Product Reviews

FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress

Sheer gauzy cotton maxi dress with embroidered cutout detailing at front of chest. Bottom of dress is romantically pieced together with frayed cotton trimming. Bottom has embroidered cutout detailing, as well. Low cut back with ties at bottom. Back of waist is stretchy. *100% Cotton *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 56" Bust (all around): 32" Waist (all around - relaxed): 30" Armhole Drop: 9 1/2" *FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Review 1 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
IN LOVE
4.7.2013
"I got this and couldn't be happier! The cut is to die for and the color is exactly as pictured. The fit is TTS if not a tad loose. If between sizes, go down, not up. THe dress is totally sheer, and that annoys me to no end but I have stuff to work with it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
age:21-25
body type:slender
Gorgeous!
3.18.2013
"I wore this dress to my best friend's wedding on a boat. The dress is so pretty.. the back goes lower than pictured. The only issue I had is that it is completely see-through... even the red! I wore pasties and a sort of skirt-slip underneath because I got the dress a day before and didn't have time to prepare. LOVED it but I'll definitely be getting it lined for my next use!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:36-40
body type:slender
See Through
3.6.2013
"This dress is absolutely gorgeous!! Well made, flows beautifully and fits like a dream BUT it is SEE TRHOUGH!! I do not think that at this price I should also have to go find a slip to wear under it. I cannot for the life of me understand why they would not line this dress so it can be worn as is. I had to return it even though it broke my heart to do so."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:NM
age:26-30
body type:petite
PERFECT!!
10.23.2012
"I had been looking for a boho, beachy dress that didn't corset me so tight that I couldn't eat but one that still looked feminine. This was perfect. From the minute I opened the box I knew this was the one.
I did have to custom make a slip for underneath to give it a more elegant feel than a romper or short slip (pictured# gave it. I also added a layer of fabric to the bottom because it was ankle length and I really wanted it to touch the ground. #I used hand dyed cheesecloth for a similar gauzy feel.)
I got a small. I am 5'6" about 115. It is very flowy and not form fitting at all but with a sway that gives away your shape underneath it. I felt like a mermaid. Probably not for everyone, but if you're looking for effortless, flowy comfort, this is it.
I included a couple pictures, hope this helps!
"
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
Oh so pretty
10.17.2012
"Stunning! Runs a tad big but it is supposed to be flowy. The material is also a bit shear but it is lined."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:nc
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
love this dress
9.23.2012
"I have been searching for the perfect dress for my very casual beach wedding for months. This one is just right for me...I am 48 & love boho hippie-style clothing and wanted a gauzey beautiful dress that would be comfortable. It is not a traditional bridal dress and it is very very sheer & lightweight so be aware of that and plan on getting a slip for underneath. The back is very low so the slip will show as it does on the model. The color is nice but looks darker in person to me than the pics here - sort of like an ever so slightly gray ivory. The best thing about it is the way it moves when you walk - if you like to twirl, this is a twirly girl dress. For reference, I am 5'5 and 150 pounds with c size breasts and a big butt. I got the large. The length is perfect, just like the model pics."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Too Gauzy
7.14.2012
"The style of the dress is gorgeous, but the first thing I noticed was how gauzy the dress really is. Too casual for a wedding or a party. Also, the sizing is a bit weird for chesty women. It fit my chest area perfectly, but the fabric is so loose around my waist that it makes me look like I have absolutely no shape. Not very flattering at all."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:california
age:26-30
body type:petite
Misleading title, Maybe only good for halloween
6.20.2012
"Ok the title for this one is very misleading "beach bride" , as you can see from other reviewers it's not entirely "bridal" or "beachy" .
It's unlined so you need to buy a slip, and what bride would want to wear a gauzy dress for her wedding? I wanted something a bit flowly chiffon-like and pretty. The dress should be retitled "beach bum dress or lazy days dress"..because I've only seen it work as a halloween costume..well even saying it "worked" on them is debatable.
The one thing I did like about it was the eyelet holes, but those will go unnoticed if you wear a white slip or don't have a tan. Returned!!!
"
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara
age:26-30
body type:petite
beautiful dress but not for me!
6.5.2012
"i wanted this dress for my beach wedding and while it is SO lovely, i will be returning it because it's not quite perfect for my wedding. although it is meant to be a little loose, the fit is actually pretty flattering and it is completely sheer so you will need a slip or little romper. i really do love this dress and i wish i could keep it to wear somewhere else, but white is not really my thing other than at my wedding. i definitely recommend this dress because it's gorgeous!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Catalina Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Anchorage, Alaska
age:over 45
body type:petite
Beautiful but very sheer
6.3.2012
"I was hesitant to purchase this dress because it looked very sheer online, but I wanted something white and flowy to take on vacation with me to Hawaii. There was no mention of a lining, so I assumed that there wasn't one...and there wasn't one. It is made of a very fine crinkled cotton gauze fabric that looked like a nightgown in the packaging, so I was already expecting the worst before I tried it on. Surprisingly, it is very flattering on and not nightgowny at all. The top lies smoothly across the collarbones, and the skirt falls perfectly from the empire waist down. The skirt is light and flowy. The fabric is very delicate, so there is a question about whether it will snag or not. It is not a perfect white but with just a touch of cream to it, and the bottom ruffle is a little darker and made of a different textured gauze, like a loosely woven first aid bandage type of gauze that is not finished. I am only 5'2" and the bottom hem brushes the top of my feet, so it's pretty close to how it looks on the studio model. The cut out embroidery is very pretty and adds a little dimension to the dress. Given the price of this dress versus the fabric, I am not sure if it is worth it, but it is beautifully made. If you are looking at an XSmall, here are the measurements of the one I received:
length from top of strap: 54"
bust all around: 31"
waist all around (relaxed): 28"
armhole drop: 9"
Since there was no lining, I pulled on my ivory seamless mini and it looked pretty close to what the model is wearing although she might have the seamless romper on. Also, FP added a beautiful crochet covered hanger for the dress.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations