Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Joe Lace Up Boot

Leather over-the-knee lace-up boots. Metal eyelet detailing. Short zipper on the inner sides. Stacked wood heel. *Jeffrey Campbell for Free People **Please Note: The Natural color way appears lighter in our images. If you order the Natural boot, you will receive a slightly darker pair.
overall average rating:
4.387 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(243 Reviews) 243
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer Reviews for Joe Lace Up Boot
Review 1 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Washington State
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Not Red
1.26.2015
" I ordered the RED and Khaki in this style boot. The color is not RED; it is more of a Burnt ORANGE color. However, I LOVE the boots! I love that the Khaki is more of an dark army green color. Also, I would say that they're almost true to size because they are a bit snug. I wear size 7.5 or 8 depending on the shoe and I'm glad I got a size 8. However, if you like to wear thick socks though I'd recommend going up a half size. Being that they are real leather, the slight snugness should be alleviated as time goes on and I wear them more. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Tampa
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Wow boots
1.20.2015
" Let me say WOW again. These boots feel and look amazing! I usually wear an 8.5, but ordered the 9, and they fit perfectly. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Florida
age:26-30
body type:petite
Jeffrey Campbell Joe Boots
1.18.2015
" I love these boots, I get tons of compliments on them. The only issue is that I've had them for about a year, the zipper broke and the heels are really worn down now. Really bummed out about it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:atlanta, GA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Fabulous!
12.31.2014
" I love these boots so much that I want them in other colors. The go with so much and really kick up anything you are wearing a few notches to be a tad edgier. I've read other reviews about the quality so I didn't expect a whole lot when I got them. I mean year they are thin on the bottom a tad and the suede is too, but I don't thing they would look as good if they were thicker. Just be careful and I wouldn't wear them every single day. Very Happy with this purchase! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Joe light grey
12.29.2014
" First, I don't know where they get the idea that the light grey is grey because it isn't even close. It was closer to a cream color...but I still liked it. It is narrow across the ball of the foot making it feel too small. I am 6 feet and wear a size 10, but the 10 was too tight. I am considering trying to go to a size 11, but sent the 10 back. The leather is soft and would be great with the exception of the tightness and I have noticed that the color of a lot of Free People items seem to be misrepresented in pictures, so be wary. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
in love
12.27.2014
" I purchased these boots after months of wanting them! Finally they are mine. Just as beautiful in person as i would have hoped. People were saying they ran a little big, I can't figure out if they do. I am a size 8.5 and because of the reviews I ordered a 9. They are a little roomy but I am curious how the 8 would have fit. I always wear thicker socks with these so the 9 is perfect for that! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Looooooovvvvvveeee these boots!
12.26.2014
" These boots are wonderful! I have them in the black and I'm wearing them with everything! I find they fit true to size and they're essentially just perfect :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
A little something special
12.14.2014
" These boots just add something extra special. I umm-ed and ahh-ed over whether to splurge and buy these and I'm so glad I did. The grey/blue colour is lovely and goes with so many things. The shape and size really won me over - I'm pretty tall and struggle to find knee-high boots that actually go all the way to my knees, let alone over! These sit just above my knee cap when done all the way up. But I do love their versatility to be able to roll them down and tie them differently. Very comfortable, though I do recommend sizing up at least half a size. I do have big feet (usually 9.5 Aus) and the size 10 just fits my wide foot well. They are eye catching but for someone who usually wears fairly laid back, understated clothes, they are my statement piece that I know I'll love for years. FP-wise - service was easy and quick. Very happy - thank you! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:texas
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
natural is sand/sable?
12.10.2014
" I ordered the natural color and received sand/sable. I read another review saying the same thing. Not sure why this is happening. Just to be clear, if you order the natural you will get something that looks like camel and is much DARKER than the picture. Which is weird because the page says that they apparently look lighter in person? Why not just post accurate pictures to avoid returns and such..... regardless, the boots are awesome, but it's frustrating that I have to deal with the exchange process and wait forever to get a proper color. I'll probably order the light brown since I don't think the natural color listed exists. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Disappointed in these :(
12.4.2014
" I have been coveting these boots for years!!!
I've looked through all the reviews and knew that the leather would not be as high quality as expected for the price, but when I received my boots (in black), they were all scratched up!
It looks very cheap, as if they are constructed from pleather. I'm so disappointed!
I was looking forward to wearing these all the time, and I don't know if I exchange them for another pair, they will look different. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Texas, United States
age:31-35
body type:slender
Love the Khaki not the Gray
11.29.2014
" I purchased the Khaki in a size 9. They fit perfectly on my size 13" calves. Since I'm 5'7 1/2" tall, they do not go over the knee which is great because I do not think they would be comfortable if they did reach that high. They are a fantastic quality and I've had them over a year without any problems. I do wear thick boot socks to fit my skinny legs better! LOL
So because of the khaki I decided to get the Light Grey too and received them yesterday. Unfortunately, they look more taupe than light grey to me and the quality is definitely not the same. There are strings hanging off and they feel extremely thin. I feel that if I were to pull on the tongue it would rip. I'm so upset because I was so excited to get these and I really wanted a pair of gray boots. I should have gotten the Johnny Boots in charcoal instead. But, since I got these on sale, that's not an option. Oh another thing that sucks is that I live near two stores and neither of them sell shoes. Weird. I'll have to return the Light Grey. However, like I said, I do absolutely adore the Khaki which I give 5 Stars and I give the Light Grey 2 Stars.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:NY
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Natural not so natural
11.25.2014
" These boots are a pale pumpkin colour, not natural at all. Plus there are black marks on the boot which looks naff. The invoice notes the colour as sand, this won't work for my wardrobe but those with lots of autumn colours may find it works for them . This boot is a fashion item despite the price and lacks quality for the price, small fitting so size up. (I have the black) Plus the boots arrived in a box with the soles bent, not cool for a $300 item. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Rhode Island
age:21-25
body type:athletic
DO NOT ORDER NATURAL
11.15.2014
" These boots are great! But if you're looking for a brown pair order the light brown, the one's listed as natural are much lighter than they appear online -- I would compare them to flesh color...it's not cute in the slightest. I just returned them for the light brown pair and am very happy with the color and fit. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Willamette Valley
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Not worth the money
10.30.2014
" I ordered these boots because of all the nice reviews about it. I ordered them in black. When they arrived, I was surprised to see the leather felt cheap. BTW, I found leather scraps inside the shoe, a quality over sight. The distressing on the boots made the colour more like a charcoal, not a true black. Still, I tried them on. Around the foot, these are instantly comfortable. The height of the heel is perfect. My shoe size is 7 1/2 and I ordered a 38. There was enough room to wear socks for that look same as the photos. I would have kept these boots except for the fact that the back part of the boot near the heel, kept digging into my skin, even with the socks. For $300, shoes should be comfortable and there should be no need to suffer for fashion. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Petaluma, CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
I wish I agreed...
