Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Costas Striped Maxi Dress

Cool striped maxi long-sleeved dress. Buttons up chest. Tapers at the bottom. *95% Polyester, 5% Spandex *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 50 _" Bust: 27 " Bottom Opening: 25" Sleeve Length: 26"
overall average rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:973
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
LOVE THIS DRESS;0NE PROMBLEM !
5.18.2012
" ordering this dress was so overwhemling first the PLUM / ivory on the model looks black and grey so i ordered it & its not what it seems its PURPLE & GREY.. hated it so i returned it. Then every operator who helped me order messed up either on the price, color or size took me up to 4 times to finally get my correct order in. Besides all the fustration just got the black & ivory in today & im so happy so cute and comfy !! "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb5.18.2012
We're so sorry to hear about your frustration while ordering this dress. If there's anything else that we can do to help, please let us know by emailing service@freepeople.com We're glad to hear you love the dress!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Washington DC
age:41-45
body type:petite
Striped fun!!!
5.11.2012
" Love the feel and look of this dress regarding fit and length. I'm 5'3", 110lbs, and bought a small--normally I wear XS but a few reviewers said this was tight fitting. S is perfect. The only thing I'm not crazy about is that the color description says Black & Ivory, but there is no way the dress has any ivory color in it. It's bright white! I was hoping for a more toned down look with ivory, but I still love the dress. The color is the only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars. The fit and style are awesome! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Columbia, MD
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
well-made, comfortable and sexy
5.2.2012
" this dress has the perfect amount of thickness and clinginess, not tight but perfect. If worried about it being too sexy for work I recommend throwing on a cardigan. I wore it with short boots like the ad and it looks great. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
AGAIN, I COULD WEAR IT EVERY DAY
3.26.2012
" I am 5'6 and 132 lb. I bought a SMALL, back and ivory striped dress. Even though I have not worn the dress in public ( I am still looking for a desired pair of shoe that will go with it)... I am in love with this dress. It feels so great on the body and it is true to its size. Can not wait for the weather to improve so I can finally wear it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:slender
Really Great Dress
3.5.2012
" This dress is soooo comfortable. It looks really good on. I got the one with the purple stripes. Its very flattering and I would say runs true to size. I love how you can wear the dress at different lengths. You can gather it up to wear with boots and it will stay a that length. Great purchase! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Iowa
age:26-30
body type:petite
soft and comfy
3.3.2012
" This dress looks really good on. I think it runs true to size. I'm usually a small on FP form fitting pieces but an XS in the oversize/loose pieces. So with that said I got this dress in a small. I tried the XS but my breasts couldn't breath & I am a 32D. The sleeves are too long too but I'm okay with bunching it up. The dress has some stretch but I wouldn't say it has a lot of stretch to it. Also I'm only 5'1" so it's not midi length on me it actually hits my ankles but I still like the dress. It's a win or lose with this one. Just got to try it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego, California
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Didn't work out for me
2.14.2012
" I love the idea of this dress and how it looks on the models. However, it didn't work for me. I sized up to a Medium because I didn't want it to be super tight ... so the sleeves were too long and the dress reached my ankles. The Small would have be too tight and probably would have still been too long also. I'm 5'4. I think this dress works best for someone that is tall, not average height. The material is nice and soft but it could be better, especially for the price. Oh well some things are just not meant to be. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Jersey City, NJ
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Wish I could wear it every day
2.3.2012
" This is so comfortable and easy to wear. I get tons of compliments on it at work and just walking around. I wish I could wear it every day!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Fave Maxi Dress
2.2.2012
" I bought this in the plum colour, and I would say the other stripes are grey, not ivory. I am usually a S in FP but I sized up to a M based on the other reviews. It is a little bit loose, especially in the torso and arms, but I prefer it being a little loose as opposed to skin tight. It is very flattering and I agree with some of the other reviewers, it is not see through at all. You can definitely see your shape, but not anything else. Since I am almost 5'5 it is a little longer on me than the model, and hits me almost at my ankles. I wore it with a belt to make it a bit shorter and it was the perfect length that way. I would definitely recommend this dress but I think choosing a size is based on personal preference. Size up if you prefer it a little bit looser and stay with your regular size if you want it extremely form fitting. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:CA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
!!!!
1.8.2012
" this dress is pretty amazing. the fit is really flattering regardless of your shape, the material seems substantial and it's not see through! I've only worn it once so far and i've gotten so many compliments. I wish the plum/ivory also had a high contrast stitch like the black/ivory. Also i wish the ivory was a little more ivory instead of stark white with the black and ivory one. It makes it look a little cheap, but all the other pros totally make up for it. I'm usually a sm/m, went with a small and i think that was a good decision cause the fabrics really stretchy. do not hesitate, buy!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Valencia California
age:36-40
body type:petite
Whats 'NOT' to love!!
1.1.2012
" This dress fits and feels AMAZING!
If you want to look great and FEEL great, this is the dress for you! It is form fillting and works for both slim gals as well as us girls with shape!
I am 5'1 and this dress works! My friend who bought this is 5'7 and it works for her as well ! she bought the entire outfit (dress and boots), It looks amazing! Buy with confidence! Free People has done it AGAIN!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:W-R NJ
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Looks great and feels very comfortable
12.30.2011
" I love this dress! It is the type of dress you wear when you don't want to get up and go to work. I put it on with a pair of boots, threw on a solid black scarf, and off I went.
I received so many compliments on how great it looked. Remember, it's true to size, I am normaly a 4(small) but I got a medium to be on the safe side (because of the horizonal stripes).
WARNING: the material is so comfortable, you may fall asleep! lol
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:slender
Costas Maxi Dress
12.23.2011
" Comfortable, sassy, fun dress, Runs true to size. I'll be wearing this a lot! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Bozeman, MT
age:21-25
body type:athletic
WAY too big...
12.15.2011
" So i had the opposite problem of the other two reviews...after reading them i ordered a small (generally an xs or s in fp depending on the item). It came and was wayy too big. went down to my ankles and i actually found it to be very stretchy and not a thin material at all. Other than the fact that it was huge, i really liked this dress and will be returning for the xs. For reference im 5'3 115 lbs. I gave it 4 stars cause in the right size i think it will be adorable. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:over 45
body type:slender
This dress is very small
12.13.2011
" I just received this dress, and was so excited to get it, but it ran very, very small. I normally wear an XS in FP, and I could barely get this dress on (I'm a size 0, 25 jean). I've decided to re-order the dress in a Small, and hope that I don't have to go up to a medium. The dress is really cute with accents of small red stitching. It will be a great dress if I can find the right size. The reason I gave it only 4 stars is due to the sizing. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Costas Striped Maxi Dress
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Runs Small
12.9.2011
" This dress runs really small so I would definitely size up. There is not a lot of stretch to the fabric,and it tapers really tight at the bottom, which makes walking a bit awkward. The length of size small hit mid calf on my 5'7" frame. I'm going to exchange for a medium for a looser and more casual fit. It's a bit sheer too, so perhaps NSFW without a slip... "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large