Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Melrose Swing Tee

Trapeze cut tee, American made with super soft cotton. Ribbed neckline and raw edging. Side vents and a Hi-Lo hem.
overall average rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Melrose Swing Tee
Review 1 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
the *new* best basic tee
4.15.2014
"unless mine is mistagged, i think this fits quite roomy. i'm usually a M, but the store only had an XS and it fits me, i'd assume that my regular size would have roomier sleeves, wider shoulders and more volume in the body. i actually like the fit of the XS on me as it has tighter sleeves that allow me to roll up, and still has enough room in the body to be swingy. i think i even like this more than the circle in the sand tee as the best basic tee, as this one has thinner material and a wider neckline."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:michigan
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
effortless cool
3.31.2014
"Very happy with this fp purchase! I was looking for a green tee for st. patty's day and decided on this in Forest. I'm 6'00" and thin, normally wear a medium in FP but they were sold out so sized down to a small. Very glad I did, this tee must run a bit big because the small fit so perfectly I wouldn't have wanted it any bigger. It still fits me like a tunic, exactly like the model except the sleeves are more form fitted, but not uncomfortably so. If you're worried about the arms being too tight, stick to your normal size. Overall, beautiful top/great quality!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Perfection
3.23.2014
"I love this tee so much. I have been looking for a simple, flowy shirt to just throw on with jeans or my yoga crops and this is perfect! I purchased the Brick and pretty soon I think I'll get the White too! It's perfect for running errands, walking around campus, a day at the park, or a night out! I purchased a small and the size is perfect for my body type (for reference: 5'8", 130 lbs, 32C), it's form fitting through the bust and subtly flows out from there. Not too long, comes down to about mid-thigh. It's also got a subtle high-low hem, makes your look seem effortless and a little tomboyish while still being elegant. So glad the girl at the store in Birmingham told me to try it on!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:San Antonio, Tx
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
dont buy it
3.22.2014
"With huge regret I have to write this review. Initially online I was enamored with this shirt. Perfect amount of swing, roominess and charm. So I bought 2!!! Well, this shirt runs large, white is slightly sheer but you can wear it without a tank underneath just a bra. If feels nice because is 100% cotton. However, it stretches so much by the end of the day (by just wearing it and not tugging on it or tying it in any way) I was left with a semi dress. I washed it then in cold water, gently by hand and laid it out to dry. It looks like now like some old rag shirt that is not fit to been seen wearing it in public. The neck stretched out horribly to the point that it hangs almost over the top of my bra. It initially fit me like the white shirt of a model pictured on the website. I bought size small in colors white and black.
Please stay away from this shirt. I love Free People and will continue to shop there however to buy a shirt for almost $70 and have it be ruined after one wear and one wash?? I could have spend money on something else with better quality. Or give it to charity"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:36-40
body type:slender
Great Tee!
3.22.2014
"Bought this in the evergreen.Already knew it would be more of an emerald green (as I bought a cufffed henley that turned out the same). I'm 5'4" 115 34B & went by the mesurements and bought a Small. Could've gone with an XS for a more fitted look but I love the fit & swing of this tee. Going to buy several more. Like the longer length sleeve too."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:NorCal
age:26-30
body type:curvy
A RAG
3.3.2014
"I was beyond disappointed with this shirt. It looked used and washed out when it arrived. I purchased the red color, and instead of this bright color with interesting washed effect, I received this muted brick color. It looked as if a child had practiced marbling paper on the fabric! The fit is also not flattering for a large chest. I might have kept this if it were $15 (because I do like the length and split seam at the side), but for nearly $70, it's not worth it. At all. If you have money to burn, go for it, but frankly that $70 could go to something much nicer from FP."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Houston
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Love This T-shirt
2.28.2014
"I bought the black after much deliberation as to which color to buy. I have worn it every chance I get since buying it. I really like it with skinny jeans. Now I want another, and I'm thinking of the brick red. I don't wear red much, but it is a pretty color. Seems I buy everything in 2's. It's a free people addiction!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:British Columbia Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Great Basic Tee
2.23.2014
"Really like it and will get a lot of wear out of it as it is multi purpose. I got the white. it is expensive for a tee but could not resist. Very comfortable. i would say it is true to size and the model wearing the green color would be an accurate representation of the fit. A great basic piece."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Fun, pretty & comfortable
2.21.2014
