Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Sundial Maxi Dress

Racerback crochet maxi dress with floral design throughout. *100% cotton *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 55 3/8" Chest: 30 3/4" relaxed Waist: 28" relaxed **Please Note: This dress does not come with a slip.
overall average rating:
4.148 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Customer Reviews for Sundial Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Even Nicer Than Expected
8.25.2011
"I was surprised by the fit. This dress flows, but gives great shape to your body. I love the delicate details of the maxi. It is both boho and fairy at the same time. I love the way it drags behind me and is slightly higher in the front. I am 5'9. With the proper layering you can get 3 seasons out of this maxi."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Hangs low in the back but overall flattering
8.18.2011
"I really love this dress. It is very flattering and I carry a little bit of extra weight at 5'8", 160lbs (bought a large). It fits perfectly and looks great, especially with a bright color underneath (I bought the dress in gray). Looks good with a short slip or a long slip/dress. I would have given it five stars, but I think the differential between the length in the back and the length in the front is a little too much. With a dress this long, it could be a more subtle fishtail. With heels to bring the back off the ground, the front looks to short so I am doomed to drag this when I wear it, or pin it up (which is a fun look, too!)."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Can't wait to wear this!
8.16.2011
"Just got this dress in an XS and I can't wait to wear it. The fit is perfect, I'm 5'7'' 123 lbs. The back does drag on the ground a little but I don't mind. I have a short black slip I'll be wearing underneath but I hope to find a longer one to wear this well into fall. I should note the gray color has a bit of purple tone to it, as you can see in the photos."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
stunning maxi
8.7.2011
"i just received this in the mail and tried it on today. wow, its beautiful. i bought my usual xs in the granite color and it is amazing. even my boyfriend was aghast. first of all, the texture and feel is unlike anything i won from fp. its really soft and feels good on the skin. love the pattern also. the fit of this is also perfect. it is body and curve hugging and then flares out at the back. everything about this dress is beautiful, my only issue is the length. i am 5'1 and this is insanely long on me. i can fold it over in the back towards my feet and end up stepping on it plus having about 5 inches of extra fabric, so yeah, this is seriously, seriously, long. i was really hoping i would be able to get it hemmed, but looking at the fabric i'm just not sure. this is not an appropriate length dress for petites, i'd say you probably have to be at least 5'8 in order to pull this off. what a shame, its beautiful, and i really hope that i can find a way to pull this off without 8 inch heels. stunning, just not for the short ):"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
I'm addicted to Free People Beach!
8.6.2011
"I absolutely love this dress! I bought the purplish color (granite). I seriously can't get enough of FP Beach items. So if your into FP beach like me, you'll love this! I ordered my regular Medium & it fits TTS. For reference, I am 5'7, 138, size 6 & a 34D-DD. Beware that the back is very long & will drag on the floor. The front is a lot shorter so you shouldn't trip on it or anything & I'm sure a sandal with a little heel would help. Obviously if your really short, it might be a problem you'll have to fix. I think the options of what to wear under this are endless but below is one of the FP slips I will wear with this. (My Bodycon Slip is Black)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Beautiful But Long...
7.31.2011
"This dress is probably one of my favorites out of the fp beach line. I tried the dress on in the store and all of the people said it looked amazing yet it was really long. I'm 5'7 and I tried on the small since it was the only one left. Even with wearing heels it was still to the floor. If you are tall and need a beach dress I suggest getting this one!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:CA Bay Area
age:26-30
body type:petite
Super long - love the short version better
7.24.2011
"This maxi dress has the same crochet design as the spring crush dress, which I also owned and loved. However this maxi dress is too long on me - even I wear my wedges it would still hit the floor. Also you need wear a long slip dress inside, in which case the dress becomes somewhat tight and thus looks a little bit odd. I also love the short version more than this b/c the short one is more playful while this guy is kinda heavy-material looking."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Bellevue, WA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Unique beach dress
7.19.2011
"I just received this dress today and couldn't be more thrilled! I got the XS in "granite" and it's even more beautiful than I had pictured. My stats are 5"6" 112lbs, bust: 33", waist: 25" hips: 36 and this dress fits beautifully, hugging my curves in all the right spots. The seams in the back are both beautiful and clever, adding a significant amount of shape to your rear end. If you have a flat butt, this dress will make it look deceptively shapely. The quality of the material is nice, but it's definitely more of a beach/summer casual dress due to the large laser cut pattern in it. Although I'm 5"6" the dress still drags the floor about 3" in the back, even with my 3" wedge sandals on. The fact that it drags doesn't bother me at all. I actually love the fact that it has a train since I really only plan on wearing it on the beach and it's easy enough to hold it up or tie it. If you don't want this dress to drag the floor you will have to be at least 5'10" and wear some shoes with a heel. Altering it is also an option, but probably not worth it since it's not a formal dress. If you plan to wear this dress on the beach (intended purpose) you will not be disappointed. If you plan to wear it to a formal event or to work, you may want to think twice."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:OC
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
odd fitting
6.6.2011
"I really loved this dress when i saw it online and ordered it in black (when they still had it in black) and was so excited when it came in the mail. However, once i tried it on, it fit extremely awkwardly. The front is much shorter than it looks online (i''m 5'9" and got a medium and it came up to my mid shin) and the back has an excess of fabric that makes a train in the back, when i would walk it dragged a good foot or two behind me. I tried to make it work but ultimately had to return it."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Very Lovely
6.1.2011
"This is a beautiful dress, it is very lightweight as far as staying cool in the summer goes, but it has enough weight in the fabric for it to lay in a very flattering manner. My body type is a mix between curvy and slightly pear shaped and the dress still looks elegant and flattering on me. I usually wear a size 8 and I ordered a M. Like most people I have a slight issue with the abundance of the train, but the "hem" is just bias tape sewn to the bottom to keep the fabric from fraying so taking it in shouldn't be a huge problem. The only issue I have was with the white color, the train and the color (I wore light colors underneath) looked a little to much like a wedding dress, so I'm sending it back to exchange for a new color."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Carolinas
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
love LOVE love
3.22.2011
"I am 5'9 and 122lbs and I got this dress in black in a small. It fits beautifully! I bought the coral maxi for underneath and it is just gorgeous! I love to have the option to wear it as a cover-up with just this dress, or as a dress with both on. I receive SO MANY compliments when I wear it. It hugs where you want it to hug, and it hides what you want it to hide. It runs long, but I love that feature. I highly recommend!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Everyday Racer Dress
4.6 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 12 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:over 45
body type:slender
sundial maxi dress
3.14.2011
"Love the shape of this dress, and 'crochet' caught my eye. However, after purchasing this online, I was disappointed to find that the dress is NOT crochet, but rather a laser-cut sort of pattern. I think the description should be stated more accurately, so 'crochet-lovers' such as I will be aware. I returned my purchase, but am happy with other crochet pieces I have purchased."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
What to do with the train...
