Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Shake Your Tail Feather Dress

Pieced-together heathered jersey knit mini tank dress. Fitted at waist. Exposed seam detailing all over body with raw edges. Flared out style at the bottom. Super soft and casual.
overall average rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for Shake Your Tail Feather Dress
Review 1 for Shake Your Tail Feather Dress
Name:
Location:Lafayette, LA
age:26-30
body type:slender
so happy !
5.23.2013
"i just got this in the mail, and i am so excited to wear it! ordered my usual XS (5'3" 110) and it fits perfect- it is a bit low cut, but i don't mind a little cleavage. love the stone color! and pockets! get it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Shake Your Tail Feather Dress
Name:
Location:boston
age:14-20
body type:curvy
love the cut
3.30.2013
"the cut really fits well. but it is too low at the front that I have to wear something underneath it. i got the red/orange one, and the color is just amazing"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Shake Your Tail Feather Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Cute and versatile
3.30.2013
"This dress is adorable. It's just different enough to garner attention but it is still appropriate to wear in a semi casual office if you pair it with a cardigan or over-sized blazer. I ordered the stone and wore it to work with a black shrug, tights and boots. I got tons of compliments. I'm 5'5" and a size 14-16. The large fit perfectly with plenty of room to spare. It's coming with me on my vacation to Tuscany this summer! I hope FP re-stocks the red. This dress would be adorable in white or cream."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Shake Your Tail Feather Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
I'm ok with this
3.28.2013
"This dress was recommended to me by a Free People employee today so I decided to try it on. After slipping it on, I decided that it was a little to short for me and it dipped way to low at the top. Maybe its because it is 40 degrees outside but I felt really exposed. Otherwise I thought the color was nice and I liked the details. However I think I have cutter Free People dresses in this color in my closet now that are longer and that gives me a little more versatility. Maybe I will feel different it gets warmer and I have a tan. We will see."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.29.2013
If it's feeling a little too short, this would pair so well with one of our layering slips, like the:

Lovely Lace Godet http://www.freepeople.com/intimates-slips-and-bloomers-slips/lovely-lace-godet-slip

-or the-

In & Out Floral Ditsy Slip http://www.freepeople.com/intimates-slips-and-bloomers-slips/in-and-out-ditsy-florals-slip

This would help with the neckline too and create the cutest peek-a-boo look!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Shake Your Tail Feather Dress
Name:
Location:Denver
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Ahh I love this!
3.28.2013
"I immediately knew I was going to wear this as a slip. A bit expensive for such a thing... but it's worth it. I LOVE the red! It's gorgeous. I wore a black dolman over it and it was the perfect length and looked like a cute little skirt. Yep, it does have pockets, which aren't noticeable at all until you brush yourself off or something LOL. It's longer in the back. Overall I really love this dress and it can be used as different things, but as a slip it's super cute. Wearing it alone... well, my high waist prevents a lot of clothes from forming to me correctly, and this dress is no exception, so it didn't form to my waist; it flairs out too high up, but that's okay, that's why I wear it as a slip!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Shake Your Tail Feather Dress
Name:
Location:Arizona
age:31-35
body type:slender
Summer staple
3.21.2013
"Fun basic dress! bought the red, the color is bright and the fit is just right. Looking forward to enjoying this all summer!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Shake Your Tail Feather Dress
Name:
Location:NM
age:31-35
body type:slender
Pockets!
3.21.2013
"This is a cute dress. I wouldn't say spectacular but it is cute. I would have given this three stars but to my delight, the dress has pockets (yay!) so on that I boosted it an extra star. I think the fit is pretty much accurate to the pictures (the red one is no longer on line as of this writing, so I'm looking at the photos of the taupe). I purchased XS, my normal FP size. I'm 5'4", 115 lbs, 34 B or C, 27" waist and 35" hip. The dress hit several inches above my knee but because the skirt is fairly full, it didn't feel too short. The top fit a tad loose in the rib cage and loosens further once it hits the waist but not so much that it visually appeared loose. As with most dresses like this that have pockets (yay!) they do add a bit more volume at the hip. I found the neckline to be a bit low cut. The on-line pic is pretty accurate with regard to this. Not all "normal" bras will work with this but if you have a low cut demi it should be fine. Note that I am fairly small chested so I have a sufficient stock of bras that offer less coverage since support is not a huge need for me. The material is comfortable and soft but it was a bit heavier than I expected. I anticipate it may be a little too heavy for me to wear in mid summer (I live in a desert state). Overall it's a cute dress. Probably not on my "favorite FP purchases" list but it's a nice casual dress for spring so I'm happy with the purchase....oh yeah, and POCKETS!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Shake Your Tail Feather Dress
Name:
Location:chicago
age:over 45
body type:slender
LOVE LOVE LOVE
3.21.2013
"I just received this item in the mail. I love it. Got the beautiful red but thinking of getting the other color as well. It is flirty and fun and will look great with flats or with heels, dressed up or down. I got a small and I am going to keep it but might get the other one in extra small. This is my favorite kind of dress for the summer."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large