Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Melrose Swing Tee

Trapeze cut tee, American made with super soft cotton. Ribbed neckline and raw edging. Side vents and a Hi-Lo hem. **Special Note: Your garment has a special wash/dye process that may cause some bleeding, as well as variances between each garment. Handle with care.
overall average rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Melrose Swing Tee
Review 1 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:sc
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Love this top
7.18.2014
"I just got this top in the green and it looks so cool. This top is so comfy I don't want to take it off. I have even slept in it.
I could have gotten the large as some have reported the sleeves a little tight which they are. I went to pull mine up and accidentally pinched and bruised my arm.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Myrtle Beach
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
New favorite
7.14.2014
"Amazing. The perfect basic tee, perfect length, colors are actually pretty true to the picture, ordering more!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:texas
age:36-40
body type:slender
stained my skin!
7.12.2014
"i really love this shirt, but it stained my skin. the shape is flattering and the royal blue color is gorgeous. i was so eager to wear it, i didn't wash it first. it was hot outside and the color bled, staining the underside of my arms blue! i have since showered three times and there is still pigment on my skin. when i washed the shirt, the intense color faded. i still like it, but originally purchased it because i loved the deep color saturation."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:MD
age:36-40
body type:curvy
LOVE LOVE LOVE
7.7.2014
"I never spent this much money on a T-shirt but after trying it on and owning it for about a month now. I can not live without them they are the only shirts I grab everyday. I own two so far and can't wait to get more. Its just so comfy and stylish. Thank you for the color options!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Alpharetta, GA
age:14-20
body type:slender
As always - a great FP tee!
7.2.2014
"I'm such a sucker for lovely FP tees! Like the others, the melrose swing tee is soft, flattering, and so comfy! Looks great as a tunic-y top with jeans or leggings. It runs very true to size. I'm 5'6" and 125lb and the small was perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Not for me :(
6.20.2014
"I loved this top with belted look like in the picture, but when I tried it on in store, it was still way too poofy with a belt. I'm betting they've clipped it in the back on the model. I'm short/petite with an hourglass shape (5'2" 112 lbs), so the roomy cut hides my small waist and hits right at the largest part of my hips. It just wasn't a good cut for me. The fabric and quality was nice, as per usual with FP, but it just didn't do it for me."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:OCONUS
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
New Obsession
6.18.2014
"Well I've been obsessed with the Circle in the Sand tee since it first came out...I have six different colors. But this tee is my new favorite obsession:)) I bought it In forest color and it's TTS but not true to color. Mine is less of an olive tone and more of a light leaf green/dark sage...very pretty! The cut is trapeze so it's slightly fitted at top and flares out as it gets to the bottom giving it a nice swing; not too much fabric, just right! The arms are slender cut so they were a little snug but loosened a bit after having it on a few minutes. No issue for me but if your arms are bigger than slender that might be uncomfortable. I also have to mention that this tee has a beautifully slimming neckline without revealing too much clevage! All in all I LOVE this tee...my new obsession...and I will be getting more in other colors! A++++"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Vermont
age:over 45
body type:curvy
swingt
6.17.2014
"This t-shirt saved my wardrobe for the summer. I bought it in white, black, royal blue and grey. It is true to size, flattering, casual but can also be dressed up. Because it is cotton, it is cool and drapes nicely. I have washed and dried the grey and white ones a couple of times and they kept their shape. I like them so much I am considering purchasing the navy blue as well."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Boston
age:41-45
body type:curvy
LIVE in it T!!
6.12.2014
"LOVE this T. I bought it in 3 colors. It's super roomy (as most free people items are) and super comfy. I read some reviews and went with the small, which is what I usually get in FP roomy items. It fits well, with as much room as I prefer. Some people seemed concerned about washing it, I washed and dried and no shrinkage (my dryer doesn't get super hot though, so if yours is new and does heat up well, just dry on low and take it out in 10 min or so). the cobalt blue that I love did not fade at all, so no color bleaching, don't worry your other blues will be fine. I sort my laundry by color so don't ever worry about my white pants turning blue or pink. I'm thinking of getting one more color. I love it bc my torso is long and it's hard to find shirts that are not too short and also have sleeves."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Northeast
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Ordered a second color - but the blue dye runs!
