Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho

Patterned poncho cardigan with colorful yarn embroidered detailing and fringe trimming. Oversized dolman-style sleeves.Slouchy, oversized fit. NOTE: This item is styled inside out in the studio shots. Please reference the catalog photo for actual appearance.
overall average rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Review 1 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
RIDICULOUSLY SOFT!
2.4.2014
"This is the softest thing EVER. I want to live in it! The blue color is so rich and the touch of the yarn embroidery makes it so unique. I love that it has sleeves - I've tried other shawls without sleeves and they drive me crazy because I'm always readjusting it. This stays put and looks so effortless. I can see wearing this year-round! One of my favorite FP purchases ever!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:brooklyn
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
makes a statement
1.24.2014
"I bought this as a present in the orange/black color before it went on sale and it is stunning. The pattern is a head turner as it drapes wonderfully in a loose boho fit. It is warm enough for Fall / chilly Summer nights and really cranks up an outfit a few megajoules. But I would caution anyone shorter than 5'6" to give it a try in a store first as it might overwhelm a shorter figure."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:california
age:41-45
body type:athletic
made me look HUGE!
1.22.2014
"i wanted to LOVE this poncho, and ordered it as soon as it went on sale. it is very pretty, and i love the colors ... however, the fabric is clingy in a bad-knit sort of way and it is very, VERY oversized! i am not overweight by any means but the poncho made me look as though i was carrying an extra 50 pounds or so. if the price had been lower (even on sale) i might have kept it and risked cutting it to make it more flattering, but i really could not justify it. i hope that FP makes something in a similar color scheme but with a more flattering fabric or cut. sadly, it's being returned."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:NorCal
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Made me into a whale
11.21.2013
"This did not work for me at all - I was annoyed to find that the colorful yarn stuck up in clumps when worn with the black side out (my preference), so you really can't wear this reversed as some reviews say. Made me look huge. I wanted to like this because it's very unique and the print is great, but I just cannot justify this purchase considering it made me feel enormous and tent like. Definitely better for long, lean, or slender body types. Curvy girls, it's a risk."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:maryland
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Poncho
11.3.2013
"Sorry guys, I am not sure why this got rave reviews. I decided to purchase due to the great feedback as I was on fence. The material is quite light and it is average quality workmanship. I was disappointed but I so wanted to like it. Also, would be less likely to return had it not been so expensive!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:NYC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
LOVE
9.26.2013
"By far the best piece of clothing in my closet. Although it is pricey, it's such a beautiful piece and so comfortable. Definitely happy with this purchase :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Unique piece
9.20.2013
"I was skeptical about this item because it's pricey and was apprehensive to order it online without seeing it in person. A couple of days ago I visited the King of Prussia store and there it was and it is absolutely gorgeous! I was impressed with high quality of the item and that it is tightly knit cotton (except for the yarn embellishments which are acrylic). It's very soft and when I realized it's reversible, I think it makes it much more versatile. I will definitely be adding this to my wardrobe :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:The Windy City
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Woodstock Groove....
9.15.2013
"This Hendrix Poncho is a dream!
I fell in love with it online and DROOLED when I saw it in store. To be honest I was hoping I hated it in person because of the price tag but alas it is PERFECTION!
There's nothing fitted about it, it's a poncho so its oversized. The fabric is SO SOFT! You literally feel like you're walking around in your favorite blanket all day.
Don't think twice, just get it! You'll only regret not getting it!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Died and went to heaven
9.14.2013
"Drooling!! Love this piece so so much. It's great and fabulous. Fell in love the first time I tried it on and had to have it. Favor the white side over the black side. Never thought twice about it "swallowing me up" and i'm very petite! I think it'd fall nicely on anyone."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:Madison NJ
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love this sweater wrap
8.31.2013
"I dropped by my local FP shop today to see the new fall items and fell in love with this sweater wrap. While it is a bit pricey, I can justify the cost because I can wear it every day over any other outfit and it looks wonderful. I can even wrap up in it on a cold winter night. It is not itchy and will always fit! I can't wait to wear it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:L.A.
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous Poncho!
7.22.2013
"I bought this poncho a few days ago. My concern was whether it was too much fabric for my height. I'm 5'6" and a size 8. But, I decided to get it. However, I would not have bought it had I been shorter."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Hendrix Yarn Fringe Poncho
Name:
Location:Under Cover of Night
age:over 45
body type:petite
Foxy Lady
7.16.2013
"Channel your inner 60's child with this beautiful poncho! The fabric is soft and drapey, and it looks pretty close to the online images other than the one I received did not have the bright turquoise stitching. It is more of a muted blue and gray combination of yarns. The fringe is long and gives the poncho movement. There is a lot of fabric yet it is not heavy. It will keep you warm, and it will certainly work into the fall and winter. I'm only 5'2" so it kind of swallows me up, and it looks better on me with the sleeves rolled up a bit into cuffs. Yes, you could wear it inside out like the studio shots show, but you do lose some of the border trim and embroidery work. There is a small FP woven tag that you could snip off and a small FP copper tag, but if you wear your hair down, you would not see them. Very cool piece to add to your closet."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large