3.4.2011
"This dress is gorgeous - the material is beautiful, the cut is flattering, it's well made, but the back is so long there is ~4" dragging on the ground behind me (I'm 5'5"). I like the CONCEPT of the train in back, but in reality doesn't seem practical. I'm pretty handy with the sewing machine, but because of the crochet material, I don't think I can hem this one myself. However, it's WAY to beautiful to return, so I'll either make it work (maybe with a knot in the side or something), or get it altered by a pro."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:middle of nowhere
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Lovely look, not as great quality
2.22.2011
"I got the white in S, as my normal size M was sold out. The fit is rather forgiving, as the dress fits fine even though I sized down, and it looks lovely especially with the Crinkle Maxi Dress in black layered under it. However, the quality of the fabric is frankly not worth the full price ($88), but it's pretty enough that I don't want to ship it back! I wouldn't recommend it with only a swimsuit under it though, unless if you're really skinny... :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Crinkle Maxi Dress
4.5 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 15 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:slender
Amazing Dress
2.21.2011
"I have wanted a maxi dress for a while and finally decided, after reading the reviews, to get this one. It is amazing! The other reviewers are correct, much more fitted than on the model! Although the length is very long. I am just over 5'7" and it probably dragged about 3 inches on the ground. I didn't want to have to wear really high heels, so I took the risk and tried shrinking it. It worked perfectly. The hem now just hits the floor and it is now a little more fitted at the top (it never completely clung to my body). For reference I got and xs and my measurements are 33-25-36.5. If you are willing to take the risk I say shrink it, but make sure you want to, the length really shrinks up!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:asia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
lovely summer dress
2.21.2011
"i adore this dress, its great for layering up or down :) i got the white, size M due to my 34 DD chest and the fits is a bit loose and way too long for me. i m 5'5" and i need to hem a few inch at back. overall a great buy :) i feel feminine on it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Lovely, just lovely
2.17.2011
"I was lucky to find this gem at a boutique. I knew it wouldn't last long so I grabbed it, tried it on and fell in love. Since it is a crocheted piece you will need a slip or a maxi dress to go underneath. It is a bit long in back (I am 5"5") but platforms or a belt (and pull it up a bit) will do the trick! I ordered the "Everyday Racer Dress" in sunkist pink to go underneath and it works perfectly. The white over the watermelon tone is so nice."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Everyday Racer Dress
4.6 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 18 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Lovely
2.17.2011
"This is such a pretty dress! It is cute with long sleeves underneath, short sleeves, or no sleeves. This piece is great for layering under or over other dresses. It is long, but TTS. The length hit me like it does the model (5'9") in size L."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Beautiful dress but a dust/hair magnet!!!
2.11.2011
"I am not sure what to say about this dress. I got it in and it is indeed beautiful. I am 5/6, 112, 32B and xs fit perfectly and was flattering. It does drag just a bit on the ground but not much. Now for the bad-I wore it for the first time today. By the time I sat down at my desk, I looked down to see the textured black fabric had picked up so much dirt, dust, hair, threads....omg....it was loaded with junk at the bottom 2 feet of the dress at the back. It is like a magnet...i think the texture is the problem. I bought the black so it was awful. It there had been a white one, I would have bought it...I don't think the white would show the dirt as badly. I used a lint roller on it and filled 7 different layers of roller. I don't know that I'll ever wear it again. Even after cleaning it at work, by the end of the day...it was covered again all around the bottom of the back. I really loved this dress....LOVE FREE PEOPLE but this dress is a mess. ;("
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Sundial Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Great Dress!
1.31.2011
"I can't believe I waited so long to buy this dress. It's wonderful. The fit in the bodice is fitted, not baggy, and it drapes beautifully from the mid torso down. The fabric has the perfect amount of give to it. I ordered my usual size small (5'7" 130 lbs) and the fit and the length are perfect. The back hem just grazes the floor without shoes. I bought the black as shown with the coral racer dress underneath and it looks great, but I'll also wear this with other FP maxi slips, or as a beach cover up. Very versatile piece."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>