Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Free People 5 Pocket Flare

Soft flare leg jean with 5 pockets. Button and zipper closure. Nail head grommet detailing. *91% Cotton, 7% T400, 2% Lycra *Machine Wash *Import Measurements for Size 28: Rise: 8" Waist: 32" Inseam for Short: 31 1/4" Inseam for Regular: 34 1/4" Inseam for Long: 37 1/4"
overall average rating:
4.045 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Reviews for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Review 1 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:21-25
body type:slender
Great Jeans but too small.
9.23.2011
"They looked great.
They felt great.
But they were so small I couldn't even get them over my butt.
I ordered a size larger because the reviews before said they were too small. They were right.
I had to resell them.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great pair of casual jeans!
7.21.2011
"I was very happy with this purchase! I'm 5'7, 136, size 6 and ordered my usual 28. I'm really picky with jeans but loved these! The jeans are nicer in person in my opinion. Absolutely worth the sale price!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:hong kong
age:21-25
body type:petite
makes your legs super long
4.29.2011
"i got this in 1-2 sizes larger because the correct size was out of stock and later i realized from the comments that the sizes run small. this have no wiggle room at all so make sure you get them in 1-2 sizes up! otherwise they are so amazing!! will consider getting them in the lighter colour too."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:philly, pa
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfect Fit!
4.21.2011
"I'm 5'7", 110lbs, with a slender body type. I had brought these jeans in size 27 regular and they fit perfectly! I thought the length was going to be too short (I usually have to buy tall jeans) but these actually were the perfect size! The only thng though was that it was a bit snug on my hips and thighs which doesn't bother me, but if you have wide hips and thighs I would suggest sizing up for a comfort fit."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:indiana
age:21-25
body type:petite
runs small but really cute.
3.29.2011
"I ordered these in a size 25 (I tend to go between 24 or 25 in jeans. I'm 5'3'', 110lbs, about a 32-24-35. I have a very small waist but a butt and muscular legs). These 25s are quite small and fit more like what I'd expect from a 24 in FP bottoms. I had to get the regular length so they're obviously very long, but I wanted a pair of flares that would fit nicely without dropping bigger bucks for a "premium denim" version. So I got these for the sale price which is, obviously, quite a steal! I would probably only wear these with my highest wedge platforms, and will probably need at least an inch taken off to make them work with those shoes! A for the fit, these flares are really quite flattering, especially with the five-pocket style and the super slim leg. As for sizing, if you're between sizes go with the larger one, and maybe even order up!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:nyc
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
awesome fit, but size down
3.23.2011
"i'm 5'8" and about 135 lbs... i read the reviews about these and decided to try a 27 instead of my usual 26. they fit me perfectly. i never wear heels, so i decided i'd get the regular length. they're super cute and i'm looking forward to rockin' them this spring with cute vintage finds from the 60s and 70s... maybe pair them with some cute ethnic-inspired sandals and flowy, romantic peasant tops :-)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:slender
Run tiny
3.21.2011
"These jeans are awesome if you can get past the sizing issue. I sized up two sizes-which is pretty frustrating. Once you get the right size however, they're awesome. I have a slightly boyish shape and these create curves that just aren't really there. I especially love them with a chunky wooden heel or wedges. Very 70's chic.Totally worth it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:New York (no NOT New York City)
age:14-20
body type:slender
I thought you delivered
3.12.2011
"I have been joansing for the perfect pair of skinny flares all winter long; finally, as winter draws to a close, the sun comes out, and temperatures threaten to make denim unbearably hot, I have found them. comfotable and slimming, this pair is delightful. I also found them to run a touch small (I ordinarly opt for a 27 but for these took a 28), though I find myself sizeing up most often times in free people denim."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:North Augusta, Sc
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Too Long
3.7.2011
"I am 5'4" , 134. The size 29 fit perfectly except they were 3 inches too long for the regular size. The dark wash color is very pretty and the jeans fit amazing. They are really soft. Too bad there are no more "short" available :("
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:over 45
body type:slender
looking good!
12.24.2010
"I found these true to size. I bought the darker color and like them. I found them to fit overall like other FP jeans except the regular length is not as long. My other FP pants & jeans were always just the right length with a 2 & 1/2" heel. They skimmed the ground. But not these."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:Houston
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Almost Perfect
12.11.2010
"I really love these jeans ~ they look so awesome on. The only problem I have is that the waist measurement does not match up with the thighs and butt measurements of the jeans. I bought a 28 although I normally wear a 27. I had to go up because the thighs and butt were way too snug in the 27's. The 28's were great except the waist band stretches out quite a bit after just a short time of wearing them. The thighs stretch out just enough but I could not keep these jeans up because of the waist. I still love the jeans though because they flare out just enough without being too much like bell bottoms."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:PA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Joplin
11.21.2010
"If you can figure out the right size to get these jeans will surely flatter. Order AT LEAST one size up, two to be safe. Wasn't a fan of the Joplin color in person, it's darker and just has a weird tint to it that I didn't care for. I thought the length was a bit short because I wanted to wear these with clog wedges. The flare could have been bigger too. A nice break from skinnies though."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:San Jose
age:21-25
body type:slender
pleased
11.19.2010
"I just received these in the mail, and am pleased. The cut is great, and they fit nicely. I feel like FP bottoms tend to run a bit small, so i ordered a size larger to be sure, yet still feel like they are a bit snug, I may exchange for even a larger pair. I love the extended lengths also, it's nice for me, as I usually am unable to find good jeans that are long enough:)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:new york
age:14-20
body type:petite
perfect
10.12.2010
"I've been looking for a good pair of flare jeans, and these are it! I got the darker color and it's awesome, I want to order the lighter one now too! I'm normally a 25-26 in (urban outfitters/anthropologie) jeans... but in FP I always know to size up... so I got the 27 and they fit perfect. I am 5 foot and ordered the short, but they still drag a little so I have to get them hemmed anyway. Great basic flare jeans!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:OH
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Listen to your customers!!!
10.11.2010
"These jeans have so much potential!! I loved them when I saw them online especially that they offered LONG pants thank god for tall girls who like to wear heels!!! They def. need to resize them. What an aweful marketing strategy!! If you want your customers to feel good about themselves in your clothes, try to make them run big rather than making them need to size up by two!!! Other than that they have potential!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:ct
age:21-25
body type:petite
Perfect Flares!
8.31.2010
"I am 5'3 117lbs 25" waist and usually a size 25-26 in jeans. I took the advice and ordered a size 28 and its perfect! A little loose in the waist but nothing a belt cant fix (or long shirts so my underwear wont show when i sit down!) I also got these in a size short and they are perfect. I can wear them with my new FP angel buckle boots or with flat sneakers and the length is fine for both. I got the joplin color and i love the vintage look to them. you cant find jeans anymore than fit perfect and at a reasonable price and these are perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Seamless Tupelo Honey Top
4.6 out of 5(75)
 
