Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Joe Lace Up Boot

Leather over-the-knee lace-up boots. Metal eyelet detailing. Short zipper on the inner sides. Stacked wood heel. *Jeffrey Campbell for Free People **Please Note: The Natural color way appears lighter in our images. If you order the Natural boot, you will receive a slightly darker pair.
overall average rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(236 Reviews) 236
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer Reviews for Joe Lace Up Boot
Review 1 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
A little something special
12.14.2014
" These boots just add something extra special. I umm-ed and ahh-ed over whether to splurge and buy these and I'm so glad I did. The grey/blue colour is lovely and goes with so many things. The shape and size really won me over - I'm pretty tall and struggle to find knee-high boots that actually go all the way to my knees, let alone over! These sit just above my knee cap when done all the way up. But I do love their versatility to be able to roll them down and tie them differently. Very comfortable, though I do recommend sizing up at least half a size. I do have big feet (usually 9.5 Aus) and the size 10 just fits my wide foot well. They are eye catching but for someone who usually wears fairly laid back, understated clothes, they are my statement piece that I know I'll love for years. FP-wise - service was easy and quick. Very happy - thank you! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:texas
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
natural is sand/sable?
12.10.2014
" I ordered the natural color and received sand/sable. I read another review saying the same thing. Not sure why this is happening. Just to be clear, if you order the natural you will get something that looks like camel and is much DARKER than the picture. Which is weird because the page says that they apparently look lighter in person? Why not just post accurate pictures to avoid returns and such..... regardless, the boots are awesome, but it's frustrating that I have to deal with the exchange process and wait forever to get a proper color. I'll probably order the light brown since I don't think the natural color listed exists. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Disappointed in these :(
12.4.2014
" I have been coveting these boots for years!!!
I've looked through all the reviews and knew that the leather would not be as high quality as expected for the price, but when I received my boots (in black), they were all scratched up!
It looks very cheap, as if they are constructed from pleather. I'm so disappointed!
I was looking forward to wearing these all the time, and I don't know if I exchange them for another pair, they will look different. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Texas, United States
age:31-35
body type:slender
Love the Khaki not the Gray
11.29.2014
" I purchased the Khaki in a size 9. They fit perfectly on my size 13" calves. Since I'm 5'7 1/2" tall, they do not go over the knee which is great because I do not think they would be comfortable if they did reach that high. They are a fantastic quality and I've had them over a year without any problems. I do wear thick boot socks to fit my skinny legs better! LOL
So because of the khaki I decided to get the Light Grey too and received them yesterday. Unfortunately, they look more taupe than light grey to me and the quality is definitely not the same. There are strings hanging off and they feel extremely thin. I feel that if I were to pull on the tongue it would rip. I'm so upset because I was so excited to get these and I really wanted a pair of gray boots. I should have gotten the Johnny Boots in charcoal instead. But, since I got these on sale, that's not an option. Oh another thing that sucks is that I live near two stores and neither of them sell shoes. Weird. I'll have to return the Light Grey. However, like I said, I do absolutely adore the Khaki which I give 5 Stars and I give the Light Grey 2 Stars.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:NY
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Natural not so natural
11.25.2014
" These boots are a pale pumpkin colour, not natural at all. Plus there are black marks on the boot which looks naff. The invoice notes the colour as sand, this won't work for my wardrobe but those with lots of autumn colours may find it works for them . This boot is a fashion item despite the price and lacks quality for the price, small fitting so size up. (I have the black) Plus the boots arrived in a box with the soles bent, not cool for a $300 item. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Rhode Island
age:21-25
body type:athletic
DO NOT ORDER NATURAL
11.15.2014
" These boots are great! But if you're looking for a brown pair order the light brown, the one's listed as natural are much lighter than they appear online -- I would compare them to flesh color...it's not cute in the slightest. I just returned them for the light brown pair and am very happy with the color and fit. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Willamette Valley
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Not worth the money
10.30.2014
" I ordered these boots because of all the nice reviews about it. I ordered them in black. When they arrived, I was surprised to see the leather felt cheap. BTW, I found leather scraps inside the shoe, a quality over sight. The distressing on the boots made the colour more like a charcoal, not a true black. Still, I tried them on. Around the foot, these are instantly comfortable. The height of the heel is perfect. My shoe size is 7 1/2 and I ordered a 38. There was enough room to wear socks for that look same as the photos. I would have kept these boots except for the fact that the back part of the boot near the heel, kept digging into my skin, even with the socks. For $300, shoes should be comfortable and there should be no need to suffer for fashion. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Petaluma, CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
I wish I agreed...
