Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Alpine Sweater Dress

Patterned long-sleeve sweater dress with rounded neckline. Comes with slip dress underneath. The pattern around the body is lightly texturized. *66% Cotton, 34% Rayon *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 32" Bust (all around): 39" Sleeve Length: 18 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Reviews for Alpine Sweater Dress
Review 1 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne VIC, Australia
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
perfect!
4.1.2013
"Got this in the red xs. I was worried it would be too small on me but it fits perfectly! Absolutely gorgeous, can be worn on its own in summer or dressed up in winter!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:texas
age:14-20
body type:athletic
love it
2.6.2013
"I cannot get enough of this dress. So cozy. Perfect length. I'm 5'4", athletic build, and I got a medium. A small probably would've worked, but I'm not a fan of tighter clothing."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Somewhere, TN
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Wished it had worked....
2.5.2013
"I bought this dress on sale and was looking forward to wearing it before winter ended. Sadly, it didn't work for me. I sized down, but this made the dress far too short. The bagginess & short length didn't do much for me, so had to return."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Alpine Sweater Dress ' Love it !!
1.21.2013
"I love this dress ! It is light weight but is perfect for Calif weather and for cooler climate can still be worn early spring and fall. Love the softness of it too !! After reading other reviews of how soft , it had me sold as I can't wear many sweaters as I'm allergic to fabric. The rayon in this dress provides that great feel. It is very thin , but as I said many other seasons to be worn in. There is a comfortable slip that is Detachable !! That is Also , Adjustable !! Which I like because I can have it showing or not. I like to pull up one side and have that angle appearance where one side of the slip shows and knot it w/ a coordinating scrunchy or tie w/ a small scarf etc. . It can be worn many ways. I wish now they had the black one. Anyway I got the large , I'm 5'5 and 137 lbs- it fits perfect , yes the neckline can be just a tad big if not wide shoulder but I don't mind letting one side hang off my shoulder which is little.or you can in the middle of neckline pinch a bit and use a pretty pin and scarf. It is great w/ leggings which I love wearing w/ boots and for warmer days / eves a pair of sandals would be great ! It's a great buy !! very versatile"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:alabama
age:over 45
body type:curvy
I like it
1.15.2013
"I have this dress in both colors. It gives a bit with wear throughout the day but it is loose and comfortable over tights and leggings."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Indiana, USA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Love it!
1.15.2013
"I got the red and it's perfect! I bought it as a birthday gift from a wish list and it's a perfect way to cheer up the winter blues."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Cute top
1.11.2013
"I plan to wear this as a top not a dress, as I am 5'10" and it is tunic length on me (above mid thigh). I am a size 4 to 6 (35-27-35). I got a small. The fit is large-ish around the waist and hips. It has a slight A line effect. However it is quite snug in the sleeve area. An XS would have been too tight in the arms. I think my arms are a regular size. So be careful about sizing down if you are broad shouldered or have larger arms. The sleeves are 3/4 length not full length. The black colour is a little more washed out than appears on the computer. Gives it a more vintage look. On mine, the slip tends to peek out at the bottom of the dress by a good inch or 2. This does not bother me as I like the extra length but may bother some. It is detachable. It is very soft and comfortable, but not that warm. Will be keeping."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:26-30
body type:curvy
I really like it but don't love it
1.10.2013
"I got the red and white one in a medium and I usually wear a M/L. Fit was fine but for some reason the fit on top made me look very broad across the shoulders - it was a bit frumpy/baggy around the neckline. Sort of like a worn in t-shirt That would be my only complaint, but maybe I'm being too paranoid about it. Super comfortable, but also very lightweight so don't be deceived if you are looking for a true sweater dress. I'll keep it for sure."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:CA
age:31-35
body type:petite
figure flattering, true to size
1.8.2013
"I don't think this dress runs big. The sleeves are even a bit tight on me. If you want the oversized look, you can go up a size. It fits on me perfectly.
I'm 32B-26-35 and I got a XS based on people's reviews. I could get a S too. I love this.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Bloomington, IN
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Warm and Cute
12.30.2012
"I'd wanted this dress when I first saw it on the site, but I was having a hard time paying $108 for it. When it went on sale I jumped on it, and I'm glad I got it. I got a Medium in the Red. It does run a little big, and it's kind of long for a FP Dress. But it's a great length and I'm very happy with it! I may even buy the other color too (: It also looks wonderful layered with a sweater on top, especially if you live in a colder area."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Houston
age:21-25
body type:curvy
super cute!
12.15.2012
"This sweater dress tends to fit a little large on top and fairly snug in the stomach. For some proportions, this is a perfect fit, unfortunately I'm built the opposite way. I could fit into a Small but I ended up with a Large just so I could rock it oversized and with a fitted crop jacket. INCREDIBLE purple color, it's a nice alternative to your traditional holiday sweater and you can wear well into the new year! I've had my eye on this and now that it's marked down there was no excuse not to grab it!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:The Dakotas
age:31-35
body type:athletic
very cute!!
12.4.2012
"I love this dress. I originally ordered a small, since the reviews said to size down. Then the Small came and it was big as well. I am normally a medium in most brands being 135lbs. 5'9, and a 36B. Free People runs large on me so I sent it back and got the XS today. Really the only difference was it was a little shorter and the slip on the inside was a little tighter. It is still loose fitting, that is the style. I was hoping it would be more form fitting, but I love it just the same and i am keeping it!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:c.bus
age:26-30
body type:slender
ehh..
11.27.2012
"really wanted to love this. it has a beautiful pattern and the purple/black color palette lit up my blonde hair & grey-blue eyes. however, it's a box. and not in a cute funky hipster way. the design seems unfinished, and it's unflattering, even with a belt. no fun. i wish they had made a dolman sweater or something more flattering to the figure with this pattern."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
amazing colors run big
11.24.2012
"Got this in red XS and totally agree with the previous reviewer. This is very fun for layering over jeans or wearing with tights and tall bootsThe colors of the red are truly delicios, its more of a orange spice red than a true red but it makes me happy, the warm colors when the wind is howling and it is a very flattering colors for my complexion...dark hair, fair skin. I a hesitant to keep only for one reason, it fits large, its almost mid thigh and bulges around the hip area since the slip does not have much weight. I am 5'4'' 105 lbs and 32C and why o why FP dont you have a size XXS...it would make me and many other petites very very happy:)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 15 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Love this Dress!
11.24.2012
"I got this dress in a small and its fits great-Im a 34B, 5'4". Its a bit thin for a "sweater", but the built in slip is great. I think it will look awesome with just boots in the spring/fall or leggings in the winter."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love this!
11.23.2012
"Bought this dress a few days ago, and I love it, but I'm glad I tried it on in the store. I'm usually a small, but the small was really big on me. The XS was perfect. It was still loose, but it's the way it's made to fit."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Cute and comfy!
11.19.2012
"It fits great and is super cute. Got this dress in small, for reference I'm 34-28-29. Fun to style as a dress over tights/leggings with high socks and boots OR with jeans as a long tunic!! Super versatile!! I have the red and blue color way and just love it!! Only wore it once so far and got a ton of compliments! Definitely recommend and it even comes with it's own slip!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Alpine Sweater Dress
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Meh...
11.16.2012
"I wanted this dress to work. The colors are GORGEOUS in person, especially the red. But it was just too big on me. The length was fine, but it is cut very wide in the body. The sleeves are tighter. I didn't like the fabric either. I wish it was a little thicker because it hung kinda funny and wrinkly... I think this would look great on someone who is super thin and tall, but on a petite with hips it just looked okay... I like the idea of the built-in slip though!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large