Product Reviews

Heartworn Boot

Hand distressed leather tall boots with metal stud detailing. Leather sole. Made from artisan leather that is super supple and luxurious feeling, with high and low distressing. Hardware is antiqued, worn from the wash process of the leather. Leather outsole is given a hammered treatment that adds to the vintage look and feel. Nail heads line the bottom of the outsole. **Special note: This runs a half size small. If you are in between sizes, then it is recommended that you size up. For example, 37 1/2 = 38. *By Free People *Leather *Made in Portugal *15" shaft height, 1" heel height, 15" opening circumference
overall average rating:
3.389 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Heartworn Boot
Review 1 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:PA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love these
3.26.2014
"I bought these a couple of months ago and decided since the snow has cleared up to whoop them out. The leather is so soft and creamy feeling. I am a size 6 1/2 and bought a 37 and they fit great. Only problem is that the right boot is hard to get my foot into at the ankle part. As other reviews have said they are not as tall/scrunch as they appear in the pictures which is a bummer. I bought the cognac color and was more underwhelmed about the color than other reviewers. I was expecting something more vibrant, but they just seem like a light brown to me.... But I still received many compliments on them and love all the detail of them."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Rock Solid
3.25.2014
"I've been eyeing these boots for over a year now. I only recently noticed the massive markdown and decided to try them! Beware! They are so small! I normal wear a 7.5 (freebirds/fryes) and was surprised that I couldn't even get my foot into a 38! I'm so sad because they really are so beautiful in person and look well-made. It's such a bummer that they run so narrow and tight! Gonna take a few days for me to get the courage to return these babes..."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
WHAT A STEAL!
3.21.2014
"This boots are A+....no doubt! I just recently noticed that they were marked down to $99 such a big difference from the original price! I wouldn't pass on this baby.... just make sure you go up one size. I normally wear 39 euro but I bought the 40 and it is a perfect fit! The quality is excellent...durable made!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Beautiful boots
3.18.2014
"Normally a 7.5, but the 9 (euro 39) was way too tight in ankle. Sized up to euro 40 and it's perfect, albeit a bit baggy-looking in the ankle region. The black is actually a deep, rich chocolate brown color. Didn't give it 5 stars bc it doesn't slouch down like in pics, sole is slippery, and is a bit too big around the ankles. Otherwise, it's a simple, gorgeous, and versatile boot."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:Penticton, BC, Canada
age:41-45
body type:slender
LOVELY BOOTS
3.14.2014
"Unlike a lot of other reviewers on here, I think that these boots are absolutely lovely. They are very unique and cool. You can wear them up or pushed down. The leather is very soft and supple and the color is nice. I also find, unlike others, that they fit quite true to size. I am a size 6.5 and I bought a 7 and there is room in it. I am not positive yet if I will keep them but they are definitely cool...HOWEVER...I bought them two weeks ago online for $169.95, and the price is now $103.26!! That's almost $70 less than two weeks ago! I hope Free People will refund the difference to me so I can buy more stuff with the refund!!
That may seal the deal as to whether I'll keep them or not. I will still give them 5 stars tho!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:Northern California
age:over 45
body type:petite
so uncomfortable
1.29.2014
"Maybe this is the first pair of boots ever made by this manufacturer. In person, they look like they are made for doll feet, with very little knowledge of the shape of a foot and no consideration of comfort. The foot area is very stiff, almost hard, like plastic. Very slippery soles. I could not wear these for more than a few minutes, they were so uncomfortable."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
Pretty but toe box pointing up
12.18.2013
"I agree with the other reviewers, this is a very pretty boot. Mine had the toe box pointing up and very slippery soles so not even black friday discount on sale price helped…. they were not comfortable enough to walk in for me."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:FL
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Black boots/quality disappointing
12.10.2013
"The other reviews seem to be all for the brown but I needed casual, funky black boots. I did expect a good quality leather for the price and I am very surprised these seem have a plastic feel to them, not quality at all. They are very similar to boots found at LF. They do have nice styling and are very casual. The detailing is not as pronounced as on the picture at all. Ordered the 41 for 9-9.5 and it works. OK for every day, but not what you would expect for price, even at Black Fri. Pricing."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:Timaru New Zealand
age:41-45
body type:petite
I do love these boots.
