Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pointed Cape Dress

Caped chiffon mini dress with beaded embellishment around entire dress. Cape is attached to tank dress and goes all the way around. Back of cape has long slit. Ruching in fabric at middle front of neckline. A stunning, ethereal statement piece! *100% Polyester *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Dress Length: 33" Outer Cape Length: 31 1/2" Bust (all around): 36' Waist (all around): 32" Bottom Opening: 42 1/2" Cape Sleeve Length: 15 1/4"
overall average rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pointed Cape Dress
Review 1 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
L-O-V-E LOVE
9.15.2012
" This dress is AWESOME! I haven't got much to add that hasn't been said by other reviewers already, but I'll say it anyway: the "nude" is definitely more cream than it appears on the model; the whole thing is much more formal than I anticipated, and the beading is quite heavy, so the dress has a gorgeous swingy-ness; the slip is totally transparent, so that when you lift your arms, you can see your undies from the side, so be sure to go neutral; the fit is true to size, as I am usually a 0-2 in FP dresses (5"5, 125 lbs, 32D) and the XS was perfect... and I think that might be it? Oh, and YOU SHOULD GET THIS. I get so many compliments on this dress, it's redunk. Be prepared to be called "angelic", and to feel it, too. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:14-20
body type:athletic
gorgeous
9.2.2012
" When i bought the Pointed Cape Dress online, i didnt know which size to get. i got an extra small because the reviews said it was loose. i was scared the under slip would be too tight. but when i got it, it fit literally like a glove. i was so lucky. the neck line is a little wide and the beads make the dress a little heavier and more fragile. i wore it on a boat cruise, and if you buy it, MAKE SURE you wear nude underwear because through the sides when you lift up your arm you can see through.. but its not that bad. overall, FAVORITE dress in my closet, its very pretty. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Vermont
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Amazing dress
8.15.2012
" Very pretty dress! I was nervous about the sizing, I went with an xs and I am very happy with the choice! I am 5'3" and weight about 117 and the xs is perfect. The slip underneath isn't too tight or too roomy and the length is spot on! I feel comfortable and sexy in it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:louisville, ky
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beautiful!
7.9.2012
" I was lucky and purchased this on sale at macys in white. I ordered the medium originally, but had to exchange it for a small because it hung off my shoulders too much and the slip was unflatteringly large. Size down, unless you have wider hips and bust (mine are almost on the brink for the small!) Also, invest in a pair of nude undies or shapewear. The back is open and reveals the slip at the bottom, so it can be tricky when it comes to undergarments. Overall, my most fav piece in my closet. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:center valley
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
I love this dress but I can't fit in it!
6.29.2012
" This is a look alike from a fp dress featured months ago. It was sold out then so I was thrilled when it came back. Instead of the s or m I used to be I am now a large. I ordered the dress in that size and was very disappointed. The under sheath was so short and so tight. I couldn't even fit it over my hips. It made me feel huge and fat (which I probably am). I've never had this problem with any other fp dresses I've ordered and I've ordered A LOT. It is beautiful and I'm going to keep it in hopes of slimming down. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Rochester, Ny
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Delicate and beautiful
6.22.2012
" I absolutely love this but I have to be honest it is a lil too short to wear as a dress. I work at the mall and have worn this as tunic with leggings and I've had several customers come in just to ask me where I bough my tunic from It is such a delicate and elegant garment. I am in love. The lining is a bit snug but nothing that you can't work with. Overall a gorgeous piece. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles and Florida
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
beautiful
6.14.2012
" Double lined dress that runs short. This could also be a shirt. The material is slick and soft. Recommend. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:31-35
body type:slender
Beautiful dress!
6.13.2012
" This dress is stunning in person and hangs beautifully! I am thin, but have a large chest and dresses like this can sometimes hang a bit awkwardly - I don't have that problem with this dress. The slip is fitted just enough to allow me to be comfortable through the top without being too baggy at the hip. A definite winner! (That being said, I did rate it as being a little loose since those with smaller chests may find it so - I usually wear a size small in FP and kept the small so that the slip would fit my shape.) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:slender
Adorable
6.1.2012
" this is a fun, flirty dress that i wore to my graduation. it got so much attention and i just love the way it looks. great buy "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
If only, if only....
5.24.2012
" I bought this dress in L nude after eyeing it for a while and just love how it looks. Its very flattering for me although the slip is a bit tight. It clings to my body awkwardly in odd places. The outer layer has room to give and hides the tightness of the slip thankfully. Would have liked if the slip has a little stretch to it but a great purchase overall. I wear a M/L in dresses with 36DD bust. Planning to wear it to an engagement party. More a formal piece then a casual piece sadly. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
beautiful but impractical
5.13.2012
" ok, so this is a really beautiful dress. it feels ethereal, and goddess-like. but here are the issues i have with it.
