Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Melrose Swing Tee

Trapeze cut tee, American made with super soft cotton. Ribbed neckline and raw edging. Side vents and a Hi-Lo hem. **Please Note: Due to the special technique used, the wash on each shirt may vary slightly.
overall average rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Melrose Swing Tee
Review 1 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Sun Valley, CA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
awesome tee
10.5.2014
"I love this top! I'm 5'4", 34, 25, 40 and bought the navy in the medium. It fits like a tunic, which provides just enough coverage to wear with the FP slips and also goes great with jeans. The sleeve length is great too, as it can be worn just above the elbow or be folded up.
It's definitely a new favorite and I'm sure I'll be buying one in a second color.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:NC
age:26-30
body type:slender
Sizing is awkward, color is off. :\
9.29.2014
"The Aubergine color is not as depicted in the stock photo. It's not nearly as vibrant. The fabric/material feels good. The sleeves are really awkward. I am busty, so that may be why it fits me so awkward, but I am also really slender. /shrug I have never had an issue with FP shirts and their sizing. However, the way this fits is just too awkward for me. The sleeves are a bit tight, and the color is off. Returning.
Measurements:
5'6"
115lbs
34E
Ordered a XS (typical FP size, especially in "looser" shirts, such as this one). I probably should have went with the S, but I doubt one size up would have taken care of most of the issues, which is why it will shortly be returned! :P My main gripe is mostly the color anyway, though.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great Casual Tee
9.26.2014
"This tee is very comfortable, the sleeve length is perfect (hits right at the elbow), and comes in some gorgeous colors. I have this tee in the color Stone and plan to purchase the Aubergine as well.
It looks really cute with jeans and the Knit Hooded Denim Jacket but also looks great with shorts. The slits in the side make it easy to knot if you'd like to shorten the length a bit. This shirt hits me smack dab in the middle of my thigh and I am about 5'3". If it weren't for the slits in the side it could be worn as a mini dress.
Overall, a great casual tee!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Chicago @ FPWaterTower
age:21-25
body type:athletic
My new layering peice
9.25.2014
"This top is so versatile. I can wear it over jeans, layer it over a tight bodycon dress, or tie a knot to give it a different shape. An easy peice to throw on when you don't have time to get ready!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Irvine, CA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Love this top!
9.7.2014
"I absolutely love this top! So far, I have it in white and navy. It is so soft and hangs beautifully. After reading the reviews about issues that others have had with color transfer, I washed my navy top in cold water this morning with other dark colored items. One of the items that I washed with it was a navy blue pair of pants. The inside of the pants is white and, because it doesn't show, I didn't really care if some of the color transferred onto it. Anyway, I had no issues. The white was still white after washing. I put the top in the dryer on low heat for 30 minutes and it came out looking great. It had lost no color. I tried it on and it was the same size as before I'd washed. Very happy and plan to purchase more. For reference, I am 5'5", 115 lbs and the XS is perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Tampa Bay
age:over 45
body type:petite
WORST FP PURCHASE EVER
9.1.2014
"I can only be mad at myself for this purchase, yet do blame FP for such poor quality. I, against warning from others, bought the blue. I soaked it in vinegar and washed 2x's before wearing. Long story short, it "still" bled all over my beautiful, expensive, leather bag and may be ruined. I bought another color that I haven't worn and cannot return both of them fast enough. FP will get a call from me on this one! Please be warned. Too bad, it is such a great design. Soooo mad."
Response from Free People:By Free People9.3.2014
Hi FlaSunshine,

We're sorry to hear about your Tee! Someone from our team will in touch shortly.

