Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress

Sheer mesh long-sleeve dress with lace, ribbon and bead trimming all over. Waist has large ribbon and ruffle detailing all around. Zips up lower back with large keyhole opening at upper back. Mini button detailing at back of neck. All of body is lined, except for sleeves. The delicately romantic and texture heavy New Romantics collection was inspired by the dream-worthy beach views and magically hidden coves of Sardinia, Italy.
overall average rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Orange County
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Amazingly Beautiful Dress
2.6.2014
" The photos of this dress do not do it justice. This dress is absolutely stunning in real life! The ribbon and subtle beading detail are amazing! If you are even thinking about ordering this dress, DO IT! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Sooo Beautiful, Yet Sooo Disappointed.
1.3.2014
" I ordered this dress in the Sage it was so beautiful but I am 5'2 and a little busty the top was too big and the sleeves didn't seem like the right size for the dress. I was still so in love with it so I saved it and wore it to a wedding....
Here comes the bad part...
I wore it ONCE, just to a wedding so for no more than 6 hours. The silk above and below the purple belt completely frayed to the bottom..there was strings hanging and coming off everywhere! I loved this dress it actually took me 2 months to return it but for $350.00 this was not what I expected. I have no problem investing in an expensive dress but when the smallest part of it literally frays to seam, I can;t justify that.
Beautiful dress, not a keeper. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Carlsbad, Ca
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Perfect dress!
12.28.2013
" I ordered this dress for my elopement in Hawaii & it was perfect!! After reading the other reviews I was a little worried due to no stores around me having it in store to try on before, but the dress is true to size! There is sooo much extra detail that the picture doesn't even show. Truly, such a gorgeous dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:costa mesa, ca.
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
If you are shorter it's perfect.
10.19.2013
" I ordered it plus a few others for a wedding. Super cute dress. BUT it fits a little baggy above the satin tie. Another downer is the length is too short for us tall girls. I'm nearly 6' and when I tried it on I was bummed that when I bent over there was some cheeks showing.
It is flattering to the bum.. Gives a non-exsitent bum some shape but I can't get over how baggy and funny it seemed to be above the satin belt.
The detail is beautiful with the beading accents BUT i would wear with caution not to snag it. It is a dress to be worn delicately . I was afraid of it loosing the beads and snagging
Dear FP, please take into account that us tall girls love to wear dresses sans giving a show if we bend per! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Gorgeous dress, but top was loose
10.14.2013
" This dress was even more beautiful in person than on the site. The details are just lovely. I ordered the 0, which fit great on the bottom, but the top was entirely too loose. I knew it wasn't supposed to be snug, but it was very baggy. I do have a flat chest and small back, so maybe this will fit better on someone with more on top. So sad this didn't work out. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Future heirloom indeed
10.9.2013
" This is an absolutely gorgeous dress. The only difference between what's pictured and the dress in real life is the color, online the "dark sage" color looks gray to me, but in real life it's actually dark sage, so don't listen to the pictures, listen to the description. Size wise it runs TTS, I'm rather skinny so the arms aren't skintight on me, but not overly loose either, the waist can be adjusted with the bow (which at first I didn't like but proved to be super useful). I think this dress is a good investment, good quality and will last a lifetime. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Tight on Hips
10.2.2013
" I ordered this dress in my normal size 8. Upon receiving it, it was everything I expected. Absolutely gorgeous and the details are amazing. But unfortunately, it was way too tight on me. I have a very true hourglass figure and this dress was not meant for bigger hips. It fit everywhere else perfectly but I couldn't get it to zip up all the way with my hips. Sizing up would probably help solve the issue, but then I'm just worried it would be bigger elsewhere. So if you have bigger hips, you may want to consider sizing up. Unfortunately, this one will have to go back for me. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Leesburg,GA
age:31-35
body type:slender
Love it
9.23.2013
" I am 5'1" size 0 fit me very well "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Tuscaloosa, AL
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Beautiful
9.18.2013
" I had been looking at this dress for a very long time and I finally decided to order it. i ordered the ivory color, but it is much more cream than the picture shows. I usually wear a size 4 in free people but I decided to go up to a size 6 in this dress just in case and it fits perfectly. It is very delicate and there is much more beading and detail than the pictures do justice. Very flattering and beautiful dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:over 45
body type:petite
Breath taking
5.29.2013
" I bought this dress for my daughter. Upon seeing the dress folded in the plastic bag, I was pleased. When viewing the dress out of the bag, I was awestruck. the details are exquisite. It fit my daughter like it was made for her. Quality and beauty/ I am happy and what is more important my daughter is happy. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Houston, Texas
age:21-25
body type:slender
Beautiful Details
2.26.2013
" As soon as I saw this dress in the catalog, I was in love. The pictures do not do this dress justice. The beading, buttons, and ribbon details are truly beautiful. I plan on wearing it for my rehearsal dinner in April. It is so gorgeous, that it could be another wedding dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:CHINA
age:31-35
body type:petite
exquisite
2.20.2013
" It was exquisite, silk, handmade and trimmed with a cobweb of lace.Size 0, The best fit a dress .satisfied! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Columbus, Ohio
age:14-20
body type:petite
Lovely detailing on a lovely dress
1.25.2013
" As soon as I saw this dress on free people I fell in love. Now that I have received it in the mail I am head over heels! It is a very lovely dress.
I ordered my usual size, a 4, and it fit perfectly. I am 5'4" and 115 pounds. I was scared the dress may be a bit short, but it hit me right in the middle of my thigh, making it neither too long nor too short. The bust of the dress is a bit loose, but I actually really love how the top of the dress drapes down by the belted ribbon. I have a small bust, but I imagine bigger busts could look lovely in this dress too, thanks to the extra draped fabric--I imagine there just wouldn't be any extra/less draped fabric near the belt.
The details on this dress are absolutely beautiful. The pictures don't do the details justice! The beading is stunning and the different laces are delicate and pretty. The ribbon belt and ruffles are a nice touch as well. The buttons at the sleeve and at the top of the back of the dress are well placed. The built in slip is nice and I think will suffice in covering my under garments. However, I will probably wear neutral under garments to be safe. Overall, I love everything about this dress!
If you are willing to spend the money on this lovely dress you will not be disappointed! Go for it!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
severely disappointing
1.24.2013
" This dress is gorgeous and the quality of the material is great. I ordered this dress in a size 2 which is my constant size on free people. The back of the dress was gaping on me and the waist was too roomy. It was a very expensive dress, which i had shipped to Ireland, and due to the expense of the dress, I had to pay 100 euros at the door to receive it. I'm gutted. I will be returning this dress. My advice is to size down. I measured the waist of this dress for a size 2 and it is 29 inches. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP New Romantics Future Heirloom Dress
Name:
Location:Annapolis, MD
age:31-35
body type:slender
Pricey but priceless!
1.15.2013
" I just received this dress and tried it on immediately. What a beautiful piece! I ordered my usual dress size- a 6- and it fit like a glove. If you're a bit bustier, like myself (C/D), you'll need the proper undergarment for support; I would suggest the NuBra so as not to take away from the open-back detailing. The length is short and flirty but modest (I'm 5'7" as a reference), allowing you to show off your gams! I plan on wearing mine with a nude, pointed-toe heel. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large