Product Reviews

Buckle Back Ankle Boot

Leather ankle boot with three adjustable buckle closures and cut-outs on the sides. Metal grommet detailing on buckle loops. *Jeffrey Campbell for Free People *Please note: Boot runs small, we recommend ordering up a size.
overall average rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Review 1 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:seoul
age:21-25
body type:petite
kinda like it but not sure..
7.21.2014
"i have a small (5m in sandals or pumps, 5.5m in boots and etc)with normal width, not fat feet. but this boots is def in smaller size than others. it fits since my foot is actually a size 5,5 and its 6, but if you buy it in actual size, it might be too tight. but since they have buckles you can adjust, if you have normal width, just stick to your
normal size or just up half a size. one might be too much..
about shoes itself, like the leather, really
soft and kinda thick and solid,
but sole? hmmm i hate it.
too stiff and my left shoe's sole is kinda
curvy, it make it impossible to stand
straight putting all parts of my feet
on the ground. know what i mean?
if i try to put front part of my feet to the
ground, the behind part just go straight
up in the air! geez!
love the design and since i live
abroad, i cant actually return it(it'll
just cost me so much and for what?!)
but i def can't say it's comfy...
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:petite
Khaki Buckle Back
6.1.2014
"I'm a size 6-6.5. I ordered a 6 and I'm glad I did. They fit fine. The distressing for the Khaki color is slightly less than the photos show and the color is a bit lighter. i found the distressing kind of sloppy. The wooden sole is stained and some of that stain got on the leather near the edges. It's only noticeable when looking closely but for this price it's a detail that shouldn't be overlooked. Speaking of the wooden heel, I've found that after about an hour in them, due to the angle of the heel, it begins to dig into the sole of my foot. This makes wearing them for a full day impossible. I've worn them a few times and each time my feet are dying to get out of them after an hour. I'd hoped this issue would go away after the first couple tries but nope. It's a very beautiful boot and pretty unique. It has that ability to pull an outfit together. For me though, the comfort isn't there and that is the most important."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:petite
Hmmm
3.24.2014
"I'm a true size 7, on the rare occasion maybe a 7.5. So I ordered an 8. Strangely... it was HUGE. My foot was slipping out of the boot. Not so sure about the sizing, even though FP suggests to size up."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Iowa
age:26-30
body type:slender
Vast differences in quality between pairs
1.23.2014
"I ordered a pair of these boots, and they came completely non-distressed. I had read this in reviews and I preferred it! Unfortunately, after owning them for about 3 days, the grommets holding the thin leather strips on started coming off, so I exchanged them for a new pair. The new pair came extremely distressed - so much that the leather on the sides is folding. I don't care for it; I would rather distress my own shoes. However, I don't really want to exchange them again, but I haven't decided what to do. I wish the quality could be ensured a little more.
Regarding size, I normally wear a 6-6.5 and I ordered a 7. They are a little big so I have to wear inserts. I would say they fit true to size. It would be awesome to have half sizes available!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful boot, poor quality
12.21.2013
"I LOVED these boots- had to have them. They are beautiful and comfortable, and I could not wait to wear them. Unfortunately, they began falling apart the first time I wore them. The small leather pieces that hold the straps down began snapping off, and one fell completely off, leaving the strap hanging off the boot. While I have gotten many compliments on the boots, for the price, I expect them to hold together better. Clearly the leather pieces holding the straps are made cheaply. While I would gladly give these boots 5 stars, I can only give them 1 star given how quickly they began falling apart"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:26-30
body type:athletic
where's my distressing at?
11.29.2013
"fit perfect and true to size. the sole is so rubbery and comfortable. The leather is amazingly soft.
But! they are not distressed :("
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Size Up
11.20.2013
"I'm so glad I read the other reviews before buying these. I'm normally a size 7-7 1/2, but based on the reviews I ordered an 8. The toe is very narrow and makes sizing up a must. But since I did size up, they fit and I love them. One other thing to point out is that they are not worn in at all. The 1st picture is how they look, not the following photos on a model's feet."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:26-30
body type:petite
Exactly what I wanted.
9.7.2013
"I've been wanting these boots since 2011 and finally had to bite the bullet. I normally wear a 6.5 so I ordered a 7. With pointy toed boots its always a good idea to size up anyway. They are just a little too big on me, (but not as much as a 7 normally is, which is why I think they might run a little small) but I solved the sizing problem with an insole that keeps my foot in place. They're actually quite comfortable and will be more so once they are broken in. The label on the box says they are distressed, but they look like the first picture instead of the last 4. I absolutely love them and with regular wear they'll look perfectly distressed. I absolutely love them."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Switzerland
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Wear-anywhere boots
8.28.2013
"Just got my boots in the mail. They were distressed and true to size - unlike some other reviewers'. Good quality, but pointier in the toe than I had remembered. In any case, bring on the fall weather!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
My favorite ankle boots!
