Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Gold Rush Dress

Stunning boucle knitted body-conscious mini dress. Bustier-style front. *65% Rayon, 30% Nylon, 5% Spandex *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust: 32" Waist: 26" Bottom Opening: 34"
overall average rating:
2.846 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Gold Rush Dress
Review 1 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:North Carolina
age:21-25
body type:petite
Gold rush dress mess
4.10.2012
"Runs big in the shoulders and smallerish from the ribs down. When I got it there was abig yarny strand hanging off the back that looked very unfinished."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
A bit disappointing
2.9.2012
"When I originally saw this in the catalogue I fell in love, but the dress fits strangely as some reviewers have pointed out - it seems like the bust and shoulder portion of the dress are both much too broad. I'm small chested (32B) so this didn't help my situation ;) I was also a little disappointed with the embellishments, they seem much more brighter/metallic in the photo than they actually are in person. However, it is still a very unique piece overall and I've decided to layer it with a cami to help with the fit issues so I'm keeping mine as I also don't wanna be bothered with returning it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:Portland Oregon
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love it. Believe me, it DOES run large
1.20.2012
"For reference I got a medium and I'm 5'6" 140lbs and 34DD bust. I'm was so excited for this dress but read the reviews after I ordered it...I was worried when I read people saying its t-shirt material and shows every lump and bump, but was really pleased to find that its MUCH THICKER THAN A T-SHIRT and I feel very well covered in it. I am usually a small-medium but I just had a baby 8 weeks ago so I got a medium. It fits a little looser than I wish at the bottom, the bust is a little tight but alright, but the shoulders are FALLING OFF me...which is odd because I think my shoulders are pretty broad. I think a small would be much too tight at the bust so I'm going to get it tailored. Overall I think it's worth it and a good buy because it is such a fun version of a little black dress!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:San diego
age:14-20
body type:athletic
liked this despite the bad reviews!
12.31.2011
"I tried this on at the fp store tody and I loved it! I thought it was very beautiful and flattering. I'm between sizes S and M at fp because I like looser fits with my clothing to be more comfortable, but for a dress like this I went with a small. the length is perfect not too short! the only problem is the very top part is kind of loose especially on my shoulders I think I might get it fixed a bit so it looks more fitted! But the deataling on this dress is soo unique I coudnt pass it up!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:athletic
gorgeous lbd
12.27.2011
"This dress is absolutely adorable and chic. It's like a funkier LBD. It's a little loose so size down. Overall, amazing."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:New Orleans, LA
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Happy That I Took a Chance!
12.16.2011
"I decided to order this item despite the not-so-great reviews, because I really loved the pics online and needed something to wear for New Years Eve. No regrets because this is a really good-looking and unique dress! I am 5'6", about 125 lbs and a little on the busty side. I got the small and it fits great! The material is not super sturdy, but I'm not planning to play football in it or anything... should be fine for a night of cocktails and dancing. Overall, I think this was a worthwhile purchase. And it gets extra points because my husband loves it!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
much prettier online
11.20.2011
"the online pics show some of the yarns as metallic and vibrant colors, in real life all the colors of the yarns are pretty muted and dull. the top does fit pretty big and the sleeves are more cap sleeves and wider. the dress itself is pretty heavy from the yarns but the solid part is like jersey and thin and shows every little bump. one of the yarns is also very "hairy", almost like you accidentally put tape over it and it pulled all the fabric out. i thought it was a defect until i looked at a zoomed-in pic and found it to be the same (3rd pic, close up, third row of black yarn)."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:The Bay Area, CA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Wide, Poorly Constructed, Not as Nice in Person
11.16.2011
"I was originally very excited about this dress after seeing it online. I'm 5 4", 125lbs, and I ordered a small. When I took it out of the package, I could already tell it was HUGE! I am a 32DD, and even the bust, shoulders and waist were baggy, loose, and lacked any form fitting construction. Online, the material of the knitted fabric looks THICK, well contoured, and sewn together/alongside the black paneling. In person, the knitted fabric is yarn, appearing to be sewn ONTO the black material, which is a THIN, stretchy, t-shirt like material. Because the dress is made out of this stretchy fabric, you would assume they would have constructed the dress smaller so that it would be tighter and form fitting. Instead it was sewn very wide, and honestly, I cannot comprehend how the "model is wearing a small" unless they had altered it beforehand. I don't even think the XS would fit me (and those measurements are WAY off - more like a 38 for the S). The price and the fact that it looks much different in person makes it not worth altering either. This is one reserved for those with thicker torso's and upper body's."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:ny, ny
age:26-30
body type:slender
Not worth the price
11.10.2011
"I was really excited about this dress when I first saw it in the magazine. I ordered it for an upcoming High School Reunion I am having and I thought it would be perfect.
The material of the dress is kind of cheap. It was tighter at the bottom and the top was very loose on me. I normally wear a size small or XS, I had ordered a small. I could have possibility gotten the dress tailored for a better fit, but I really wasn't excited about the dress or the material of it.
Not worth the price tag in my opinion."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:over 45
body type:petite
Top is way too big
11.8.2011
"I really loved this dress! The texture on the front was different and phenomenal. I would've kept it in an instant. I am a size 0/XS and the dress from the waist down was perfect in the XS. However the top half of the dress was ridiculous. It wouldn't even sit on my shoulders. I agree with all of the other reviewers. You have to be really long to fill this up. So sad! It's a great dress! Back it goes."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:DC
age:31-35
body type:athletic
aw maan...
10.30.2011
"I really wanted this dress to work for me but alas, it did not. It's just as cute in person as it is on the website but the fit is way off. I'm 5'9" and wear a medium. The medium was falling off of me. The waist and hips were okay (a tad loose but unnoticeable). But the top was really big. This is a dress you DEFINITELY need to try on in store. Hope this helps."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:26-30
body type:petite
alas no for petite
10.29.2011
"This dress is a little more casual than I expected from the pictures. The black part is actually a somewhat cheap stretch fabric. the colored part is all sorts of yarn stitched next to each other.
Unfortunately this piece is not for petite. I'm 5'1, 90lbs. I got the XS the dress is tight around the waist, but the bust is too long, it falls off both shoulders and it's too much to be fixed.
So this dress in XS is made for tall girls.
I also don't think the breast part is very flattering, but it's hard to really tell since it absolutely doesn't fit me.
My advice, petite ladies skip it, tall and lean girls give it a try.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Gold Rush Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:21-25
body type:petite
too big on me
10.27.2011
"i really want to love this dress, but it's too big on me. im 5'4, 102lbs, ordered an xs, still runs big. going to return it. :("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large