Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Errol Leather Boot

Distressed leather tall boot with zipper opening up each inner side. Top of each outer side has a slit and metal eyelet stud detailing. Rubber sole. *By Faryl Robin for Free People *Leather Upper *Import *15 3/4" shaft height, 1" heel height, 15 1/2" opening circumference
overall average rating:
2.917 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Customer Reviews for Errol Leather Boot
Review 1 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Very happy
6.24.2013
" Totally regret not getting the black while they were in stock; I could have had both colors for the original price of one! These are awesome leather boots for the sale price. I am picky with boot shape, and these are very flattering, especially at the ankle. They were a little stiff, but after a few wears they were fine. Unlike previous reviews, they were not tight for me, just stiff. I am a size 6.5 and opted for 7. My only negative would be about the distressing. It's done very poorly and looks very unnatural, like the previous reviews state. However, I bought them with that in mind. Easy fix. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Harper Metal Heel
4.4 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 2 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:uruguay
age:26-30
body type:slender
different from the picture
6.19.2013
" the leather is different from the leather on the picture, its stiffer and not as loose as it looks on the picture .
in general they are ok , but again, leather is not the same as in the picture.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:Sunshine Coast, Qld Australia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Great buy!
6.13.2013
" Bought the black - the worn look is not authentic but used the the kids shoe polish over the scuffed bits - worked a treat! Size is true and they're a little stiff but after wearing for a day they've softened and quite comfy. A little tight around the calves but not uncomfortable - I have medium sized muscular calves but I liked the looked as they fit snug but flare a little where studs are. Overall I'm happy $100 leather boots - I'm keen for the brown if they were in my size! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:Portlandia
age:31-35
body type:slender
Don't bother!
6.8.2013
" I bought these boots in black. I ordered a half size up and have thin legs but these were still pretty snug on my calves. I couldn't wear socks with them. The toe curves up in an odd way which I don't like. But, the part I really can't live with...the leather looks like plastic. It's really low quality looking and the wear marks are not in any way natural looking. I actually thought I had gotten the wrong boots and had to check online to make sure these were what I ordered. I ordered another pair because with FP, sometimes the same items vary significantly but the second pair came- equally awful. They are definitely a return! I had such high hopes. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:Oklahoma
age:21-25
body type:petite
Great Boots!
5.5.2013
" When I saw these go on sale I had to have them! I got the brown in a 7 and they're my new favorite boots! They're great quality leather and very affordable. The only negative is they're snug around the calves. Mine stretched a little bit, but they're still pretty tight! Besides that, they are perfect in every way! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:athletic
nothing like the photo
4.22.2013
" i should have listened to the reviews and skipped this one. The leather does look as cheap as the reviewers before me stated. The inside has a plastic material so it would be impossible to comfortably wear these with bare legs. The fit is ok. I just mailed mine back today, and oh btw, the soles looked like someone before me tried them on and wore them around the house as they were scuffed and a bit dirty. I guess they didnt like them either. What a shame. I had high hopes. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:Richmond, VA
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Don't waste your time on these
4.12.2013
" I should have totally trusted the other reviews and not bought these, but I decided to give them a try. What a huge disappointment. The leather is cheap and the distressing has not been done in a tasteful way at all. It looks so ugly. Besides the look, the boot in itself is very uncomfortable. It is way too tight, and because the leather is so cheap my feet and legs can hardly breathe in them. Don't waste your time on these. After so many negative reviews i'm surprised that it is still up for sale! "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:Upstate NY
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Pls don't bother with these!
3.28.2013
" I love boots. I love leather. I love Free People, esp when something I want is at a reduced price.
With all that being said...
PLS DON"T BOTHER WITH THESE BOOTS!
I should have heeded the warnings of all the other reviewers. But, I foolishly ordered the black and now I am hating the fact I have to pay for shipping to return these AWFUL BOOTS!
They don't look or feel like real leather. The picture is about 10X better than the actual boots. I wouldn't get these even if they were free!
"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.28.2013
We are sorry that you were unhappy with these boots. We will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:sacramento, CA
age:36-40
body type:petite
Not like picture, Hard, Cheap
3.21.2013
" The picture of these boots looks as though the leather is supple, shiny where not distressed, and the toe of the boot appears to be a fairly standard rounded point. The boots that arrived were the stiffest leather I have ever encountered on a shoe. The leather was a flat smooth STIFF color with zero give or bend. I put them on and it literally hurt my foot to try and press them into the very hard akwardly shaped foot. The toe curls upward and the top of the foot area presses hard into the top of my foot. I couldn't stand to wear them for more than a minute. I have very slender feet. The size length was just fine...true to a size 8 length, just horrible shaping. Returning. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:new york
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
not like the picture at all
3.15.2013
" if the boots that are in the picture arrived at my house i would be so happy! the boots that did come looked SO cheap and they were SO small. TOTALLY DISSAPOINTED!!!!!!!!! "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Love 'em
3.13.2013
" I love these boots. After reading other reviews I was hesitant but there is nothing about them I don't like. I ordered the brown color They look as they are depicted on the site. The fit is great. I ordered a 1/2 size up and I am glad I did. Very pleased. Would love them in black also. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:Campbell
age:36-40
body type:slender
Cheap
3.11.2013
" These boots are super cheap looking. The "distressed" marks are placed too symetrically, and the leather looks cheap.
