Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Dotted Mesh Layering Top

Sheer mesh top with large swiss dot print. Scoop neck. Elastic scalloped lace trim throughout. Lettuce leaf edging at the bottom. *100% Nylon *Hand wash *Import Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 29 1/4" Chest: 28"
overall average rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Customer Reviews for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Review 1 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:41-45
body type:curvy
great top
8.4.2011
" I love this top. It is so beautiful and feminine and sexy. I will probably layer it under things and wear it with different cami's under it. I can see it with jeans and skirts and easily with a cami and a jacket. It has a good deal of stretch but keeps it's shape. It is a 3 season wardrobe basic to me. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Nicer than on the model.
4.18.2011
" I'm a size 6, in most clothing and I ordered a medium and it works pretty good. The top is much nicer in person than on the model. It will be great under low cut dresses, or to layer with the many black lace dresses and tops that I already own from Free People. I will put this top in a mesh bag to wash and it could get caught and snagged in the wash. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Must have layering piece..size down!
3.20.2011
" There are so many reviews for this piece already that I will keep this short & sweet. I purchased the ivory as soon as it was released. I am 5'5", 38-26-36, 36C bra size. I went with a L as I assumed it would fit like the Sandalous Lace Top (which runs small). No way! It was long (sleeves were out of control) and saggy. Unfortunately, I did not get a chance to exchange this in time, so purchased a M elsewhere. Since I like these type of layering pieces to fit like a glove, I could have even gone S. The ivory color is creamier than shown (appears whiter in photos), which was a pleasant surprise for me. The dot mesh material is beautiful and the finishing excellent. The fabic is delicate so needs TLC. I consider this a must have layering top for any FP wardrobe. It looks especially amazing under the Curtain Call Tunic. I now have my eye on the new Dot Mesh Yoke Rib Tank (which incorporates the same dot mesh fabic) in ivory, papaya and buttercup for summer layering! <3 "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP-1 Curtain Call Tunic
3.9 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
Perfect Paradigm Seamless Tube
4.3 out of 5(142)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:UT
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Hmm..
3.15.2011
" It's huge, not flat abound body. Not very uncomfortable but still I'd like it smaller. I'm 5'5, 110 pounds. still too big. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:cali
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Love it!
2.9.2011
" I love this top! Its so versatile. Wear it over a cami, under a dress, or with a cardi... It is really nice material, not the cheap stuff that you can put holes in. It is a bit pricey but totally worth it! I want it in military mint. I ordered a small and it fit just like on the model. a size down wouldnt hurt because the sleeves are a tad baggy, esp around the wrists... I love that the sleeves are long, because I am 6"0' tall so I have a long torso and long arms. The over all length was good too. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Omaha, NE
age:14-20
body type:slender
very cute
2.8.2011
" this makes a great layering piece, fits nicely. . . not too loose, not too snug when you wear your normal size. THis is especially nice since it can go nearly all year, with the exception of summer (?)
~Rah "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:14-20
body type:petite
tight
2.7.2011
" 5'1, 107lbs, 32D. Got this in a S in a Military Mint and I had to return it. It was itchy and too tight for my taste. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Alaska
age:14-20
body type:petite
Beautiful shirt
1.20.2011
" I would love to have this shirt in every color!
Its looks gorgeous on everyone i let barrow this top, I got this shirt in an xs an in the cream color.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:indiana
age:21-25
body type:petite
adorable and versatile!
1.19.2011
" I loooove this top! I love the sweetness & girliness it adds to anything and the versatility it has. I got the ivory in my usual XS (5'3'', 110lbs, 32B, XS/0) and didn't notice the issues with the arms being too loose, and I definitely don't have particularly large arms, so maybe I just got one that wasn't as stretchy or something. Anyway, I think this top is super cute, and sturdier than it looks (but definitely should be well-cared for). I'm really looking forward to wearing this with slips, under sweaters, and under/over dresses! Im also thinking of picking up the rose color! I think it's like the bandeaux -- every FP girl should own one! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP-1 Curtain Call Tunic
3.9 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:ct
age:21-25
body type:petite
arms wayy to long
1.15.2011
" both the XS and S fit me except for the arm length. i couldnt get either size because the arms bunch up too much and it looks bad. its a pretty top, the arm length is the only negative. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:tejas
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
yes.
