Product Reviews

Noir Velvet Tunic

Sheer bell-sleeved tunic top with floral velvet pattern all over. Sleeves are 3/4-length. Low scoop back with strap across the top. A stunning, bohemian piece that adds so much flair and whimsy to your look. *By Gypsy Junkies *65% Polyamide, 35% Rayon *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 29 1/2" Bust (all around): 37" Sleeve Length: 20" Sleeve Opening Width: 16 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Noir Velvet Tunic
Review 1 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:St. Paul
age:21-25
body type:slender
Bummer.
5.21.2013
"I purchased this shirt, but was planning on wearing it for a certain occasion and it didn't make it to my apartment in time. I just recently tried it on and noticed it was already fraying in the armpit and the threads were loose. There is definitely already a small hole which, I'm sure if I actually wear it will unravel even more. SO bummed! This also does run small. I'm usually a medium, sometimes a small and when reading the reviews decided to size up. So happy I did, although a torn shirt doesn't do me much good. It may be difficult to fix too because the fabric is super delicate."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Temecula
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Gorgeous Top
5.1.2013
"I have it in gold and it's really stylish and comfy. The fit is different, but once I got used to it, it was fine. Can't wait to wear it again!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:PA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Yes
4.24.2013
"I purchased this in the black/noir and it really is lovely. The only thing about it is that it after wearing it just twice the back strap part sort of ripped off the one side? I'm wondering how still... I have it pinned until I sew it but that was definitely a bummer. I definitely recommend wearing something underneath it as well."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:amherst, ma
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Beautiful, but cheap.
4.18.2013
"Was so excited to get this.. it came and I was very disappointed with the material. It looks beautiful and elegant in the picture, but in person it doesn't look very similar - looks very cheap and very fragile. It also runs very small (could wear it as a shirt, not so much as a dress). Ultimately had to return it."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.19.2013
We're sorry you weren't happy with your purchase. We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Sydney NSW, Australia
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
lovely but size is off
2.25.2013
"The tunic is gorgeous and exactly as expected, except the chest area is too tight. Im always an M in FP and got the M/L, it isnt tight across the bust but its oddly tight in the chest above the bust, and has that wierd overly taut look in that area and is uncomfortable. Everywhere else it fits as expected."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Houston
age:21-25
body type:petite
You'll regret not buying this!
2.5.2013
"I work at a FP store, and although I didn't have the opportunity to buy it, I tried it on about 50 bajillion times before it sold out! I am 5'4" 105 lbs A cup and the XS/S was looser but since it's a sheer tunic, you really can pull off quite a few different sizes while wearing this thing. It's flattering, and is guaranteed to get you dozens of compliments whereverrrr you gooo!!. FP makes awesome Seamless Slips that can be worn under items like these easily (which I believe is what the model is wearing with it, too)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Gorgeous!
1.24.2013
"I love this top! I feel so '60s and like Edie Sedgwick in it! I got it in gold, in size M/L ( I am 5'5" with 35" bust and 27" waist). It fits loose but I like it that way. Looks just as pictured. The gold velvet is gorgeous, has a sort of burnt gold color, very pretty. Very high quality. Looks great with bell bottoms or black leggings. Fits like a short dress/tunic. So flirty and boho. Great date night top, or to hide your belly if you're feeling chubby. :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
I adore this tunic!
1.16.2013
"This tunic is adorable. I am 5'3/120 lbs and the xs/s fits just like it is shown on the model. I have no trouble with the fit in the chest area as some reviews have mentioned. I wear it with leggings and a bandeau and it looks SO cute."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Jamestown, NC
age:over 45
body type:petite
cute but tite
12.18.2012
"This top was cute but very tight across the bust. I'm a 36 C and the M/L was way tight across the bust, with no stretch in the fabric at all. Had to return. If you are small busted, this top will be great for you."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:new mexico
age:over 45
body type:slender
AT LAST I LOVE IT !!!
12.17.2012
"After 2 failed attempts in the past when this top originally came out in one color I ordered twice and had the same quality issues, however I just loved the fit and style of the top. I had all but given up. I saw that it came in this new fusha and thought maybe the quality issues have been worked out and took a chance, much to my happiness it arrived today and after careful inspection the issue looks to have been resolved and the color is exactly as pictured !!! Now the only issue is the WRONG size was sent : (. But I will NOT send it back for a third time just get it altered. Order it, u will love this color !!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Hong Kong
age:41-45
body type:slender
depends how you wear it
12.14.2012
"Just got this in gold, love the fabric and the sleeves! Not sure what the sizing is like as it says S/M on the label of this tunic..?
Anyway i tried it on with black velvet leggings as well as with jeans and was in two minds about returning it. Then tried it on as a dress with a black lace slip (an old one from FP) and wow it totally rocks as a dress!! May also go well with a fitted black dress/slip underneath.
