Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Joe Lace Up Boot

Leather over-the-knee lace-up boots. Metal eyelet detailing. Short zipper on the inner sides. Stacked wood heel. *Jeffrey Campbell for Free People **Special Note: The grey color way featured in the November catalog is actually the light brown color way.
overall average rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 210
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer Reviews for Joe Lace Up Boot
Review 1 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Dream Boots
4.14.2014
"Been dreaming of getting these boots for the last year. Finally got them this past winter. They've held up to snow but I am careful not to get them covered in snow because the snow melts and soaks through tongue. I love everything about this shoe except the heel. I thought it'd be solid leather, but it sounds like hollow plastic. I didn't like the way it sounded when I walked on tiled floors because of the hollow, plastic-y noise. Because it's hollow, the sound resonates even more. So I bought some grip pads, cut them to size, and stuck them to the heels to dampen the noise. I will eventually go to a shoe cobbler and replace the heel with rubber. Overall, I love the way the boot looks and the quality of the leather. I feel amazing in these boots and plan to wear them as much as possible."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:21-25
body type:petite
Lovely Lace-Up's
3.12.2014
"These boots were just what I expected. After reading a few reviews, I decided to size up. I normally wear a 7 or a 7 1/ 2 and decided to order an 8 which fit perfect.
I purchased the Khaki color which I found lovely - a mossy, dusty green. The leather is soft and delicate so it scuffs easily, but it fits nice and snug to your leg.
I am extremely happy with my purchase, I have worm them over 20 times and havent had a problem at all.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Denton, TX
age:26-30
body type:slender
distressed look is interesting
3.6.2014
"I love these boots, I bought them about a month ago, have worn and got lots of compliments. I wear a size 8 and got a size 8, they fit just exactly to my foot. I did try on a size 9 as well but felt it made my feet look too big. Okay, the distressed look is interesting. Just to give anyone a heads up of what the distressing MAY look like. It looks like some one scratched perfectly straight lines with bunch of needles into the sides (making little tiny white-ish lines if you will) and one boot is way more distressed than the other. Doesn't look natural at all and for my pair nothing like the pictures of the black boots that are posted online. BUT, still awesome boots."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:curvy
In Love!
2.26.2014
"When I found these boots I knew I had to have them, and they are even more gorgeous in person, I have gone through many pairs of boots in the past due to them falling down constantly, being uncomfortable or just wearing through them too quickly, but with these I have none of those issues they are so comfy I love wearing them all day, they were a little tight at first around the toes but now Ive worn them a few times they fit perfectly.
And also they are made to look vintage and slightly scuffed and do get scuffed easily, which I absolutely love but I know some people don't.
In my opinion these are most certainly worth the investment!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:26-30
body type:curvy
PERFECTION!!
2.21.2014
"Let's start out by saying, these boots are worth every nickel and dime. The leather is extremely smooth and soft with a unique distress vintage look to it, bonus I'm 5'4 they come up to my knees, i do have bigger thighs and calves and these boots are so easy to get on and walk around in. So what ever size or shape you are these boots will still fit perfectly with you. After waiting months and months I finally ordered these in the KHAKI, to be honest I wasn't sure if the color amazed me, I was debating on if I should of gotten the black, since it goes with more things, but everyone has black. BUT once I got all dressed up and got my boots on, boy was I wrong. The khaki are so unique and gorgeous, they mix well with anything, they are a dark green but in some lighting they look lighter or darker, they have a mind on its own. I'm usually a size 7 but I got the 8. They do run small. Also be careful cause i keep getting the hooks caught on my dress and other things. Only downfall I have on these boots is that if you do wear them for hours they can start to rub against your ankle, but it's not that bad. So go ahead and BUY these babies, I kid you not these will end up being your go to boots. You would practically live in them"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:BC, Canada
age:41-45
body type:slender
Stunning boots!
2.17.2014
"I ordered these in black and they just arrived. I was concerned about the sizing but after reading all the reviews I decided to size up a half size. I am a 6.5 so I ordered the 7. They fit great, a tad sung with socks but that's nothing a little stretching out won't cure. They were expensive to get here so I was super relieved! I have never liked over the knee boots but these are different, they have such a wondrous vintage feel and are very tasteful looking. I'm in love! I am thrilled I took the plunge and bought them:)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love there
2.12.2014
"I have been lusting after these boots forever. When I got my year end bonus I though it was the perfect time to get them. I debated on color until the brown sold out and I got the black. I cannot stress how much I love these boots. They are so comfortable and incredibly cute. What I didn't think about was how my personal style doesn't mesh well with these boots. I am taking them to the store to return with a heavy heart because I wanted these boots for so long and I love them. They fit perfectly. I usually wear an 8-8.5 I got the 9 because in boots that tends to be better. I was also surprised at how easy they were to get on. Also I am 5'4" and on the curvier side the boots the boots did go over my knee and i was not able to lace them up to the top which was fine. They look cool worn in different ways. I am so sad but maybe the black is just not for me. When the brown comes back in stock I will try those."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Love at first sight!
2.10.2014
"I bought these boots hoping I wouldn't like them because they are pricey, but ended up loving them! I'm 5'6 with skinny legs and they fit me just like the picture, mid knee length. I ordered the black ones and couldn't be happier. They go well with my skinny jeans, leggings and dresses. I can def dress them up or dress them down. Plus they are soo comfortable I can wear them all day."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:newton, pa
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
awesome boots! size up!
