Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Indian Enchantment Maxi

Indian-inspired patterned maxi dress with ruffled bottom hem and sheer overlay with slit at the middle front and middle black. Cinched fabric detailing at middle of bust. Zips up left side of waist. Shoulder straps are adjustable and removable so dress can be worn strapless. Stretchy smocking at upper back. *100% Polyester *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Bodice Height: 5 1/4" Underskirt Length: 49 1/2" Bust (all around): 30 Total Strap Length: 15 3/4"
overall average rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Reviews for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Review 1 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:Washington DC
age:36-40
body type:slender
Boho Princess
8.28.2013
"Love this dress from the moment I saw it. The layers flow beautifully, the dress is super well-made and it is a unique style statement. If you don't like the poufy nature of the layered skirting, the dress also looks lovely cinched in with a wide waist belt. Fits true-to-size. I'm 5'8" and 34A and an XS fits like a glove."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Lovely dress
8.26.2013
"Prior reviews I read were accurate:
It runs a bit large, so size down. Even though I sized down it seems a bit loose, but I'll live with it rather than sizing down further.
The zipper on the side can be a challenge; it seems to get stubborn right at the bulky area between the bust and the skirt.
Something that wasn't obvious from the pics: the black overlay isn't just slit at the front and back, it is also slit at the sides.
The minor downsides (zipper and loose fit) aren't enough to make me want to return it though! I'm excited to wear it. The multiple layers of the bottom of the dress give it that ""sari" feel."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:North Carolina
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous flow
8.19.2013
"I just got this dress and I love it. At first I didn't know how to feel about it because the bust area bunches slightly funny but once I saw how wonderfully flowy it is at the bottom, I knew I had to keep it. It does have several layers but it's light so it doesn't feel heavy. The material does look a bit bulky at the waist where it all meets but not to the point that it was a deal breaker. It's not too long either (perfect length with 2 inch wedges on)The material moves with you gracefully. I feel like a queen! For reference, I'm 5'3" 125lbs 34b 28w 35h and the xs fits great."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:MI
age:31-35
body type:curvy
stunning
8.13.2013
"as soon as i saw this dress, i fell in love and had to have it, even though it is much more expensive than what i would normally pay for a dress. it was completely worth it. very well made, and fits perfectly. i love the multiple layers! my only complaint is that the medium is for someone who is at least 5"7' and i am 5"4', so i had to wear heels, and once that started to hurt, had to be very careful walking around. all-around a wonderful dress and i cannot wait to wear it again"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:New York, NY, USA
age:36-40
body type:slender
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!
7.31.2013
"OMG! My new favorite dress. WOW does it fit beautifully and flows so nicely. And the colors are gorgeous. I bought the XS and it fit perfectly. I was flip flopping between S and XS and went for the XS and made the right choice. I'm 5'5" and 110 lbs. Please bring back the red and yellow one I would buy that in a heartbeat!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:New York City
age:26-30
body type:slender
Gorgeous dress
7.21.2013
"I love this dress. It fits perfectly and the length is not too long either. I am 5'5" and it is right at the ankle. I am looking forward to wearing it for my friend's wedding."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:San Jose
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Gorgeous!! Love it
6.21.2013
"Tried this on in the store in a M which was too big but still fell in love. Ordered it in a Small but that was still too big so got the XS which fits perfectly. There is not too much fabric like one review mentioned. It is light and flowy. The fabric and design are absolutely beautiful. Appropriate for all occasions. I don't know why the model is holding up the dress like that! She really doesn't give it justice. No complaints, only that it runs a bit big. I'm 5'5, 34B and 27 inch waist. XS fits well."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:Chandler, AZ
age:26-30
body type:petite
Exotically stunning dress
6.18.2013
"I'm 5'1 and I was worried this dress would end up being too long, but when I got it, I paired with with a pair of 4" sandals and the dress fits like a charm. The fabric is wonderfully flowy, and looks romantically stunning billowing in the winds. The colors are exactly as pictured, and I'm really happy with this purchase. I did notice where others said in their review about the cut at the waistline, but it doesn't seem to bother me as much. If it sticks out too much, that could easily be fixed with some home tailoring. Highly recommend this dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:Havertown
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
LOVEEEEEE!
