Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Outpost Ankle Boot

Distressed leather ankle boot with buckle strap around ankle and cool cutout opening at back of ankle. Leather buckle strap and multiple leather strips going across front of ankle. Zips up each inner side. Leather sole. *By Free People *Leather *Made in Portugal *2" heel height, 4" shaft height
overall average rating:
3.208 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Customer Reviews for Outpost Ankle Boot
Review 1 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:petite
tan boot
8.28.2013
" Hi, i think these are good value for the sale price. My only issue is that they look a bit too new. Mine do not have the buffed sections where the colour is uneven. They are quite shiny and not distressed. In saying that I think I can just wear them in and create the distressed look. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:26-30
body type:athletic
<3 <3 <3
7.15.2013
" I don't know why these boots are getting such negative feedback-they are awesome! The studio pictures are obviously of a pair that are worn in, and mine will look like that in no time. Yes, the black is solid on the toe, but scuff them up a bit and it won't take long for them to look just like the pics. The style is so cute, and they are uber comfy! I looked at other reviews, and chose to go with a 39 - I am an 8, and they fit great, with room for socks if needed. LOVE these boots, great price, great quality! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:CA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Really Like These
7.10.2013
" I really like these boots! I ordered the "Taupe" color. These boots are actually really easy for me to get in and out of, I just slip them on/off and don't have to deal with any buckles or zippers. I understand why there are a lot of bad reviews, as the studio shots are not the most accurate portrayal of what you will receive. I set my expectations based upon the FPMe pictures and the pictures in the reviews, as those are very accurate. My only complaint is that one of the top buckle straps had a hole that was not punched through all the way. Unfortunately, as I struggled to punch the hole all the way, the strap got a bit damaged, so sad. :( "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Ithaca, NY
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
love these!
6.28.2013
" b/c I couldn't afford the real boots I wanted for $250, I opted for these b/c they were on sale and gave off that sweet/tough look that defines my style and I'd have to say... I absolutely love it more and more! I got the charcoal and they go with pretty much anything! Been getting compliments left and right and I just feel good in them. thanks free! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Very Disappointing
6.20.2013
" I was so excited when these came on sale, but I've just recieved mine today and I'm pretty disappointed.
The shoes are nothing like the picture, the black on the toe is not mesy but rather a clean line across the top. The beautiful tan leather pictured is nothing like I have recieved, my shoes look and smell very cheap. The shoes pictured look SO great :(
I'm sending these back as they are not the same shoe pictured.
Free People I love you, but I really think that this is false advertising!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.24.2013
Hi, Our team will be in touch to help with your return. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
boots are not as shown in photo
6.20.2013
" i would look at these boots online EVERYDAY and was so obsessed with them. i finally decided to order them (in the tan/brown color) when they went onsale, buying 2 sizes (7.5 and 8) since i heard they ran small. I'm a true 7.5 and needed the 8 in these. They are very comfy and nicely made, however, they do NOT look like the photo on the website. They are much more dull in person and the distressed area on the toe area is less of scuffed look and more of a straight blackish ombre. my heart sank a little when i saw these boots in person. i'm returning both pair to a nearby free people store. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.21.2013
We're so sorry to hear this! If you are not able to get to a store, we'll be happy to help with a return. xoxo!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Charlotte NC
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Fashionably Difficult
6.6.2013
" I was expecting a complicated and difficult first put on. I mean, buckle, ties, and zipper never go well and I did have to pull my ties through the hole and re punch holes in the buckle. But, it is a very cool fashionable boot. Very comfy and stylish.
And once you get through your first wear, I'm sure they're more enjoyable and easy to wear
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Awesome! Go the Charcoal!
