Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Vintage Kanta Bag

Handmade multi-patterned fabric tote bag with leather handles. Hems are raw edge and show some light fraying. Studded utility pocket at each bottom side. Made from vintage fabrics, so no two will be exactly alike and most likely will featured different patterns and colors than what is pictured. Inside is fully lined with pouches. Magnetic snap button closure at top. *By Free People
overall average rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vintage Kanta Bag
Review 1 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Great roomy bag...
3.4.2014
"....except for the goofy clown pompoms that don't match the look or feel of the bag. Otherwise, a wonderful "throw everything into it" bag."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, OH
age:31-35
body type:petite
Crazy about this bag
3.1.2014
"My mom bought this bag for me at the store in Boston where she lives and sent it to me from my son for Valentine's Day. I adore it! It's so comfy, the pockets are super convenient, and the colors are gorgeous. The problem I had was that 6 of the the studs on one side pocket came off in the first two days. The first two came off in my had the first time I touched it. I live in Cincinnati and don't have a FP store. It was too much of production to send it back to Boston or even to the e-commerce dept. so I'm dealing with it but it is a bummer. Overall, I'd still recommend this bag, especially for the price. It's perfect to use everyday but also big enough to tote my water bottle, towel, etc. to yoga."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:the cold north
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
terrible colors. reeally terrible.
2.4.2014
"i ordered the tea colored bag and i have been so excited!! i was eyeing it for months and it was never in any store close to me so i ordered it. i even payed expedited shipping! now, i know each one is different and thats part of the charm but it needs to at least be in the same color range. the tag on the bag i recieved says "brown", and all of the patches are a muted seasick kind of green. there is a tiny patch with a pinch of yellow, and some more green patches with stains that look like blue and red watercolor. this may be appealing to some people, and i am so not picky. plus, in most cases i love green!!!! BUT how do i get a bag that is actually tea colored? with pretty yellows? and browns? and not all green? i'm heartbroken. and i do not want to look like a dirty crust punk with this bag."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Bergen, NJ, USA
age:21-25
body type:slender
For the Grungy Boho Traveler
1.11.2014
"I purchased this bag two weeks ago, and I have never loved a bag more. It is aesthetically pleasing and convenient for traveling. Very spacious and bigger than it appears, but bigger in an awesome way. Consider purchasing if you need a beach bag or a travel bag or just like the oversized quality for day to day usage. I would definitely recommend this bag to others; it is absolutely rad."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:beverly hills, ca
age:over 45
body type:slender
this is just a wonderful addition......
11.29.2013
"It's so comfortable. For me, the blue is just heaven. it's so 70's and I just don't know what else to say. It's a nice alternative to label competition and looks great if you keep your dressing pattern free. And the best part is the thick stunning leather strap which makes it so comfortable. And the price, now that's just perfect. I had no idea how easy it would be to switch to this and I jut love it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Louisiana
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
A Hippie/Bohemian Dream
10.19.2013
"I love this bag. As a seamstress, I can say that it is extremely well-made and the colors (I got Indigo) are vivid and bright. It's a large bag, not not too large, if you know what I mean. I love the two outside pockets on the sides where I keep my cell phone and keys. Thanks FP for yet another fantastic, beautiful, quality product!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
age:41-45
body type:curvy
cute but lacks the quality of the price tag
10.14.2013
"Overall this is a cute bag. The colors are subdued, but it still stands out. But, the quality is not worth the price. The lining is quite thin and the outer material is as well. I have been using the bag for about 5 days and had to sew a burst seem already. If you pay $98 for a bag, I'm thinking you shouldn't have to repair it within 5 days, so that is why I'm giving only 3 stars. Wait for it to go on sale...like a really good sale!!!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:San Jose, Ca.
age:31-35
body type:petite
Beautiful Bag
9.21.2013
"This bag is one of a kind and super roomy . And I love the fact that all of them differ from eachother. Definately worth the money!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Mississippi, USA
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Any good hippie needs one!
8.22.2013
"I bought this bag today in the berry color combo from Victoria at the New Orleans store...I am so glad I did! It's even cuter in person..it's very roomy and will look great with everything in my closet! The price is great too...Don't hesitate to buy it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Washington, US
age:21-25
body type:slender
Wow
7.11.2013
"I’d had this bag on my favorites for months before I committed to purchasing it, but I’m so glad that I finally did! It’s beautiful! I ordered mine in the “berry” color and was met with zero unpleasant surprises—it’s exactly the color in the pictures, if a smidge more vibrant, and is covered with eclectic patchwork patterns in shades of gold, navy, olive, and burnt sienna. The pompom accessory and studded pockets pull it together beautifully. I love the worn look, the large size, the soft leather strap, and the deep side pockets. No complaints from me! Thanks FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
Gorgeous Handmade Tote
6.14.2013
"This bag is gorgeous! Looks way better in person, the purple one is way more purple colored and gorgeously detailed than it looks. The leather strap is awesome, the size is perfect, and the cloth is a soft quilting."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Chalfont Pa.