10.27.2014
" My local store FINALLY had these in stock they had black and the light brown colors, they're my longest standing wishlist item and I've drooled over them forever. I tried on both colors and each was way wayyyyy too high and the black was taller than the brown. I have fairly skinny ankles/calves and while that wasn't a problem neither color fit well from the knee to ankle part and went a little too high, if i bent my knees/sat down it wrinkled the entire boot making it look very unflattering, standing up they both just felt 2-3 inches too high on my knees. Overall the leather was dreamy and wonderful, the heel is comfortable and the foot part was very TTS, i'm an 8 and it was a perfect fit without feeling like I needed to go up or down in size. If these had been even 1-3 inches shorter on the top I probably would have bought both. I wish I could agree with the amazing reviews below mine that these are the perfect pair of boots. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Southern Calif
age:26-30
body type:slender
Joe boots in "natural" color
10.27.2014
" True to size, I'm between 7.5 and 8, went with the 8. When I opened the box, I was never so sad. The color depicted on the website was no where near the color I received. I opened the box to find a pumpkin color. Not the nice natural, almost light brown as seen on the website. I own the Joe boot in black, it's gorgeous and goes with everything, thought the natural would be equally as versatile. I am taking these back and probably ordering thee light brown. Very disappointed with the color "natural" . The color should be named " Fall Harvest" great boot, just not the color i was expecting. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Germany
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Amazing Boots!
10.21.2014
" First of all: They came in a pink box with an unicorn printed on top. Seriously, how cool is that?
I fell in love with these boots when I saw them the first time. Neither in the US, nor in Europe I have ever seen lace up boots like this.
I usually am a UK 5.5 / EU 38.5 in shoes. According to the size chart, I should have ordered size 8, but after reading the reviews, I sized up to a 9. And I'm glad I did! These boots are worth every penny. The leather its finest quality, and it has got a stitchdown sole. The heel hight its just perfect and comfy. I can see me wearing them in every season.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, Minnesota
age:21-25
body type:petite
Up & Down....repeat.
10.14.2014
" When I saw these I debated for two days until I decided I couldn't live without them! I marched into the Mall of America location, tried them on, and said "i'll take them!" When I got home, I put them on and didn't take them off for 3 hours. I was actually bummed when it was 80 degrees that weekend because I wanted to wear my new boots!
True, after reading some other reviews I agree the product is not up to a $300 standard. I expected them to be well made and they simply are not.
Three weeks later, and only having worn them 3 times, I was pulling them on and the tongue of the boot ripped off entirely!!! I am 5'3" and not very strong so you can imagine my shock when this happened. I called FP the next day and was told after 3 weeks the best they could offer was an exchange. Even worse, when I went in, I felt like the associates looked at me like it was my fault that I didn't take care of my precious fall staple item.