8.14.2013
"I took advantage of this style running small. I'm a size 5, ordered a 6, and they fit perfectly -- not too loose, not too tight. I'd say go up about half a size.They're not as distressed as pictured, however, you'll definitely achieve that look after you wear them for a good couple months. I have them in black and just ordered them in brown. :) This design is so timeless. They pair well with shorts for the summer, hi-lo dresses for spring, and any kind of pants for fall. A must have, girls!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Bellevue, Wa
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
So cool, but Inconsistent sizing
8.14.2013
"So incredibly disappointed in Jeffery Campbell's inconsistent sizing. I normally wear an 81/2 or sometimes an 8. I tried my friend's boots on in an 8. They were just a bit tight. I ordered a 9 because of the warning to size up and I figured that would be enough. They are way too small. I never wear a nine let alone a ten. I am afraid to order a ten because I think it will be huge. Why no half sizes? Or better yet, why not just make them true to size. I also ordered a size nine in the suede over knee boot and it was huge!! It's really a shame because these boots are so cute. what a waste!!:("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Gorgeous but not distressed.
5.16.2013
"Just received these after waiting nearly 4 weeks for delivery to Oz. Never mind they are worth it.
Not distressed however I expected that from the reviews. Fit- I sized up as recommended by the reviews however may have been able to get my normal size however they may have been to tight in the toe. Will have to wear socks with them which is ok as it is getting cold here in Victoria Melbourne.
Can't wait to wear them and distress them.
Great heal and sole and as I have just received them the girls are now sitting next to me in a cafe as I had to show them off:)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:26-30
body type:petite
So Cute
5.13.2013
"These shoes are amazing. I just bought a size 6, and they fit perfectly. They are comfy too and so cute!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Love these boots
2.11.2013
"Just received these boots. Love them. They are chunkier than I expected but look awesome."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Costa Mesa, CA, USA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Black not distressed
1.17.2013
"Recently purchased the BLK pair of these booties and actually found them to be true to size even though the description said to size up. I love these, but they are definitely NOT distressed the way the picture leads them to be. They are almost shiny and need to be broken in to achieve how the pic looks. that is my only reason for 4 stars. i wish they had come distresed. Going to take them to my shoe guy to see what he can do"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:UK
age:over 45
body type:slender
Always returning Jeffrey Campbells! Grrrr!
1.8.2013
"I live in the UK and was so pleased that Free People had a UK website as I'd ordered a couple of Jeffrey Campbells from the US site before which I'd had to return (at great expense) due to sizing/styling issues. Loved these boots as soon as I saw them online. Many of the reviewers said that they ran small. I'm usually a US 9 but ordered the 10 after reading reviews about fit. I only had to try on one boot to see that it was huge! The boot looked big and my heel slid out straight away. Once again the boots went back – free returns – thanks Free People. I wasn't in love with them enough to exchange for a size down. It hasn't put me off JC's though – I know there's a shoe out there for me somewhere."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:louisville, ky
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Yowza
1.2.2013
"I usually wear a 7.5, and have these in an 8. They are very tight, and will need to be broken in or stretched. Luckily since these are leather, it shouldn't be a problem. Mine seem to be a little uneven in terms of heel and shoe though, the heels touch the floor but when my foot is parallel the foot part is still off the ground. I won't return them, but it's a little obnoxious for the price. Overall, though, they look AMAZING. Yum."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:oh
age:36-40
body type:curvy
these boots
11.25.2012
"i too love love love these boots n had to have them the moment i saw them i wear a 7.5 or 8 n i got these in an 8 n they really are comfortable i would say my feet are not overly narrow and not really wide i would say average these are what a true 8 fells like i have them in black n they have the vintage look i was lookin for i didnt know anything about free people til i saw these boots n now im sold on jeffrey campbell n fp"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:U.S.A
age:14-20
body type:athletic
WO0O0O0O0O0O0O0O0O0O0O0O0O0O0O
11.24.2012
"SOOOOOO GREAT. these are really comfortable boots, I got them in gold for my birthday and I wish I had the money to afford the black ones too. These are really (for once) an amazing job in both look, fit, AND comfort by Jeffery Campbell. put aside any past stereotypes and preexisting problems you have had with Jeffery Campbell products because these will blow your mind. I read the other reviews and decided to size up and they fit great. To get them on you have to undo a buckle or two but would you really want to sacrifice the look of these gorgeous piece of love babies for a zipper to get them on quickly? I read a review that said she was disappointed that for the price she had to undo the buckles to get them on and off.. come on ladies have we lost all dignity and motivation for life? can we not undo a couple buckles for the sake of fashion. Anyways buy these you will not be disappointed they are amazing and you will love them forever just remember to size up! also the gold is true to color except the buckles are silver"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Buckle Back Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:md
age:36-40
body type:athletic
runs VERY small
11.17.2012
"I am an 8-8/12 and I got these boots in a 9 and they left zero room for my toes!! I was so disappointed because the look of the boots are just as fabulous in person as they are in the picture..they will be going back and I will not be exchanging :("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>