Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Perfect Day Dress

Floral patterned mini dress with cool and colorful embroidered trimming. Keyhole opening at front of neckline with button closure. Button tabs at each sleeve hem to shorted sleeves. Light pleating and front and back of waist. *100% Rayon *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 34 3/4" Bust (all around): 37" Waist (all around): 36" Sleeve Length: 16 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.483 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Customer Reviews for Perfect Day Dress
Review 1 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:austin
age:21-25
body type:slender
color and shape misrepresented
8.4.2013
"i ordered this in the red in an XS. when i took it out of the bag, it was completely wrinkled and the color was not the vibrant red that is online. instead it is some faded orange-y color. the shape is also not fitted at all. from looking at the pictures online, you'd think there was a side-zip to get into this dress so that it would look as fitted as on the model. nope, just a big tent dress. the model is definitely holding a lot of the dress back with her hand. i wish FP wouldn't misrepresent their products like this. this has happened more than once to me where the color looks totally different than the pictures online."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:14-20
body type:slender
Poor workmanship
7.9.2013
"I ordered this dress and so desperately wanted to love it. However, the front seam was so disgustingly crooked I couldn't bring myself to keep it. I tried it on for another member of the family and the first thing she noticed was how uneven the seam was on the bodice. Extremely disappointed. Definitely bringing this back to a store."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
shady advertisement
6.26.2013
"It is quite a shame that freepeople continues to try to fool the consumer by not presenting their products as it really looks. This dress is being held by the model so that so much of the fabric is hidden and the dress appears to one that looks at the picture like a totally different fit.
I bought the dress all excited and then tried it on and the dissapointment sets it really fits like a sack. Freepeople Please be more honest with your advertisemnt it really is a waste of my time and frustrating what is constantly being done at this website.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.26.2013
Thank you for your review. We'll be sure to share your feedback with our photo team. You can always view customer images under "Pics" below our studio model to see real customers wearing our items. Hope this helps! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great bohemian look
4.21.2013
"I ordered this dress online and absolutely loved it! as others have said, it is a bit roomy, so it would be a good idea to go down a size or two. For reference I am 5'7", normally wear a 6/8 and purchased this in a small. The small is still roomy, but just the right amount. I ordered this dress in black and love the green details, I just may have to order it in red too. The only reason I did not give the 5 stars is because the hem at the bottom was bunched too much, so I will go to the store to see if I can exchange it for a new one."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:boston
age:14-20
body type:curvy
it is a perfect day dress
4.7.2013
"I fell in love with the orange one at the first sight. It was so bright and joyful.. I tried both M and S at the store and decided with S. Usually I'm a Medium so it does run large. It's not tight around the waist but it is NOT shapeless! So it is really perfect for a day dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Okay, but not the Picture
3.31.2013
"I ordered this dress for an event, I thought it would be perfect. It runs a little larger than I thought, shapeless dress. I had to return it, pretty pattern but not what I thought it would be."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Heartstopper Dress
3.6 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
FP New Romantics Could You Be Loved Dress
4.4 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 7 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada
age:14-20
body type:slender
surprise!
3.7.2013
"It is not that big or long to me as otters said, and I find it very suitable. The material is 100% rayon, and it feels good. Just one thing not comfortable to me, the neckline is a little bigger."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Athens, GA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Nice, but no waist.
3.7.2013
"I am 5'5" usually wear a 10 or 12 in dresses. I got the black dress in large and had plenty of room to spare. The shoulders and arms weren't too terribly big but the waist does not cinch in AT ALL like it seems to in the picture. It pretty much goes straight down from my chest, which i guess is supposed to be the style and might look good on a smaller frame, but i need dresses to hug my waist. I probably could have used a medium but i don't want to risk the arms being too tight so I'm definitely getting it tailored because it IS a very lovely dress, Embroidery and print is beautiful. Fabric is lightweight but seems durable."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Nothing like the picture.
3.5.2013
"This dress is orange, and looks like a night gown. I was expecting a more orangey red after reading the other reviews, but it's nothing close to red. I ordered a small, which always fits me but this looks huge on me. A belt doesn't help, and it's beyond a few repairs.
