Product Reviews

The James Dress

Heathered knit mini dress with 3/4-length sleeves and ruched crossover skirt portion in the front. Super soft and casual feeling. Exposed seam detailing. Lightweight feel. **Special Note: It is recommended that the customer sizes down one size, since it runs a little big and doesn't fit as it does on the model.
overall average rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Customer Reviews for The James Dress
Review 1 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Rocklin, CA, USA
age:31-35
body type:slender
Great little summer dress. Happy. :-)
4.10.2014
"Just purchased the ecru color in an xs. I wasn't sure about this dress but love the look on the model so I decided to give it a try. I love it. It fits exactly like on the model . For reference, I"m 5 6" 110 lbs. The top part of the dress is loose fitting like the pic of the terracotta color. It drapes down just perfect and I wear the FP smocked bike shorts underneath. I actually liked the dress so much I ended up ordering the amber green...
I saw some of the negative reviews and I have to disagree with most of it in exception of the fabric. It is a thin jersey fabric and the price is a bit high for that.
The pros: Light weight for summer, great colors, nice fit-
Cons: price for fabric"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Portland
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
I really wanted to like this but...
4.8.2014
"It just didn't hug right. I wish it would have, it looks great on the model!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver BC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Pleasantly surprised
3.14.2014
"Even though I saw many negative reviews I ordered this because the ones that were positive reviews we all from women to identified as curvy, I too am curvy so I decided to give it a shot. And turns out, I really like it. Granted its a little sheer and doesn't look like it does on the model but still super cute. Its hugs my curves in a perfect way, not too tight but just tight enough. I ordered a medium and I usually wear a medium or a large on free people. it was also long enough to wear as a dress for me. For reference, I am 180 lbs and 5'9 and wear a size 10 in pants. I recommend for curvier girls!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Awkward shape
3.9.2014
"I got this for the approaching summer and was pretty disappointed with the shape and cut. I'm 5'7 and 130 pounds and am usually a S in Free People clothing -- this dress was quite big on me in all the wrong places. It is quite boxy through the shoulders to the hips, and the gathering around the hip area only made it look worse. It made me look really wide. The length is accurate, but the body of this dress is very shapeless and baggy. I don't imagine it would look good on anyone except curvy ladies who can fill in the roominess so it fits properly. Definitely size down. Also note that the jersey material is EXTREMELY thin. I almost wouldn't trust it not to show my underwear without a slip. This dress is a good idea that wasn't executed properly."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:San Clemente
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Not worth the price
2.6.2014
"After reading the reviews, I sized up and ordered an XS in the grey. I'm 5'7, 120lbs. It actually fit perfect; not too loose and not too tight. The only reason this dress went back was because the material was super thin, making it see-through and not even wearable as a dress. Not what I was expecting for the price."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:26-30
body type:slender
disappointed
1.28.2014
"I was so excited about this dress, but will be returning it. Shapeless. I feel like I'm in a nightgown."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Tahoe
age:36-40
body type:athletic
I love this dress
1.16.2014
"I was alittle nerve to order this dress from the reviews I read so I downsized and took a chance on the xs. It fits me like a glove I love it. I got the amber green its pretty and a little unexpected to a cream or beige. I wanted a neutral dress.i can't fault it at all except it is alittle see through so I may have to get a slip when wearing it out but a great cover up for beach. For reference I am 5' 6" 130 pounds 36b bust 29 waist 37 hips. It fits me like the model just wish I was younger lol. I'm super happy and the best thing I have bought from FP in along time. I also bought the vegan crazyheart tote fringe bag in tan it looks good with this dress."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 8 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara
age:14-20
body type:slender
to much of a lazy look
12.11.2013
"I am 5'4'' 115lbs and i got this dress in an ezra small. It was VERY loose and is just simple not flattering at all. I did love the clot though, I purchased this in ecru heather. I want it to fit like it does the model but then again don't we all? It just wasn't the right dress for me."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Western USA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Just What I've Been Looking For...
11.8.2013
"Found this in a mall anchor store and thought it was a tissue-weight tee shirt tunic. Realized it was a dress when I came online to put my review on the website. The small I bought measures:
Bust all around = 36&1/2"
Waist all around = 37"
Overall length = 34"
Sleeve length = 19"
Fabric very lightweight and black heather is really a grey heather. Can be belted, layered, you name it. Would have given it more stars if the crossover was a separate piece of overlapping fabric and if the price was lower.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Krishna Obi Belt
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Easy dress, great color
9.14.2013
"As other commenters have mentioned, the dress is a little baggy around the waist in contrast to the picture. However, I actually like the fit of the dress quite a bit. It is an easy, comfortable shape great for any casual occasion. The uneven hem and the slightly tighter fit of the bottom ensure that the dress still retains a sexy element. I got this in dusty plum and LOVE the color. I am going to get plenty of use out of this dress."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Disappointed Again
8.29.2013
"I was so excited for this dress to arrive - I needed a cute, casual short dress for the end of the hot summer here in LA. Taking the advice on the website, I ordered an XS. I am 5 ft 8 in and I weight about 128 - so I'm usually a small. This dress is not only extremely cheap looking and feeling, but they have tucked, pinned and taped the model into it to get it to look like that in these photos. It is baggy, shapeless, and there is a really unflattering thick seam around the waist that isn't shown in the photos. The material is an extremely thin jersey and the hem doesn't sit anything like it is pictured. This was a HUGE disappointment. Don't waste your money."
