Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Nicole Embellished Lace

Gorgeous lace bell-sleeved skater dress with beaded detailing in front. Bottom of dress has mesh inserts. Small buttoned keyhole at back of neck. Comes with removable slip tank dress. *Shell: 66% Cotton, 34% Nylon *Lining: 100% Rayon *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust: 34" Waist: 30" Sleeve Length: 26"
overall average rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Nicole Embellished Lace
Review 1 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:31-35
body type:petite
love the sapphire
2.23.2012
" it's super pretty in person. got my usual XS, and it fits fine- it's a roomy, but I like the large fit in this style. Love how you can change up the look by wearing different colored slips underneath. This is a fabulous dress that can be dressed up or down. Love it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:China
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful dress,i like it!
2.10.2012
" The clothes I brought from FP are always good.This dress fits me well. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:petite
ehhhh.
2.8.2012
" Okay so i ordered this from a local fp store for $68 and when it arrived i was a little disspointed. I got the sapphire color which is more of a royal dark blue and dont get me wrong it's beautiful but it's not very flattering. Im 4'11 108 pounds and I got the xs but it's very loose. Not only is it long, (which I understand because i'm so short) but even the sleeves are big. The dress is very beautiful and very fragile which is why i'm debating on wether to keep it or not. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:santa clarita
age:14-20
body type:petite
loveee
1.28.2012
" sooo i was hesitant about this dress because it didnt fit quite like the model probably because im little for reference im 5'2 104 lbs. 32A 24" 36" i tried on the sapphire in an xs and wasn't convinced but my local FP shop had it on sale for like $100 so i bought it, it is longer than shown and the waist isnt very defined but as mentioned probably because of my height and weight. the lace is really soft and embellishment is pretty so go for it if you're tall if not you can probably alter it. "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Beautiful dress
12.27.2011
" I'm usually a large but since the dress' fitting was a bit loose, I bought it in medium and I think it looks gorgeous with tights and leggings. I had a question: how come this is being sold for $60 in stores and is for $140 online? I bought this for $60 at the store and was going to order this for my friend in white, since she loved my dress, but saw that it was more expensive online than in stores. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:Brazil
age:21-25
body type:petite
big, huge disappointment
12.22.2011
" I ordered this dress as soon as it appeared online, about a month ago. It took a long time to arrive because I'm an international customer. As soon as I took it off the package I saw there was a big difference from what I (thought) I bought to what was delivered. Now they changed pictures, but before, the deep saphire had some really vibrant blue mesh fabric, which now is replaced by these dull grey pieces. It bothers me too much that I buy something and receive one completely different thing. In my mind, this cannot happen. Also: it came with a part of the lace ripped. In terms of sizing, to me it runs very large. I am really petite (100 lbs, 5'1'' but as usual, thought the xs would fit. The lenght hits me in an awkward place. I was aiming a look like the model is wearing. Instead it looks like I bought a dress 2 sizes bigger than me (the sleeves are long too, but I don't want to lose the detail on the hem :( ). The beading is truly beautiful, that's why I gave one star. Other than that, I am so sad. I paid approximately 80 dollars to customs to have this dress (totalling 200 dollars+) and now I'm stuck with a piece I am not going to use :((( "
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleWeb12.22.2011
Hi! We are so sorry to hear about your issues with this dress. We have passed on your feedback and someone from our customer service team will be in touch with you soon!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:Orange County
age:26-30
body type:petite
Not what I expected
12.18.2011
" I ordered this in the blue. It just wasn't what I had expected. I felt like an ice skater in this dress. It ran big and also didn't have a nice shape to it. Not flattering. Looks adorable on the model though! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Love IT!
12.16.2011
" The lace is beautiful and i bought it for my school semi formal, in Jan. and it's perfect for the winter wonderland theme. It fits very well and flatters my curves, almost better than the model in the picture :) great buy! great dress, because it can be dressed up or down, I LOVE IT! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Let's get some new pictures up!