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Bend, OR
age:41-45
body type:slender
Love this Tee
8.31.2014
"This is a very comfortable tee, and the weight of the fabric is actual t-shirt weight. It fits exactly as shown on the model. I will be wearing this into winter. I ordered the aubergine, and love this color. I did hand wash in warm water, as there was a lot of dye in the top, and didn't want it fading onto other clothes. I may order it in a different color."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Adorable
8.18.2014
"Oversized style, but beautifully draped. I love it! Cotton, USA made-- great! I am 5'4" and I need to wear shorts under it because it's just a tad to short to be a dress. If only I never raised my arms... Ohh, and the sleeves roll up nicely. Get it in more than one color!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Houston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Poor Quality
8.18.2014
"Before I washed this shirt I would have given this product 5 stars easily. I like the way it fits (I prefer loose, long clothing) and the color (I got it in blue). However, after I washed it I am extremely disappointed with the product. I buy lots of free people so I knew to hand wash the product in cold water. I was washing it with a few of my other free people items when the dye began to WASH OUT OF THE SHIRT AND STAIN MY OTHER ITEMS. Literally my entire bathtub turned blue and as I was trying to move the shirt out of the tub before it kept leaking dye I stained my marble bathroom floors in the process. Not only that but one of my other white free people shirts was stained blue and some of my other items have a slight blue tint. It is ridiculous that this happened. I'm extremely upset and disappointed. Be careful when washing this if you do purchase."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Tulsa OK
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Stains white and light color clothes :(
8.10.2014
"This shirt is comfy, soft and versatile, so why a one star rating? IT WILL STAIN YOUR CLOTHES! I bought this for a trip (navy) and after using it half day my white jeans are now all stained because the color faded. I'm on holidays, very far from home with less clothes for my trip. Since my jeans now look awful I'm scared to wash and wear this piece again. If you love the blue color I suggest you wash it first or soak it in vinegar so the color doesn't fade and damage your stuff."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Mexico
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
restock colour brick please
8.8.2014
"i bought this in green and black, they are awsome!!! i bought the S and it fits perfect, but i want the colour brick, restock it please!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:San Antonio TX
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Love the tee, hate the color misrepresentation
8.4.2014
"First of all, im a HUGE FP fan and love their clothing. I have this tee/dress in navy blue and white and love them both. The small fits perfectly and drapes just right on my 5'4 123 lb frame. So no problems there..unfortunately I also ordered the fuschia and was disappointed when I received a plum color that looked NOTHING like the picture. Thinking it must surely have been a mistake, I sent it back and reordered the "fuschia" again. It took forever but finally I received it today, and once again it's not the gorgeous vibrant magenta fuschia I expected from the picture. I feel so let down by free people, if yr gonna advertise a certain color, please actually SELL me that color, don't photoshop or use trick lighting deception to make it appear more vibrant and likeable. I don't understand what's so hard about making the color listings and pictures MATCH the merchandise. If u want to list a magenta colored garment, why not actually HAVE a magenta colored garment, cuz I'd love to buy it. Until then, I'm returning this, and hoping I never get decieved again."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:sc
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Love this top
7.18.2014
"I just got this top in the green and it looks so cool. This top is so comfy I don't want to take it off. I have even slept in it.
I could have gotten the large as some have reported the sleeves a little tight which they are. I went to pull mine up and accidentally pinched and bruised my arm.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Myrtle Beach
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
New favorite
7.14.2014
"Amazing. The perfect basic tee, perfect length, colors are actually pretty true to the picture, ordering more!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:texas
age:36-40
body type:slender
stained my skin!
7.12.2014
"i really love this shirt, but it stained my skin. the shape is flattering and the royal blue color is gorgeous. i was so eager to wear it, i didn't wash it first. it was hot outside and the color bled, staining the underside of my arms blue! i have since showered three times and there is still pigment on my skin. when i washed the shirt, the intense color faded. i still like it, but originally purchased it because i loved the deep color saturation."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:MD
age:36-40
body type:curvy
LOVE LOVE LOVE
7.7.2014
"I never spent this much money on a T-shirt but after trying it on and owning it for about a month now. I can not live without them they are the only shirts I grab everyday. I own two so far and can't wait to get more. Its just so comfy and stylish. Thank you for the color options!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Alpharetta, GA
age:14-20
body type:slender
As always - a great FP tee!
7.2.2014
"I'm such a sucker for lovely FP tees! Like the others, the melrose swing tee is soft, flattering, and so comfy! Looks great as a tunic-y top with jeans or leggings. It runs very true to size. I'm 5'6" and 125lb and the small was perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Not for me :(
6.20.2014
"I loved this top with belted look like in the picture, but when I tried it on in store, it was still way too poofy with a belt. I'm betting they've clipped it in the back on the model. I'm short/petite with an hourglass shape (5'2" 112 lbs), so the roomy cut hides my small waist and hits right at the largest part of my hips. It just wasn't a good cut for me. The fabric and quality was nice, as per usual with FP, but it just didn't do it for me."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:OCONUS
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
New Obsession
6.18.2014
"Well I've been obsessed with the Circle in the Sand tee since it first came out...I have six different colors. But this tee is my new favorite obsession:)) I bought it In forest color and it's TTS but not true to color. Mine is less of an olive tone and more of a light leaf green/dark sage...very pretty! The cut is trapeze so it's slightly fitted at top and flares out as it gets to the bottom giving it a nice swing; not too much fabric, just right! The arms are slender cut so they were a little snug but loosened a bit after having it on a few minutes. No issue for me but if your arms are bigger than slender that might be uncomfortable. I also have to mention that this tee has a beautifully slimming neckline without revealing too much clevage! All in all I LOVE this tee...my new obsession...and I will be getting more in other colors! A++++"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Melrose Swing Tee
Name:
Location:Vermont
age:over 45
body type:curvy
swingt
6.17.2014
"This t-shirt saved my wardrobe for the summer. I bought it in white, black, royal blue and grey. It is true to size, flattering, casual but can also be dressed up. Because it is cotton, it is cool and drapes nicely. I have washed and dried the grey and white ones a couple of times and they kept their shape. I like them so much I am considering purchasing the navy blue as well."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>