5.6.2013
" After reading the reviews I was hesitant, but I saw a video on the blog, named 60 second styling where FPMandy was modelling the charcoal coloured booties, and I purchased them straight away. They look better on your feet than when you first get them out of the box, but look so awesome with any outfit. I love the look of the boot from the back with the two buckles. I think the quality for the price matches. To me they aren't expensive boots, I'm used to $300 boots, so I thought these were reasonable. The only downside is that they ran small for me. Not in width but in length, they felt really short, like your toes have to curl up to fit in them.I am a size 8/39 , but had to reorder the boot in a size 40. The 40 feels better, a bit wide, but better in length, and will be perfect with any kind of socks, thick or thin. These boots are great. I would recommend them in the charcoal. Can't wait to wear them with pretty much everything! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:oh
age:36-40
body type:curvy
these boots
3.9.2013
" i am truly really feeling these boots....i love the fact that they are so exclusive so not your everyday boot ive had them for about a month and ive worn em a couple times n they are really really comfortable they look really good on my feet n they can be paired wit pretty much anything.....Im only to happy to have them as a part of my wardrobe..... "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:New England, USA
age:over 45
body type:petite
OK
3.4.2013
" I have to agree with the other reviewers that the quality isn't what I expected for footwear costing nearly $200. They are really cute boots and I think would look nice with just about any outfit, very versatile! I was just disappointed with the stitching and leather. I didn't have any problem getting them on, just undo the top buckle and pull on--easy. I may reconsider if they eventually go on sale. For now, they went back. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Disliked completely
2.21.2013
" These boots are sooo cute in the picture but they looked nothing like that in reality. The black doesn't blend and it isn't all scuffed up. They looked a lot cheaper then the picture. They were really hard to get on and the piece that wraps around looked stupid when I tried to do it, and they run small. Save your time and don't buy these. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Montana
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Looked so cheap/ Not at all like the picture
2.19.2013
" Deceiving! These were my most anticipated item ive bought this winter. When I received them I was literally heart broken. The looked so so so cheap. I dont think they are real leather. There is no distress on them whats so ever! The toe of the boot literally looked like they dipped the boot into black dye, it was a perfect line break between the brown and the black coloring on the boot. I have never been so dissapointed with a FP product. I had day dreamt about wearing them to all the music festivals I have planned and with every edgy outfit I own. I nearly cried when I opened them and saw the cheap material. There was no distress on the boots what so ever and the brown and black color was very dull and unexciting. Please remake these boots and make them look like the picture!! "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Barcelona, Spain
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Worst purchase ever
2.16.2013
" Boots are quite different from the one picture. Leather looks like PU with a very bad hand feel. Pictures shows a soft leather and in fact it's not soft at all. Also, the black dye it's actually a black spray. Boots are not confortable cause zip annoys. It's a pity 'cause I bought it excited for the picture, and although I love Free People, theis has been a very dissappointing purchase. I won't never buy anything else online. "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.25.2013
We are very sorry that aren't happy with your boots. We will be in touch to assist you. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love
2.10.2013
" I got these in the mail and couldnt wait! I had ordered a pair of boots from another brand. They were on backorder for months! I saw these and had to have them. THey do take a little longer to put on because of the straps, but nothing too bad. The distressing on the taupe is more blended-- as it appears on the slate color "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Lisboa - Portugal
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
not good!
2.5.2013
" I got my booties today and I may say that I am not happy at all.
I was happy to buy something from Free People that was made in my country (Portugal). I had big expectations because we have a great shoe making industry so I was hoping to get an awesome product.
Unfortunately my booties don't look as those in the pic at all!!!
I am sad and I am returning them first thing tomorrow...
"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.6.2013
We are so sorry that these didn't work out -- a member of our service team will be in touch soon!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LOVE
1.28.2013
" I just received these boots in the charcoal color, and I am in love! They are just as pictured. I was a little hesitant after reading other reviews about them being difficult to put on, but all I had to do was unbuckle the top buckle and voila! They fit perfectly. The heel height is perfect- they are casual but can make a simple outfit so much more interesting. Definitely recommend!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:31-35
body type:petite
worst bootie ever!!!
1.24.2013
" i wear size 7 and purchased size 38 in black, unfortneatly size seems not really accurate! much smaller than size38( since its made in Portugal not Asia)
Also, colour does not match whats showing in online.
Black marks were all over my hand when i was trying to put on and very hard to put on as well.
Absolute waste of money!!!
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Orange, CA, USA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
not as pictured
1.16.2013
" I ordered the booties in brown and, as past reviewers have said, the black blends into the brown and does not look distressed as it does online. That was the main reason I bought them. I also agree they were very hard to put on. Sadly, I am returning them. I bet they are better in black, but I need brown! the search continues... "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:fort lauderdale
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Cute boots
1.4.2013
" They are very pretty and comfortable. . They looked just like the pictures but not as distressed. I bought the black ones and the toe part is not as black. I am a size 8 narrow feet and the 39 fits fine. They are a little bit hard to put on but not terrible "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Outpost Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:31-35
body type:slender
Cute & comfy
12.28.2012
" Cute booties that are quite comfortable right from the first wear. I bought the brown and as another reviewer mentioned, the black on the toe is not distressed at all. It's just black and gradually fades to brown (more like how the grey boots are pictured). I think this look works better on the grey but it's not terrible on the brown. I think they'll wear in a bit but I highly doubt they will become as distressed as pictured. Here's hoping... "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>