It's too long and too loose, and they must have tightened it at the waist a lot when they photographed it on the model because it looks like a box on me. A box that I would sleep in. Except I won't. Because I want to keep my boyfriend.
"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.6.2013
So sorry that you weren't happy with your dress - a member of our service team will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Nice but just OK
2.24.2013
"I received this dress from an online order and was a bit disappointed that it is not the tomato red that I expected. The colour is much more muted and orangey than the pictures. It fits me well, but is a little loose. At 5'11" it is too short to wear without leggings and I was surprised at how long it was at the back as it is not advertised as a high low dress. It comes to the back of my knees at the back and very high on my thighs at the front. The dress is still cute and I will be keeping it as I can wear it with leggings or over skinnys."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:31-35
body type:slender
Very cute!
2.14.2013
"This dress is so sweet! I bought the XS and I'm a size 6-8 - fits really well. It's a dress you can wear with sandals in summer or tights and boots in winter.
The only downside would be that the fabric is quite thin and it's not lined. It doesn't really look like it should be priced over $100. I would have given it 5 stars if the price matched the look and quality of the product.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
My New Favorite.
2.9.2013
"I bought this dress in black at my local fp store in a sz small. It looks awesome with tights or bare legs and boots. It's versatile, fun, and perfect. I love when I find dresses like this one. I also LOVE the touches of green! Color of the year! For reference, I am a 34B, 27" waist, 135 lbs. and 5"8."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Winter's Child Cardigan
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 13 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:over 45
body type:athletic
I love this dress!
2.8.2013
"I am kind of between sizes though. The piping in the back makes a beautiful line and the added length in back is a bonus. Very unique. The dress is snug on me through the shoulders but if I go up to a medium, it's large through the bust... I hate it when this happens!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:CO
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Gorgeous
2.6.2013
"Gorgeous dress! Fits very tight in the shoulder area though and very roomy towards the bottom of the dress. I recommend sizing up in it if you have broader shoulders."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Vegas
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Weird Fit
1.27.2013
"I feel a little matronly in this dress. Perhaps I should have sized down, since the bust area is too roomy. But I am afraid it wouldn't fit in the arms and shoulders if I went down a size. I am a 36C, 5'7 and 143 lbs. I usually wear a M for shoulders and arm length, but in this case a S would've been worth a try. Cute pattern and stitching. The neon green isn't as noticeable in the photo, but very cute. Just wish it was a better fit for me. I plan to keep it and have it altered."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Asheville, NC
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Pretty & comfy
1.25.2013
"I got this dress at in the red/orange the Raleigh store a couple weeks ago and I couldn't be happier! I typically get M but sized down to a small so it wouldn't look too big & boxy. I'm an hourglass shape (36B, 27" waist, 39" hips) so it's best when a dress accentuates my smaller waist & downsizing plus the detail at the top does just that! The colors are really nice in person & it flows beautifully over curves :). Also, I'm 5'8" & the small still hit about mid-thigh in the front"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Vegas
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Great dress.
1.20.2013
"I purchased the "red" in an XS. I say "red" because it is orange according to my color vision. It fits me well, just as it appears on the model. The fit, as many FP clothes, has some extra inches but I find it fantastic."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:petite
Adequate
1.13.2013
"Was a bit disappointed upon receiving this dress in the mail; I ordered the black in a S, and was surprised by the intensity of the stitching around the bust (more of a neon green than in the picture). The fitting is a bit baggy for my taste, however seeing as I am 5' and 105 lbs, I am not too upset, and expect that this dress ought to fit the average person pretty decently. I plan on returning the dress I currently have to my local FP store and trying on the orange shade in an XS...fingers crossed it's a fit!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:slender
pretty
1.11.2013
"Very pretty dress! I'm 5ft 8 and bought the small so on me the dress is a little shorter at the front than the pictures indicate, and the red is more of an orange but its still very nice. The fabric is light, and fits true to size with a casual, relaxed feel. Very excited to wear it out!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Perfect Day Dress
Name:
Location:Beijing
age:31-35
body type:curvy
perfect
1.8.2013
"I am 1.61 m and 55 kg, 75C fit the XS perfect"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>