10.27.2014
" My local store FINALLY had these in stock they had black and the light brown colors, they're my longest standing wishlist item and I've drooled over them forever. I tried on both colors and each was way wayyyyy too high and the black was taller than the brown. I have fairly skinny ankles/calves and while that wasn't a problem neither color fit well from the knee to ankle part and went a little too high, if i bent my knees/sat down it wrinkled the entire boot making it look very unflattering, standing up they both just felt 2-3 inches too high on my knees. Overall the leather was dreamy and wonderful, the heel is comfortable and the foot part was very TTS, i'm an 8 and it was a perfect fit without feeling like I needed to go up or down in size. If these had been even 1-3 inches shorter on the top I probably would have bought both. I wish I could agree with the amazing reviews below mine that these are the perfect pair of boots. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Southern Calif
age:26-30
body type:slender
Joe boots in "natural" color
10.27.2014
" True to size, I'm between 7.5 and 8, went with the 8. When I opened the box, I was never so sad. The color depicted on the website was no where near the color I received. I opened the box to find a pumpkin color. Not the nice natural, almost light brown as seen on the website. I own the Joe boot in black, it's gorgeous and goes with everything, thought the natural would be equally as versatile. I am taking these back and probably ordering thee light brown. Very disappointed with the color "natural" . The color should be named " Fall Harvest" great boot, just not the color i was expecting. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Germany
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Amazing Boots!
10.21.2014
" First of all: They came in a pink box with an unicorn printed on top. Seriously, how cool is that?
I fell in love with these boots when I saw them the first time. Neither in the US, nor in Europe I have ever seen lace up boots like this.
I usually am a UK 5.5 / EU 38.5 in shoes. According to the size chart, I should have ordered size 8, but after reading the reviews, I sized up to a 9. And I'm glad I did! These boots are worth every penny. The leather its finest quality, and it has got a stitchdown sole. The heel hight its just perfect and comfy. I can see me wearing them in every season.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, Minnesota
age:21-25
body type:petite
Up & Down....repeat.
10.14.2014
" When I saw these I debated for two days until I decided I couldn't live without them! I marched into the Mall of America location, tried them on, and said "i'll take them!" When I got home, I put them on and didn't take them off for 3 hours. I was actually bummed when it was 80 degrees that weekend because I wanted to wear my new boots!
True, after reading some other reviews I agree the product is not up to a $300 standard. I expected them to be well made and they simply are not.
Three weeks later, and only having worn them 3 times, I was pulling them on and the tongue of the boot ripped off entirely!!! I am 5'3" and not very strong so you can imagine my shock when this happened. I called FP the next day and was told after 3 weeks the best they could offer was an exchange. Even worse, when I went in, I felt like the associates looked at me like it was my fault that I didn't take care of my precious fall staple item.
I will most likely not buy from here again. if you're debating getting these boots, take it from someone who is on her second pair after only 3 weeks...spend the $300 elsewhere. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Miami
age:over 45
body type:slender
Fabulous....Except for Color GREY
10.7.2014
" I agree with most of the reviews already written about these boots (fun, unique, hot, order up a size). These are definitely a great pair of boots! However, the one thing that nobody seemed to write about is the Grey color. What the pictures on the website DON'T show is that they are actually covered in 'black scuff' - presumably to make the boots look extra worn in. While I totally get that the scuffed/worn look is on trend - this was taken to an entirely ridiculous level: Think Mary Poppins coming down an extremely dirty chimney! Jeffrey Cambell seemed to try a bit too hard for this look. So disappointing, because the grey is SUCH a hot color. I exchanged them for the brown (which are nice....but I'm still yearning for the 'grey' that they featured in the pictures, which shows only 'some scuff'..... "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:redondo beach, CA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Deliciously Fabulous
10.3.2014
" i just got these boots in yesterday and couldn't wait to try them on. i was not disappointed at all. sexy yet so easy to wear with practically everything. going over to england and can not wait to wear these...so hip and groovy! yep i said groovy! at 60, there are no rules saying you can't wear cheeky and sexy with a touch of class. just throw in a twist to make your outfit fab. some of FP stuff runs big, but i wear an 8 shoe/boot and got an 8 in the gray...LOVE! wear with shorts, skinny, dresses, skirts......and functional. i'd wear with adelia dress, embroidered net maxi, dreadweaver dress, just to name a few. i am very satisfied customer (and wear a ton of FP) as a Woodstock Survivor, i still love that time in my life, so free people is my style at every level. did i mention i LOVED them right out of the box! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>