I will most likely not buy from here again. if you're debating getting these boots, take it from someone who is on her second pair after only 3 weeks...spend the $300 elsewhere. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Miami
age:over 45
body type:slender
Fabulous....Except for Color GREY
10.7.2014
" I agree with most of the reviews already written about these boots (fun, unique, hot, order up a size). These are definitely a great pair of boots! However, the one thing that nobody seemed to write about is the Grey color. What the pictures on the website DON'T show is that they are actually covered in 'black scuff' - presumably to make the boots look extra worn in. While I totally get that the scuffed/worn look is on trend - this was taken to an entirely ridiculous level: Think Mary Poppins coming down an extremely dirty chimney! Jeffrey Cambell seemed to try a bit too hard for this look. So disappointing, because the grey is SUCH a hot color. I exchanged them for the brown (which are nice....but I'm still yearning for the 'grey' that they featured in the pictures, which shows only 'some scuff'..... "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:redondo beach, CA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Deliciously Fabulous
10.3.2014
" i just got these boots in yesterday and couldn't wait to try them on. i was not disappointed at all. sexy yet so easy to wear with practically everything. going over to england and can not wait to wear these...so hip and groovy! yep i said groovy! at 60, there are no rules saying you can't wear cheeky and sexy with a touch of class. just throw in a twist to make your outfit fab. some of FP stuff runs big, but i wear an 8 shoe/boot and got an 8 in the gray...LOVE! wear with shorts, skinny, dresses, skirts......and functional. i'd wear with adelia dress, embroidered net maxi, dreadweaver dress, just to name a few. i am very satisfied customer (and wear a ton of FP) as a Woodstock Survivor, i still love that time in my life, so free people is my style at every level. did i mention i LOVED them right out of the box! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:chicago
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love, love, love these boots!
9.24.2014
" I absolutely love these boots because they not only look amazingly sexy, the fit is incredible and they are truly comfortable. At first I hesitated because of the price but once they arrived and I tried them on, I was sold. Now I actually look for what I can wear so that I can wear them more often. I bought the black ones, and just yesterday bought them in red. I've warn them with flowing Free People dresses for an evening party, short shirts or dresses, and with leggings and skinny jeans. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:New York City
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Awesome
9.16.2014
" After reading several important review about sizing. I decided to get these a size up. I am 5'7" and have a very athletic shapely body. My calves are 17" and my knees are 15". So I got the size 11. HAPPY!!! Though I can not lace them up as close as the model, they fit nice. The laces is not long though for a size 11 shoe. So I found a site called Laces Express. Now everything is perfect. Compliments galore. I gave this 4 stars only because of the laces. Just saying. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Prague
age:41-45
body type:petite
I LOVE IT :-)
9.16.2014
" Very nice and comfortable !! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful!!
9.15.2014
" I've loved these for the longest time and finally decided to purchase. I ordered the light brown and with the advice of several employees, I went up a size which I'm glad I did! I'm normally a 9 but the 10 fits perfectly and leaves enough room to wear socks with them.
The material is very soft and the coloring is exactly as pictured. Overall a fabulous pair of boots. I plan to order the light grey pair very soon. If you're hesitant about purchasing, I'd definitely say go for it! You won't be disappointed. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:petite
Favorite Boots
9.13.2014
" For me, these boots fit true to size- which is hard to come by in boots! I haven't had any problems with wear and tear of the boots like stated in some of the reviews. Very versatile with any outfit, any season. You just can't go wrong with these beauts. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Fall Staple
9.12.2014
" The online pictures do NOTHING for these boots. They are amazing in person! they are super comfortable and soft. My only complain ( and typically JC complaint) is the leather could use a little more moisture. I typically use a little saddle soak to moisturize my JCs to keep them in shape. I am thinking about ordering the brown also "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:over 45
body type:slender
Unique and timeless
9.8.2014
" I purchased this boot in light brown size 8. Easy to put on and take off. I'm a 7.5 and 8 fit perfect. This boot is like Pocahontas meets victorian renaissance..... very femme fatale. The super soft leather and low heal add understated appeal while the above knee length, calf hugging leather, and lace up detail contribute to outstanding beauty of this boot. Almost a wearable work of art that should be staple in any womans boot collection. I'm 5'4 and this hits slightly above the knee but elongates the legs and makes the most average outfit an amazing one. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>