Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Denim Cutoff Short

Distressed denim 5-pocket super short cutoff shorts with raw edge bottom hems. *By One Teaspoon *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for AUS Size 8 (equivalent to USA Size 4): Waist: 31" Rise: 9 1/2" Inseam: 2 1/2" Length on sides: 6" **Size Conversion: AUS 6 = US 2, AUS 8 = US 4, AUS 10 = US 6, AUS 12 = US 8)
overall average rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Denim Cutoff Short
Review 1 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Hottt
3.17.2012
"I love these, as I love my other One Teaspoon shorts. The side hike is, as noted, crazy high. This shouldn't be cause for complaint though as you can CLEARLY see it in the pictures. The wash varies from pair to pair, but mine were more or less as pictured. The fraying was not as extreme, that will fix itself over time I think. The fit on these is TTS I think. I've also got a bit of a booty, and OT tends to be more generous in that area than other companies, so maybe that's why i didn't find these to be loose. I'd say go with your usual size."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:U.S.A
age:14-20
body type:athletic
wahhh
3.6.2012
"I was really excited to get these.Then they got back ordered and the package was lost. i still really wanted them so i decided to risk and order a size up and they are too big. the side is EXTREMELY SHORT and the fringe is really long. kind of an awkward fit maybe because the 10 was too big. I'm a size 27 and I'm guessing the 8 would have fit better just remember the side is like 1 and a half inches long if you are ordering. probably fine if you live somewhere tropical! ill keep my eye out for one teaspoon though because they are really good quality besides the awkward fit! i hope free people stocks more different shorts from them!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:Kansas City
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
short!! but cute
2.12.2012
"I'm 5'8" 142 lbs, a regular size 6 and got these in the AUS 12 because I wanted them baggy, and since the size conversion said an AUS12 was about a US 8. Anyway, they are huge! Real cute, but huge. They fall off. I'm returning them for the 10, hoping they still have that slouch I want. Also ordered the lace biker shorts in nude to wear underneath because the 12 was pretty short on me (I am taller), and I'm assuming the 10 will be shorter still. But I really like them...if they work out, they'll be my favorite pair of shorts I think."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:reno, nv
age:21-25
body type:athletic
So disappointed
2.8.2012
"I was so excited when these came in the mail and then I tried them on and was so disappointed. I ordered the maverick color in a size 10 and they were a tiny bit big. I usually wear a size 6 so make sure to size down one size. I am 5'4'' 130lbs. For one the shredded part is not as pictured, in the picture the color is the nice blue denim color. Mine were an ugly light beige color and it just looks super grungy. When I put them on, the front part jets out ridiculously and it looks like I have a pickle in my shorts. I tried pulling them up high above my waist and there is still a giant bulge. If these were cheaper I would have tried to work with them but for this type of money they have to go back. :("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:Old Bridge, NJ
age:31-35
body type:slender
Beach Staple
2.6.2012
"LOVE THESE! So glad I decided to get them in the 10 since the 8 was sold out. I'm 5'5, 128lbs, and have a moderate booty! Sexy shorts since the sides are super short so a hint of your butt cheeks will be seen when viewed from the side which is perfect for the beach but not walking around the street. To combat that, I bought the biker lace trim shorts and voila! These shorts are perfect for every hot summer day as well! Awesome pair. If you're my body type, get the 10. They have the perfect slouch. You don't want these too tight anyway! Great quality, just a great short!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Lace Trim Bike Shorts
4.7 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 6 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:Asia
age:31-35
body type:slender
Unique, fun and hot
2.1.2012
"I am 5'3, 120 poinds, size XS in most of FP clothes. Ordered size 6. I can close the front but it's too tight for me. Im showing too much of my legs. But as other reviewer wrote I think this pants is meant to be worn by someone who has bambi legs.
So instead of exchanging it with larger size, I decided to lose some weight to fit to this pants cuz I think if I am not thin like model thin then ill look too scandalous..
I got light blue color and the color is really nice. It's not too light and little vintagish but not too much.
I like nude pink and dusty colors in spring and vivid yellow and red in summer time and this short will match with any color I like.
Other than wear this with tops, I'll wear with Rigid Tier Mesh Slip on the top with T-shirt.
Can't wait for warm weather to wear this!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Rigid Tier Mesh Slip
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 7 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:slender
NO If you have a butt ..FP needs a SIDE shot.
1.27.2012
"Ok, now first off these def LOOK very awesome. They are unlike any cut offs out there. The distressing is awesome and they really have that grungey 80's/90's feel. The material is super thick and sturdy.