6.11.2014
"I loved the royal blue so much that I ordered the black. The blue dye ran a LOT (washed by hand in Woolite in the sink)! It left a blue ring around the sink! I haven't washed the black one yet, but the dye is not as intense. (It's more like a very dark gray than a black.) The whisper-thin cotton will keep me cool this summer. I really wanted white, but read in reviews that it was see-thru, so didn't order it. The cut is really flattering to me (I am an "apple" shape with skinny arms & legs, & it covers my stomach and doesn't hang loosely off my upper arms, so makes them look slim, & is perfect with capri leggings & sandals. Looks great with the tails tied in knots at the sides! Just a really cool take on a basic tunic T-shirt. A-line cut, yay! But be careful with the dye."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Bad Obsession
6.1.2014
"I am deeply in love with the Free People Melrose Swing Tee. I have been wearing my white T for a couple of months now. And when I say that I wear it 3x per week, I'm not exaggerating. I was so worried that I would wear holes in it, that I bought three more: another white one, one in gray, and one in a really pretty purple (not shown on the website). The shirts are soft, they cover your butt in leggings (I'm so short mine hits me just above my knee), and the sleeves are long enough to cover my 50-year-old lady arms. Yes, I know $68 is a lot of money to pay for a t-shirt, but it's SO worth it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:vienna
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
Fantastic basic
5.31.2014
"One of the best t-shirts I ever got from FP, the colors are great, the cut is really laid back and it's one of my favorites to wear on it's own or for layering. Hopefully, there will be many more colors to come. It runs large, though, so better size down!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Houston, Texas
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Great basic piece
5.23.2014
"I am obsessed with this shirt. I opened it and was not convinced it was worth the money, but once I put it on I immediately fell in love. I bought it in white and I thought it would be too see-thru but it's not. I wear it with shorts, leggings, over slip dresses and with jeans. It's easy and versatile. I love looking at the pics of how other girls are wearing it. Tying the ends make it look like a completely different shirt so that in itself makes it worth the money. Love love love. I want all colors!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:London, UK
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Gorgeous tee, sizing is hit and miss
5.20.2014
"I bought this in Fuschia and Stone, and ordered Small and Medium in both. The Stone Medium fits exactly like on the model except sleeves were more fitted (I am 5'10 and about 136lbs) but the small had super tight arms and was very tight across the shoulders.
The Fuschia Small was a little bigger than the Stone Medium in the sleeves, though about 2 inches shorter in front, and the Medium was virtually the same but MUCH longer.
Every post I make here I seem to be bringing this up but I want to write an accurate review. Sort the sizing out pleeeease FP....
Colour-wise the Fuschia is very similar to the picture, the stone is more grey than lilacy-grey but still beautiful. I would buy the teal colour everyone keeps talking about and the Brick if they came back in stock in my size - a fab tee to wear with short shorts or jeans, similar to thr Circle in th Sand tee in many ways but SO much softer and more comfortable to wear, sizing aside I love it, just hope it doesn't shrink in the wash now as some have warned it might.."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Hand wash please! Great versatile top
5.19.2014
"Hand was only! Seriously - I'm not always good with washing things properly, but I hand washed my shirt (I got the royal blue color) and the water turned blue as can be. I can't even imagine what it would have done in the washing machine combined with other clothes.
I got this in my regular FP XS, and it fits roomy as always. First I thought it wasn't as flattering but you can wear this in so many ways- tucked in, by itself with jeans (splits are too high for me to wear with leggings only), with a belt, over or under a dress or knot the ends together. The royal blue is beautiful for both blondes and brunettes. Very versatile and so soft!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Cool tunic
5.18.2014
"I bought this in black in a Small and it still hits almost mid thigh! I love it though because I'll wear it as a summer dress with slides or sandals. Very cool. I am 5'7 and 130 lbs. In all the pictures, it looks like it hits just below crotch level, but it is much longer on me. I love the neckline, sexy, and pictures do not do it justice. I love the black one, it's washed black color. Very nice and comfortable and love the sleeves and slit sides!Sits are still long enough to wear as a tunic/dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Not at all as pictured.
5.15.2014
"I ordered this in the brick and it is not at all as pictured. I was expecting a vibrant red with washed out details, but it is actually a darker red and it is barely washed out at all. The fabric is made out of a cheap slub material that will probably rip the first time you wear it. I would definitely not recommend if you don't have money to throw away in the garbage."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:moscow
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
became my favorite t-shirt
5.12.2014
"Quality is fantastic, goes true to size. Colour is also amazing."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:31-35
body type:slender
New favorite comfy tee
5.9.2014
"5'7, 125Lbs, 34b = perfect fit in small. Love the fabric, color, texture of the color, and fit. More fitted on top and although the bottom is much more free flowing, it isn't boxy or unflattering, the fabric lays flat. Stone color is beautiful!! Cannot afford to buy more in other colors at this price but, worth the purchase and planning to scoop these up once on sale. New favorite!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:US
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Well....
5.8.2014
"I like this shirt, I really do. But be warned, it runs huge - and this is a DD-wearin' chick telling you this. Size down a size. Being well-endowed, I feel that this thing makes me look a little... large, overall. Maybe that is just me.... I own the black, and I like it, not least because its so hard to find tops that DONT make you bare your upper arms. Sleeves, woo-hoo! It has a nice flowing motion to it, so it will most likely stay. The fabric seems very thin and we shall see how it holds up to gentle handling. I'd like to see this in a V-neck, why must just about everything have a boat neck?!!! But regardless, this is a really comfy top. If I get another it will definitely be smaller."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>