Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Open Shoulder Maxi Dress

Gauzy cotton maxi dress with puffy short sleeves that have exposed shoulders. Neckline is adjustable.
overall average rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:N.J.
age:over 45
body type:petite
Backwards is Best
3.14.2014
" I purchased the green color. It is not that sheer and can be worn without a slip. I'm 5'2" and the xs fits great. I can wear flat sandals without it skimming the floor too. Takes a bit of work to get it on and tied properly,but looks best on backwards. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Saudi Arabia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful Dress
9.7.2013
" Here are a couple of points about this dress:
-It runs LARGE, size down.
-The dress is better worn backwards, but that's a matter of personal preference.
-The length is perfect, no need for heels (and I'm 5'2).
-The dress is extremely sheer, you can't wear it without a slip.
It's still beautiful, I would recommend it to anyone. "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Yeah... lots of fabric
8.4.2013
" I really wanted to love this. I ordered it in white. I really love the way the top fits (even reversed and as pictured) but at the waist it seemed to have to much fabric and made me look a little bulky there. I think if you are rail thin that won't happen. Its very goddess like. I like the fabric a lot but to be honest since its real light weight and airy, I'm not sure how much wear I would have gotten out of this. I ended up taking it back to the store and exchanging it for items I'll get more wear out of. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Tons o'Fabric
7.22.2013
" I love the idea of this dress, and I love all of the style pics. I am still on the fence about it. I kept it, thought about returning it (too late now) and I intend to wear it... some day. I should have sized down 2 sizes. There is a slew of fabric, even though it's thin enough (you will need a slip) it still feels like I am wearing a white California King Sheet. It's rather long as well. Would prefer to wear with sandals but it totally drags on the floor. (knotting it totally helps) I've tried a few times to wear it, but I just haven't figured out which way works best for me (frontwards or backwards). I do like it with a belt. I am determined to make it work before summer is over! I give 4 stars because of size. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:CA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Disappointing
7.14.2013
" Upon ordering this dress, I noticed no problematic features. The length, color (peach/apricot), and fabric seemed great! Once I received the gown, though, it appeared costume-like (Renaissance woman). Also, the adjustable strings at the elbows were inconvenient and difficult to adjust on one's own. The design and silhouette was overpowered by excessive fabric, too. I normally swear by Free People, but this dress was disappointing. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:sc
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Better without the sleeves!
7.11.2013
" Don't get me wrong, I love the look of the dress with the sleeves but honestly they are a bit big for my taste. I tried to be creative with it and I actually tucked the sleeves inside of the dress covering the breast area. I tied each of the sleeves ties together at the waist creating somewhat of an extra cover. This dress is extremely sheer. I thought about getting a funky lace bralette so that it would pop with color. Haven't figured out what i'm going to do with the bottom-maybe a lace slip. I'm wearing it at the beach so I guess I can be as versatile as I like. Also-I'm between and size 12/14 and this dress runs big. I am quite curvy and I love the way it clenches my natural waist. Was also afraid that I would need wedges (I'm 5'2) I can wear it with flats and its the perfect length! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:boston
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Only good as a beach cover-up
7.10.2013
" As much as l wanted to love this, I really just can't. The apricot color just doesn't look pretty to me. The strings are so complicated that I don't have the patience to figure it out. Also, it's completely see-through! Overall, it's going back. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Works Better Worn Backwards
5.6.2013
" I love this dress. Two warnings, however: it is very sheer and it has a lot of fabric. That said, the drawstring waist and drawstrings at the shoulders add a lovely structure that you can adjust to your own taste.
I liked the way it looks worn backwards because the cleavage in front is a little low. It makes a nice V that shows off my back but not so low that I can't wear a strapless bra. It is flattering to my curvy figure. The sleeves show off my collar bones, shoulders and the best parts of my arms (hate my elbows!).
It looks fantastic with a long embroidered vest. It also looks great with a waist length brown leather vest I have, but I'll need boy shorts underneath because the dress is so sheer.
The dress is actually quite versatile. With a vest and my folded leather hat, it's going to be great this summer! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:31-35
body type:petite
Absolutely beautiful
5.2.2013
" Love this dress. it is pretty see through in white. I wore it with a seamless mini in white underneath to make it pop. I like it better wearing it backwards with a belt. I got a XS, i am 5,0 112 lbs and it still drags the ground. So many compliments wearing it with boots or wedge sandles. A great addition to my wardrobe. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Amazing!
5.1.2013
" I am surprised that this has doesn't have 5 stars! It is definitely a loose fitting dress, i sized down a size and could have probably gone down another as well. The back is gorgeous and the draping is amazing everywhere. It is definitely oversized and doesn't have a ton of structure but thats why its so amazing! I got this in white and paired it with a white bodycon dress underneath so my silhouette still peeks through. I highly recommend & a great price point too! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Open Shoulder Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:over 45
body type:slender
Disappointed
4.28.2013
" This dress captured my attention from the lovely catalog picture with the little girl in the photo. My oh my, how sad I was when I received the dress in the mail. It's not shaped at all, more like a long sack with a tie waist and very, very see through. It reminded me of a one size fits all costume. Fabric has a fraile, inexpensive feel, as if it will fall apart with the first wash. I ordered the ivory color but maybe the peach would be a better choice.
I have always been very happy with my FP purchases but this dress had to go back. I would rather pay more for something that looks and fits better. :(
"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.30.2013
So sorry to hear this - we will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large