12.10.2011
" I tried this on in a store a few weeks ago. A few things: 1. Those pretty blue inserts are, as others have noted, a dull gray. I almost didn't try the dress on, because that minor change makes a HUGE difference. What were you thinking FP??? In what world did you look at the sample dress with that BEAUTIFUL blue and say, "Nah! This is awful! This dress needs some gray!" Fire whoever made that mistake. 2. Those nice and elegant looking beads look gawdy and cheap IRL. They're not nice and subtle, they're bright, shiny, and obnoxious. 3. Who are you kidding with the sleeves??? My arms only fit in the large, but I'm a small. I was SWIMMING in the large. People have muscle attached to their arm bones. There's nothing proportionate about those sleeves, and the material has next to no give. If the arms are tiny, the entire dress should be. It's called scale. This season has been a disaster for FP and sleeve sizes. I've NEVER had this issue before. My old FP sleeves fit, I have lost some weight, not gained any. Whoever made the decision to shrink all FP sleeves should also be fired. Okay, so all that, what a pity! The shape is lovely, and if the dress was as pictured sans sequins and with realistic arms, I'd have paid full price in a heartbeat. Get it together FP! SIZE: If you don't have super tiny arms, forget it. If you do, the body of the dress is TTS. If between sizes, go down. "
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Lace and Sparkles
12.1.2011
" I tried this on in the store. It's very cute but looks a lot different in person than on the website. I prefer the ivory color only because on the blue the beading really stands out and I think kind of takes away from the simplistic beauty of the lace itself. I am 5'10, 135 lbs. and the small fit me but it was way too short, and I don't think it would look good with leggings or pants so I am giving it a 3. Otherwise if it were longer or I was shorter I would have gotten it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:21-25
body type:slender
Beautiful ivory, feminine details
12.1.2011
" I got this dress in ivory, size xs. I am 5'4 and 108 lbs and it fits true to size. What I especially love about the ivory color in contrast to the sapphire one is that the details are understated, but still makes a big impression. The beading in the front is hard to see in the online pictures, but it is definitely there, and makes the dress sparkle! I absolutely adore the bell-sleeves and the white trim on the hems, so feminine! The fabric is a thick, high quality lace. It is thick enough as a winter dress, and the slip underneath is removable. The mesh inserts allows this lovely dress to swing beautifully. I can see this flattering all types of body figures, both slim and curvy. I am going to wear it like the model is wearing it, with black tights and knee high black boots. Now I just have to wait for that collar necklace to go on sale =) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:ct
age:21-25
body type:petite
DULL DULL!
11.25.2011
" I ordered the sapphire specifically because I loved the bright blue pleats.. so you can gather my disappointment when I opened the package and saw the pleats were actually a dull grey. Besides that this dress also runs big (although the under slip is on the short side) I got a small. I am 5'3 (the slip ended just past my tush), 34D bust, 25" waist, 33" hip bone, 36" full hip. I was swimming in this dress in the waist area and even the sleeves were too long. Unfortunately it is going to be a return. I would have exchanged for an XS if the pleats were actually the bright blue that the photo depicts. I hate being charged the return fee over a false advertisement =( "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb11.28.2011
Hi, we're sorry to hear that this was not as pictured! Customer service will be in touch soon, and we will be happy to waive shipping on your return due to our mistake. Thanks for letting us know!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:14-20
body type:petite
Not just another lace dress
11.25.2011
" Bought this beautiful dress in xs ivory color for my 16 year old daughter. The fit is tts, she is 5'3", 117lbs, 32b, 26, 36. There is a shimmer on the lace and the panels in the skirt are soft and add a little flare to the skirt. The lacy fabric is soft and top notch quality and the under slip fit her perfectly. Overall a great quality piece. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:VA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Needs Improvement
11.25.2011
" This dress has a lot going for it, but could also use some work. The lace is wonderful. It is very sturdy and looks beautiful against your skin (both colors). While the heavyweight fabric makes the dress less delicate, it also makes it more stiff, so the waist doesn't hug very well, instead it just falls straight. For this reason, I would suggest sizing down.The arm shoulder/arm hole area is a little bit tight and uncomfortable, but likely something that would either stretch out or not be as bothersome with wear. For this reason, I suggest going with your normal size. It's sort of a pick your poison type of deal. For reference, I am 5'7" 120lbs and a 30DD. My normal size is a small and I would have gone with the extra small, opting for the more form fitting waist. The beading on both dresses is very beautiful, however, it was definitely hand stitched because on all 4 dresses I looked at the lines were different and uneven. Some people don't mind that too much, but if you do, the beading is much more subtle on the ivory dress (you can barely even see it online), but still maintains the sparkle. Further, on the navy dress, the sheer pleats are NOT as pictured online. They are a more muted blue compared to the lace part instead of a brighter blue as shown. This dress also comes with a slip underneath, so it can be worn alone, which is very nice, although it is only attached by one sleeve. Overall, gorgeous dress-- in my opinion, it just needs improvement. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:Wilmington, Delaware
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Lovely, but not as pictured
11.24.2011
" I just received this in the mail yesterday, and I am quite pleased with the purchase. I ordered the deep sapphire, but, oddly, what I received is not what is shown on the website. It's a beautiful dress, don't get me wrong, with intricate beading, super soft velvet-like lace, and a nice fit. The mesh inserts at the bottom of the dress are not a royal blue, but actually a slate blue, almost gray. The lace is consistent in color, but the mesh running throughout the dress that connects the lace is a nice aquamarine color. I'm not bothered by the color inconsistencies, but I just feel that the product should be accurately depicted on the website. Be warned, this dress is QUITE short. If you plan to wear to a family function, say, Thanksgiving, as I plan to, I would recommend swapping the slip with something a tad longer, as the previous reviewer did. I would recommend this to one of my friends though, it's gorgeous! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Nicole Embellished Lace
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Snow Angel
11.18.2011
" I got the ivory in a large and it fit beautifully. The length was perfectly at mid thigh (5'9"). The underslip is ok, but I subbed it out for a prettier slip. The beadwork on the bodice is just STUNNING. It really is too bad the contrast is so high on the ivory pics because you cannot see the amazing beads that give this dress such shine. The lace fabric is soft, cozy, and very graceful. Love this dress. "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large