Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper

Bustier-style lace wideleg romper with sheer embroidered mesh bottom legs. Middle front has mesh diamond insert with yellow and white embroidered pattern. Velvet trimming on front. Adjustable straps are also velvet. Back has stretchy smocked insert for easy fit and wear. Battenburg lace trimming around middle of each leg that separates lace from mesh bottom. Bottom hems are scalloped with floral embroidered detailing. Upper body and halfway down leg is lined. A romantic and dramatic shape that feels so fresh for spring. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy. *Shell - 80% Cotton, 20% Nylon *Lining - 100% Polyester *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 53 1/2" Bust (all around): 29 1/2" Waist (all around): 28 1/2" Rise (to waist): 9 3/4" Inseam: 29" Leg Opening Width: 15 1/2" Total Strap Length: 15"
overall average rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Long
10.1.2012
" This would've been great if it hadn't been so long in the legs. FP, more lengths, or at least give us legs we can hem easy. :( "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:petite
Gorgeous!!!
9.25.2012
" THis roper is so beautiful! The details are gorgeous. I got so many compliments!! My only complaint is that I will have to replace the straps bc they are not very sturdy and after just one wear they got kind of rolled and pulled. That's no biggie! Other than that I could not be happier, especially with the price - definitely one of a kind!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:El Paso, TX
age:21-25
body type:slender
One of kind!
9.22.2012
" This jumpsuit is so special and unique. It has a lot of detail and is truly beautiful.
The fit is amazing! Perfect length (I am 5'4"). Adjustable velvet straps. I was relieved to find out that it wasn't see through!
I was surprised to purchase it at such a low price.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:CA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Sturdy and Stunning
9.13.2012
" I'm 5' 2" and got the XS. You can slightly adjust the torso length by lowering or raising the straps (which are very soft and velvety). The pants hit the floor (~ 1 inch too long) unless I adjust the straps a little higher- then it just skims the floor. So with straps adjusted, I can wear shoes with 1in soles and not worry about sweeping the public floor. I want to note I'm sure those with longer torsos can fit this with no problem. If anything, the torso has much more room than I need and I don't have a short torso. It has a good weight but it's not heavy once on. Beautiful aesthetics on the embroidery and lace. I really love this piece since it's incredibly well-made, unique, and not fragile. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Beautiful romper!
8.29.2012
" Ladies...you MUST buy this romper! It looks about a thousand times better in person and it is so fun and easy to wear. I received several compliments from strangers when I wore this.
If you're debating on what size to get...go for your normal size. It really does fit true to size...unless you want it a little loose like on the model, then buy a size bigger. For reference, I'm 34-25-35, and 5'8". I thought the size XS would be too high on me because of my height, but it was perfect. If anyone is interested, I have more pictures on my blog: raven-locks dot blogspot dot com. Not trying to plug, but I could only upload 2 pictures here. You could also google the name of this romper and find other bloggers with different body types who have worn it :)
Overall, this is the best purchase of the season. Actually, it's probably the best purchase I've made all year! And this is coming from a shopaholic. ;) "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:so cal
age:41-45
body type:athletic
yes get it!!
7.6.2012
" i got this when it first came out and still love it to this day. i agree with the other reviewers about it being a one-of-a-kind piece!! and now with it being on sale it is a must have. i originally ordered a medium which fit me perfect everywhere except my bust area. it was a bit snug there. so i exchanged it for a large. i am 5'4", 130 lbs and a 34 D and i like the way it fits. didn't even have to hem it. get one for your wardrobe before they are gone!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:Central IL
age:over 45
body type:athletic
One of a Kind!
6.21.2012
" This is truly a one of a kind piece. It would be great for an outdoor or beach wedding. Really great styling that you won't find anywhere else. I felt that it runs a little on the small side and I had to size up one size to fit well in the bodice. I'm more curvy than the model so it did not fit me so cutely. The pants area kinda flared out around my hips instead of hanging so nicely as shown. I did return it because it was just a bit too youthful for me, but it is really a great one of a kind piece. I felt like the lining is plenty and that you wouldn't really need any extra special undies, just a nude strapless bra and nude panties would do. The bottom part really has a lot of fabric volume which really hides what's going on underneath. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:The Windy City
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LA LA LOVE IT!
