Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top

pWoven plaid button down top with long tunic length. Loose shape and fold over collar and button cuffs.pp 100 Cottonbr Machine Washbr ImportedppMeasurements for Size 6brLength 30 18brChest 38p
overall average rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Review 1 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:toronto
age:31-35
body type:athletic
LOVELY!!
10.18.2009
" I read the reviews and had to see what the fuss was about since I had been eyeing this shirt anyway. I received the teal shirt yesterday and all i have to say is OMG!! I love the fit of this shirt! The reviews were bang on! It looks like a typical shirt but once its on, it flows so nicely! The arms are a bit tight and it is a bit big but that is the style! I am officially in love! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:21-25
body type:curvy
I love how this drapes!
10.6.2009
" This top is a like a more fun take on your boyfriend's plaid flannel. It is a thin fabric, but I like that it's thinner. I would say I'm a size 8-10, and I got size 8, and it feels a bit loose, but it's comfortable and I could have actually gotten a 6 but I liked the way the 8 draped on me. It is a little long so it can be worn as a mini-dress but I would wear leggings underneath because the wind can make the light loose fabric fly up. I prefer to wear it open with a tight bodycon miniskirt and a tucked-in tank underneathe--it looks really cool! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:kansas
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
beautiful basic
10.3.2009
" ok so i love this shirt, the color is amazing, the length is awesome, and i love how flowy it is. the only thing i will say is that you should look at what the measurements say. it says that a size 6 is 38" in the chest, so based off of that, i ordered a 6, because my chest measurement is 36". i usually wear an 8. i guess depending on how you want it to fit is how you should order. that's the only reason i say it runs large. even the 6 has room, it isn't too tight ... except the sleeves around the wrist, which can be unbuttoned! love it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:Paris, TX
age:14-20
body type:slender
The blue color is gorgeeouuss
10.1.2009
" I ordered this in my usual small.. fits slightly snug around the bottom of the arms/wrist but other than that it's loose and drapey and very pretty. My only complaint is that i expected it to be a little bit thicker material for $88! But it's still adorable so I'll keep it, just beware. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:New England
age:14-20
body type:petite
Great Top, Mixed Seams
9.6.2009
" I bought this top in the reddish color in the size two, a size up from the usual, and I loved it. I've been searching for the perfect plaid shirt like this for a while, and this one fits wonderfully. However, the top is so thin that the fabric is literally pulling away from the seams - after I've worn it about three times. And, there's a huge rip in the shoulder where the fabric has torn from the seam completely. I'm not sure if I should return it, or try to repair it myself. It's the perfect top, but the quality isn't very sturdy. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:.............
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Soooo Fabulous, I bought TWO!
8.31.2009
" I love this plaid tunic!!!!!! Not only is it the most versatile and comfortable thing to wear, but it is one of the more stylish takes on a classic plaid shirt. The photo does not do the shape and length of this tunic justice. It is longer and flowy at the bottom and it is actually a very flattering shirt to wear with jeans, etc. The fabric is incredibly soft and thin that I have worn it in Los Angeles' 70 and 80 degree weather. I purchased the navy in a 4 (I am 5'6, 130 lbs) and I nearly wore it for three days straight with my distressed shorts. I think it runs pretty true to size except it is a bit snug in the shoulders on me. I love it so much I purchased the burgundy which is also a lovely color. The great thing about these tops is the fact that you can wear it in hot weather because of the thinness of the fabric and you can wear it in colder weather and just layer. The only thing that bugs me about it, is the fact that the fabric is so thin. I am constantly worried that I might reach down for something and it will rip! I also haven't quite figured out how I will wash it. Either way I LOVE IT! Another FP piece you'll have for AGES!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 7 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
GREAT SHIRT
8.30.2009
" This is the cutest shirt, but size down. You can tuck it in, leave it out, belt it or not, leave it open or closed. Looks good no matter what. Looks cute with a pencil skirt and pumps or holey jeans and construction boots. My size was a little to voluminous. Lower sleeves a little tight, but not too much so. LOVE THIS!!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 8 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:British Columbia Canada
age:41-45
body type:petite
Loose but I like it
8.28.2009
" This shirt is really cute but I find it to be quite loose fitting which I have grown to like. I do not find the arms to be tight but I am smaller boned. I have navy and it is nice. This is definitely a casual comfy shirt as the previous reviewer described. I could see it with leggings or faded jeans and Ugg boots. I will be keeping mine. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 9 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:petite
Delicate, artsy, muted.. gorgeous.
8.27.2009
" This top is gorgeous.
Yes, it is thin and delicate--but that is the look of the top. In order for this top to look aged, worn, and antique, it needs to be thin.
The design of the top is extremely delicate in nature. I appreciate that, but I am going to be extremely careful when I wear it.. no working in the garden, or painting in it for sure! Despite the fact that it reminds me of those things. :)
It is definitely tight in the lower arms, I've been rolling up the sleeves to stretch it out a bit.
I accidentally ordered the Navy instead of the Burgundy, so I ended up with both colors because I called to late to cancel the Navy. I'm glad! I love both colors and couldn't decide between the two.
Highly recommended. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 10 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:waltham, MA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Not a plaid person, but loved this!
8.15.2009
" arms are a little tighter than expected but overall the fit is pretty reasonable. Very flattering. Fit is pretty true to size. You can leave it down and flowy or you can tie it up and go cow girl. i received a lot of compliments on the shirt. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 11 for Merrie's Button Down Plaid Top
Name:
Location:oregon
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Rich Color
8.14.2009
" i received the teal - color are rich. Fits true to size, the fabic is a little thin. doesn't show up to much in the picture - but the buttons are covers with the fabic. love the loose shape, however the arms fit tight. not sure if i am keeping. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5