 
 
Angel Buckle Heel
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 17 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:maryland
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
DIS-A-POINT-ED!
8.27.2010
"Wow! This was a huge disappointment! I listened to the ladies on here and sized up and they are still very uncomfortable. I was hoping for that soft jean material FP is known for, but not this time. I can only speak for the "joplin" color, but the material was hard/scratchy and I sized up to a 30 and it was still VERY tight. I could have worn them if I wanted to to torture myself all day. I am normally a 28/29 and this was just bad. I could probably order up again to 31 and it would fit right, but I'm not even interested because of the fabric. For anyone who's normal size is 30 or 31, I wouldn't even bother with this jean. I think it is better suited for the smaller sizes who have the ability to size up a couple times. Ugh."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:Beantown
age:31-35
body type:petite
sizing is odd
8.25.2010
"I love that FP offers short length! I am petite at 5'2" 110lbs. I couldn't decide on which color jeans I liked better so I ordered a pair in both the light and dark washes. I am normally a size 26 in jeans but in FP I sometimes wear a 27. I decided to try a 27 in these jeans. The Midnight Indigo were tight but once I got them on they seemed to be ok. The Joplin color had a way tighter fit. I did visit a FP store and tried the regular length in these jeans and I seem to be in-between sizes for some reason. The 28 left too much room around the waist but fit better everywhere else. The other issue with the darker wash was that the stiching seam on the side of the leg was crooked and did not line up on the side of my leg but rather went across the front - I hate when that happens! - I sent them back for another pair of the Midnight Indigo in size 27 - wish me luck!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:Arkansas
age:21-25
body type:petite
love!
8.20.2010
"I love these jeans! I always have to get my pants hemmed because I'm pretty short (5'0") so I was super excited when I saw that they were offering additional lengths. I got the short length and they were perfect. Im wearing them with sneakers right now. They also run pretty small. I usually wear a 25 but I got these in a 27 and they are still a bit snug on my thighs...but the waist is perfect."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Free People 5 Pocket Flare
Name:
Location:Dallas, Texas
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Love them!
8.20.2010
"These pair are so flattering!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>