Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Cropped Velvet Jacket

Floral printed velvet cropped jacket. Contrasting velvet trimming. Button-front closure and button-up sleeve cuffs. Fully lined. *55% Polyester, 45% Rayon *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 16" Bust: 37" Bottom Opening: 30 3/4" Sleeve Length: 26"
overall average rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Review 1 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:lala land
age:26-30
body type:petite
overpriced for quality
1.30.2012
" this is beatiful, but for the quality it is way too expensive (as in most fp items). it should be thicker. the buttons are hard to put on and takes a long time. it was tight at the neck when i had all the buttons on, so i sized up. the other problem i had was in one of the sleeves, the layer inside was all twisted. the buttons at the wrist was in the wrong position as well. instead of them being on the outside wrist, one set of buttons were on the inside. quality control please fp??? "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Hip Lady-Like Jacket
1.29.2012
" I snatched this jacket up on sale and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised when it arrived. I ordered a 12 (which should be way too big but fit even if it was a little loose). Great over a slip dress or tee with jeans. Great buy for the price and versatility that it has. It runs small and even though I bough big I don't think I could go smaller than a 10 or an 8 would be pushing it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:Edgewood, New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
So Pretty and Prim
1.20.2012
" This little velvet jacket is so well-detailed: From the labyrinth-patterned pewter buttons to the black velvet ribbon that trims the edges and seams, it’s charming! The buttons, for me, are essentially decorative. I’ll never have the patience to loop and un-loop all those tiny stems, but wearing the jacket open really gives the prettiest effect; it looks a little too “schoolmarm prim” for my taste when buttoned up to the neck. The floral pattern in the fabric is understated enough that it allows a lot of flexibility when mixing and matching the jacket. The colors are luscious and elusive. They create an almost hologram effect; shifting in depth and hue as the fabric moves. It’s so beautiful! Since I’m tall (5’9”) and long-limbed, I sized up from my usual 2 to a size 4, which gives me enough arm length and width for my broad shoulders. It is still short on my torso, though. The jacket ends right at the base of my ribcage, which gives me a challenge for balancing it proportionately. So far, I’ve found it to look beautiful over the “Opera Mesh Maxi Dress” and the “Lace and Mesh Long Sleeve Slip.” I’m sure that I’ll find many more possibilities for this sweet little accent piece as I comb my closet. Big bonuses: it’s machine washable and dryable, and lightweight enough to roll up into a handbag. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Beautiful
12.24.2011
" Like the other reviews, I think this jacket looks great over a dress - I also bought the Enchanted Eyelet dress. The material is rich and not done justice by the online photos. I think there's no choice but to wear it open because the buttons are impossible to deal with. I bought a 4 instead of 2 (my regular size) because the 2 was a tad tight in the underarm area and the larger size also gave a bit more sleeve length. Overall, a gorgeous accessory piece. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:slender
Lovely jacket!
12.19.2011
" I loved this jacket when I saw it in the September catalog. It would not normally be my style, but there was just somehting about it. I finally got to try it on at Macy's and it is beautiful! Very feminine. I was suprised to find that it can go with many things. It looks great over dresses, but can work more causlly with jeans and a shirt. I got a size 2, and I measure 33'' around my bust. I gave it 4 out of 5 start for two reasons...1. The bottom edge of the jacket seems to turn out (not a big deal, but kind of annoys me a little) and 2. the buttons are very hard to undo. I prefer to wear it open, but it looks cute buttoned as well. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:Washington State
age:26-30
body type:slender
Renaissance Royalty and Marmelade
10.11.2011
" The colors are flattering and the style is most versatile. I paired it with the FP jeans leggings, FP off-black lace top and a tunic. .
It is a warm jacket although, it is lightweight. Velvet was worn by early Royalty for its warmth and beauty.
Although I have athletic shoulders(from working out) and a C cup, it made me look very slim and statuesque.
I sized up so I could wear it over heavier tops and it looks great.
The longer sleeves can also be worn rolled up.
This is one piece that can transform a plain outfit into an extraordinary one.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:Juneau, Alaska
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
jacket is not as pictured
10.9.2011
" When I received this jacket I was bummed out that the sleeves are in fact very long, not cropped as pictured on the blonde. Sleeves were just too long for me, which made the jacket look more like an old-fashioned military piece and less a modern version. The fabric is beautiful, however. Didn't love it. Had to send it back :( "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Hooded Vegan Leather Jacket
4.8 out of 5(25)
 
 
 
Cropped VNeck Pullover
4.1 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
Today's Denim Jacket
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:colorado
age:31-35
body type:slender
Soft and SOOOOO Gorgeous!!!!!!!!
10.3.2011
" I was in my local FP store and saw this just as the clerk was pulling it out of the boxes. The pictures can't show the true beauty in this piece! The colors are beautiful purples and burgundies. You can match it with many things to make your outfit pop! I can't see how anyone who loves the Free People style could be in any way disappointed with this! I LOVE it and have been asked numerous times where I picked this little number up! I STRONGLY recommend to all of you ladies!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Not worth the $$$
9.14.2011
" I saw this in the Sept. catalog and before ordering one online, I wanted to try it on at the store. I went to my local FP boutique with the intention to buy this jacket but when I saw it in person - it was a disappointment: very thin; it has just double layer of fabric. I thought it would be thicker.... The fit wasn't very flattering either. It is absolutely not worth the price. I looked around and found something else: the velvet floral romper (# 22913248).
If you're thinking of getting this jacket, I would suggest you wait until it goes on sale......
"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:SF Bay Area
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Lovely & Timeless
9.12.2011
" This is a beautiful jacket well made, fully lined and very good quality. When I put it on I felt like I stepped into a Jane Austen novel .Yet it’s not so over the top dressy you could only wear it for something formal. I am 5’1 and have broad shoulders the size 6 fits me as it does on the model; short empire crop. The sleeves are a bit long but that only adds to the romance. The only negative is the loops for the buttons are extremely tight making it very difficult to do and undo, it is unlikely I would button it up anyway as velvet tends to get very warm. I purchased this to go with the Enchanted Eyelet Dress, an absolutely stunning combination. If you want to feel feminine and romantic on an average day buy this. Even if you are not that into velvet, you will want this in your closet. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Cropped Velvet Jacket
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
The Fabric is VIBRANT!
9.3.2011
" The online photos DO NOT do this jacket justice. The colors are rich and warm, not super dark with little contrast. The fabric is soft and beautiful with that amazing velvet feel. I loved the cropped length which ended at my natural waist. I tried this in a 10 and it fit beautifully. The buttons are really cool and vintage looking, but made of strong metal. GREAT FALL TRANSITION PIECE!!! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large