Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Modern Day Flapper Dress

Semi-sheer sleeveless flapper-style dress with lace inserts and trimming. Comes with removable lining underneath. Smocked detailing at top of each shoulder. *100% Polyester *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 35 1/2" Bust: 40 1/2" Waist: 38"
overall average rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for Modern Day Flapper Dress
Review 1 for Modern Day Flapper Dress
Name:
Location:Pacific NW
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
so cute and 60's!
3.9.2012
" My boyfriend's mother bought me this dress in orange and I love it! I usually buy a small (I'm a 4 or a 6 FP) but the extra small actually fits much more flatteringly than it does in the pictures - there's just enough extra fabric to be swingy when I cinch it with a belt. I'm fairly busty so with a belth and over-the-knee boots it gives a sort of 1960s go-go dancer vibe. The slip is very, very short, but covers everything important, and the dress is about 6" longer so it doesn't bother me. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Modern Day Flapper Dress
Name:
Location:AZ
age:36-40
body type:slender
blah
2.12.2012
" Free People, I love your fun dresses and this one looked flirty and sexy on the model... but on my body it was a potato sack... sorry but not flattering or cute and certainly not sexy. :( "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Modern Day Flapper Dress
Name:
Location:philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
nicer than in the pictures
2.5.2012
" i rarely shop in the actual fp store, but i found this dress there. it was kinda blah on the hanger, but when i put it on it fit my curvy figure well and it was flattering . i usually don't buy orange, but the color was nice, and i think it would look great with a tan. i got a S (i'm usually a S or a M in fp dresses), and it fit me well even though i've put on a decent amount of weight lately. i'm very pleased with my purchase! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Modern Day Flapper Dress
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Not flattering.
2.2.2012
" This dress was on sale at my local fp store and I completely loved it on the hanger... not so much on me. It was not flattering at all, it made my shoulders and chest area look huge and flat, not good at all. It's a shame because the fabric and quality of the dress was great, just not the right shape. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Modern Day Flapper Dress
Name:
Location:WA State
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Orange Beauty
1.30.2012
" Love this dress! This shade of orange looks amazing with navy blue. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Modern Day Flapper Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Love it!
1.25.2012
" I love this shape! I'm more straight than I am curvy so I don't deal much with the tent effect shapeless dresses can cause. The sheer layer over the opaque layer, and the flowyness is a home-run in my book. Stunning in heels with tights and a maxi cardi. I stuck with my usual size and the fit was more loose than the model.. but not much. I'd say if between sizes go down for sure and maybe order your usual size and down a size otherwise. Which you'd prefer would depend on what look you're going for. I think this should be worn more flowy than not though. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Modern Day Flapper Dress
Name:
Location:Wauconda, il
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Shapeless
12.30.2011
" I tried this on today and it was like putting on a garbage bag. It is great material and very nicely made but it was just massive. I'm 5'7 and 140 pounds and I tried on the small. It is supposed to be bigger but I just didn't like the look of it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Modern Day Flapper Dress
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:21-25
body type:slender
Unique and fun dress
12.29.2011
" This dress is fun and so unique. It is made to be loose, even at the waist, so I like it best cinched at the waist with a belt, and then added tights and boots. I purchased the navy in my normal size for Free People. My only complaint is that I am of average height (5'5") and the slip layer of the dress is shorter than I would like. The straps of the slip layer are adjustable which helped with fitting a little, but it could still be longer. Overall, I recommend! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large