Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Joe Lace Up Boot

Leather over-the-knee lace-up boots. Metal eyelet detailing. Short zipper on the inner sides. Stacked wood heel. *Jeffrey Campbell for Free People **Please Note: The Natural color way appears darker in our images. If you order the Natural boot, you will receive a significantly lighter pair.
overall average rating:
4.42 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(231 Reviews) 231
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer Reviews for Joe Lace Up Boot
Review 1 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Rhode Island
age:21-25
body type:athletic
DO NOT ORDER NATURAL
11.15.2014
"These boots are great! But if you're looking for a brown pair order the light brown, the one's listed as natural are much lighter than they appear online -- I would compare them to flesh color...it's not cute in the slightest. I just returned them for the light brown pair and am very happy with the color and fit."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Willamette Valley
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Not worth the money
10.30.2014
"I ordered these boots because of all the nice reviews about it. I ordered them in black. When they arrived, I was surprised to see the leather felt cheap. BTW, I found leather scraps inside the shoe, a quality over sight. The distressing on the boots made the colour more like a charcoal, not a true black. Still, I tried them on. Around the foot, these are instantly comfortable. The height of the heel is perfect. My shoe size is 7 1/2 and I ordered a 38. There was enough room to wear socks for that look same as the photos. I would have kept these boots except for the fact that the back part of the boot near the heel, kept digging into my skin, even with the socks. For $300, shoes should be comfortable and there should be no need to suffer for fashion."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Petaluma, CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
I wish I agreed...
10.27.2014
"My local store FINALLY had these in stock they had black and the light brown colors, they're my longest standing wishlist item and I've drooled over them forever. I tried on both colors and each was way wayyyyy too high and the black was taller than the brown. I have fairly skinny ankles/calves and while that wasn't a problem neither color fit well from the knee to ankle part and went a little too high, if i bent my knees/sat down it wrinkled the entire boot making it look very unflattering, standing up they both just felt 2-3 inches too high on my knees. Overall the leather was dreamy and wonderful, the heel is comfortable and the foot part was very TTS, i'm an 8 and it was a perfect fit without feeling like I needed to go up or down in size. If these had been even 1-3 inches shorter on the top I probably would have bought both. I wish I could agree with the amazing reviews below mine that these are the perfect pair of boots."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Southern Calif
age:26-30
body type:slender
Joe boots in "natural" color
10.27.2014
"True to size, I'm between 7.5 and 8, went with the 8. When I opened the box, I was never so sad. The color depicted on the website was no where near the color I received. I opened the box to find a pumpkin color. Not the nice natural, almost light brown as seen on the website. I own the Joe boot in black, it's gorgeous and goes with everything, thought the natural would be equally as versatile. I am taking these back and probably ordering thee light brown. Very disappointed with the color "natural" . The color should be named " Fall Harvest" great boot, just not the color i was expecting."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Germany
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Amazing Boots!
10.21.2014
"First of all: They came in a pink box with an unicorn printed on top. Seriously, how cool is that?
I fell in love with these boots when I saw them the first time. Neither in the US, nor in Europe I have ever seen lace up boots like this.
I usually am a UK 5.5 / EU 38.5 in shoes. According to the size chart, I should have ordered size 8, but after reading the reviews, I sized up to a 9. And I'm glad I did! These boots are worth every penny. The leather its finest quality, and it has got a stitchdown sole. The heel hight its just perfect and comfy. I can see me wearing them in every season.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, Minnesota
age:21-25
body type:petite
Up & Down....repeat.
10.14.2014
"When I saw these I debated for two days until I decided I couldn't live without them! I marched into the Mall of America location, tried them on, and said "i'll take them!" When I got home, I put them on and didn't take them off for 3 hours. I was actually bummed when it was 80 degrees that weekend because I wanted to wear my new boots!
True, after reading some other reviews I agree the product is not up to a $300 standard. I expected them to be well made and they simply are not.
Three weeks later, and only having worn them 3 times, I was pulling them on and the tongue of the boot ripped off entirely!!! I am 5'3" and not very strong so you can imagine my shock when this happened. I called FP the next day and was told after 3 weeks the best they could offer was an exchange. Even worse, when I went in, I felt like the associates looked at me like it was my fault that I didn't take care of my precious fall staple item.
I will most likely not buy from here again. if you're debating getting these boots, take it from someone who is on her second pair after only 3 weeks...spend the $300 elsewhere."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Miami
age:over 45
body type:slender
Fabulous....Except for Color GREY
10.7.2014
"I agree with most of the reviews already written about these boots (fun, unique, hot, order up a size). These are definitely a great pair of boots! However, the one thing that nobody seemed to write about is the Grey color. What the pictures on the website DON'T show is that they are actually covered in 'black scuff' - presumably to make the boots look extra worn in. While I totally get that the scuffed/worn look is on trend - this was taken to an entirely ridiculous level: Think Mary Poppins coming down an extremely dirty chimney! Jeffrey Cambell seemed to try a bit too hard for this look. So disappointing, because the grey is SUCH a hot color. I exchanged them for the brown (which are nice....but I'm still yearning for the 'grey' that they featured in the pictures, which shows only 'some scuff'....."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:redondo beach, CA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Deliciously Fabulous
10.3.2014
"i just got these boots in yesterday and couldn't wait to try them on. i was not disappointed at all. sexy yet so easy to wear with practically everything. going over to england and can not wait to wear these...so hip and groovy! yep i said groovy! at 60, there are no rules saying you can't wear cheeky and sexy with a touch of class. just throw in a twist to make your outfit fab. some of FP stuff runs big, but i wear an 8 shoe/boot and got an 8 in the gray...LOVE! wear with shorts, skinny, dresses, skirts......and functional. i'd wear with adelia dress, embroidered net maxi, dreadweaver dress, just to name a few. i am very satisfied customer (and wear a ton of FP) as a Woodstock Survivor, i still love that time in my life, so free people is my style at every level. did i mention i LOVED them right out of the box!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:chicago
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love, love, love these boots!
9.24.2014
"I absolutely love these boots because they not only look amazingly sexy, the fit is incredible and they are truly comfortable. At first I hesitated because of the price but once they arrived and I tried them on, I was sold. Now I actually look for what I can wear so that I can wear them more often. I bought the black ones, and just yesterday bought them in red. I've warn them with flowing Free People dresses for an evening party, short shirts or dresses, and with leggings and skinny jeans."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:New York City
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Awesome
9.16.2014
"After reading several important review about sizing. I decided to get these a size up. I am 5'7" and have a very athletic shapely body. My calves are 17" and my knees are 15". So I got the size 11. HAPPY!!! Though I can not lace them up as close as the model, they fit nice. The laces is not long though for a size 11 shoe. So I found a site called Laces Express. Now everything is perfect. Compliments galore. I gave this 4 stars only because of the laces. Just saying."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Prague
age:41-45
body type:petite
I LOVE IT :-)
9.16.2014
"Very nice and comfortable !!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful!!
9.15.2014
"I've loved these for the longest time and finally decided to purchase. I ordered the light brown and with the advice of several employees, I went up a size which I'm glad I did! I'm normally a 9 but the 10 fits perfectly and leaves enough room to wear socks with them.
The material is very soft and the coloring is exactly as pictured. Overall a fabulous pair of boots. I plan to order the light grey pair very soon. If you're hesitant about purchasing, I'd definitely say go for it! You won't be disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:petite
Favorite Boots
9.13.2014
"For me, these boots fit true to size- which is hard to come by in boots! I haven't had any problems with wear and tear of the boots like stated in some of the reviews. Very versatile with any outfit, any season. You just can't go wrong with these beauts."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA, USA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Fall Staple
9.12.2014
"The online pictures do NOTHING for these boots. They are amazing in person! they are super comfortable and soft. My only complain ( and typically JC complaint) is the leather could use a little more moisture. I typically use a little saddle soak to moisturize my JCs to keep them in shape. I am thinking about ordering the brown also"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:over 45
body type:slender
Unique and timeless
9.8.2014
"I purchased this boot in light brown size 8. Easy to put on and take off. I'm a 7.5 and 8 fit perfect. This boot is like Pocahontas meets victorian renaissance..... very femme fatale. The super soft leather and low heal add understated appeal while the above knee length, calf hugging leather, and lace up detail contribute to outstanding beauty of this boot. Almost a wearable work of art that should be staple in any womans boot collection. I'm 5'4 and this hits slightly above the knee but elongates the legs and makes the most average outfit an amazing one."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Louisville, KY
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Super Rad Tall Boots
9.4.2014
"The reviews on fitting and such for these boots are all over the place which made me a little nervous, but I'm so glad I finally bought them!! For reference, I'm 5'9", slender, and wear a size 10 shoe. These fit TTS and are super comfortable. I was also concerned that they wouldn't be tall enough, but they hit just barely above my knees, just like in the picture. Yes, the soles are thin, but I have other Jeffrey Campbell shoes with thin soles that I've had for years without any problems. They're way soft, also, which means that I'm not worried about them rubbing on the back of my knees. Perfect pair of tall boots. Don't sleep on these!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Oregon
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Beautiful not-red boots
8.31.2014
"I ordered these boots in the red, because there is nothing sexier than red boots. Instead of the "Arrest-Me-Red" shown in the photos I received a lovely pair of orange boots. Not an orangey-red--we are talking bright burnt orange. They are lovely, but do not fit as well as the other pair of Joe boots that I own--even when cinched all the way as tight as they will go they are loose in the ankles and calves; and they seem to have been cut wider in the feet. Since I have rather narrow feet, this is not a bonus for me and causes them to slip slightly when I walk. The boots should be billed as Burnt Orange, not as Red."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Mostly awesome- a few detractions
8.15.2014
"I held off a year to buy these boots, they were exactly what I was after but I wanted to find them in Australia so I could try them on (there is no exchange on international FP items and they are no small investment!). I was really excited when FP had a pop up shop in Sydney and hoped they would have the boots in my size. They did have them in my size but not the colour I wanted. So I tried the green ones on for size and they fit beautifully, I have skinny calves so it's a mission to find boots that don't look like gumboots on me! So I ordered them in the brown and waited patiently for them to arrive. I absolutely love them, they are good quality and fit a slim leg well. The sole as other reviews have mentioned is quiet thin but I bought a size up so I could wear them with socks so I have room to to some inserts in. Also the zipper is a cheap plastic one. The only let down was I was expecting them to be a shiny leather (like the green ones I tried on and in the photos) but the brown ones are definitely more a suede leather. Just have to be careful with them in the wet!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California.
age:over 45
body type:slender
In love with these boots!
7.31.2014
"I drooled over these boots quite a lot before I ordered them. I read a lot of reviews and decided to go for it. I got the red ones, it is a orangey rusty red, which I am relieved, because this goes with more things. I am usually a size 8 1/2 but I ordered a 9, .. They fit perfect ! My legs are kind of short so they just go over my knees and I love that.. They are suede, and I think they are very good quality. They came in a beautiful box with a Unicorn on it, that was artwork done by a girl in New Zealand .. Very nice touch!
I am very pleased and can't wait to wear them more, too hot here now :(
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Joe Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:41-45
body type:slender
**LOVE**
7.22.2014
"It was love at first sight on the web, and it was love again when they finally arrived!!. These boots are so comfortable and soft and fit so well. I bought the taupe because I have a jacket to match them with and the colour didn't disappoint either. Slightly lighter than the pic but not dramatically so,
I am a 6.5 and bought the 6.5, fits like a glove so very true to size. Bit fiddly with the laces first wearing, be prepare to spend a good 10-20 minutes loosening them up and re-adjusting as they come packed tight. But once done, you only have to undo the top few as the zip down the side allows you to take the rest of the boot off with ease without having to go through all that again
Also love the slight creasy look around the ankles ( just natural creases from the leather being so soft ) they look nicely worn in immediately, without the usual tightness or rubbing usually associated with new boots or that 'stiff new shoe look'.
IF you're not super tall either I wouldn't worry.as I was thinking they would swamp me. I am 5'3 and they shaft of the boot came up and slightly over my knee, but again its so comfy that it doesn't dig in or stick out. Keeps my knees nice and warm! I don't like Winter at all but these boots will make it more fun.I now want them in Olive but might wait to see if they come on sale. The full price is a bit of a splurge but now I feel worth it. These are gorgeous. Highly Recommend!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>