Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Melrose Swing Tee

Trapeze cut tee, American made with super soft cotton. Ribbed neckline and raw edging. Side vents and a Hi-Lo hem. **Please Note: Due to the special technique used, the wash on each shirt may vary slightly.
overall average rating:
4.319 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Melrose Swing Tee
Review 1 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:26-30
body type:slender
Ob...wait for it...sessed.
1.11.2015
" I am in LOVE with this tee. Frankly if I had only seen photos of it online, I would have skipped right over it, but I saw one in the store and decided to try it on. Love at first sight. It's roomy and I love that oversized look. It does run a little larger, so if you're between sizes order down. I'm 5'5" 110# and I got the XS, which is still roomy on me. But in a good way. I have the black, such a staple, and also the melon which I ordered on a whim but ended up loving. The sleeves are tighter which is great, and the perfect length to leave them down or fold up to make a bit shorter. I wore this in Hawaii as a dress and it worked great. It's long enough for that (but I wouldn't try it without a swimsuit underneath :o). It's the perfect layering piece under a shorter leather jacket and scarf, too! Might order some more colors. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Texas
age:31-35
body type:slender
Bought 2 but 3rd is a disaster.
1.8.2015
" I bought TWO of the same size but different colors over the summer and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the long length to wear with leggings (I don't like my girly business hanging out of my leggings so I prefer super long tunics.) Hubby can't believe I would spend this much on a "t-shirt" already, but I love my other two, they fit amazing! I wanted a third color because I love the long length but the first time I got my third one in and measured it to my other two it was noticeably 3 to almost 4 inches shorter than the other two that I already own. I went in to a store to exchange it for another one the same size but when I received that one it was still 3 - 4 inches shorter. If you look at my picture the slate color is the one I own and the white one on top is the new one. The hem on the slate color is the back hem. The back hem of the white color is the same length of the front hem of the slate color. So your telling me that I am still PAYING the SAME PRICE for FAR LESS FABRIC?! No thank you. Sadly, this will be returned AGAIN! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:East Dennis, MA
age:over 45
body type:petite
Love this T!
12.30.2014
" Love this T! I purchased the green and love the olive-y/green color. Fabric is really soft and comfy! Great details such as the varigated color which adds texture, high-low hem and split seams. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Love, but coloring off
12.27.2014
" I fell in love with the wash and fit of the forest green, so I had to have the black. Unfortunately, the black is a dark grey and not even close to black ): Very annoying for such a pricey tee. Fun and billowy! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Penticton, BC, Canada
age:over 45
body type:slender
FAB AND VERSATILE
12.22.2014
" What a great piece this is! I got the warm grey in a large...I'm usually a medium or a large in Free People tops. The large fits fine...a bit loose, but I love it that way, Looks fantastic over leggings, and skinny jeans, which I have a ton of. I am 5'3 and the top hits mid thigh, well past my behind. I think I will need more colors of these Melrose swing tees because I'll wear the heck out of them! So cute and chic with skinnies, a boho necklace, and birkenstocks!! LOVE "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Something is different- no longer vintage
12.7.2014
" I own many of these tees before they changed the material but now they are no longer distressed.
I am only writing this b/c I will no longer buy these since they are all solid and run smaller.cheap slubby cotton material you could buy anywhere. If you do buy you will need to size up and they will probably shrink.
FP " don't fix what wasn't broken."
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:petite
PERFECT everyday wear!
12.7.2014
" I got this shirt about a month ago and I absolutely love it! It is great for dressing down, or dressing up. I am 5'2, 120 lb, curvy/slightly bigger on the bottom, 32B/C. I have worn it alone as a beach cover up (the slits on the side make it too revealing as a dress), and with skinny pants, wedge booties or boots, a scarf, loose cardigan & accessories for a more dressed up look to dinners with friends! It's also great with leggings for a really comfy outfit that is still cute. It was fitted enough in the arms/top of the short that I found it flattering while being loose, without being too too boxy. I got the slate blue color. Overall, I think this is a great staple to everyone's wardrobe. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:South U.S
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Great basic w/ LOTS of potential
11.27.2014
" I bought this "Melrose Swing Tee" in Navy and then a second one in Forest.
I don't know how I ever dressed without them! They are GREAT, easy, go-to tops. grab one and a pair of leggings (or Harem pants) and go!
I'm 5'7 and wear a L usually, but I took advantage of the XL option. I love the sizing, the XL is perfectly oversized for me, it can hang off the shoulder if I like. It's nearly a dress, the length is great, especially for winter. The fabric does seem a little different between the two colors, I don't know why. The Navy seems more "plush" and a bit thicker, the Forest is thinner & more sheer. I prefer the Navy, but I love them both.
I think this Tee and the Viscose Voile Slip are both great basics to have in multiple colors. I have the Voile slip in Storm & Rose.I think the Voile Slip would look great peeking out from the hem of this top.
Sooo many options with this one!
Overall, it's a fabulous basic that i think will become an FP staple item.
Oh, a good tip; wash it on delicate and hang dry. it will retain it's shape and construction integrity better that way. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Singapore
age:21-25
body type:curvy
LOVE IT.
11.14.2014
" One of my favourite FP purchase for now Great fit and goes well with jeans. skirt and dresses. I own three colors and am contemplating if I should get 1-2 more.
A concern is that the neck line seems to loosen a little too much after first wear though, which makes the tee looks overly worn out. That's one letdown for such an expensive tee. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:petite
every day tee
10.31.2014
" I was so stoked when I saw a few new colors in this tee! I went to my local FP and picked up the storm blue one and a color that is labeled as "purple" on the tag....I thought it might have been the warm grey but it is SO close to the stone color, which I already have. it has the slightest hint of purple, but it's hard to tell. I will probably return it it's so similar. The storm blue is much less teal than it looks online. It's a more muted blue with no green to it. Still nice, but I do love teal. I am 5'2" 112 lbs and the Small fits great! I especially like wearing them under the Sunset Park Thermal. And I'm bummed I never got the burgundy color....! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Sun Valley, CA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
awesome tee
10.5.2014
" I love this top! I'm 5'4", 34, 25, 40 and bought the navy in the medium. It fits like a tunic, which provides just enough coverage to wear with the FP slips and also goes great with jeans. The sleeve length is great too, as it can be worn just above the elbow or be folded up.
It's definitely a new favorite and I'm sure I'll be buying one in a second color.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:NC
age:26-30
body type:slender
Sizing is awkward, color is off. :\
9.29.2014
" The Aubergine color is not as depicted in the stock photo. It's not nearly as vibrant. The fabric/material feels good. The sleeves are really awkward. I am busty, so that may be why it fits me so awkward, but I am also really slender. /shrug I have never had an issue with FP shirts and their sizing. However, the way this fits is just too awkward for me. The sleeves are a bit tight, and the color is off. Returning.
Measurements:
5'6"
115lbs
34E
Ordered a XS (typical FP size, especially in "looser" shirts, such as this one). I probably should have went with the S, but I doubt one size up would have taken care of most of the issues, which is why it will shortly be returned! :P My main gripe is mostly the color anyway, though.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great Casual Tee
9.26.2014
" This tee is very comfortable, the sleeve length is perfect (hits right at the elbow), and comes in some gorgeous colors. I have this tee in the color Stone and plan to purchase the Aubergine as well.
It looks really cute with jeans and the Knit Hooded Denim Jacket but also looks great with shorts. The slits in the side make it easy to knot if you'd like to shorten the length a bit. This shirt hits me smack dab in the middle of my thigh and I am about 5'3". If it weren't for the slits in the side it could be worn as a mini dress.
Overall, a great casual tee!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Chicago @ FPWaterTower
age:21-25
body type:athletic
My new layering peice
9.25.2014
" This top is so versatile. I can wear it over jeans, layer it over a tight bodycon dress, or tie a knot to give it a different shape. An easy peice to throw on when you don't have time to get ready! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Irvine, CA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love this top!
9.7.2014
" I absolutely love this top! So far, I have it in white and navy. It is so soft and hangs beautifully. After reading the reviews about issues that others have had with color transfer, I washed my navy top in cold water this morning with other dark colored items. One of the items that I washed with it was a navy blue pair of pants. The inside of the pants is white and, because it doesn't show, I didn't really care if some of the color transferred onto it. Anyway, I had no issues. The white was still white after washing. I put the top in the dryer on low heat for 30 minutes and it came out looking great. It had lost no color. I tried it on and it was the same size as before I'd washed. Very happy and plan to purchase more. For reference, I am 5'5", 115 lbs and the XS is perfect. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Tampa Bay
age:over 45
body type:petite
WORST FP PURCHASE EVER
9.1.2014
" I can only be mad at myself for this purchase, yet do blame FP for such poor quality. I, against warning from others, bought the blue. I soaked it in vinegar and washed 2x's before wearing. Long story short, it "still" bled all over my beautiful, expensive, leather bag and may be ruined. I bought another color that I haven't worn and cannot return both of them fast enough. FP will get a call from me on this one! Please be warned. Too bad, it is such a great design. Soooo mad. "
Response from Free People:By Free People9.3.2014
Hi FlaSunshine,

