Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Joe Lace Up Boot

Leather over-the-knee lace-up boots. Metal eyelet detailing. Short zipper on the inner sides. Stacked wood heel. *Jeffrey Campbell for Free People
overall average rating:
4.434 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(226 Reviews) 226
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer Reviews for Joe Lace Up Boot
Review 1 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, Minnesota
age:21-25
body type:petite
Up & Down....repeat.
10.14.2014
"When I saw these I debated for two days until I decided I couldn't live without them! I marched into the Mall of America location, tried them on, and said "i'll take them!" When I got home, I put them on and didn't take them off for 3 hours. I was actually bummed when it was 80 degrees that weekend because I wanted to wear my new boots!
True, after reading some other reviews I agree the product is not up to a $300 standard. I expected them to be well made and they simply are not.
Three weeks later, and only having worn them 3 times, I was pulling them on and the tongue of the boot ripped off entirely!!! I am 5'3" and not very strong so you can imagine my shock when this happened. I called FP the next day and was told after 3 weeks the best they could offer was an exchange. Even worse, when I went in, I felt like the associates looked at me like it was my fault that I didn't take care of my precious fall staple item.
I will most likely not buy from here again. if you're debating getting these boots, take it from someone who is on her second pair after only 3 weeks...spend the $300 elsewhere."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Miami
age:over 45
body type:slender
Fabulous....Except for Color GREY
10.7.2014
"I agree with most of the reviews already written about these boots (fun, unique, hot, order up a size). These are definitely a great pair of boots! However, the one thing that nobody seemed to write about is the Grey color. What the pictures on the website DON'T show is that they are actually covered in 'black scuff' - presumably to make the boots look extra worn in. While I totally get that the scuffed/worn look is on trend - this was taken to an entirely ridiculous level: Think Mary Poppins coming down an extremely dirty chimney! Jeffrey Cambell seemed to try a bit too hard for this look. So disappointing, because the grey is SUCH a hot color. I exchanged them for the brown (which are nice....but I'm still yearning for the 'grey' that they featured in the pictures, which shows only 'some scuff'....."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:redondo beach, CA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Deliciously Fabulous
10.3.2014
"i just got these boots in yesterday and couldn't wait to try them on. i was not disappointed at all. sexy yet so easy to wear with practically everything. going over to england and can not wait to wear these...so hip and groovy! yep i said groovy! at 60, there are no rules saying you can't wear cheeky and sexy with a touch of class. just throw in a twist to make your outfit fab. some of FP stuff runs big, but i wear an 8 shoe/boot and got an 8 in the gray...LOVE! wear with shorts, skinny, dresses, skirts......and functional. i'd wear with adelia dress, embroidered net maxi, dreadweaver dress, just to name a few. i am very satisfied customer (and wear a ton of FP) as a Woodstock Survivor, i still love that time in my life, so free people is my style at every level. did i mention i LOVED them right out of the box!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:chicago
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love, love, love these boots!
9.24.2014
"I absolutely love these boots because they not only look amazingly sexy, the fit is incredible and they are truly comfortable. At first I hesitated because of the price but once they arrived and I tried them on, I was sold. Now I actually look for what I can wear so that I can wear them more often. I bought the black ones, and just yesterday bought them in red. I've warn them with flowing Free People dresses for an evening party, short shirts or dresses, and with leggings and skinny jeans."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:New York City
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Awesome
9.16.2014
"After reading several important review about sizing. I decided to get these a size up. I am 5'7" and have a very athletic shapely body. My calves are 17" and my knees are 15". So I got the size 11. HAPPY!!! Though I can not lace them up as close as the model, they fit nice. The laces is not long though for a size 11 shoe. So I found a site called Laces Express. Now everything is perfect. Compliments galore. I gave this 4 stars only because of the laces. Just saying."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Prague
age:41-45
body type:petite
I LOVE IT :-)
9.16.2014
"Very nice and comfortable !!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful!!
9.15.2014
"I've loved these for the longest time and finally decided to purchase. I ordered the light brown and with the advice of several employees, I went up a size which I'm glad I did! I'm normally a 9 but the 10 fits perfectly and leaves enough room to wear socks with them.
The material is very soft and the coloring is exactly as pictured. Overall a fabulous pair of boots. I plan to order the light grey pair very soon. If you're hesitant about purchasing, I'd definitely say go for it! You won't be disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:petite
Favorite Boots
9.13.2014
"For me, these boots fit true to size- which is hard to come by in boots! I haven't had any problems with wear and tear of the boots like stated in some of the reviews. Very versatile with any outfit, any season. You just can't go wrong with these beauts."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Fall Staple
9.12.2014
"The online pictures do NOTHING for these boots. They are amazing in person! they are super comfortable and soft. My only complain ( and typically JC complaint) is the leather could use a little more moisture. I typically use a little saddle soak to moisturize my JCs to keep them in shape. I am thinking about ordering the brown also"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:over 45
body type:slender
Unique and timeless
9.8.2014
"I purchased this boot in light brown size 8. Easy to put on and take off. I'm a 7.5 and 8 fit perfect. This boot is like Pocahontas meets victorian renaissance..... very femme fatale. The super soft leather and low heal add understated appeal while the above knee length, calf hugging leather, and lace up detail contribute to outstanding beauty of this boot. Almost a wearable work of art that should be staple in any womans boot collection. I'm 5'4 and this hits slightly above the knee but elongates the legs and makes the most average outfit an amazing one."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Louisville, KY
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Super Rad Tall Boots
9.4.2014
"The reviews on fitting and such for these boots are all over the place which made me a little nervous, but I'm so glad I finally bought them!! For reference, I'm 5'9", slender, and wear a size 10 shoe. These fit TTS and are super comfortable. I was also concerned that they wouldn't be tall enough, but they hit just barely above my knees, just like in the picture. Yes, the soles are thin, but I have other Jeffrey Campbell shoes with thin soles that I've had for years without any problems. They're way soft, also, which means that I'm not worried about them rubbing on the back of my knees. Perfect pair of tall boots. Don't sleep on these!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Beautiful not-red boots
8.31.2014
"I ordered these boots in the red, because there is nothing sexier than red boots. Instead of the "Arrest-Me-Red" shown in the photos I received a lovely pair of orange boots. Not an orangey-red--we are talking bright burnt orange. They are lovely, but do not fit as well as the other pair of Joe boots that I own--even when cinched all the way as tight as they will go they are loose in the ankles and calves; and they seem to have been cut wider in the feet. Since I have rather narrow feet, this is not a bonus for me and causes them to slip slightly when I walk. The boots should be billed as Burnt Orange, not as Red."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Mostly awesome- a few detractions
8.15.2014
"I held off a year to buy these boots, they were exactly what I was after but I wanted to find them in Australia so I could try them on (there is no exchange on international FP items and they are no small investment!). I was really excited when FP had a pop up shop in Sydney and hoped they would have the boots in my size. They did have them in my size but not the colour I wanted. So I tried the green ones on for size and they fit beautifully, I have skinny calves so it's a mission to find boots that don't look like gumboots on me! So I ordered them in the brown and waited patiently for them to arrive. I absolutely love them, they are good quality and fit a slim leg well. The sole as other reviews have mentioned is quiet thin but I bought a size up so I could wear them with socks so I have room to to some inserts in. Also the zipper is a cheap plastic one. The only let down was I was expecting them to be a shiny leather (like the green ones I tried on and in the photos) but the brown ones are definitely more a suede leather. Just have to be careful with them in the wet!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California.
age:over 45
body type:slender
In love with these boots!
7.31.2014
"I drooled over these boots quite a lot before I ordered them. I read a lot of reviews and decided to go for it. I got the red ones, it is a orangey rusty red, which I am relieved, because this goes with more things. I am usually a size 8 1/2 but I ordered a 9, .. They fit perfect ! My legs are kind of short so they just go over my knees and I love that.. They are suede, and I think they are very good quality. They came in a beautiful box with a Unicorn on it, that was artwork done by a girl in New Zealand .. Very nice touch!
I am very pleased and can't wait to wear them more, too hot here now :(
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:41-45
body type:slender
**LOVE**
7.22.2014
"It was love at first sight on the web, and it was love again when they finally arrived!!. These boots are so comfortable and soft and fit so well. I bought the taupe because I have a jacket to match them with and the colour didn't disappoint either. Slightly lighter than the pic but not dramatically so,
I am a 6.5 and bought the 6.5, fits like a glove so very true to size. Bit fiddly with the laces first wearing, be prepare to spend a good 10-20 minutes loosening them up and re-adjusting as they come packed tight. But once done, you only have to undo the top few as the zip down the side allows you to take the rest of the boot off with ease without having to go through all that again
Also love the slight creasy look around the ankles ( just natural creases from the leather being so soft ) they look nicely worn in immediately, without the usual tightness or rubbing usually associated with new boots or that 'stiff new shoe look'.
IF you're not super tall either I wouldn't worry.as I was thinking they would swamp me. I am 5'3 and they shaft of the boot came up and slightly over my knee, but again its so comfy that it doesn't dig in or stick out. Keeps my knees nice and warm! I don't like Winter at all but these boots will make it more fun.I now want them in Olive but might wait to see if they come on sale. The full price is a bit of a splurge but now I feel worth it. These are gorgeous. Highly Recommend!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Southport UK
age:26-30
body type:slender
In Love..
5.20.2014
"Cannot recommend these beauties enough! I must admit i had my reservations - would they fit my leg, would they be too long only being 5ft 4, would the leather be soft and comfortable etc etc etc BUT i need'nt have worried. They are absolutely stunning boots. Very comfortable. I have no issues with the leather pinching. The length is perfect (as on the model) and the heel height is just right. These boots are sexy without going too far and looking tarty. You will get attention in these boots but i find its of the right kind! Worth every penny. Enjoy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
Very sexy boots!
5.3.2014
"This was the first time I purchased shoes online as I usually have so much trouble finding shoes that fit me. My feet are long and narrow. I am usually a 7 1/2 so after reading the reviews, I got the boots in black size 8 and the fit is PERFECT. I would definitively advise to size up a little as these boots are quite narrow. The leather is soft and flexible and the height of the heels is very comfy. I am 5ft3 so my knees are just covered by the top of the boots like in the first photo for the black boots on the website. I got lots of compliments so far wearing them with a short dress. It's really a sexy look! Overall, I am thrilled with my purchase and although these boots aren't cheap, I think they are absolutely worth it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Dream Boots
4.14.2014
"Been dreaming of getting these boots for the last year. Finally got them this past winter. They've held up to snow but I am careful not to get them covered in snow because the snow melts and soaks through tongue. I love everything about this shoe except the heel. I thought it'd be solid leather, but it sounds like hollow plastic. I didn't like the way it sounded when I walked on tiled floors because of the hollow, plastic-y noise. Because it's hollow, the sound resonates even more. So I bought some grip pads, cut them to size, and stuck them to the heels to dampen the noise. I will eventually go to a shoe cobbler and replace the heel with rubber. Overall, I love the way the boot looks and the quality of the leather. I feel amazing in these boots and plan to wear them as much as possible."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:21-25
body type:petite
Lovely Lace-Up's
3.12.2014
"These boots were just what I expected. After reading a few reviews, I decided to size up. I normally wear a 7 or a 7 1/ 2 and decided to order an 8 which fit perfect.
I purchased the Khaki color which I found lovely - a mossy, dusty green. The leather is soft and delicate so it scuffs easily, but it fits nice and snug to your leg.
I am extremely happy with my purchase, I have worm them over 20 times and havent had a problem at all.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 20 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Denton, TX
age:26-30
body type:slender
distressed look is interesting
3.6.2014
"I love these boots, I bought them about a month ago, have worn and got lots of compliments. I wear a size 8 and got a size 8, they fit just exactly to my foot. I did try on a size 9 as well but felt it made my feet look too big. Okay, the distressed look is interesting. Just to give anyone a heads up of what the distressing MAY look like. It looks like some one scratched perfectly straight lines with bunch of needles into the sides (making little tiny white-ish lines if you will) and one boot is way more distressed than the other. Doesn't look natural at all and for my pair nothing like the pictures of the black boots that are posted online. BUT, still awesome boots."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>