I think it all depends on your body shape, length etc, as i did not find it tight in the shoulders AT ALL, as described in other reviews. My advice for this piece would be try it on before you buy.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Bloomington, IN
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Very Retro Chic, Love it
12.12.2012
"So, in my opinion this fits me perfectly. I'm a 34C, I weigh around 130lbs, and 5'6. I usually wear a M or a Large if I want this to fit a little loose, and this fits just about right (I bought the M/L). I think if you usually order a large, I wouldn't buy this because it will probably be too small, which is why I rated it smaller. It hits about mid thigh, right under my butt so I definitely won't be able to wear it without shorts or leggings, but over all this is a very flattering piece! Hope that helps :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Sydney, AUS
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Perfect Fall Piece
12.10.2012
"This is a beautiful edition to my wardrobe. I purchased the gold/black in XS/S. Now the gold isnt the refelctive shiny gold pictured, its more of a yellow in person but in the right lighting it does shine because it is a glossy velvet. And obviously because they use lighting when shooting the models the shine is going to come up different to in person. So STILL beautiful appealing colour. I typically wear an XS. Ths size fits me like a glove though I will point out like other woman have, YES it is silghtly tighter across the shoulders and arms. I had no problem with it, but I did notice it. The backing is beautiful. I am 5'9 and it JUST covers my bottom, like the models so I probably couldnt get away with it as a dress unless I wore stockign underneath. Anbody shorter, HOORAY! You can wear this dime as a dress for fall. Overall I am very happy with product."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
So disappointed.
12.9.2012
"This is the second item I've had to return to FP this month, and I've only had to return two or three items in the last five or six years. I typically wear a Medium, so I of course ordered this piece in a M/L. It is impossibly tight in the shoulders, arms and the bust as well. I mean, I'm a 34C and it absolutely squashed my boobs in a terrible way. I felt like if I raised my arms, it would tear at the seams. To be fair, this isn't a FP brand, so I suppose I'll look on my wish list for something else I'd like to have. Hopefully, the third time will be a charm!"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb12.10.2012
We're sorry that this didn't work out for you! A member of our support team will be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:41-45
body type:petite
Nah!
12.5.2012
"I received the gold in black. A pretty color combination, esp. for the Holidays. But the fabric makes one itchy, the material felt hard rather than soft, velvety and cozy."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
age:over 45
body type:slender
Noir velvet tunic
12.4.2012
"Just got the pink in the mail and I love it! I ordered the XS/S PINK which is maybe a bit brighter than shown but not by much. It's very sheer and soft. As far as the fit, I am 5'8" 130 lbs and the xs/s fits fine but IF I were a little busty it could be tight across the chest. Lengthwise, well it Is a tunic not a dress on me like it might be on some as it barely covers the bottom of my bottom :) My only complaint is that in some areas along the neckline it's a little puckered which makes it look like it was rushed during the sewing. All in all, as I look here at the pic, it's pretty identical to the way it looks on her (pink)."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:MA
age:14-20
body type:petite
So Beautiful
11.27.2012
"I bought this piece in gold after it had come back into stock and I LOVE it! Beware that it is sheer and that the gold color is little more yellow then pictured. It goes perfected with a low back tunic (like the one I listed below) and is super elegant and sexy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Holiday jewel
11.16.2012
"I am addicted! I ordered M/L in black thinking that XS/S wont fit me; as per reviews it runs small. At first, I thought that this tunic looks way too big on me, and it's a bit tight around the bust area. I went to FP Toronto store to make an exchange, but when I saw how beautiful this tunic is, I decided to keep it, . I am ordering a small size in gold as well. The tunic needs a slip underneath,but that is beauty of it, you can choose black or a different color slip. I am going to wear this tunic at my company's Christmas Party, but it can be worn with jeans.The possibilities are endless !"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Nope
11.16.2012
"Bummed... I got the daisy tunic and loved it. Thought I'd like this for winter. A few things:
1. despite looking the same in terms of shape, this tunic fits shorter and much tighter in the arms.
2. despite being the same company, the m/l in this is smaller than the xs/s in the daisy tunic
3. if you look at this the wrong way, it will rip
4. I got the m/l for length, i'
m usually a small. The arms were too tight.
Save your money."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Noir Velvet Tunic
Name:
Location:Lancaster, PA
age:41-45
body type:slender
Nice Statement Piece
11.14.2012
"I agree with other reviewers - this does not drape like it does on the model. The neckline is much higher than shown. It is also totally sheer, hello cami!
It IS a beautiful pattern and color however. I wore it with slim black pants and Stevie's - felt like a million bucks.
I also agree that is a little pricey, but no one else will be wearing it.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>