Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer

Wool sweater blazer with two front pockets and one slit pocket at front of chest. Collared. One button opening in front. Unlined. *100% Merino Wool *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 28" Bust (all around): 38" Waist (all around): 34" Sleeve Length: 24"
overall average rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Review 1 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:Chile
age:21-25
body type:slender
Soft and warm!
3.11.2013
"I bought this jacket in xs-grey. The material es sooo soft and warm, not itchy at all. It´s perfect for autum/winter, definately gonna wear it a lot! It fits a little bit loose, but I like it that way. Great buy, specially at sale price!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:England
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Smart and stylish
2.18.2013
"Just received this and tried it on. Still wearing my pyjamas but it looks great. Fit is true to size as per the Free People size chart, I bought the XS and I have 33.5" bust and 35" hip, it fits just like on the model. I am 5' 11" and the length is great on me, like the model again. I find a lot of blazers a bit short and a bit too shaped in the waist for my long straight shape. Sleeves are full length (somebody said they weren't) and you could wear them folded up although they are probably too loose to be able to just push them up. The fabric is lovely and soft and springy and supple and the grey has nice subtle shade variations. The button is big but I thought it looked nice when done up. There is a spare button too...and if you didn't like the button, it's only a single button and could easily be replaced. I can see me getting a lot of wear out of this as I like to wear comfy clothes all the time and this will help me to be smart and stylish as well."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:toronto, ontario, canada
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Not Ichy and Not Scratchy
1.26.2013
"I am 5'6", 135 36B... Tried on a size M in the brown/black [lovely, rich colour] and didn't think it really flattered me. I was wearing my [favourite] Black Double Knit Dropwaist Dress with tights and [fantastic] Marlo Zip Buckle Boots. So I tried on size S, not really expecting much. It was a perfect fit; even made me look like I have more of a booty than I actually have thanks to the little slit that flared out a little at the back. I really didn't want to take it off since it "made" the outfit I was wearing. All confirmed by the great sales associate. The best thing about this "jacket" is that it is made of super soft merino wool. I am highly sensitive to wool but this does not itch in the slightest. Yeah FP! Thanks for another great addition to my growing FP collection of timeless pieces."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Marlo Zip Buckle Boot
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:NY
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Lovely
1.13.2013
"This is a great jacket. I love the cut + length, very slimming. The color is more of a brown. I ordered the large and the sleeves were a bit loose, The medium was out of stock but I still love it. I would say this is a hybrid between a blazer and a coat. The one thing I noticed was the huge button that doesn't show in pics. I didn't hate it but I wasn't expecting it! Love it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Just like your boyfriend's...
1.3.2013
"LOVE LOVE LOVE. Oversized and wonderful. Roomy enough to wear over anything. Super soft as well. Have the chocolate, will order the gray next. Wish it came in black. I purchased a large (I wear M or L in FP). Could have sized down, but I love the roomy-ness. Zero itchy scratchy! BONUS."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
LOVE IT!
12.28.2012
"I loved this jacket so much that I bought both colors. I love the slightly oversized fit. When buttoned up it's very flattering. This jacket has everything going for it!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:Columbia, MD
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
perfect length, color!
10.24.2012
"I am so glad I read other reviews and ordered a S when I would have normally ordered a M. The jacket fits perfectly across the shoulders and lengthwise. The only problem is that with a S, I cannot button the jacket without it pulling across the waist a bit. But for me this is OK as I tend not to button anyway. This color is absolutely brown and absolutely wonderful! It now rivals a couple of highly styled sweater-cardigans as my favorite cover-up for work. It's great over my skinny pants, jeans, clingy dresses, etc., styles that I love to wear but must cover up just a bit to remain professional looking ;)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:san francisco, CA
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
super cutes, runs large
10.14.2012
"Bought this in the heather grey. I wanted a lightweight cardi/jacket/blazer that would be versatile and will keep me warm. I agree with the other reviewers...this jacket runs large. I would buy 1 or 2 sizes down. I was prepared to buy a Small online, but when I went to the store to try it on, it was just way too big. The XS was the best fit."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
I'm in love!