There is a HUGE but.....and by but....I mean BUTT. These models have a stereo typical skinny model body with a non existent flat ba-donk-a-donk. I am very tiny a true size 0 24/25 5'6/7 and 108lbs. First I want to say that if you are a TRUE 0/2 these are going to be gigantic on they are gigantic in the back since the pockets are stiff and have no movement. So they will stick out weird. What I like about Aussie and other Euro brands is the sizing is not vanity.
Now....if you have any type of butt at all these are gonna look like obscene street walker shorts. Although I am very thin and tall I have a butt. My body is similar to Candice Swanapole. So with that said my bubble butt was hanging out.... cheeks for the whole world to see! My friend burst out in laugher because my junk was on display for everyone to see. Since they are so loose and stiff they move when I walked too!.
Needless to say, I could not wear these at ALL. Maybe underneath have some cute stockings or biker shorts, but not practical if you are thin, bootilicious, or tall.
some lady was actually complaining that FP would sell them while I walked back in the fitting room.
They are VERY AWESOME....to look at that is......they just aren't practical. This brand does have a few different styles, so maybe and hopefully FP will get some diff ones in!
If the wash and shredding weren't so cool I would give these a 1. They are just so cool looking!
I purchased the FP cutoff instead in the lighter color. I think they fit way better and cater to the female fit. I bought last years in both colors and this year I may do the same. I must say they are fantastic....
"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
5 Pocket Denim Cut Offs
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 8 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Had to return these..
1.26.2012
"I tired these shorts on once when they came in the mail, and I had to return them. I am 5'1" and 114 lbs. I ordered a size 8 because the 6 was way too small and to short in the sides. Turns out the 8 is way too big and almost fell off of me. I don't really think there is a size in between. I really thought these would look great. I am really hesitant about ordering one teaspoon clothes again. I'm really not sure of the sizes."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:Washington DC
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
dude.
1.21.2012
"BEST SHORTS EVER. omg. buy these NOW. RIGHT NOW. seriously ."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:PACIFIC NW
age:31-35
body type:athletic
HOT! HOT!! HOT!!!
1.10.2012
"THESE CUT OFF'S ARE TOO COO! WHEN ON THEY APPEAR LONGER IN THE FRONT AND THE BACK, WHEN YOU SEE THE SIDES A BIT FLIRTY. I PURCHASED THE SIZE 6, I AM 5'3", 26 INCH WAIST, 120 lb's & THE FIT IS COMFORTABLE AND NOT TIGHT AT ALL FOR MY FRAME. DEFINITELY A FUN UPDATED VERSION OF YOUR CLASSIC CUT OFF..."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:petite
One Teaspoon, not for the petite.
1.9.2012
"I was really excited about these, and bought the 6, unfortunately they are almost 4 sizes too big for me. I'm about a 2 and I thought the conversion would make more sense, but apparently not. Sending these back, can't wear shorts that will fall off."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:las vegas, nv
age:26-30
body type:slender
holy denim lords
12.31.2011
"you have received my prayers for a good pair of shorts. well, i should say great pair of shorts. let me start off by saying I have been OBSESSED with one teaspoon for a while now. always following them but could never afford the overseas shipping charges from them. (they are an aussie brand) so i am so thankful free people started to carry them and their awesome shorts. i ordered them the day after christmas in the indigo #5 wash. I received them today, 5 days later, but they are more like the maverick wash. (it worked out in my favor because that was the wash i wanted but they were sold out of the '6' yay!) now 6 is the smallest and they are still a little loose for me. (i'm 5'8" and about 115 lbs. size 25 or a 0 normally.) i am not giving them up though because i am in love. head over heels and cannot wait to wear them. if i were you i would snag these beauties up fast! you won't have buyers remorse with these gems. i know they are going to be a staple in my wardrobe."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Denim Cutoff Short
Name:
Location:santa barbara, CA
age:14-20
body type:slender
OBSESSED!
12.19.2011
"I just received my shorts in the mail this week and I can honestly say they are amazing!!! Super flattering and really comfortable! I ordered a size 6 and they fit perfectly. They are really short on the sides but they look really cute with tights or leggins like the photo shows. I usually wear a size 25 in Free People pants and it seems like the size 6 could fit anywhere from a 24-26. They're stretchy but not so much that they end up being too big once you wear them a few times. They really keep their shape which I love. I've never written a review before and I knew once I received these that I had to do it because they're amazing! The only tiny complaint I have is that I ordered the "mavrick" color wash and it really came looking closer to the indigo wash. I love the shorts so much that it's not a big deal but I would have to say the color on the model is not at all accurate to what I received.
Besides that I highly recommend trying them!!! They make your legs look super long and are extremely flattering."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large