5.27.2012
" This is a lovely piece and is SO much more beautiful in person! You will Fall in Love y'all. Runs true to size. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:Austin
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
So originial
5.18.2012
" I was so excited when this came in the mail today. I absolutely love this! It's so unusual and like anything I've seen around. I'm a big fan of modernized vintage clothing and this is definitely a favorite for me now. The website actually shows two different pieces. One that is more see through in the video and then there are the shots of the one with lining. The one I received was of the one with lining which is definitely more practical. I'm 5'9" and have a large bust and ordered a Medium which was a perfect fit everywhere. The length was exactly the same as what you see on the model. I am planning to wear this tomorrow to an outdoor evening party with either my Romona sandals or my Jeffrey Campbell sandals that I can't seem to find on this website. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:NYC
age:over 45
body type:petite
Outstanding FP Design
5.11.2012
" This is one of the truly cool FP designs I've seen recently. I love that the company is willing to take a chance with clothing this unusual. Firstly, it looks like a beautiful updated Victorian undergarment. I love the corset/bloomers references. It's heavy enough, though, that with a nice seemless romper underneath, you can wear it out on a fancy date without being arrested for being in your underwear. I'm short, so I'll have to wear it with platforms, and I may have to slightly raise the hem (by tucking under the lace at the knee, not at the bottom). It looks so cool with a demim jacket on top to dress down the uber femininity. A really fun costumey piece. Not for the shy, however :-) In response to a question posted, I would say that it would be super cool for a really boho wedding "dress". And it's prettier in person when you can really see the lacey details. Yay FP! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Unique
3.28.2012
" This romper was not exactly what I expected but beautiful nonetheless. I tried on an XS and S in the store. While I could definitely pull off the XS, the S draped a bit better while the XS was a tad more fitted in the hips though still very comfortable. The difference between XS and S was subtle. The romper was heavier than I expected and had a very thin/sheer liner inside. Underwear alert: pink was still visible through the romper so I had to layer with a pair of boy shorts underneath. So, how useful is the liner really? The romper does have stretch in the midsection and I was able to pull on both sizes easily. But I wouldn't say it's really a "flowy" garment as I expected it to be. On the other hand, the thick fabric will probably turn out to be more durable and long-lasting. Free People knows how to make truly unique and romantic clothing and this romper is a great example. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:San Antonio
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Very pretty but.....
3.27.2012
" This is a very pretty piece but I am giving it a 3 because of how decieving it looks in the catalog, Wich is why I bought it in the first place.
What you see online is more like it. I wanted the romper on the catalog not the one online. It is a bit heavy and mine does have some strech to it around the abdominal area. Its nice, but I am returning mine. I was just expecting a lighter more flowy fit. Like the catalog one. BTW, I am 5'0, I weigh115 and the XS fits me perfect.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
age:over 45
body type:petite
Sweet Summer Romper
3.27.2012
" Beautifully sewn Free People romper. The fabric is a little heavier than I thought it was going to be and there is no stretch to it, not even in the lining which is a fine mesh on the lace side and a thin solid polyester layer against your skin. The only give is where there is smocking at the back just above the waist. Easy to wear and feels so light on even though it felt heavy in the packaging. Cute and summery, feels and looks like a dress because the mesh on the legs are beautifully wide. If you are thinking about removing the lining so that the piece looks more like the catalog shot rather than the studio ones, be aware that the lining is sewn onto the separate pieces of the bodice before being put together into the romper and is not a solid stand alone liner like the slips that come along with some Free People dresses. If you are trying to decide between the XS and the S, here are the measurements of the XS I received:
Length (from top of one cup without including the strap to the bottom hem): 51"
Bust (all around): 28"
Waist (all around, unstretched): 26"
Rise to waist: 9 1/2"
Inseam: 29"
Leg opening width: 14"
Leg width at bottom hem: 26"
This is one of the sweetest Free People pieces that I have ever purchased. Looking forward to wearing this one when the weather gets warmer. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Love Me Do Romper
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
A very stylish and beautiful lace romper
3.23.2012
" I went to my local FP to return an item and I finally saw this romper in person. I tried it one and OMG...it's absolutely gorgeous. It's a timepiece that you can wear for years. I would highly recommend this piece for anyone, who has style, loves lace and detailing. FYI, I am 5.4, 130pounds, bust size 32C and jean size in FP 28. My size in FP for dresses is 6 and I picked this item in Small. It fits me perfect and it's so flattering. A bit long, but heels will do the job. Thank you FP for this beautiful piece!!! I love it!!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large