2.6.2014
"I debated on an 8 or 9 for awhile. I usually wear an 8 or 8.5 and have one other pair of Jeffrey Campbell boots which are a 9 and about a size too big without thick socks. I ordered a 9 thinking I'd be wearing them with thick socks. The 9 fit perfectly with THIN socks only! I highly recommend sizing up."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:North Carolina
age:21-25
body type:slender
These boots rule
2.4.2014
"These boots are so solid! I usually wear a size 7.5 and I got the 7 and they fit perfectly. They go just as easily over jeans as they do underskirts. I've worn normal socks with them and there isn't any uncomfortable rubbing. I wish the laces were slightly longer because they don't wrap around as easily as shown, but otherwise I adore them!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:21-25
body type:petite
LOVE!
2.4.2014
"Perfect boots, got so many compliments on them and i have only had them for a few days. Theyre the perfect vintage, scuffed up and worn in boots. Ive worn them every day since i got them. Im 5'2 and I was worried they would be too tall on my short legs and they fit slightly over my knee which is how i wanted them. I ordered a size 7 which is my normal size and they fit perfectly. The only problem i would have to say about them is that they'll slouch a little around my ankle and there's a strip of material in the back of the boot around my ankle that is stiff and really starts to bother the back of my heel and ankle unless I keep pulling the boots up. Other than that I am so glad i went ahead and bought these. I was debating back and forth whether to purchase them or not and I would have to say it was a great purchase! If you're on the edge whether or not you want to purchase them, then just buy them. You wont regret it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania, USA
age:over 45
body type:petite
Timeless
2.1.2014
"What can I say after all the reviews that were written! I live in a 250 yr old house and I feel like I found these boots in the attic! They are awesome. The color (black) is great and I found them to be true to size. I have had so many compliments on the boots that I am not looking forward to storing them once the warm weather gets here! I am 5' 1" and they go over my knees by about 3 or 4 inches and they are kickin butt great!!! Worth every penny! Thanks JC and FP!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
WOW!!!
1.30.2014
"I am an Australian size 7-71/2 and purchased these in black in a size 7. As this is my second pair of JC boots the first being the buckle back ankle boot I would say they are true to size and JC is consistent in their sizing.
The black is exactly as pictured with that cool washed black look rather than a flat black.
Have been wearing mine around the house, just picked them up and I have not tried them on with socks yet however still have wiggle room in the toe and they appear to have stretched slightly already.
Look amazing with hi lo hem skirts, shorts, really anything.
I am happy with the look of the leather and construction, love the stacked heel and highly recommend this dainty looking boot. Has a Victorian feel to it. Flattering for all ages..
Now, of course I want another pair. Please bring back the taupe that colour looked AMAZING!!!! Now roll on Australia Autumn/Winter:)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beyond in love with these boots!
1.28.2014
"I had my eye on these boots for a long time and finally decided to take the plunge and order the khaki and I'm SO glad that I did. They are a dark forest green hue and go with anything that I pair them with. I love doing a slip and letting a tall sock peek out of the top. Definitely get these - you'll be so happy that you did!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:San Ramon, CA, USA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
HOTT
1.11.2014
"I had my eye on these babies for a while and couldn't decide on black or brown and if I wanted to spend the full price. I really wanted a dark brown but since they don't have it, I went for the black. I got them when I had a discount to use and I have to say, they are worth the FULL price. You can still wear them with brown. Easy to dress up or down.
They were on back order when I ordered them, so it felt like an eternity until I finally got them. When opened the box, tried them on, I was about to cry thinking they were too small. After pulling the cusp on the heel apart to stretch a little wider and stepping down on the toe area with my heel, they had stretched out perfectly and fit FABULOUS!!!! So glad I ordered my true size. I'm a 9.5 in heels and a 10 in flats. I got the size 10. I wear them with leggings and dresses. Feels sexy even when I'm dressed casual. I get countless compliments on them ;)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Germany
age:14-20
body type:petite
My Daughter's Favorite Footwear
1.9.2014
"I bought these for my daughter, and she loves them. She usually wears a 7m and the 8 m fits perfectly. My daughter is only 5'2", but the boots looked great both laced up or folded over. The only reason that I'm giving them a four is that they do scuff easily."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
They finally came in!!!
1.6.2014
"I ordered these boots 2 months ago on back order and have been waiting patiently. They are here and I LOVE them. I read the reviews so I sized up to a 9 (usually an 8) and they are a bit long, but narrow. I have a narrow foot so the extra 1/4" at the toe of space is ok. Plus they lace up so I can always tighten them. The leather is great. Thank You FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Melbourme, Australia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Madly in love!!!
1.4.2014
"These are my dream boots!!!! They're all I want to wear (which sucks t the moment as it is mid summer over here!) worth every cent. The distressed leather look is really good, not too much. I am usually a 38 in FP shoes, so I got a size 8, and they're a perfect fit on feet and calves! I forsee myself getting heaps of compliments on them when I can finally wear them! <3 <3"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Wrightsville Beach, NC
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Conversation Starter
12.27.2013
"I waited months to wear these boots and they definitely do not disappoint! I put them number 1 on my Christmas list, but did not specify a color. My mom surprised me with the light brown and I could not be happier. Definitely worth the money. I get so many compliments. I have larger calves so that was the only thing I was worried about, but they fit and look great!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:slender
Amazing!
12.17.2013
"I debated on getting the black or the brown for a while and finally decided on the brown. I'm so happy I did! They look exactly like they do in the picture. They're really comfortable (not surprising since all JC's are comfy.) The boots aren't leather though... they are suede with just leather at the point of the shoe. Regardless I love them and am very happy with them! Also size up! I'm always an 8 but I sized up since I will be wearing thicker socks with them and they're perfect. There's just enough space in the front!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>