Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Zulu Dress

**Please note, the May catalog featured color is incorrect, please see web photos for correct color** Ribbed semi sheer maxi dress with scoop neck and studded front patch pockets. * 100% Rayon * Machine Wash * Imported Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 56 1/4" Chest (relaxed): 34 1/2" Waist: 27"
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Zulu Dress
Review 1 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
So Cute But Not Long Enough For Tall Gals
11.23.2010
" I was so excited to see this dress! It's the perfect, casual, boho piece to wear at work or running errands. It is pretty long- if you're of average height. I'm 5'10 or 5'11, very slender, and this dress hit me at an awkward height, floating above my foot, definitely not as long as it is on the model. I find this with a lot of Free People products, and frankly, I'm not sure how the dress was so long on the model as shown in the picture, granted that most models are about 5'10. I know they make jeans in extra long sizes, maybe they should also make their long dresses available to order in extra long. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Love the length
8.27.2010
" I was excited to get this dress because I can never find dresses that are long enough to touch the ground on me (I am 5'10). The color of this dress is also really pretty because it has more purple in it than brown. It is a little bit big, but you can put a tank, bandeau, or cute bra underneath, like the girl in the picture. This dress is fun to wear on days where you feel a little lazy and want to feel comfortable, but still look cute. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:CA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Zulu Dress
8.24.2010
" It is a bit roomy, I should have ordered a small, but I absolutely love the light feel to it!!
Its overall adoring to wear!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:slender
Wash before trimming!!!
8.21.2010
" Like the other reviewers said, this dress is so super long. I cut like 6 inches off of mine, but idiotically before i washed it. Now its too short 'cause it shrunk. don't make the same mistake as i did!!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Calgary, Alberta Canada
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Big & Beautiful!!
7.13.2010
" I love Free People however I am usually a size 12...so when I see a roomy/ big item I jump at it! I am on the taller side 5'8.5" and I actually had to carry part of my dress when I walk as I would be tripping on it if I didn't.
I might actually have to get this dressed hemmed.
It will be a summer favorite for sure!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Too Short
7.13.2010
" I recently received this dress in the mail. Love the look and feel but it stops a few inches above my ankle. I'm only 5'8" and very slender. I didn't think length would be a problem for a maxi dress with my dimensions. I purchased an XS and its loose fitting but again not the right length. The other reviews said it was too long so I figured it would be just right. Disappointed! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:31-35
body type:petite
Simple, easy, and lots of potential
7.5.2010
" Love that the hem is raw and can just cut the excess fabric. I'm a petite mama and cut off about 5 inches. I get tons of compliments on such an easy to wear garment. Love that I can add some bracelets/cuffs/necklaces/headband to spice it up a bit---or nice and simple if I want. I teach first grade and this is perfect for sitting on the floor reading books with the little ones~I have the bark, but I'm also purchasing the black as well (in an XS instead of S though) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Guadeloupe
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
So Sweet and Comfortable
7.2.2010
" I just got it and it's so comfortable, this dress runs large but I like that. I'm 5'4 so i'll have to cut a little on it. But I love this dress, elle est si douce! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
i think i got a dud
6.21.2010
" I was so excited to get this dress. I have a slim figure and am 5'9" and based on the other reviews I didn't think the length would be an issue. However, I put it on and it's too short! I bought a small and it hits me at that really awkward length, it's almost long enough but just goes mid ankle - looks terrible. I'm not abnormally tall so I'm really surprised. I could exchange it for a medium, but it's already so big every where else. I LOVE it, the fabric is heavenly, but I think it's going back :( "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Sedona
age:31-35
body type:slender
Beautiful Casual Dress
6.19.2010
" As soon as I received this dress I put it on and did not want to take it off. SO comfortable! Runs large for sure, followed the medium size guidelines and it fits a little loose, but that's the style. Could have probably gone for a small but happy with the medium! I'm 5'8 and it is super long, love that it has raw seams just cut off a few inches. LOVE this dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Really fun
6.1.2010
" I just received the ZULU dress, it is as long as pictured. I tie it in a knot at bottom to walk. It is that long. Looks great. i bought black, you can see through it a bit. For the beach or around the house, so soft and comfy. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:South Philly, PA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
yum
5.28.2010
" Super comfortable and easy...fabric is soft and feels great. I would say it runs a bit larger..meant to be roomy. I sized down to a medium and it still is easy-breezy. I would say the size large would easily fit an xl or xxl. if you are under 5'7"- 5'8", you will not be able to wear this with flats. i am about 5'4" and in my highest heels, the dress is still dragging in the dirt...Most girls under 5'6" will probably need to trim a bit off of the bottom. I will probably cut off about 3" or so-no big deal since the dress has an unfinished hemline! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
awesome dress
5.25.2010
" Great dress, I love it! I'm 6' tall and it hits the ground (I must say -a first for me!) so probably not a good idea if you're super short! It is very sheer, like the other girls mentioned, but I wore the black one fine without feeling over exposed! Super super soft, the most comfortable dress I own still with a hint of sexy! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Columbus Ohio
age:26-30
body type:slender
Nice Dress
5.21.2010
" This is a nice dress for the money. I ordered the bark, which is a great color- just like it is pictured here. I didn't notice it being too sheer, though it is very looooong. It wasn't a real problem because the bottom has a raw hem. I cut about 3-4 inches from the bottom, other wise it puddle around my feet on the floor. I thought that could get pretty gross after some time! I just reinforced the stitching on the side seams to keep it from unraveling, and all was fine. I ordered the medium which is a bit big for me, but I am 13 weeks pregnant so I figure I'll need the room soon! Overall, nice dress for the money. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:hill afb, ut
age:21-25
body type:curvy
so sheer
5.18.2010
" this dress is very cute in black, but well beyond semi sheer. a bandeu underneath is cute, especially since the arm holes are a little big, but the color of the bandeu can be seen through the dress. i also ordered the ruffle skirt and that is the perfect length to wear under the dress and keep it from being 100% see through...but that combo is just too hot for summer. this dress is cute, the fabric is amazing and it looks very classy...but it is probably going back. try it on in a well lit room -- you will be surprised! also -- SIZE DOWN! :) "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Zulu Dress
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Very Stretchy
5.16.2010
" I am usually between a S and an XS, but for the longer dresses I size down because I'm 5'3, 115 pounds, which I did when I ordered the Always Easy Maxi dress and the length was perfect. I ordered an XS in bark and it's just as pictured, brown with purple hues, very stretchy, and a little see through on the areas where the material is stretched most (bust, butt). At first when I put it on it was a little long, and the longer I wore it the more it stretched downward, becoming too long to even walk in. I actually ran it through the washer and drier on permanent press and nothing changed. Overall it's a wonderful dress, and the material is so incredibly comfortable- I'm in love with it. I'll just have to get it taken up. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large