I sent them back.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:tennessee
age:21-25
body type:petite
meh..
3.7.2013
" I was very excited to come across these boots (simple, leather riding-style, interesting distress,etc) until they arrived..my immediate impression was that they seemed poorly made by some machine set to do a harsh rub here, harsh rub there, and MAYBE land in the right spot, and call it a "distressed look". i was willing to deal with that and maybe doctor it up myself until i put them on. so disappointing. i wear a 7, sometimes 6.5. these were entirely too snug to justify. i have narrow legs and feet so that was not the issue- - my toes were crammed into the front and there was no possibly way to just get them "worn in". SO for the sake of review-if you are ok with a crummy machine job of a distressed look, which could possibly be remedied with some working dedication and artistic abilities, at least get a size up from what you Think you might wear. and then kick yourself for paying so much. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:US
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Not at all like photo.
2.18.2013
" The photo of this boot shows it off much differently than it is. I bought a size 8 in black -- I normally wear a 7.5 to 8. The fit was tight and leather very very stiff (though it may soften in time). As others noted hte discoloration looks ike cow spots and is looks forced, not distressed. . That too could be fixed with sandpaper as others suggested. However, the toes are very round (Mini Mouse looking) and the tips curve up which looks ridiculous. The leather also looks cheap which makes the overall boot lookes low quality. I returned immediately. They do look very cute in the photo but be warned, it is misleading. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.25.2013
So sorry that you were unhappy with your boots. A member of our service team will be in touch to offer assistance. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:austin
age:36-40
body type:athletic
has potential
2.5.2013
" i bought the black ones and returned them. i think these boots have potential, but you have to know a few things up front. 1) the shaft is quite narrow. i am 5'10" 140 lbs, slender-to-athletic. my sport uses my legs; i have calves. most boots fit, albeit snug sometimes. but these are no where close to zipping. 2) i bought a size 8. i wear a 7.5. they run about 1/2 to a full size short. i would recommend going up a full size to make room for a sock. width was average. 3) the distress marks look very manufactured on the black leather. the scuffs are in uniform locations and look to be done with sand paper. they don't appear natural, but could be acceptable for the price, or possibly reworked if you are creative. if they fit, i would not have returned them. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:Storrs
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Nice Boot!
2.2.2013
" I ordered these boots in a size 8 and they are a tiny bit small; (usually I am a 7.5 /8)
-they fit my calfs really nicely and look very slimming (this is why I bought them)
-I ordered the brown and the aging is very poorly done
-The toe turns up in the front so I suggest getting a half size up
-I was expecting a higher quality sole for the price of these boots
- I have only had them for a few days but from what I can tell they are not the kind of shoes you want to spend all day walking around NY in
on the up side; They have a certain charm- they are made of nice material and they the perfect balance between firm and slouchy
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 17 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:santa monica
age:31-35
body type:petite
Gorgeous boots!
1.26.2013
" I saw these boots at the local FP store and have been in love. I read the reviews and opted sizing up and they fit perfectly. They are a little small around the calves but I can still wear jeans and long socks. Great pair of boots!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:New York, New York
age:21-25
body type:slender
If possible, find these in person before buying
1.14.2013
" I purchased the brown color which is actually much redder in person. The leather also does not have the shiny appearance that is apparent in the photo on the website. The distressing on my boots also looks a little more intentional than it does in the picture.That being said, I actually saw these boots in person before I bought them so I did get what I expected. If you do have a FP location near you with a shoe selection, I suggest you check these boots out in person because they are quite different from the website.
I have very slender calves and have trouble finding boots with the right circumference so I am happy with these boots in this regard. I am usually a size 9 but might've opted for a 9.5 had it been available. They're a little too snug for really thick socks but I can live with that. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:IL
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Errol Leather Boot
1.11.2013
" I love these boots! Although they are def not as supple as they look I am hoping they will soften up as I wear them. I wear a size 8 and that is what I ordered. I too will take sandpaper to the boot so it won't look so uniformly distressed, but overall very happy I got them! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Errol Leather Boot
Name:
Location:ponte vedra
age:over 45
body type:slender
Nice, but way too narrow all over.
12.29.2012
" Such a nice boot, but you'd have to have stick legs for them to fit nicely. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>