Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Atlas Crochet Sneaker

Distressed tie dye leather high-top sneaker with crochet detailing. Lace-up style. Dyed rubber sole. *By Free People
overall average rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Reviews for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Review 1 for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Name:
Location:Iowa
age:over 45
body type:slender
Sweet but stiff
12.15.2013
" This shoe is really cuter than pictured. It is almost beige but not taupe. I'm not sure how to break them in because the leather, although thin, is very stiff - to the point that you have to wear stockings to avoid chapping around the top. The soles are made in Italy and the body in China. Not sure what the leather source is but if it were soft I would probably wear them every day until they fell off my feet. There is ample room for socks if you order a size up from your normal shoe size. If I would have gotten my size they would have been pretty small. They are made pretty well and will be a nice compliment to jeans or skirts. I may go to a shoe repair shop and see if they have any leather softener, they are that stiff. I think they'll last a while unless I snag the lace. In that case, I would just trim it off because there is leather under it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Name:
Location:Milwaukee
age:21-25
body type:petite
Order more Black so I can buy another pair
11.14.2013
" I was a little skeptical to order these shoes based on the reviews and not knowing exactly what my european shoe size is. I am a size 5 1/2 - 6 depending on the shoe. I took a chance and bought a 37Euro, which is technically too big for my foot. The shoe actually fit good! I probably would feel more comfortable in a 36Euro, now knowing that the shoe ran small. The color was definitely different from the picture - The lace is cream and the shoe is the pink color. Overall, I really love the show and I hope Free People brings the black shoe back in stock so that I can have both pairs! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Name:
Location:Tofino, BC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Great Find!
11.1.2013
" I found these in the sale section and was blown away by the great price and how pretty the shoes were. I did read the negative reviews but figured I would try them anyways. I ordered them in black and they look really nice in person and similar to the picture. They are a bit stiff at first but easy to wear in and are definitely a stand out piece. I'm considering re-buying in natural! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Don't hesitate to buy these
10.24.2013
" I was on the fence about buying these. I heard about them on you tube ..that they were comfy and they certainly looked cute. I came here and saw the awesome price but then bad reviews. I bought these in the natural colour and they're quite pretty. The edge of the sole doesn't have any special finishing but the lace is nice. I wore them around the house for a while and they're surprisingly comfy. The tongue was a little stiff putting them on but that's about it. I think they'll be quite comfy and am happy with the great buy! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:41-45
body type:athletic
beautiful lace detail
10.19.2013
" I just received these today. I purchased the tan color and they do look a little darker than pictured. These also don't have what appears to be lace detailing around the soles. The lace on the shoe is beautiful and gives a nice vintage feel to these shoes. They are a little stiff , but nothing that overtime will not resolve. I found these to be very comfortable though. All in all I'm very happy with this purchase. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Name:
Location:Washington, US
age:21-25
body type:slender
Is this even the same shoe!?
8.27.2013
" Okay, I’m completely confused. From the pictures on the site, I was expecting a gorgeous, leather, bright red high-top with beautiful lace accents and mustard-colored rubber platforms. I was expecting a stunning sneaker that’d be perfect for fall. What I got was a dull, fire-engine-red sneaker with a peach -colored platform, and what does not feel like real leather. The platform is actually plain rubber without the dotted texture. The lace accent is NOTHING like the pictures—in fact, it’s a completely different pattern! The whole shoe looks like a Chinese knock-off of what’s promoted on the website. I was fully prepared for the shoe to be tight initially, sure, and accepted that the fit wasn’t totally right at first in spite of it being my size. I was not prepared to get a COMPLETELY different shoe. I’m so disappointed by the false advertising and have never had this problem before with FP. Even for the mark down I don’t know if it’s worth it--order with extreme caution. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb8.29.2013
We're sorry these arrived differently than pictured. Our distribution center is currently checking the remaining inventory. We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Name:
Location:NC
age:31-35
body type:petite
what a disappointment!
8.23.2013
" From the pictures, I was not convinced them that they are leather, but since the description said they are (I am allergic to leatherlikle material, so I checked the description)...I should have trusted my eyes, because they are not. Some sort of cheap material, probably polyurethane. Even not like some soft sneaker material. That's what makes them really cheap looking and uncomfortable (impossible to bend them!), plus my feet started to burn because of that cheap leatherlike material even though they were in them for 5 minutes only! And unlike seen in the pictures, the edge of the soles of the pair I received did not have the lace accents that are seen in the pictures. Was not worth to keep even with the sale price. Returned them today and quite sad about the time and money I spent for ordering and returning them. "
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Nope.
6.19.2013
" Sadly, these sneakers did not hold up to my expectations. I was looking for something cute and comfortable to wear while I am walking to work, walking dogs, living life. These sneakers were promising, but they just are not comfortable. Maybe if you put in the effort to break them in they would be okay, but that is a pretty serious gamble given the cost. It may have been worth a try, but the sneakers were far too distressed for my liking. I'm all for distressed items, but this was just looked old and grungy. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Atlas Crochet Sneaker
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:over 45
body type:petite
Stiff!!!
3.5.2013
" I ordered the "Light grey" in 36. In the photos they appear to be dark blue but in real life they are basically distressed black. They seem to be true to size (36 a little too large for my 5.5 US size) but it is hard to tell because the leather is so stiff that 1) they are difficult to put on and 2) the inner "tongue" (the piece that lies under the shoelaces) digs in the front part of my calf. Seriously, the leather is like cardboard. It is fairly thin too. The only way to wear them would be if it eventually softens. They are very cute and although I was expecting blue, the black is actually pretty cool and once on and ignoring the stiffness, they look great. I am going to keep them for a couple of days while I decide if it is worth it to spend the money in shoes that may or not be wearable. I attached a photo for reference, hope it helps. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.6.2013
I'm sorry that you didn't receive the color you expected! We are looking in to that with our distribution center right now. The leather should soften up as you wear them - eventually you won't ever want to take them off! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo