Product Reviews

True Romance Maxi Dress

Sheer chiffon two-tone maxi dress with bead and braid embellished neckline and straps. Waist is stretchy. Bottom is tiered and lightly pleated. Lined. Keyhole at front of neckline with button closure. Opening at top of back. *Body - Polyester Chiffon, Lining - 100% Cotton *Hand Wash Gently *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 46" Bust (all around): 36" Waist (all around - relaxed): 28" Armhole Drop: 9 1/2"
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for True Romance Maxi Dress
Review 1 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Roanoke, IL
age:26-30
body type:athletic
beautiful!
2.8.2013
" I was very worried about the sheerness of this dress when I ordered it, but wearing nude under garments makes it so you can't even tell. I ordered size 4 and am 5ft 5in, 125 lbs, and a 34B. It fit perfectly! I also ordered the triple wrap belt like on the model. SO COOL! The beaded detailing is gorgeous and the fabric is so light and airy. My only complaint is that the top button is a little difficult to undo and refasten. It took me like 5 minutes to get it done. If you are on the fence, go for it. Especially at the sale price. I can't wait to wear this to a wedding I have in Franklin, TN! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:toronto
age:31-35
body type:slender
Beautiful..runs a bit small
2.7.2013
" I ordered sz 0. In retrospect should have ordered a 2. I can close the button in front but it is a little tight around the neck. Also the chest area runs a bit small. I'm 5'5 and small chested and usually wear a sz 0 or 2 if the make is small, like in this case. Since there are no more sizes available I will keep this dress. It's just so beautiful. The colour is similar to the pics that the brunette model is wearing or in the image that a previous reviewer has shown. The dress is difficult to pull on since the top is tight, but with some patience it is do-able. I'm planning to wear it with the button undone. It still looks great that way. The dress is so feminine, flowing and the length hits me as seen on the model. I can't wait to wear this once the weather gets warmer. Even with these small issues, the fit is ok. I just absolutely adore this piece with the beading, the color, the light weight fabric, and overall good quality. I'm also glad of the even hemline (I'm getting tired of uneven ones). I hope fp will find more of these beauties for us.. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Cincinnati
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Love!
1.22.2013
" I am 5ft 10in, 140lbs, and a 32D. The size 6 fits perfectly! Nude undergarments make the semi-sheerness a non issue. I can't wait to wear it to summer concerts! I will rock it with boots/sweaters until it gets warmer! :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Vestal, NY
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Gorgeous, but . . .
1.11.2013
" The detailing on this dress in the front and back is gorgeous. However, below the bodice, which is cut high, there is a lot of voluminous fabric, and unless you're tiny--say, size zero or less, this dress is going to add weight. So you need to style it right. This dress seems to me to be typical of FP lately--great ideas, just slightly off in the fit/execution . . . "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:curvy
c thru
12.3.2012
" I really love this dress BUT it is so see through. I wish the slip underneath was a solid fabric and not sheer like the top layer. Also, finding the right bra to wear underneath was too much of a challenge for me. I had to size up as the bodice area is snug and even them the top button closure was a bit too snug.
Overall, great dress with a great flow but she has to go back as I cannot figure out the right bra and slip to wear underneath.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Gorgeous!!
12.1.2012
" Color is closely resembled on the last skirt close up picture with the ivory part being a little more gold/yellow and the other color (side panels) have more of a gold mustard hue. It's super soft and elegant with the chest fitting prefect for me I ordered a sz 2 and wear padded 32b bra's. The empire waist stretches a little so it can accommodate a larger chest cavity. This is lined, but still shear with the liner so wear a opaque slip underneath. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Didn't work for me. :-(
9.11.2012
" Unlike some other reviewers, I LOVE the colors in the studio shots. They make the dress appear very golden...gold, honey and caramel come to mind as a description of the browns in the studios. Unfortunately, in real life, the colors are very muddy and much more cool toned. The antique ivory in the studio pictures is the true color of the lightest panels...they are not white as in the catalog. The other colors are actually closer to the catalog as they are more along the lines of taupe, coffee, etc. There is no golden tone in the browns at all. :-( I am 5'5' and measure 38-26-36. I wear a 36C bra, so based on katie h's review, I purchased a 12. I normally wear a M or 8 in FP dresses, but the bust area is quite small on this dress. The 12 fit with a little room to spare, however a 10 would have been fine. Thus I recommend sizing up one size. The full bust measurement on the 12 is 39". Other than the fact that I cannot wear cool muddy colors, the dress is beautifully made and the detailing is gorgeous. Tip: Try this dress on backwards..it actually looks nice! <3 "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Manhattan Beach, Ca
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Unique Dress
9.11.2012
" Been waiting for this dress to be avail in a store. I lucked out and was able to try it on. I usually wear a size 0 or 2, but had to buy the dress in a size 6. I tried a size 4, but the bust area was a little too tight. I am a bust size 34b. It is gorgeous on. Yes, the color is a little more tan than the white and gold that you see on the first model. Wearing it to a wedding this weekend. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Not quite
8.17.2012
" Eeeeehhhhhh.... I saw this in the store, and the colors are sadly more like the studio shots. I'm fairly pale and the colors washed me out, in addition to not being nearly as bold and contrasting as they are in the studio shot. (Pity) The sizing for me was actually on the large side. I'm a solid 6, 34B, and the store had a 2 and a 6... I definitely would need the 4. Unless the dress was incorrectly labeled a 6 when it was an 8, I'd recommend sizing down if the muted colors of the studio shots don't turn you off. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
SOOOO GORGEOUS!
8.12.2012
" This dress is beyond amazing! I saw it in the July catalog and knew I had to have it right away...despite the back-order. I ordered a size 12 and it fit really nice, but was smaller than I expected. I am only a 36 B and the chest was snug. This dress is not too sheer, but nude undergarments are a must. The color is much closer to the studio pictures than the catalog shot. The only reason I removed a star was because the fabric is extremely delicate and snags easily. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for True Romance Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:austin
age:31-35
body type:curvy
It's ok
8.6.2012
" It's off white like sec pic . And I ordered size0 I usually wear fp size xs but this dress tie litte bit more my bust area can't close button easley
Length is just fine I'm 5.1 100lb 32d I'm exchanging my size to 2 hope better fit
"
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large