- i tried on my regular size, but i find the slip to be too tight. the slip on the size up fits better, but the dress itself is wider so one shoulder keeps falling.
- it's soooo heavy. the embellished beads actually add a lot of weight to the dress.
- got the nude and it's still quite see-through. especially at the sides when your arms are up. would need to wear something else underneath which i feel might ruin the look.
- the material of the slip wrinkles easily and the wrinkles show through. a bit on the high-maintenance side.
so this is an absolutely gorgeous dress, but i can't get myself to wear it out after trying it on. back it goes.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Palm Beach
age:41-45
body type:curvy
perfect sun dress for palm beach or miami
5.3.2012
" so prefect fits like glove and so spectatcular beeding boho chic i bought in nude "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:seattle
age:14-20
body type:petite
it's beautiful but..
4.19.2012
" this dress is really beautiful and unique; however, it is extremely fancy. I'm not too sure when or where I would wear this to. I pictured this dress to be soft and light and airy, but that is not the case. The fabric is not the most comfortable and the dress itself hangs very heavily. Also, it's quite longer than expected. It's beautiful but heavy and fancy. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, Tx
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Beautiful Dress!! here are the pros & cons..
4.13.2012
" This dress is, indeed, really pretty.The chiffon cape style is very on trend, as is the off white color. Another reviewer said it was light pink. The one I received was more of a bone color. The dress is exactly as pictured. Some of the other reviewers mentioned that the neckline is really big. It does have a wide neckline but, not too wide. Nothing that a strapless bra won't take care of, if showing your bra straps concerns you. It is longer on me than on the model (of course). I got the large and I am 5'5" and it comes almost to my knees. The cape portion is "roomy" as other reviewers mentioned but "roomy" is kind of the whole point of a cape style. Here's my only con: this dress has a built in tank dress that isn't so great. There is no way to remove the tank dress part, as it is sewn in. While the cape part of the dress runs tts, the tank dress that is sewn into the cape runs small. It is made of that cheap, shiny polyester fabric that almost feels like plastic on the skin. Almost like vinyl-y umbrella material. It's the stuff that is typically used to line lower end pieces. Had it been even a tiny bit smaller, I would have had to send it back. I am seriously almost busting out of the liner and I ALWAYS fit perfectly into Free People larges. The material is super hot and unbreathable. Since I live in a really hot climate, I'll have to throw this dress in my closet and wait for winter to roll around before I can wear it. Aesthetically though, this dress is great! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:26-30
body type:slender
I'm 5'3" about 105lbs. and got an XS
4.10.2012
" This is seriously a roomy dress. Even though it is very well made (should be though for the price) I just don't know if Ill keep it because it's fancier than I anticipated, I'm not sure it will fly in the way they show it in the video. It looks great on the model and it's the reason I got it, but in person, it's dressier, and not so much that it is that dressy, it just feels really dressy when it's on! I think it's cause it weighs quite a bit with all the material.
Anyway, although pretty, may return it because it may just be too darn fancy :(
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Costa Mesa, CA, USA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Slip runs small?
4.10.2012
" This dress is GORGEOUS!! It's amazing and beautiful. You can wear this anywhere! Dressed up or dressed down. However, for some reason the slip is like MICRO with zero stretch. I just don't understand a dress that is this easy and flowy that has an attached slip with no give. I am quite large chested and cannot even zip the lining up when i get to my boobs. That is the only reason for 4 stars, I am keeping this dress too and taking to my tailor in hopes that he can find a solution <3 "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Calabasas
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Butterfly Like
4.9.2012
" I just bought this dress in nude and it is exquisit! It looks a little more nude like in person but it makes the beading stand out more which is nice. I think the slip underneath could have been designed a little better, but besides that it is perfect! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:Cali
age:31-35
body type:petite
very beautiful
4.9.2012
" This dress is absolutely beautiful. I usually buy a M in Freepeople dresses because of my 34D bust, but after reading the reviews, I decided to buy a S. The slip underneath hugs your body perfectly indeed, but the chest 'flattened' me. It is rather short, but its very flattering. I am 5'3" and it hit just above mid thigh on me. I would not suggest going up a size if you have the same chest issues, but rather, unstitching the two back seams. It is really such a beautiful dress and I look forward to wearing this all spring and summer long! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:orange county
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
fancy
4.7.2012
" i wanted a simple casual summer dress and ended up with something fit for a wedding.
the material is really nice and silky and the beading on it is beautiful and delicate.
its really a great dress but only for special occasions.
little loose and was wrinkled when i got it.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Pointed Cape Dress
Name:
Location:ms
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Awesome!!
4.5.2012
" This was the second dress i bought for my bridal shower and it was a HIT!! I received so many compliments on this dress and it really is a must have for every girls closet!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>