Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress

Dip-dyed trapeze shaped dress with crochet design around neckline. Lace detailing on body of dress and around the bottom. Opening at upper back with elastic banding along bottom of opening. Lined with layer of die-dyed fabric. All bottom hems have brightly colored trimming. Beautiful ombre effect! *FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Review 1 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Love it but TOO short!
9.4.2013
" I have wanted this for a long time so I finally ordered it. LOVE it but it is way too short.
I rarely return things but sadly this is going back. Unlike others I think the top fits great and was very flattering.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
It makes me feel happy!
4.13.2013
" This dress is like artwork. I love the colours, Just seeing it hanging up above my bed makes me happy! The colours are so lovely, it's so unique and it is a very individual piece. Even though it hangs with no shape, it works so well because that this dress is so fun. Twilling and walking around with a bounce in your step is what this dress is all about. If you don't like the fullness of it, you can also belt this dress. The lace detailing in between the panelling is just amazing, and adds that extra touch to this dress. I got an xs, i'm an athletic build at 59kg and I have a 32DD bust. It is the perfect size. It does show off your legs beautifully. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Awful Cut, Gorgeous Fabric
4.7.2013
" I will never understand the seam ABOVE the bust. It makes even the skinny model look like she's wearing a frumpy moo moo. And to waste this off the hook fabric on such a miserable cut is like fashion murder. Why not place the seam directly under the bust??? I don't get it. Additionally, the amount of fabric is insane. I love a dress with a ton of movement, but I was swallowed whole in this thing... and I tried on the xs. I'm a size 6. I couldn't size down if I had wanted to. Boo. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:21-25
body type:slender
Very pretty, but too pricy for the quality
3.7.2013
" I tried this on at my local store, and thought the color was very nice on the bottom, and loved how to dress moved, but the dress does not look/feel up to the quality of a $350 FP dress! That price range is usually reserved for the really intricate dresses, and this dress did not have any detail that I would think should make it worth that much! When I looked at it, I figured it would be $128, and was shocked to see it was more than double that! If this goes on sale, I would get this in a heart beat, but not for the cost! Get your regular size, and be fine with the fact that it doesn't show you shape! That's how it's supposed to be! :) I'm 5'4" and it was about 3 inches above my knees! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
beautiful, but not for large chests!
3.7.2013
" So, I AM a bigger girl, a size 12-14 with a 38D bust, so I knew I was taking a chance in ordering this. It is GORGEOUS and great quality. I would recommend it for smaller-busted gals; it would hang beautifully on the right person. The pleating over the top of the bust line is very unflattering on someone with my chest size, unfortunately. Fabric is a nice weight, color is beautiful, it will be such a nice piece for spring and summer. I wanted to just wear this with capri leggings and flats, had it been the right fit. You could also pair this with a fitted blazer that might pull in the volume a bit and give it a different look. Well worth the money, in my opinion, a classic boho piece you will have in your closet for a long time. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Prettiest dress EVER!
2.17.2013
" Okay, so I am very picky about everything! If you think this dress is pretty here, wait until you try it on!!!!!!!! It is such a beautifull dress! The colours in it remind me of springtime. They are even more brilliantly vivid in real life than online. The bottom of the dress has an incredibly beautifull green and a weight which magnifies all of your twists and turns! I spun in front of a mirror for atleast 30 times! If you lift up the first layer it is a gorgeous lacy material. I wear a size 34b bra and a size small is perfect. :p If you are undecided get it!!!! "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.18.2013
Such a fun festival dress to twirl in! We love the green -- it's pops so well. Happy you love it! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Really Beautiful
2.15.2013
" I have been dreaming about this dress since I first laid eyes on it in the catalog. By the time I finally decided to take the plunge, it was all sold out. Luckily it came back in stock in a large. I am a true pear shaped girl and I LOVE this dress. I was afraid that my hips would make it unflattering, but it was not. The weight of the silk makes this drape beautifully. I love the volume the skirt has, though I do wish the dress was 2" longer (hit me at mid-thigh at 5'9"). The colors were lovely, but not quite as pictured for mine. I attached a picture taken outdoors so you can get a good idea of what the actual colors are in natural light. This looks great with tights and a sweater for cooler weather, or with bare legs and a denim vest for spring. I am so glad I finally bought this dress. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:Pasadena, CA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Very pretty!!
2.5.2013
" I got this dress because I really loved the color and style! I received it couple of weeks ago and did not get the chance to try it out til recently. It is gorgeous. I am petite and it fits great. It does have more layers at the bottom which might feel a bit heavy. The colors are exactly as shown in the picture. I really cannot wait to wear it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:slender
Stunning must have piece for the true FP Lover!
1.25.2013
" This dress is absolutely gorgeous. I was skeptical about this piece as I usually am not a fan of the FP1 items. I was afraid of this being too sheer. I saw this in the FP Rock Center store and was blown away! Not only was it absolutely gorgeous, but it fits amazing and is VERY well made. This dress is def worth the price tag!
The fabric is thick and lush, if you have large hips it might be too heavy for you. The sides were a little big on me but nothing a stitch or two on the side can't fix. Really a stunning dress, I was blown away by this one!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:Rochester
age:21-25
body type:petite
Absolutely gorgeous :)
1.18.2013
" My boyfriend got me this dress for our anniversary, and it is absolutely gorgeous. I love the dip-dyed style to start with, but I personally like the fading on this dress :). There was more fabric to it than I expected, but it hung well even on my petite build. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Sweet Upon The Seat Dress
Name:
Location:Upstate NY
age:26-30
body type:slender
Just not flattering
1.16.2013
" First off, I did not like the color of this. The middle section of the dip dye is a large portion of the dress in a color I can only describe as puke green. The deepest part of the dye is a very pretty emerald green but it just does not fade prettily. Also the cut made me look 10 lbs. heavier than I am. It's too short and is shaped like a tent. I was sad to be disappointed in it, but that's the risk you take. "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large