9.11.2013
"I have these boots in the Cognac, they are a head turner and I get compliments all the time. They were hard to get on and I am usually EUR38 size 8 but had to up size to a EUR40 just to get past the ankle section but I wear them all the time and they are a staple in my wardrobe. And yes even though I went bigger they don't look it. Very well made, give them a go!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:Ecuador
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Amazing Boots!
7.2.2013
"I bought this boots as an alternative to high heels, For me it is really difficult to choose any kind of flat shoe, but this boots are amazing! the look, the material, the color (less reddish than in the picture) I ordered 1/2 number bigger and they fit perfect. Love them a lot!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:albuquerque
age:21-25
body type:slender
pretty but not what i expected
5.18.2013
"the color looks a little duller in person though still pretty. i guess i was expecting these to be taller as well. they fit below my calf pulled straight up without being scrunched at all. also they were pretty hard to get on because it gets really narrow around the ankle and my feet were squeezed a tad when on so i would definitely size up one because they run quite small. love them though and exchanged them for a bigger size."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Love these boots
4.30.2013
"I love these boots. I bought them for my daughter and after I "borrowed" them one night I got myself a pair. I think they run true to size but you really need that extra half size to pull them on. They look great with jeans and casual dresses and are very thin, soft leather. Pricey but worth it. I did put soft pads in the bottom of them for extra comfort."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:myrtle beach, sc
age:36-40
body type:athletic
I wish these worked out
1.19.2013
"I love these boots, the color, the embellishment and the style. They ran very small and to be honest, a little shorter than I expected. I also would re-buy these if they redesigned them to be slight slouchier and taller."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:Edgewood, New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Heartbroken
12.26.2012
"I love these Heartworn boots SO much, but, unfortunately, even though they're true to length, I can't slip my feet into them! They are well-crafted, the leather is velvety soft, and the cognac color is absolutely sumptuous. These boots are unique and desirable in every way. I just hope that Free People re-designs the boot with more room in the vamp section.(Part that contains the top of the foot.) These are TOO beautiful to fade into oblivion. Please adjust the pattern and I'll reorder immediately!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:Boston
age:over 45
body type:petite
so disappointed
12.26.2012
"I wanted to love these boots ... waited a month for them but couldn't have been more disappointed. First of all, they were folded in thirds and shipped in a shoebox -- not what I'd expect for $400 boots. Very narrow and stiff -- so much so that I couldn't get my foot in. One boot was size 36, the other 37, but even if they were both the same size I would have shipped them back. The leather was stiff, the boots stop about 6 inches below the knee, the quality did not merit the steep price. They look great in the photo but in person they're really disappointing. For the price, there are much nicer boots available elsewhere."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:saratoga springs ny
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
let down
12.21.2012
"I must say, these boots look amazing on the website. I don't mind spending the $ when it seems to be something quality and unique.. but I must say, it took me about 10 minutes and a pair of silky thin socks to get these boots on and felt as though they were going to burst at the seams within the first few steps I took. I have very small feet so I am suprised and disappointed by this. I am not sure if I will keep them. On one hand, I hope they might stretch but at the same time, do I rly wna take the chance that a $400 pair of boots are going to bust open at any given moment? hmm.."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Heartworn Boots
12.19.2012
"I had a lot expectations on this boots, but I have to send it back as the color is off than in the picture. It is not that rich brown. They are cute and I wanted to love it, but not for the price. Love shoes and I don't mine to spent a lot when I like them and this is not the case here.. All the details are as shown and I can said the material is soft and luxury. Agree with the first reviewer that they are hard to get on, but I'm sure they will stretch out just with few wears because of the material. Comfortable, true to size, however I recommended to size up if you use thick socks. Overall, if you have the money, go for it. If you are making and effort in terms of money to get these, they might not be for you. They deserve 4 stars though."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Heartworn Boot
Name:
Location:ga
age:over 45
body type:petite
Heartworn boot
12.14.2012
"Hard to get on . Not sure about these."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large