Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Seashore Battenburg Dress

Feminine mid-length dress with embroidered, netted upper bodice. Sleeves and upper back are unlined. Fitted waist with flouncy skirt portion. Netted and crochet embellished bottom hem with scalloped edges. Hi-low style. Zipper closure at side of waist. Lined.
overall average rating:
2.9 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Customer Reviews for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Review 1 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:Georgia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Terrible
2.7.2014
"DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME HAVING TO RETURN!!! The previous reviews were true. I ordered an XS and it fits and looks more like a Large or XL. There is no way I could ever wear it or even get it altered to work. Free People seriously messed up with this dress! It will be returned!"
Response from Free People:By Free People2.7.2014
Hi cecily3163,

We're sorry to hear about your purchase. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:26-30
body type:slender
Beautiful, but not sized well
1.19.2014
"The dress is very well made and absolutely beautiful in person. The beading is subtle but really nice and the back is gorgeous. I wanted to keep this dress. I wanted it to work for my spring wedding but the XS I ordered was more than a little too big and at 5'6'' this dress was an odd lenghth on me. If you can, size down at least one size."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Pretty disappointing.
12.17.2013
"I fell in love with this dress when I saw it and immediately spent an uncharacteristic amount of money on it for a holiday party coming up at my company. It seemed like the kind of dress I would not stop wearing.
I didn't notice that it has beading on it and was surprised to see it when I opened my package. I guess I didn't look closely enough at the pictures, but the description didn't say anything about beading either.
I'm pretty tall and usually wear mediums, but there was only smalls so I ordered it. I'm as tall as the model pictured and she was wearing a small so I thought it might even be a little tight. IT IS HUGE! The sleeves don't look fitted, the bodice is very loose and unflattering. I thought about having it taken in and ripping the beading out, but instead decided that for $110, I should just return it if I'm not in love with it. I would maybe even buy two sizes smaller.
I'm bummed out about it. Love Free People but I guess this dress is just not for me! Better luck next time."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:new york
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Should've returned
12.10.2013
"I bought this dress falling in love with the smokey gray color, style, and detailing. I ignored reviews about the sizing figuring I would just order a size down. I ordered an xs and although it fits my waist well enough it's very puffy and large around the hips making the dress have a weird fit in general. I would've just gone to get it taken in or hemmed but what really bugs me out is the false color the picture provides. What was supposed to be a purple/gray dress turned out to be just a sad looking grayish brown? A very unappealing color. I want to ignore the color inaccuracy but every time I think of possibly using this dress I am so dissatisfied with it's overall look and hang it right back up on the hanger. now I have this dress sitting in my closet and I have no idea what to do with it. It could've been perfect."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:Western Australia
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Love but.......
12.2.2013
"The lace on this dress is gorgeous and has an amazing hem line BUT the colour was completely different than was pictured. It is also quite a large fit around the waist and hips. I will have it altered to fit properly.....on the positive the back of this dress is awesome !!! I will be keeping it :-)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Weird Fit
10.3.2013
"I love this dress now, but when I received it in the mail I was really disappointed. Firstly, the dress is huge; I ordered an xs and it seems more like a medium. It is still wearable, but as a loose dress, not form fitting like on the model. Also, the smoke color is almost a brown instead of purple/gray like in the photo. But paired with the right accessories, it still looks great, just not what I originally anticipated!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:Washington State
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful but huge
9.10.2013
"I am hoping to use this dress as my wedding dress. The detailing is beautiful and the fabric really is a gorgeous french vanilla color that is creamier than in the pictures. I love it!
I will have to exchange it for an extra small however, because it is absolutely huge on me. I usually wear a medium or small in dresses, and decided to go with a small based on the reviews.
I am 5'10" 34-27-34, if anyone wants to use me as a reference.
The length is great for a summer wedding, hits right below the knee on my long legs. Not a traditional length but not scandalously short either. Just right.
Because this will be my wedding dress I might get it tailored if the XS is still too large. I don't mind esspecially since the price on this dress is great.
I recommend but size down for sure!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Beautiful
9.2.2013
"The details of this dress are beautiful however it really does run large! I'm 5'6 34,28,34. I ordered an extra small (which I never do, but based on previous reviews I made that choice). It fit me up top fairly well, arms fit well, waist was a little large, but what really caused an issue was the fabric at the bottom. There seems to be a lot extra around the hips which makes it look a bit matronly. I'm using this as my wedding dress so I plan to get it altered. I found out that alterations are very doable with this dress which is great! Overall it's beautiful, just a little big all over, but nothing that can't be fixed if you have the need to do so."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:Powell, OH
age:31-35
body type:slender
Runs really large
7.24.2013
"I took a chance despite the previous review about the fit of this dress, but she is absolutely right. It runs really big so order a size down. Unfortunately, in my case I can't order down from an XS, but I love the style and details of the dress so much I will be taking it in for alterations! :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Seashore Battenburg Dress
Name:
Location:NM
age:36-40
body type:slender
Sadly too big
7.22.2013
"Sadly this dress did not work out for me, as it was too roomy in the chest and waist. I am 5'4", 115 lbs, 34B-C, and 29" waist and ordered an XS, my usual size. On the web model the dress looks fitted in the bodice but on me it just hung, loose and baggy. While I don't mind a loose fit on certain items, on this dress it just looked matronly. It was also compounded by the fact that I couldn't wear a bra to get any kind of lift because of the open back. The crochet work is truly beautiful on the back and someone with a bit fuller bust might have better luck. I truly wanted it to work but there's just no way. I won't slam the dress entirely because I really believe on the right body type it might work well and it does have some great details. Also you should take note that the colour listed is french vanilla. This is very accurate. In the picture it looks more ivory but it is actually a more yellowed ivory....i.e. french vanilla."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large