We're sorry to hear about your Tee! Someone from our team will in touch shortly.

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Bend, OR
age:41-45
body type:slender
Love this Tee
8.31.2014
" This is a very comfortable tee, and the weight of the fabric is actual t-shirt weight. It fits exactly as shown on the model. I will be wearing this into winter. I ordered the aubergine, and love this color. I did hand wash in warm water, as there was a lot of dye in the top, and didn't want it fading onto other clothes. I may order it in a different color. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Adorable
8.18.2014
" Oversized style, but beautifully draped. I love it! Cotton, USA made-- great! I am 5'4" and I need to wear shorts under it because it's just a tad to short to be a dress. If only I never raised my arms... Ohh, and the sleeves roll up nicely. Get it in more than one color! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Houston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Poor Quality
8.18.2014
" Before I washed this shirt I would have given this product 5 stars easily. I like the way it fits (I prefer loose, long clothing) and the color (I got it in blue). However, after I washed it I am extremely disappointed with the product. I buy lots of free people so I knew to hand wash the product in cold water. I was washing it with a few of my other free people items when the dye began to WASH OUT OF THE SHIRT AND STAIN MY OTHER ITEMS. Literally my entire bathtub turned blue and as I was trying to move the shirt out of the tub before it kept leaking dye I stained my marble bathroom floors in the process. Not only that but one of my other white free people shirts was stained blue and some of my other items have a slight blue tint. It is ridiculous that this happened. I'm extremely upset and disappointed. Be careful when washing this if you do purchase. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Tulsa OK
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Stains white and light color clothes :(
8.10.2014
" This shirt is comfy, soft and versatile, so why a one star rating? IT WILL STAIN YOUR CLOTHES! I bought this for a trip (navy) and after using it half day my white jeans are now all stained because the color faded. I'm on holidays, very far from home with less clothes for my trip. Since my jeans now look awful I'm scared to wash and wear this piece again. If you love the blue color I suggest you wash it first or soak it in vinegar so the color doesn't fade and damage your stuff. "
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 next>>