Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lead The Way Pullover

Oversized pullover sweater with gorgeous embroidery and thread fringe detailing around neckline and upper back. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 27" Bust (all around): 51" Bottom Opening (all around): 48" Sleeve Length: 26 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.278 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Reviews for Lead The Way Pullover
Review 1 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Well, I love them
6.26.2013
" (5'4" - 125lbs)I saw these in-store while I was returning some jeans I ordered online. I knew immediately I would be leaving with them! I got the stone and oatmeal in XS, and am so glad I did because they are VERY big. The XS fit me just like I wanted - as pictured on the model. The stone is not as pale as pictured, it's of the same color but a darker shade. I love the "embroidery". It's not perfect on purpose.. the idea that it looks handmade only adds to it's charm. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
age:26-30
body type:athletic
gigantic
2.13.2013
" this sweater is supposed to have an oversized fit, but it still runs large. the dolman sleeves made it impossible to scrunch up the arms as the model has them, and the length of the arms ran past my hands. i loved the stitched details and took a risk by throwing it in the wash. after the wash it's a little shrunken though it's still large, but now i can scrunch the sleeves and it's less billowy. definitely size down. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.13.2013
Love the styling with this top! You look fab! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:maryland
age:over 45
body type:slender
hey
2.4.2013
" so cute shirt.. i love to worn on springs with flare jeans .. so good great on me .. make me smile "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:Texas
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
I like it!
1.31.2013
" I expected it to be loose and big so when I received it , I did't feel too surprised. It also looked better than I thought in terms of the style and fabric. I haven't washed it yet so don't know how it will be afterwards, but I feel happy about this garment and will be wearing it pretty often. Plus, it looks great with bleached jeans. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:sacramento, CA
age:36-40
body type:petite
Textured and Terrific
1.30.2013
" I'm 5'3" 130lbs. I got this in a medium and could have used a small. I just rock it off the shoulder and tuck the bottom in a little. It's quite long and baggy. SO hot with jeans and furry boots. The texture of the material is my favorite...like thick thermal with ragged seams. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:georgia
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Just okay
1.24.2013
" I really wanted to love this pullover but when I recieved it I wasn't satisfied. The strings on the sides do NOT come as picture. They are much shorter and not flattering. Sadly, I will be returning this. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:Boston
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Cute but WAY to BIG
1.20.2013
" This is a very cute and unique pullover BUT it fits way too big! I am 5'2" and weigh 105 lbs. I usually wear a xs or small depending on the cut but even the xs in this pullover fit me like an xl. I didn't have a problem with the tassels being twisted, I am sure I can comb these out and they will straighten out with wear - if I keep it! The color is slightly darker then pictured. Not worth full price, not sure it's worth keeping for $50 on sale. On the model it looks like a perfect oversize - comfy fit but it does not fit like that in real life. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:slender
Made it work!
1.15.2013
" I absolutely love this pullover and the detailing of it! So glad I got it on sale for $30 because honestly it wouldn't have been worth it for any other price. I'm 5'7 and around 120 lbs. It was definitely big on me, but it's okay because I love over-sized sweaters. There was only a medium left and at first I wasn't sure if it was worth buying or not. The sleeves were insanely long so I rolled them up (numerous times) and the problem was solved. I'm going to have to avoid putting my arms up due to the dolman sleeves though. I'd say it definitely looks better on the model. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:31-35
body type:slender
Great details, horrible fit
1.11.2013
" Was do excited to get this, especially on sale but unfortunately it went back as soon as I got it. The detail is lovely, the colors were awesome. But the fit was so unflattering. It has a dolman sleeve thing that just doesn't work with the material of the shirt. Don't know how they made it look so cute on the model. Total bummer. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:fort lauderdale
age:26-30
body type:athletic
I was expecting something better
1.9.2013
" I saw these sweater in person, and big mistake I didn't try it on. Months later, I bought it on sale because I really like it the first time I saw it however the fit is weird and not flattering, it was terrible on me :( and I like loose fit but these sweater was just not good at all "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX, USA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Bit baggy, but cute.
1.1.2013
" I bought this on sale for $50, and I'm so glad I did.
It is a bit baggy, but I have very narrow shoulders. It isn't worth the original price but with the sale it's perfect.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
age:26-30
body type:slender
Worth it for the sale price
12.31.2012
" I bought the oatmeal one in an XS and it is definitely darker than it looks in the pictures as another reviewer mentioned. It looks like a cream color in the photos, but it is more of a light tan in person. I'm usually a S, but I sized down and it is still loose like on the model (which I adore). The threads are a little cheap looking and I never would've paid full price for this pullover. Overall I really like it, especially for the sale price! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:staten island, new york
age:over 45
body type:curvy
awful
12.25.2012
" I loved this top in the photo. Waited for it to go on sale and ordered it... the cut and stye is awful. you can't tell in the photo that it is a dolman sleeve, the the stitching is cheap looking. . returning it.. very disappointed. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
fringe benefit
11.30.2012
" very cute, did not think the quality of the detail was worth the price, is very dental flossy, as noted by other reviewers. Its the cutest idea, though and although i think the oatmeal is more striking i am prone to like the stone more because its probably easier to take care of incase the threads bleed when you wash the pullover. Fitted very roomy on me, 5'4'' 105 lbs 32 C, tried on the XS. Recommend to try this on in the store if you can:) "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Love the style......
11.7.2012
" I love the tassel and embroidery design on this top .Great fit and I love the color combinations, it's a fun top to wear! I bought the stone and it's as pictured on the model, it's a brownish grey color. Even better in person! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:NYC
age:36-40
body type:slender
It's OKAY... Was expecting more.
11.4.2012
" In regards to sizing, I'm a size 2 and always order FP XS- and with this top I would say true to size as it is meant to be loose. As the other reviewer states it is embroidery thread (DMC Floss) and it doesn't look as good as in the images shown. The "tassels" are not present as shown in image 3 on the shoulder. The "white" thread has been replaced by a "celadon" green (with the black). The back tassels arrived in better shape vs the front tassels, which look like tangled floss (see image). The "cream" colour is darker than what is pictured- it's really more beige- but perhaps hard to capture as in my shot looks "cream" as I thought it would be. All that being said it is still a cool top. Hence the debate on returning it... "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:Encinitas, CA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Not quite what I expected
11.2.2012
" I got this in the mail yesterday and I don't like the embroidered detail on the top. It is pretty crudely done--it looks like it is multiple strands of embroidery thread kind of roughly woven into the fabric.. I guess I was expecting not such a rustic look. Not for me... "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Lead The Way Pullover
Name:
Location:Florida
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Not Quite Sure
11.2.2012
" I ordered this shirt when it came in online. I wasn't really sure if I loved it or hated it. I liked it in the oatmeal color and thought I'd give it a try. The embroidery is beautiful, really. The tassels and strings hanging off I thought were going to be nice but they really (how can I say this nicely) make it look homely. If I kept the shirt I'd have to cut them off. I DO love the cut and style of the thermal, it's great and very comfy but I am just not sure about the shirt itself. I am still trying to decide if I like it or not.
As far as fit goes I went down to an XS and it's still plenty roomy. It is boxy so when you raise your arms up over your head the whole shirt comes with it. I believe if you want the fit like the white/creamy color you should size down. The other photos in the second colorway to me look oversized and like the real size would be.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large