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Love this bag!
6.12.2013
"I just got this bag and I love it. It's exactly what I was looking forl. The lining is thin but the bag is awesome. I 'm in love. So glad I made this purchase. Was not disappointed.
Jackie
Pennsylvania
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Washington DC Suburb
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Picture Perfect
5.11.2013
"I was admiring this one online and unexpectedly found it in my new FP Bethesda MD store. Happy Mothers Day for me! The strap appears sturdy. I've already used it once and it feels great on your shoulder. As an earlier reviewer stated, I'm a bit concerned about the lining being a bit thin but I was more than willing to take the chance. Super sized with cell pocket and larger pocket inside. Mine has a beige lining with is unique and makes it very easy to spot things. I'm very happy with my purchase and new Bethesda store!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:slender
Without flaw
5.6.2013
"I've never been so obsessed with something. This has to be the best thing i've gotten from free people, which says a lot, free people being the store of my dreams. The bag is so light weight and comfortable to carry around. It seems to hang on my shoulder just perfectly. I've had it for a few months now and use it nearly every day. It's held up pretty well, except for a slight tear on one of the patches (it looks almost as if it belongs though.) If you're even considering making this purchase, i say go for it. You won't be disappointed."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Sacramento
age:31-35
body type:petite
Adorable, beautiful, words can't describe...
3.25.2013
"I ordered 2 of these... One from the San Jose,Ca store and one online that I guess shipped from New York... They are both different. The online one arrived today. It's absolutely beautiful. It has colors similar to the picture of the bag on the left (greens w/a little blue). The other one from the store looks similar in color to the one on the right with softer hues and more reddish/pinks. Both have different fabrics and are not the same. I love them both nonetheless. Plan on returning one but I can't decide on which. I just might keep them both! They are so unique and I don't think I'll find nicer bags. I highly recommend as I'm sure they all have beautiful fabric."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Columbus, Ohio
age:41-45
body type:athletic
gorgeous casual bag
3.21.2013
"Although they reportedly vary, the fabrics on my bag look very much like those shown in the photos. The bag is HUGE so worked great as a carry-on for travel, but I've also carried it as just a handbag where it's the perfect accessory for casual day-to-day outfits. The pockets/compartments are nice for helping to quickly find things, and I love the sturdy leather strap. My only concern (and hence the 4 stars rather than 5) is that the lining is pretty thin, and I'm quite worried about it tearing away from the magnetic closure."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:sacramento, CA
age:36-40
body type:petite
Best Yoga Bag Ever!
2.13.2013
"I love the outside cargo pockets with studs. I might sew in some magnetic clasps like the main compartment has though. The leather handle is supply and great quality. I love the silver rings on the straps to hang my keys and junk on. All of the material used is soft and matches everything I wear. LOVE this bag! Holds my notebooks and my yoga clothes and my water bottle no problem."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:chicago
age:over 45
body type:petite
Love it.
2.10.2013
"I am going to have to disagree with the previous review. It is what it is. It's a Vintage Kanta Bag....and that's what you get! I went to the store to purchase it (My first visit to a Free People store! <3, love, love love Wicker Park!) so that I could choose my bag myself. I knew my bag immediately, I found one with colors that make me smile, and I love the kitschy fabrics, the colors are bright and the patterns are so fun. And I can't find any stains. I love the two outer pockets, so handy for my keys and such. I can easily fit my hand in the pockets with room to spare. And yes, the studs on the pocket are just studs...but the bag is made of scraps, so....... Great drop on the strap. I can carry it over my shoulder and no slipping off. If your look is boho or you are just a hippie at heart, you will love this bag. I am going to wear this bag out!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Vintage Kanta Bag
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Hmmmm
2.6.2013
"I have to admit that I am obsessed with Kantha. I have 4 Kantha dresses from Free People's sister site. And anytime I am at the flea market and see a reasonable piece of Kantha, I snatch it up. When I saw these bags, I knew I had to have one. I also thought it was a great price for a vintage Kantha bag.
So, I ordered three so I could choose one and send two back. They came yesterday and of course, in my secret heart of hearts I was yearning for the gorgeous pink one the model is wearing. All three that came looked very similiar. Much more like the multicolored darker bag in the pictures. The bags are very shapeless, more like a giant beach bag than a purse. I also found the lining and clasp to be flimsy and I do not know how long it will last. However, the vintage Kantha is gorgeous. Every bag that came had at least one patch that had some sort of stain on it, so be aware this is vintage used fabric. I am keeping one of the bags, because I think it makes a great carry on for the trips I am taking this year. It is not nice enough to use as an everyday purse. And I hate, hate, hate the cheap beaded studs on the pockets. It really cheapens the "purse.".
It is still a really cool patched bag, but if I did not know it was vintage fabric or how much it costs, I could mistake it for a bag from the store with the giant bullseye."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large