6.14.2013
"I love this dress. I'm not a fan of strapless but the picture looked so cute and it was on sale so I decided to go for it. Tried it on this morning and it is definitely a hit. I wasn't too sure of the layers but ended up loving it. Love, love, LOVE! Can't wait to wear it out. Oh, one issue, the zipper was a bit of a pain to pull up but I feel like that is an issue with most dresses these days."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
gorgeous but weird fit!
6.13.2013
"I ordered this in XS being only 5'3" and 113-115lb. The length was surprisingly perfect since I'm accustomed to maxis being extremely long on my petite frame. The only thing that's a little awkward is the fit at the bust, and also the finicky zipper. The dress definitely fits me fine but the zipper is a little stubborn 2/3 of the way up so be forewarned about that. Also, I'm fairly flat so the front of the dress gapes a little unless I wear a padded bra (which honestly isn't comfy in this dress). Overall, it's beautiful but I wish the top portion was more fitted!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
Beautiful but too much material
4.24.2013
"Free people dresses always make me feel like they were built for me and this one is no exception. It compliments my skin tone (fair) and makes my chest look nicer. The problems I have with it is that it's a bit loose and also has too much material at the waist ares so it makes me look bulky and thick (and I'm a tiny girl). A simple layer at the bottom would have been sufficient, it didn't need the amount it has hence the minus 1 star. Material is thin, flows well and is comfortable. I'm 5'6, the length is about a centimeter from the ground. 105lbs, 32 bust and got the size 0."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:26-30
body type:slender
Gorgeous.
4.12.2013
"This dress has the most flattering fit despite it's length and multi-layered skirt. It's snug in all the right places and the beautiful detail is designed on the dress in all the right places too. It helps to accentuate the flattering fit even more. It's beautiful, comfortable and perfect for multiple occasions. Simply Gorgeous."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:san francisco
age:31-35
body type:petite
Bust Design Not Symmetrical
4.1.2013
"For such an expensive dress, I expect the quality to be perfect.
I have attached picture. however, its most noticeable when it is worn.the design that is on the breast part has this design that fans out. the design on the left side spreads out larger than on the right side. so when its worn, due to the design, it looks like one breast is bigger than the other.
total bad cut here. dont know if it was just mine or all of them are not symmetrical. very disappointed and returned. didn't want to bother trying another one again."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.4.2013
We are sorry to hear about this and will be in touch soon. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:Milan, Italy
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
A wonderful dress
3.27.2013
"I just recevied this dress. It's just perfect. In the first place i bought it to wear it at a wedding but as a day dress. Now i am pretty sure that i will wear it as a night dress. It's very special and it's even more special that it is on the picture. The colours are the same like in the picture. Regarding the size, i am always an M so i took an M. Aparently is a little bit loose, especialy at breast. But it can be fixed.
So I will say YES defintely YES for this dress. Thank you!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:New Delhi
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
A no-go
2.13.2013
"Ordered this dress for a special occasion, and was really excited when it arrived.
Saying that the sizing/proportions of this dress are strange would be an understatement.
I'm 5'8" and ordered an L -I'm usually an M or L- just in case it needed fitting here or there. The bodice is so short it either goes down to your dropped waist like seen in the pictures or covers your chest- not both!
The bust is huge, the waist is too narrow.
The skirt ends up starting so high, in a very unflattering way, that makes you look bulky and ill proportioned.
Very very sad: I live in India (go figure!) and thought this would be an excellent addition to my wardrobe, but I certainly can't wear this dress as it is.
I thought of sending it back but added to the cost of customs I had to pay to ship it in, I would end up spending a fortune for a dress I don't want anymore.
May turn it into a skirt? Tailors of New Delhi here I come.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.13.2013
We are so sorry that this didn't work out for you! A member of our support team will be in touch to offer assistance! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Beautiful colour
2.6.2013
"I bought this dress, and I was surprised when it fit (I'm a bit chesty). I was really pleased with the colours-they were spot on. The dress is true to the pictures, and the straps were really handy. The waist does gape on me a bit, just under the bust, but overall it's comfortable and flows so nicely."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Indian Enchantment Maxi
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Lovely dress but
1.30.2013
"I bought several things at once. Everything else looked gorgeous on me and this was just okay. The picture is accurate for color and style. It comes with straps for those that want or need them ( I am a 32 F so I wanted them) and it fit well. I t really is a beautiful dress and had it looked as good as the rest of my purchases I would have kept it. I might even have kept it if I had not ordered the other pieces, it really was just a comparison thing. It is a beautiful fabric and worth the money for someone."
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large