Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Military Ruffle Jacket

Heavyweight knit jacket with asymmetrical button front closure. Woven ruffled trims on the front, cuffs and tiered bottom hem. Stand collar and buttons on the back. Fully lined. * 97% Cotton, 3% Spandex * Hand Wash * Imported Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 16 3/4" Chest: 35 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.709 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Customer Reviews for Military Ruffle Jacket
Review 1 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:indiana
age:21-25
body type:petite
perfect.
1.20.2011
"I got this in the ivory in an XS (5'3'', 110lbs, 32b) and let me tell you, it is PERFECT. I get so many compliments when I wear it and it's a perfect statement piece to dress up an outfit, and you will feel SO feminine in it! It really is beautiful; the raw hem adds that bohemian, worn-in FP twist to a super girly piece. The fit is true to size and as pictured!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
I Love This Jacket!!
10.7.2010
"I have it in the black and it is fantastic. The weight it perfect for fall. The ruffle border is beautiful and feminine. I love the way it fits, perfectly true to size. All in all, my favorite jacket. Ever."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 3 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Durham
age:14-20
body type:petite
Chic & Punk
8.14.2010
"This is a really fun jacket, plus, it's cozy if you need it to be! One caveat however is the beautiful frilly material, which I think is made from chiffon--it's somewhat threadbare. The style is a little roughened up around the edges, so when you see it, don't be surprised that threads are sticking out every which way. Button details are beautiful and the jacket is versatile in terms of dressiness. Overall, nice buy."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 4 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Very Victorian
8.13.2010
"I happen to love Victorian elements in clothing and this jacket has them. It also has this nice comforting knit fabric, which is a change from jackets with no stretch...so it's warm, cozy and a little on the heavy side, almost year round. I'm a 37 chest and a 10 fit nicely but I have a small waist and that's a little baggy but otherwise, perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 5 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:MI
age:14-20
body type:curvy
fabulousness
6.28.2010
"this jacket made my day when i tried it on today. it is just like the other reviewers said--laden with perfect details that feminize the normal stiffness of a traditional military jacket. I really think it is the softness of the jacket and the curve of the buttons that make it such a winner for me. The curve of the buttons with that start the ruffles is just so flattering. the sleeves are perfect length. i thought i would have to size up, but with a 36D the 10 fit like a dream. this is perfect for a cool summer night but even better for fall. i can't wait to take this to school! thank you fp for cheering me up with this extraordinarily attractive jacket."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Antwerp, Belgium
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
gorgeous gorgeous GORGEOUS!!!
5.1.2010
"just one word...
I found it to be true to size, I should have a size smaller, but it was out of stock, so I took a bigger size, and it turned out to be slightly to big, so I just changed the locations of a few buttons, so it was perfect :)
I <3 this jacket!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:slender
Great layering for spring or fall
4.12.2010
"I think this jacket is such an innovative shape- I love it. I bought it in the ivory. It runs just a tad on the small size- I usually wear a 2 and got it in a 4. The only thing is that it looks a little weird unbuttoned so I think it's best to keep it closed. That makes it not as versatile for summer but it's still a keeper!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:26-30
body type:petite
Elegant and comfortable
4.11.2010
"This Jacket is amazing!
It's just so perfect with jeans on a casual Friday. The ruffle makes it elegant and the "Mao collar" makes it so modern, I feel like a rock star when I wear it!
However I agree with previous comments. I'm petite and it definitely runs large. So I'll have to take it to the tailor to make it a little more fitting...