12.29.2010
" this top is to die for, I tell you! It is positively marvelous for layering but also wonderful for wearing on its own (with a tube top, otherwise it would be scandeloous!) One of my absolute favorite items from Free People. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great neccessity
12.22.2010
" Love this top-- looks just as pictured, very stretchy (not super fitted like the scandalous lace top). Decent quality -- slightly itchy, but not too bad, and has been sturdy enough to hold up in my delicates bag in the wash. Gets 5 stars for its versatility-- love it under sweaters peeking through, and the best is putting it under/over a dress, so its like it has sleeves! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:petite
dotted mesh top
12.15.2010
" I'm usually a xs/s in free people. 34DD-26-34 110lbs & 5'1. I got a small to ensure enough room for my bust, but this thing was huge! the arms are way too loose and too long for me. I actually had enough room in the bust, I'm sure I could have went with an xs, but it's not worth the exchange. It's cute, but the color of "military mint" is more like a pine color. If I were to do it again, I'd get the ivory in xs, but the fabric was not so impressive for the price. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:31-35
body type:slender
Perfect layer
12.14.2010
" This top is perfect for layering. The material is fantastic, stretchy and soft to the touch. The fit seemed just right to me (I am 5'1, 105 lbs), hangs as it does on the model. The sleeves are a bit loose and long but I like that so that I am able to pull it out under the shirts/jackets I wear it under to add effect. Also the way the shirt sits at the waist is perfect, very flattering. I plan to buy this in more colors. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Great
12.11.2010
" Just as pictured. Super thin, sheer material. Runs true to size. Perfect for layering. aterial not too scratchy, nice to touch. Your imagination is your only limit for this. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:West
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute indeed
12.9.2010
" Cute layering piece! A little loose and longer than I expected, but not too bad. Look lovely either under or above your other tops. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Perfect for layering!
12.7.2010
" I love this top! I got the ivory in a large...Im a 36 D and it fits perfectly. Its a bit more cream colored than I thought it would be...the picture looks more white..but thats ok. The fabric is soft and stretchy and it can be worn a number of ways. I'm totally excited to try this shirt out with different tanks! Im very happy with my purchase. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:toronto, canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
wonderful details
12.7.2010
" i was a little apprehensive buying this shirt, but i loved how it looked online. i wasnt sure how the mesh would work, but i decided to take the risk and i am so happy i did! it's beautiful! i especially love that it has an elastic bit around the bottom of the sleeve because im always running into problems with sleeves stretching out around the hand. it is a bit looser than i expected, but i think it is nicer that way with some give. i bought my usual size S and im very happy with it! it looks really nice with a white tube top layered underneath. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Perfect Paradigm Seamless Tube
4.3 out of 5(142)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Love it, just larger than I wanted.
12.2.2010
" I bought the ivory in an extra-small, and normally extra-smalls from Free People fit me perfectly. Unfortunately, the arms are really, really loose. The body fits fine, but there is an inch or more of extra material in the arms (both in length and width). The size hasn't kept me from wearing it, though I usually layer it under something else (like a blazer) instead of wearing it alone as I initially intended. Regardless of the size issue, I love this top and would recommend it (although I would suggest ordering a size down). "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Dotted Mesh Layering Top
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:31-35
body type:slender
Right about Layering
11.30.2010
" Bought this top to layer as shown with the Grey short sleeve top and Bodycon skirt. The material is thin and easy to put a hole in when putting on (I've done it before) but it's feminine although not flimsy or lacey. It's a great top, perfect to make a cute outfit where I bought it exactly as shown, socks and all!!!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>