9.11.2012
"I love this jacket! Based on the reviews I ordered the xs rather than small, and am glad I did. It fits perfect with a little extra room. The back is tailored nicely, and the fit is very flattering. Im 5'9" and 130lbs. The only thing I didn't realize was that this jacket has cropped sleeves, but that's just a note so you don't order it expecting full length sleeves (I thought the sleeves were just pushed up on the model)."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:pa
age:21-25
body type:petite
super sweet
9.5.2012
"So i tried this on in the store the other day, and the jacket was super comfy just huge on me. if you are petite like me ( 5'1. 95-100lbs, small chest 32 a) it might not look as nice as it does on the model. the sleeves were super long , & shoulders are a boxy. overall i think it's a great jacket just i need some size on me =("
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:california
age:14-20
body type:slender
Looks better in person
8.24.2012
"This is an awesome sweater! I breezed right over this online but when I saw the grey color in the store I absolutely loved it. I would definitely suggest sizing down because it runs pretty large; I sized down to an xs and it fits me perfectly. I usually have issues with wool being too itchy but this is actually pretty soft."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:Northern VA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Great Blazer!
8.17.2012
"I have this in the Heather color in xs. Like the other reviewers said, this definitely runs large. I saw this on the site and decided I'd need to try it on in store before I bought it in case it turned out to be too big for me to wear (5'1"), and the version they had at my local FP pretty much swallowed me whole and had all the boxiness mentioned by the other reviewers, so I passed on it. Eventually I decided the color (which is much browner in person) and wool were too pretty for me to let go, so I decided to get it after all and have it altered to fit better, so I just ordered it from the website instead. But, strangely enough, the version that I just got fits me much better than the one I got in store and isn't nearly as boxy in the shoulder. It fits like a true xs, and is fantastic. I can't wait to wear this in the fall! And if you're thinking of getting this, I definitely recommend ordering off the website instead of getting it from the store - all the x-smalls in my local free people were definitely not the "real" size - maybe there was a label mixup?"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL, USA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Big but great with many outfits :)
8.3.2012
"I am usually a medium to a large in FP jackets but this runs large! I got a small and still have room but this piece is very pretty with jeans, slacks for works, leggins, etc."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:USA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Bit too big
8.1.2012
"At first I was ready to send this back, it runs larger than expected (I bought a medium) and made me look sort of boxy. It's also much more brown than pictured. But I've come to love it, very comfortable and chic. Just know what youre paying for."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:CA
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Perfect casual
7.31.2012
"It's a bit broad across the shoulders, like a boyfriend, but it fits well everywhere else. The sleeves are a little loose to stay rolled up and scrunched like in the images. The material is a really tight weave, so it holds its shape well."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:36-40
body type:slender
Great fitting comfy jacket
7.29.2012
"I was skeptical about pulling the trigger on this blazer because I'm 5 feet tall and 100 lbs and very afraid of being swallowed by a boxy silhouette. So I didn't buy it online, and instead waited for the local store to carry it. Saw it today, tried it on, and voila, it was perfect. Loose, but somehow flattering. And soft... highly recommend."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:Brookline, MA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
great casual jacket
7.20.2012
"This is easy to wear and looks great for work or with jeans. I'm getting another color. Unlike some FP styles, this one does not run huge."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Poetic Verse Sweater Blazer
Name:
Location:Orange County, CA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Hmm...
7.19.2012
"I am 5'3'' 34B and 115 lbs. I bought the xs and it is still very big on me. It does not fit like the model, more like a "professor jacket" in my opinion and fits like a men's/boyfriend's blazer. Under the arms is big and the cuffs are large...The merino wool is also a little difficult to handle. Some stretching and reshaping are def needed after washing. The ends (cuffs and pockets) have rough edges, so they are not sewn and has a rugged look to it. I still like it but I would definitely buy the flower power cardi over this one..."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations