Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Permafrost Tunic

Fairisle patterned knitted tunic sweater. Cozy and fits in perfectly with the festive season! *26% Acrylic, 18% Wool, 12% Cotton, 5% Alpaca, 1% Mohair, 10% Nylon, 1% Other Fabric *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 24 1/2" Bust (all around): 40" Sleeve Length: 25 3/4"
overall average rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Reviews for Permafrost Tunic
Review 1 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Wear with care
4.3.2013
"Love this sweater! I am 5"3' and approx 116 pounds and the XS fit perfectly. It's very comfortable fit and I am able to wear a couple of layers underneath. The colours more vibrant than they are online. The "white" area is actually a mint green in real life but I think I like it even better this way! Wear this sweater with care however as the knit is very loose and pulls very easily. I had a cross body bag on when wearing this sweater and the metal clasp from the bag pulled out a couple of threads on the side. Also, the sweater leaves fibres everywhere. The top I was wearing underneath had a lot of fibres on it (like when you hold a cat) when I took off this sweater. Nevertheless, I am really happy with this buy. It's an easy option when I don't feel like thinking too much about my outfit!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
review
2.28.2013
"testing for app"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Scottsdale
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
SO CUTE
2.17.2013
"I have had my eye on this sweater for a really long time and finally decided to purchase it. Don't regret it one bit. It is cozy and cute, and I love it because it offers something more than just a regular sweater. It does run a bit large, looks much larger than how it is worn on the model, but it still works. The sleeves are also quite long so I just folded them up and they looked fine that way. I purchased this in the multi color."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:MS
age:21-25
body type:slender
super snuggly<3
1.30.2013
"My boyfriend bought me this sweater in the multi color for my birthday this past december, and it is my all-time favorite sweater. it's so soft and snuggly, and it's really warm especially with a tank underneath, but if its warmer then the stitching is open enough that you get some air flow and don't overheat. it does run big, i am 5'3" 110 lbs. and got a small...it swallows me. i like it though because it adds to the big-snuggly-sweater feel, but i think i'm going to get the chocolate in an extra small now that it's on sale. HIGHLY RECOMMEND:)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:31-35
body type:slender
Pretty sweater, but just too big!!
1.25.2013
"I am not quite the smallest woman, (122 lbs, 5'5) but since I like to wear my clothing fitted, I generally buy XS in FP. This sweater was so large in the XS- not boxy large, but it ballooned under the arms. I purchased the multi and the cream colour is really a mint green. Pretty colours, though. Too bad... It's going back."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Indianapolis
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Beautiful sweater but not a tunic
1.12.2013
"This is a beautiful sweater and after reading the reviews I decided to go with a small since everyone seemed to state it was oversized. But, when it arrived, since I ordered a size down, it just fit like an ordinary sweater. Definitely does not fit like a tunic sweater and not anything like the picture of the white. They must be sized differently with the different colors. But, I did like the sweater, very soft and a very unique disign. Its a keeper but not a tunic sweater....."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great comfy sweater
1.8.2013
"This sweater is a great comfy over-sized sweater. It fits loose - but it's supposed to! It's a bit boxy if you have a curvy body type, but all over-sized things are. I bought it in snow and I found that it does look a bit more darker than pictures, but its still quite cute. My skin can be sensitive to wool blends, but I have no issue with this fabric :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Chester, NY
age:41-45
body type:petite
Much better in person
1.6.2013
"So cozy and adorable. Pair it with skinny jeans and boots and you're good to go. I bought the multi color (blues and reds) and it really is a nice pop of color. I'm 5'2", 110lbs and bought the XS. Beware b/c it can stretch out."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Santa Clarita, Ca
age:21-25
body type:petite
COZY
1.4.2013
"i bought this sweater in the multi color. i'm 5'3 105 lbs and a 32B. I ordered the XS. i absolutely love this. the colors are soooo pretty. it's super soft and warm. no need to layer it bc it holds your body heat. don't pass this up!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:NB Canada
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Incredible
1.3.2013
"This sweater is very warm. Can be worn without a coat in late Fall. So beautiful...much more so in person. Fits true to size. Do not hang because it can stretch out horribly.Keep folded. Definitely worth the money. I do have to roll up the sleeves. I wear an 8 and I bought M."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:nj
age:21-25
body type:petite
Warm and cozy!
12.29.2012
"I love this sweater! It is very warm and cozy, especially on a cold winter day. It kept me very warm in mid-20 degree weather. It is just the right amount of thickness, so that it is not too big and bulky, but it's also not thin. I purchased the "snow" color. It is definitely one of my winter staples now. It also fits exactly how it looks on the model pictured. I am 5' tall, 32 bust, and I ordered an xs."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Lovely Winter Sweater
12.26.2012
"I first found this sweater at my local FP but all they had was the black and white one. Although I didn't fall in love with the colors, I still tried it on. IT IS SO COMFORTABLE. Also, its very warm which is a big plus up her in the the northeast. The moment the chocolate color came online I had to get it. Something to consider (and the reason why I only gave it 4 stars) is that it is much larger than visible in the picture. The pattern is gorgeous but the sweater itself doesn't have all that much form. I first tried a large (my usual size) but I was just overwhelmed. I sized down, but with athletic arms I found it to be pretty constricting near the shoulders/biceps. Still, I couldnt give this up, so I chose to get a large."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Let it Snow
12.16.2012
"This is a beautiful sweater. The bonus is, I got it on sale at the Toronto FP store. I love the colors on multi. Great for gift giving, this soft tunic will warm you up on a cold winter day."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Portsmouth, NH
age:21-25
body type:curvy
To Die For
12.12.2012
"I love all of Free People's sweaters, to be honest, but this one is amazing for winter! It is super warm, not itchy at all, and I love, love, love how long the sleeves are. Like another reviewer said, I got the Multi color too and the white-ish parts are actually a quite beautiful shade of blue. Definitely a must have"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Sweet Sweater
11.30.2012
"I love all the colors this sweater comes in, but I purchased the snow because since it has black in it I know I will wear it a lot and I can even incorporate it into my work outfits if I wear it with a black skirt, tights, and boots. I'm a slim 5'10 and purchased this in a small. I tried on the XS, but the arms and shoulders were a bit too restricting, so although the small is a bit roomy, it's a comfortable fit without looking too big. Very cute sweater for the holidays and beyond."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:ga
age:21-25
body type:petite
Staple Item
11.20.2012
"To be honest, when I first saw this sweater I didn't think I'd like it that much but of course once I put it on I fell in LOVE. I'm 5'2 105 llbs and I got it in XS, I would say it is TTS, it's a "tunic" not a fitted sweater. I find the fit to be extremly flattering. It's so SO soft and super comfy. It's a great throw on piece, wear it with anything."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Birmingham
age:14-20
body type:petite
perfect sweater
11.20.2012
"I have been waiting for free people to make a sweater that I wanted to buy. It seems like they did not have a lot of options as of lately. However, this sweater is amazing and soft. I got it in the black and white in a small. The xs fit perfectly, but I got the small because I liked the oversized look."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:USA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Loose thick sweater
11.13.2012
"This sweater in small is loose in the body with the back a little longer. Very pretty - I ordered the Multi Color which looks a little different than the photo. The white parts are not white at all but light blue. Love this sweater it isn't itchy at all and I'm sensitive to wool."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Permafrost Tunic
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Bigger than pictured online
11.12.2012
"I found this sweater to be a little looser than it looked online. (The pictures of the snow combo is the most accurate) The body is cut a little wide. Not overly so, but definitely not as fitted as it looks in the other two colors. I am extremely petite, so other people may not have this problem. The sleeves are tighter so your figure won't be completely drowned. The tunic length is probably my favorite part of this sweater! Also, the white is not as bright in the snow combo as pictured - it's more of a very light grey. I did not find it itchy and I have very sensitive skin. Over all it's a great sweater if you want something cozy and a little slouchy. I'd wear it with tighter bottoms to keep my figure - a little lacy slip and leggings, a bodycon skirt, or skinnies."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large