Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Shell Stitch Lace Henley

Distressed wash henley top with crochet stitch trimming on outer side of each sleeve. Seams down middle back and at each bottom side. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 26 1/2" Bust (all around): 32" Sleeve Length: 25"
overall average rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Customer Reviews for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Review 1 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Germany
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
not as pictured
10.28.2013
" I ordered the green one and it wasnt even slightly distressed just plain green.
The same shirt in blush is my favorite because of the distressed look but the green is just awful nothing like the picture.
Also the fit is a bit off I am 5'7 120 lbs and usually order everything in S but in freepeople tops/dresses (even jeans) I have to order XS
so i dont know if its true to size or not but for me the S is huge.Three stars because of the color but the stitching and the buttons are great!
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LOVE IT LOTS!
9.30.2013
" I have this shirt in periwinkle! It's awesome the fit is great and so is the color! The sleeves are so unique and add such a vintage feel! All the buttons are different which are cute too! I get tons of compliments everytime I wear it! I would recommend this shirt to anyone! =) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Urban City
age:36-40
body type:slender
Perfect!
9.22.2013
" Amazing henley! Sooo uniquely beautiful, totally comfortable and sexy!! I have it in a wine colour and love the worn in fading at all the seams, the textile mix of ribbed side insets and lace detail on arms, and the multi panel back cut. This is effortless to wear and goes with virtually EVERYTHING: jeans, cargos, shorts, mini and maxi skirts, all kinds of dresses...incredibly versatile piece! You will get compliments! If you're at all on the fence about this henley, just go for it. It will become one of your wardrobe favorites. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:slender
Sutle details
7.29.2013
" Love this top! i got the M in the white and it fits me TTS. I love how it's just a white top, but if you pay attention to it you see all the details in the construction and trim that just makes it that bit special. It's so much more interesting than a simple shirt and it's super soft and comfortable. you cant see it in the photo, but it has the same triangle detailing on the sides as in the 'blush' pic. I have no problems with it and it's as pictured. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:petite
So pretty but poor quality
7.20.2013
" Very soft and comfortable. A little small so I got a size up. Unfortunately I had to return it as it had two small holes on the back. Disappointing because it appeared to be better quality than it was. It was a very pretty top. Sad to part with it... "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Adorable but bright!
6.27.2013
" I bought the mint color & it was much brighter than in the pictures...almost blinding. I ended up dying it a dark plum color & it looks awesome. Excellent design & highly durable. I've worn it a lot. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:athletic
absolutely fabulous
6.25.2013
" Being new to Free People clothing I was scared of the sizing (compared to the Australian sizing, being a size 10-12AU in tops and an 8-10AU in bottoms). I read all the reviews and decided on the Med as I'm broad shouldered and smaller in the waist. Perfect fit, enough room around the tummy for when you eat too much, hides the tummy well. I get so many compliments when I wear the top, I'm thinking of getting another color. I got the black and it is a beautiful faded black. I wear and wash and it is still keeping it's color and shape. I haven't had any probs with the detailing and I've wash it at least 6 times (in 3 weeks). I wouldn't hesitate buy asap you won't be disappointed . "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Stunning and unique
6.15.2013
" I sized up based on the reviews. I ordered a M, for reference I've 33" bust (30/32 E). On the web it says S is 32". I love the top, the detail and the way it feels on. However I should have gone with my normal size S in FP. The fit would be have shaped more. Still love the top and still keeping as it still looks fabulous on, just a bit loose fitted now. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Rio de Janeiro
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Black...
6.11.2013
" ...IS BEAUTIFUL!!! Feels really nice too... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Canada
age:41-45
body type:petite
A shirt I will like more and more
5.14.2013
" I bought this in the black in extra small.
I like the general look and feel as it somehow reminds me a bit of a biker style shirt.
I am quite petite so I went with the extra small which just fits.
The scoop neck sits a little lower then I had anticipated and there is a little gap of fabric above the top button which I think I would prefer if it closed right to the top. However 4/5 ain't bad a go to shirt that looks great with jeans.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Love this top -may get another
5.14.2013
" As my stuff gets shipped all the way to New Zealand I am always a little nervous about the fit but this is great. I got a medium and was worried the arms ,might be a bit narrow but it's find and the lace detail looks great. Can't wait for another one! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Really wanted to love this top...
4.28.2013
" I really did. The lace detailing on the sleeves is just beautiful. I tried it on at the FP store and was disappointed that it just wasn't quite right on me. It runs a size larger than the crochet cuff henley and also the sleeves seemed to be about 2 inches shorter. It's perfect for women who are more normally proportioned and who don't have super long arms like I do. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
LOOOOOOOVE
4.25.2013
" I love this top, I got it in the white and have gotten so many compliments. It's the kind of shirt that is simple, and can be worn with everything. But the stitching detail stands out and is gorgeous and makes an outfit complete. I want to get it in the black and cherry too!!! For reference, I am 5'10" 117 pounds, and am usually an XS or small but I got the small and it's perfect. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:36-40
body type:slender
Henley Sizing
4.22.2013
" After reading a few reviews that it was small in size I up sized the Shell Stitch Henley. It was way, way to big and even hot washing (and I'm great at shrinking clothes) did not work. So, I think USA sizing runs big compared to other countries as I recently had the same problem with another brand. Something like a size Small is like Medium etc. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:RI
age:31-35
body type:petite
pretty shirt, questionable quality
4.12.2013
" Upon receiving this shirt, which I bought in white from another seller, the first thing I noticed were the tiny loose threads all up and down the sleeves along the "shell stitch" detail. I didn't think this was a good sign of excellent QC/craftsmanship, but I really liked the feel and fit of the shirt, so I kept it. I should have gone with my gut and returned it because after only two or three wears and one wash (delicate, draped to dry) the stitching is coming undone along the sleeves. There is one big hole and I'm sure as the stitching continues to slowly unravel, there will be others. Such a shame because this shirt is very pretty. I have noticed some quality issues with FP lately and I really hope they are addressed, because for the prices on these clothes, I expect a high-quality product that will last for years. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.16.2013
We're sorry this happened. We will definitely be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Portland
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Lovely detail but poor shape
4.8.2013
" I ordered this as I loved the detail on the arm and on the neckline and back. I am usually an L but sized up to an XL as the reviews said it runs a bit small. It arrived today and it really is VERY small. It is exceptionally short, much shorter than it looks in the pictures, you would need high waisted jeans as it is more the length of a long crop top. Definitely shorter than pictured. The detailing is as pictured, though- the only reason I kept it. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:36-40
body type:athletic
A Must Have with Jeans!
2.20.2013
" I bought the blush and white in this and it is a pretty top. I highly recommend it. Very flattering and elegant. I have a 35/36 inch bust and bought size S. It fits like on the model, but tighter around my bust. It isn't skin tight, it has a 'little' give. An XS would have been skin tight and I didn't want that. The blush was not the colour pictured, #that colour sold out# it was more of a rusty colour, like it was dip dyed as it had patches everywhere. I still love the top and the colour suited me fine. ** I discovered that if the FP size S top measurements were high 30's and above, I bought size XS and if below 38 inches, the size S worked well for me. Just a tip! This got me the top looking as it should, not too baggy and not to tight. I am normally a size 8/10 Small. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Denver, CO
age:26-30
body type:petite
My New Favorite Shirt!
2.11.2013
" LoVE! Fits my body shape GREAT!!! I am 5'-2" tall and weigh between 100 and 105 pounds and have a 34DD chest- i fit into a small PERFECT. I was going to get the XS becauseth at also fits- perhaps a bit better than the S in the stomach, but I got the S so my boobs weren't poppin' out. I LOVE that all of the buttons on it are different from one another and the lace sleeves- B-E-A-UTIFUL!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
I love this, but the sleeves are so tight....
2.3.2013
" This is adorable, I was wanting several colors but the sleeves are so short and tight. I have long arms with muscular biceps and I could not comfortably get the sleeves on even sizing up. The bust was a bit tight to. I am a 36 C-D and normally a FP medium, the large was even to tight in the arms. So sad... "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Shell Stitch Lace Henley
Name:
Location:Wenatchee, WA
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Really pretty!
1.24.2013
" I got the white one, it's a gorgeous top! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>