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Portland, OR, USA
age:31-35
body type:petite
love this dress!
8.15.2013
"I never write reviews but I sure read them when I purchase so I thought this would be helpful since there seems to be more negative reviews then positive but this dress kicks! Its not a going out dress unless you live in a laid back city like myself as I wore it out with a cute denim vest. It's not fitted in the waist but hugs your buns a bit which I think is adorable. Element of surprise. I also paired it with knee high beat-up brown boots. I got compliments ALL night. You can wear it so many ways. It's a staple for sure.
I'm petite 5'2, 110 pounds ordered xs.
"
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
comfy but shapeless
6.11.2013
"Unfortunately and very unlike the photo/model, this dress is not fitted at the waist which is a huge disappointment. The waist is completely baggy and shapeless. I considered adding a belt but that made the dress even shorter than it already is. The little V it makes in the front moved directly to center in minutes (didn't stay on the side as shown) and at that point, it is 2" from revealing things that shouldn't be revealed. I am 5'6" and like to accentuate my waist whenever possible. That said, this dress is probably ideal for someone petit who likes a loose fit around the belly. It's been sent back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:England
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Cute dress
6.6.2013
"After reading all the past reviews while waiting for my dress to arrive I was pretty much prepared for the worst. However, I actually like this dress! I'm 5'2'' 110 lbs and usually wear an XS/0 or 2 in FP. I got this in a size XS and it is pretty short, and it doesn't fit the way I thought it would, but it still looks cute. It is a little big in the waist and I might try to take it in a little, but even if I don't I'll still wear it. The material is thin, but I kinda like that now that it's summer! Probably wouldn't have bought this if I tried it on in-store but I really don't think it's as bad as the past reviewers have said. It's a really cute dress that I've already received compliments on!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:slender
Not what I expected
6.1.2013
"i was so excited to receive this dress in the mail, however was disappointed upon trying it on. like the other reviews say, it runs large. i got the terracotta & the color is nice so i'm sad to be returning it. i am normally an xs but got the small because i was worried it may be short and i wanted to wear it as a dress. the length was fine, but the dress just looked weird. tried dressing it up, still looks like an oversized sleep shirt. sadly this is going back."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Denver CO
age:31-35
body type:petite
Way too big
5.30.2013
"What a seemingly wonderful dress... it can be worn with boots, heels... flipflops. It just eemed so versitle... Until you get it home. I am usually between a XS and Small, so even tho I wanted the XS, I gave the Small a chance. However, the small fits like a large, so I won't even waste my time on the xs... it also bunches at the bottom and the mid section gives off a preganancy appearance, which would be great if i were pregs, but I'm not.... so dissapointed!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver BC
age:31-35
body type:curvy
way too big!
5.29.2013
"just received this the other day and it's really huge! there weren't any reviews yet when i purchased it, but looks like we've now been warned to size down! i'm 5'2" 140 lbs and the S is massive on me. that doesn't seem right :) i may attempt taking it in at the back but it probably won't look like how it's pictured. that said, the drapey skirt hem is actually quite flattering on my curvy legs and not as revealing as i thought it would be."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:chiloquin, oregon
age:31-35
body type:curvy
sexy!
5.29.2013
"beautifully soft layering piece, worn as a shirt or dress, enough give allows for us curvy women to feel comfortable and sexy! love the crossover touch."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:South carolina
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Size down!
5.28.2013
"The model in the picture is allegedly wearing a size S, I'm 5'8, 128 lbs, 34D, athletic and ordered size S - unfortunately I could also put a trash bag on and it wouldn't look much different.
It really angers me, because it's not the first time that I had to return/exchange an item and being left with the fees, due to the wrong information that is posted. The model is NEVER wearing a size S, I even doubt that she wore a size XS for the shoot.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.29.2013
So sorry this didn't work out for you - we've added a note to size down for the best fit. We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for The James Dress
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
TWO IN ONE!
5.26.2013
"You can wear this as a dress itself or as a tunic! It depends on what comfort size you choose. Me, myself I am 5'9 and I picked out the size medium in washed blue and it fits slightly loose and for sure it's longer but that's the looked I want and I can wear it a little off my shoulder! It is super comfy and easy to wear! It's is a practical item to add on with my FP wardrobe!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>