Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Gypsy Lace Dress

Gorgeous bodycon dress with crochet lace overlay and wide bell sleeves. *65% Cotton, 35% Rayon *Hand Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust: 31" Waist: 27"
overall average rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Customer Reviews for Gypsy Lace Dress
Review 1 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:sydney, australia
age:36-40
body type:petite
lovely but BIG
8.23.2012
" This dress is really nice - fabric is a good weight - definitely more of a crochet rather than lace, it does run big though, especially under arms and through waist, I'll be altering mine to fit! The slip part is solidly attached to the outer which is a bit of a pain.. Sleeves are fabulous!! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:CT
age:14-20
body type:petite
Beautiful... for certain body types.
4.19.2012
" I bought an XS. I'm 5'4 and very thin, and on me, the body of the dress wasn't too flattering. What I mean by that is it didn't cover anything (my bony hips.) However, I'm still keeping it because yes, it's just THAT pretty, and the sleeves are to die for. It is very versatile as far as styling goes, and the back is really unique. It JUST skims the top of my strapless bra, so you will probably be good there. The dress is rather thin though, so be aware of this when buying it. I expected it to be thicker. Overall, I still couldn't live without it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:curvy
what a pitty :(
4.18.2012
" I fell in love with this dress when I first saw it and finally ordered to it only to be sadly disappointed. The look and feel was amazing, if it were a top. The bottom hem had no give what-so-ever and it just was not going to work with my curves. Which is such a pity because I think it would look amazing if I were actually able to get it on. Oh well, looks like I have to go shopping! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:21-25
body type:slender
FAVORITE DRESS
4.9.2012
" I have been eyeing this dress for MONTHS, and finally just caved and made it happen. It is exactly like the photos, so if you like the photos, you'll love the dress. The crochet feels sturdy, like it won't catch and unravel. I'm 5'4" and 120 and the small fits wonderfully. It is a tiny bit tight, but I imagine crochet will stretch, so I would certainly not size up unless you're always right on the boarder. I'm always a small, and this is no different. It is longer on me than on the model, obviously, and I think it looks perfect. Highly, highly recommended! :) "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Glasgow, Scotland
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Amazing Dress!!!
3.22.2012
" I got this in an XS and in Black. I'm usually a XS/S in Free People clothes, however, I have slightly wider hips and behind for a size XS/S - I think this is why the dress is a bit short for me as it barely covers my behind. I should probably size up, while the hip/butt area is tight on me, the rest of the dress (bust, waist) fits me perfectly. I would say the model with blond hair in black illustrates the length of this dress accurately.
Other than that, this is a perfect dress. Very flattering so do not be put off by its bodycon style. The sleeves to me are the best features on this dress. I also love love love the low back behind, dramatic yet conservative enough. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:pacific grove, ca
age:21-25
body type:curvy
love it
2.29.2012
" This dress is lightweight and very flattering. I love the material and the length is fine. It's a little short on me, so wearing it with tights...I bought the Burgundy and it is definitely more of a plum purple color like other reviews said. Still a beautiful color though! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
I had to size up
2.6.2012
" Since I'm not a fan of bodycon dresses, I sized up once for a fit that is less body-hugging for everyday wear. This is a gorgeous dress and the quality of the lace is good. The bell sleeves are a dramatic touch. I'm 5'10" and the dress is not nearly long enough to wear on it's own so I wear it with leggings. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Tea Terrific
1.12.2012
" I purchased this dress in July when it was first released. I did not review it because I left it at my US address for months. There are so many reviews for this dress already that I want to speak mainly to sizing since the reviews are all over the place in that regard! I purchased the tea color. The dress is beautiful in every way, flattering, made of the one of the softest fabrics I have ever felt and perfectly merges bodycon with a classy retro 60's vintage vibe. Bra strap issue: The back of this dress is NOT too low for me to wear a normal bra. Length: I find the length very modest. It is not at all short on my 5'5" frame. It is the classic length for a shorter mid thigh dress. Sizing: I measure 38"-26"-36" and wear a 36C bra, I have an athletic build. I first purchased the M. Based on measurements, I knew it was too large for me. The relaxed bust was 36", but easily stretched to 44". The relaxed waist was 32", which I felt would be simply too sloppy through the waist. I returned the M and repurchased in S. The relaxed bust on my S is 33" and the relaxed waist 29". The bust easily stretches to accommodate my 38" chest without looking at all stressed. If I wanted a true bodycon look as most of the studio photos, I would need an even smaller size for my lower body. It does follow my curves but is not especially tight. I think the fit is perfect since I don't like bodycon dresses as a rule. Great purchase! "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Symphonia Platform Heel
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Super cute, can wear just about anywhere!
