Over the Knee Boot. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Switzerland
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfect boots
8.27.2011
" I had them shipped to Switzerland and it took 1.5 week to come at home. Customs charge really heavy, almost 1/4 of the overall price. But these boots are really perfect and an eye-catcher. I hesitated because of the price (c'est pas donné !), but then, I found the boots I dreamt about 3 years... They run a bit loose and are stiff on the knees, but I think as it is leather, it will losen with time. Overall, really good boots, really good quality and I want to wear them all time :). Sorry for my bad English ! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Louisville, ky
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love my boots
8.15.2011
" I have had my eye on these for a looong time. The price was just so steep, but I finally said what the heck I'll splurg. And it was worth it. I cant wait to go out and show them off. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:slender
Oh, boots. My weakness.
8.8.2011
" Yup, these boots are pretty smokin' hot. I got them in the Khaki and the color is a nice, sort of worn in looking dark brown. I've only worn them a couple times yet, but so far when I do, I get tons of compliments... surprisingly, almost always from guys. Dudes think these boots are super sexy I think. The styling is nicely done, sort of Mad Max with all the buckles and laces- very cool. I was a little disappointed in a couple things however. The zipper, like other people have said, is pretty fragile feeling. It's sticky and I feel like I have to be very careful zipping it up. It feels like if I force it too hard, it'll break right off. Also, as others have said, the soles feel a little thin, like they aren't built to last. For the price, I feel like the zipper and sole should be more sturdy. Style wise, my only dislike is the height (which will vary by wearer i'm sure), but on me, it hits right in the middle of my knee which I thought would be cool, but actually kind of visually chops me off in a weird place and makes my knees look....well, kinda chubby. Kinda wish they were a little higher or shorter. So, if I were practical and shopped with my head, I'd probably say, for the price they should be a little more sturdily built and flattering. Buuut, I shop with my heart, and these boots are stupidly cool looking and make me feel super cool and sexy. The heart wins, I'm keeping em.
(ps- size talk: I got a 7.5 which is my pump size. works well with normal to thin socks. but i have narrow feel thin calves. maybe size up a lil if you need more room in your boots.) "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:14-20
body type:petite
Very, Very Happy
7.8.2011
" These are by far the best looking pair of boots that I own. I am so happy and impressed by them every time I take them out of the box to put them back on. I have received a lot of compliments on them, as well, from both men and women, so it's good all around. They fit a little snugly, as I am a 6-6 1/2 depending on the style of the shoe, and I ordered them in a 6 and have very little wiggle-room. Definitely have gotten some blisters breaking them in, but even with that, I still consider them to be one of the best purchases I have ever made. Thanks, FreePeople :) "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
happy boots :)
6.25.2011
" I got the darker color and they are a bit lighter than I expected, but they're still beautiful! I usually wear 9 1/2 or 10, but after reading the reviews saying they run big, I decided to order a 9 and they fit perfectly :) I carry some extra weight around my thighs, so I need to work it off for them to be more flattering, it's true in the reviews when people say they're only really flattering on slimmer legs, so I'm taking that as motivation lol. I'm 5'10" and medium sized and the boots do hit RIGHT at the knee, but whatever!! It's not painful or anything. I'm happy with these boots :) I took pictures to give you a not so "photo shoot" look. Excuse the messy room! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Worth Every Penny
5.8.2011
" I had been eyeing these boots up for a long time, and my husband decided to surprise me, and ordered them as a gift. I LOVE LOVE LOVE them! They are so versatile, they can be worn with some tights and a chunky sweater, with a short skirt, long maxi skirt, or wear them over your skinny jeans with a loose tank top - whatever you like, they will work. I get so many compliments when i wear these boots. They are highly adjustable, so those of you with bigger calves can make these work for you as well! If you are thinking about getting them - dont wait! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
In Love
5.7.2011
" I was a bit hesitant ordering a boot worth $300 but wow!! I'm in love!! These boots are stunning. The leather has a wonderful texture and the color (I ordered the dark ones) is amazing; they look like I've been trudging in them for years. I'm 5'6" so the back of the boot hits me a little higher on the inside of the knee so while I'm walking, I do notice it. I also have to roll down the tongue on the front as it catches me right under the knee cap and that bugs me. A few minor annoyances that are more due to leg length rather than boot design. Aside from that, this boot is worth every single penny. Beautiful. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:athletic
problimatic zippers.....
4.25.2011
" The decrepend style not only applies to the boots but to the zippers as well. when I ordered these boots they came with a broken zipper, Thankfully i had tried on the second boot before exchanging them for, i was shocked to find that with a slight tug, the second zipper bent right off. I was shocked at how abruptly it pulled right off. Need less to say I ended up sending them back all together they are very pretty but unforchunatly, the price exceads the quality. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Upstate
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Too much of a good thing
4.7.2011
" These are perfect in every way except the height and the soles. They really are tall, and I am not a short person (5' 8", with long legs). They hit the middle of my knee and sort of push the skin up over my kneecap, which is weird looking. Also, the flimsy soles are just impractical; the boot looks bad a**, but has no traction and will probably wear out quickly. If you live in the city and don't walk on wet pavement (and are really tall) these might work for you. If these were about two inches shorter, I would buy them in a hot second and have them resoled, because they are really cool. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:curvy
LOVE
4.6.2011
" Firstly, these boots DO fit wider calves!!! What a sigh of relief!! I have had my eye on these for quite some time and finally decided to just get them. Of course they don't look the same as on the model (who must have toothpicks for calves), but they are still amazing. They are even flattering!! The top straps are adjustable, as are the laces (which should be expected).
As other reviewers have noted, they do hit at an odd spot on my knee, but I don't find them uncomfortable or awkward looking. (I'm 5'9)
I wear a 9.5 normally, and find them true to size. I have wiggle room for my toes, but they don't feel sloppy. I did get the darker color and they look exactly like the photo, and are super soft!
Overall..... I'm simply in love. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for High Plains Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:31-35
body type:petite
in love <3
4.1.2011
" i've never spent so much on shoes/boots, but couldn't resist at least trying them. ordered them in the mail. love the shoebox (i know, who cares, but the little details all add up). i'm usually a 6 in a heel and i opt for 6.5 or 7 in a boot to allow for thick socks. after reading the reviews and how they run big, i opted for a 6.5. they fit great! i have them on now w/ thick ankle socks and they r terrific! now, i am very short (5'1".5) so these actually go over my knee. i don't mind at all but i do have the top slightly more loose to allow for me to bend my knees when i sit. i have slender calves, and i can't imagine anything thicker than SKINNY jeans would work under them. but i really like that they r fitted in that area. i imagine i'd have to wear knee high socks at least b/c the material next to your bare skin could get irritating throughout the day. they look rugged and high end and i love the leather scent. they make any outfit very cool and go w/ EVERYTHING. this is the boot i've been waiting for forever. i just pray they last a lifetime :) now i am hooked on JC shoes. the bed of roses platforms r on their way and i hope they r just as satisfying a purchase as these r! i saw the lighter color in the store and i much prefer the darker ones. the buckles ARE adjustable (see the strap inside), but i think they look best the way they come. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>