"With a loose drape and sexy low-cut neckline, this is one of my new favorite pieces. The elbow-length sleeves make it a bit warmer (and more stylish) that a regular short sleeved top. The color (i bought the red) is an earthy, slightly washed-out shade. which I love. Going to buy the green one next!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Oakland, CA
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Want to Wear It All the Time
2.21.2014
"I LOVE this top. Originally got it to cover my pudgy belly, and it does that beautifully.Not too low cut, though sometimes the neck seems too wide -- bra strap(s) can show.I wore a cotton camisole under and it stuck to it; didn't flow so changed it to something slicker and now it flows like a dream. Based on others' advice, I hand washed it because I did not want it to shrink a bit, and it didn't. The brick is a warm color that makes my olive skin look rosy. The white was a little sheer so it's not a keeper. Waiting for more colors!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Ocean Shores, Washington
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Perfect Plain White T
2.14.2014
"I was looking for the perfect white T to wear w/my new vegan leather jeans, and I choose this and I am so glad I did! For starters it's the only one I could find in 100% cotton (bonus points) which makes the material not as thin as a lot of fp T's, the slits up the side give you the option to sloppy tuck or knot, the sleeve length is flattering, and it hangs well w/a little swing! Told you it was perfect! And you can wear it over leggings/tights/slips/dresses/shorts, pretty much anything! Thanks fp!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:the cold north
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
perfect basic top!
2.6.2014
"this shirt is so soft, and a great fit! the front is about two inches shorter when you have it on, but it's still long enough to wear with tights! the brick color is a little softer in person. the green is beautiful and the black is a classic!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
Versatility plus.
1.30.2014
"167cms, 35 inch/88cm bust, 55kg/123 pounds, 32c bra.
Purchased the washed black in small. Yes it is oversized however with the side splits the styling ideas are endless. Tied the 2 front ends together at the front and voila a completely different looking T which emphasised the waistline, knot one or both sides or tie the 2 back sides together at the back and there is another look.
Very soft fabric, washed black is a gorgeous colour and I am not really a black fan however decided to add one to my wardrobe. Now off to purchase other colours."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Swing Tee LOVE!
1.30.2014
"I'm a big fan of white t-shirts. This is one of my favorites. Unique, super soft with a great scoop neck. It's roomy but not sloppy. Perfect with boyfriend jeans. I purchased a Medium, I wear Medium or a Large depending on style etc. Very very happy with this tee!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 15 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:New England
age:over 45
body type:slender
Not what i expected
1.28.2014
"Received this in the Forest and the color is drab and washed out. The fabric is soft but very thin and it is VERY roomy. I am a L or M in most FP and i bought the M but would have to go to an XS to have this not looking like a tent. The bust is huge and hangs too low on my chest and shoulders . I also am not so fond of the arm length , they need to be either over the elbow or short as in the pic where the model is scrunching the sleeve up. I liked the concept and read all the other great reviews but it just doesn't work for me ( i am tall, B cup and very slim in the shoulders )"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Love!
1.11.2014
"I just received this top yesterday in the green and have already ordered the black! It is a great weight and so flattering on! Please, please make more colors fp!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Marin County, CA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
More colors please!
1.8.2014
"This is one of my favorite tops from FP because it is so soft and versatile. However, FP PLEASE more colors and in the future more substantial fabric like the linen/cotton combo of the circle in the sand tee. Also, colors like brown, rust, copper, moss, dark tan, olive, sage, golden are much needed in basics. This runs true to size and I just cant get enough of my black one but on the edge of my seat here waiting for more options."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:London
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Fantastic
12.30.2013
"Really gorgeous tee, fits true to size and the black is a vintage black. More colours please FP."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Madison, Wis.
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Terrific Top!
12.27.2013
"I have both the Emerald and Black in this top, which fits true to size. The Emerald color depicted on model's top really isn't a good representation. I think model's top is more blue, while in person, the top is more green. Black is a distressed version, which I really like. One thing to note is that sleeves are a bit on the tight side."
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
super-tee
11.1.2013
"this tee totally rocks. Got the evergren color that is, like the other reviewer states emerald-teal. Its supersoft and layers amazingly, oversized in the shoulders area, an lot of volume but the fabric is thin and soft and falls amazingly. Order your regular size for the oversized look:)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>