1.11.2012
" I bought this lace dress in the tea color. Absolutely fell in love from the moment I saw it. I wore it to a graduation ceremony and received many compliments. I have wore it one other time with flats and a red peacoat. Looks great any way. It's fitted but comfortable. You don't need to accessorize much with it, it speaks for itself! And the length is flaterring. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:San Fransisco
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Gorgeous dress
1.1.2012
" I got this dress in cream and wore it to a new years party. I was so unusual for the night compared to all the glitter, but I got soooo many compliments from girls and guys.
It is a little big, it would fall off my shoulder when I was dancing but I had a slip underneath so that wasn't a huge problem.
LOVE.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Love, love, love this dress!!!
1.1.2012
" I bought this dress in burgundy for New Year's Eve. Wore it with black tights and sky high heels. It was a fantastic dress...comfortable and so sexy. My fiancé and friends loved it too and the color is beautiful. Great for a night to get dressed up, but perfect for a dinner out. I usually wear a small but I went with a medium. I'm 5'9" and 135 lbs and it was perfect (still quite short). "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Denver
age:41-45
body type:slender
Love it!
12.31.2011
" This dress is comfortable and the fit is very flattering! Wile the back is low, you can still wear a normal bra with it. It can be easily dressed up or down, so it's very versatile and extremely comfortable. I highly recommend it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:california
age:14-20
body type:slender
pretty but not a stand-out
12.29.2011
" fell in love with this dress online, bought it in the tea color-turned out to be much more tea-ish than pictured! the back came down to a point awkwardly in-between the normal: not quite low enough to be scandalous but not quite high enough to be subdued. not quite a "body-con" fit: good if you want to cover up a teeny extra tummy. sleeves obnoxiously wide. returned it.
then i saw it on somebody else in black and i was glad i did return it! it didn't look good and it didn't stand out.
for fitting: i am 5'4, athletic slim build, 34b bust, and got a small in tea-good for tanner skin, not pale!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
age:41-45
body type:petite
Adore this dress!
12.28.2011
" Im 5'2" 94 lb...I purchased this dress in black, XS, at my FP store when it first came out. I have worn it as is, bare legs with 5" open toe swead clogs, long, large but simple crystal necklace and long dangling crystal earrings. Also worn with black tights. I have received multiple compliments every time I wear this dress. I wear it to work, parties, dinners..it works for so many occasions. It is slightly large on my shoulders, as I am so petite, but not enough to detur me from purchasing. Three of my friends also have this dress , and I purchased it for my boss for Christmas, after she saw me in it and fell in love! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:AZ
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Love!!
12.17.2011
" this is the most amazing thing ever! I have been wanting this dress for a long time and finally bought it. I have it in black and it really compliments my curvy shape. I love the low back and the gypsy sleeves. Great dress. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:SC
age:21-25
body type:petite
Not as sturdy as I thought.
12.6.2011
" I got this in the small in burgundy. I'm 116, 5'4", 34DD. It fit pretty well but wasn't as fitted as I had hoped, but an XS would not fit over my chest. The fabric was a little thinner and flimsier than expected. I was expecting thick, almost stretchy crochet, but it's almost like thin embroidery thread that I feel is going to lose it's shape with continuous wear. It's still really cute, but I wouldn't recommend it unless you like your body a lot. It accentuates everything, even the things you don't like. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:MI
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
seventies perfection
11.22.2011
" This dress just makes me so happy. It's a perfect statement piece if you want to turn heads on a night out on the town. I have it in a M in black. It's a stunner and unlike some reviewers, I think it hides extra bumps and lumps well because of the dark color. I am usually between a M and L in freepeeps, but sizing down gives it this snug look that hugs all my curves in the right places. Also, the back is very sexy, and of course, the sleeves are to die for! Before it was too cold, I wore it with nude pumps. Once the weather turned, I've been pairing it with black tights and riding boots. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:14-20
body type:petite
Beautiful
11.7.2011
" Such a perfect dress. 5'1 103 pounds, makes anyones butt look amazing. SO comfortable. Such a unique piece that can be dressed up or down. Got in the cream, wore with free peoples brallette , together they look perfect :D "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Love You More Bustier
4.8 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Gorgeous Dress
10.28.2011
" I just received this dress and it's stunning! I ordered the medium in the tea colour. This dress is super flattering to the curves. It IS on the short side if you have any boobs and/or butt, so be aware of that possibility when ordering. The dress is very body conscious so you can't expect it to hide anything.
Not only do I plan to wear this as a dress but as a tunic over skinny jeans or leggings with boots. LOVE!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Gypsy Lace Dress
Name:
Location:germany
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
burgundy is a deep purple
10.28.2011
" this dress is almost perfect. the cut is wonderful flattering. it is not to short as stated in the other reviews, just ends on hand wide above the knee. Usually, i don't wear bodycon stuff, but this baby is very flattering - even in my usual fp size s.
unfortunately, I had to send it back - the burgundy which appeared to be a darkish red on my screen is an ordinary purple colour. what a shame. maybe, I'll order it in the vintage white colour very soon.
also, the dress had no tags attached, what is not ok in my opinion for that high retail price.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>