But it's such a nice piece to have in your closet, it's worth it.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:midwest
age:21-25
body type:curvy
gorgeousness
3.16.2010
"i think it would be redundant for me to reiterate what everyone else has said about the beauty of this jacket, so i'm going to focus my review on the fit. (it really is incredibly gorgeous though!) okay, the fit - after reading reviews on multiple sites, i was pretty certain i was going to need a size 8. i'm a 135 lbs, a 36C & i normally wear a S or M in FP tops. the store i frequent for FP clothing was only able to order it in a size 6, so i was preparing myself for the disappointment of trying it on without being able to take it home with me. to my surprise & delight, the size 6 fit perfectly! i would've been swimming in an 8. i would think twice before ordering a size up. i think it fits pretty true to size. hope this helps! :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Albany, NY
age:21-25
body type:petite
military ruffle jacket, cream, sz 2
3.8.2010
"What a lovely jacket! The fit is perfect, true to size. The detailing and uniqueness just make this extraordinary. Got a ton of compliments and felt wonderful wearing it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City
age:26-30
body type:petite
Cutest Jacket Ever
3.4.2010
"I bought this jacket in black, and it is stunning. The ruffles have a blue tint to the fabric, while the black fabric of the jacket has a bit of a warm hue to it. The fabric has been rather hard to pair with other clothes because it is a rather odd shade of black. But when you can find something to match it with, it is beyond fabulous."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Toronto
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Great purchase
2.9.2010
"I'm 135 pounds. 5'5". 34D. I bought this in size 8 and it's perfect. It's a great purchase and a very unique blazer. I couldn't find anything similar in Toronto boutiques, so it was well worth ordering."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
most awesome ruffle jacket
2.8.2010
"if you're busty and want to wear this buttoned up, then i'd suggest you size up, but the rest of the jacket does fit true to size. i think this looks best with a tank underneath to ensure the arms fit properly, and to reduce bulkiness. when worn open, the stitching down the bust doesn't seem to sit quite right, but i'm willing to overlook that as the jacket is so beautiful. the material is a heavy fleece as the other reviews said, so there was no surprise. the ruffles are so awesome, and make this jacket stand out. it's also comfy. bonus."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
We The Free Twisted Text Tank
4 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
Siwy Hannah Jean
4.1 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:31-35
body type:slender
So close!
1.28.2010
"I really, really wanted to keep this jacket, but it just didn't flatter my body the way I would have liked.
I ordered a size 0 (I'm a 32B, 120 lbs, 5'6") and it was still a little loose in the waist. From the front it looked so good, but from the side it was too loose and made me look like i had a big stomach. So after much debating, I sent it back. :-(
If you don't mind a looser fit then you'll die for this jacket because it is so gorgeous otherwise! I bought the black with blue ruffles and it's beautiful. I would size down though for a better fit. If I could have gone down a size I would have for sure!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:petite
One of the many reasons I LOVE FP!
1.20.2010
"This jacket is amazingly cute and unique! I bought the black one and I LOVE IT. I was a little hesitant about the amount of ruffles but they don't stick out too much and it just makes the jacket stand out. I got my usual size (0) and it fit pretty good, but if you're going to wear layers then I'd go up one size. Overall very happy, truly a one of a kind FP piece!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:cali
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Fantastic and Beautiful in Every Way
1.19.2010
"This runs true to size in is a nice durable material. It is so fun and frilly and girly at the same time. No issues in the chest area at all. It is just as pictured. Very lovely."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Bryantown, Maryland
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Perfect
1.16.2010
"I own this jacket in the crimson and black. I love the fit and the look. Super stylish and the fabric is wonderful. I think I am gonna purchase a second one in a different color."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:31-35
body type:petite
LOVE IT!
1.14.2010
"Such a fabulous addition to my closet! So pretty and feminine and at the same time cool and sharp! GREAT with skinny jeans and boots. Also gorgeous with a nice pair of slacks for a dressier look! Hands down one of my favorites! The ruffle detail is so unique- spectacular at every angle! :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:slender
Meh...
1.10.2010
"Slightly more flattering that I had anticipated, but not much. The ruffle flares too high in the back, and is too exaggerated in the front, and it just looks a little foolish. It isn't flattering to the waist. The fabric is rich and gorgeous, but it just fits too strangely."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Military Ruffle Jacket
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
THIS is why i love fp!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12.25.2009
"OH MY GODDDDD! What a gorgeous piece. I saw it in August, and went head over heels for it! i wanted to see if it went on sale, so i didn't purchase it. i just got it this morning for Christmas from my VERY GENEROUS mom. the white color is my favorite, but the burgandy was beautiful too(when they had it). I'm wearing it tomorrow for my birthday and can't wait! if you even have the slightest thought that you'd like it, getc it, cause there will never eveeeeeerrrrr be something like this again!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>