Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Natural Habitat Dress

Lightweight crinkled tank dress with ruffled hi-low hem. Adjustable shoulder straps. Pleat detailing at front of neckline. Flouncy, shapeless style.
overall average rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for Natural Habitat Dress
Review 1 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Love the dress
7.25.2013
" I absolutely loved this dress. I first got it in Olive, loved his so much that I purchased one in black!! I am a size S but I had to get both dresses in size XS because they run a little large. It is the perfect summer dress!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Best Summer Dress Ever
6.30.2013
" This dress is weightless and perfect for the dry scorching triple-digit weather where I live. You don't want anything touching you in that kind of heat, and this just floats like a dream - but in a way where it moves and doesn't make you look like a full-time tent. I'm a tall, curvy woman, but going bra-less at home is no big deal in this, and, out in the world, I wear a strapless minimizer bra and feel free from all clinginess. Love the adjustable straps. If this had pockets, it would be perfect. I recommend this highly, and I'll buy it in other colors, if I can find them. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Pretty summer dress!
5.25.2013
" I just got mine in black, size small and it is exactly as it looks in the pictures. The fabric is flowy and soft, it is slightly sheer in the black so I would imagine it is more see through in the other colours. Fitting is a little loose, I'm a 34dd and there is room to spare. I think it's more flattering cinched in the back so I am going to sew 2 ribbons along the back seams to tie together and cinch it a little bit for shape. Overall, it is very pretty and flattering. I gave it 4 stars because the left strap was twisted and sewn on wrong so I had to snip it at the adjusting piece on the strap, flip it over, thread it through the adjusting piece again and sew it back. I didn't want to wait weeks for the exchange and it was the last one in a small anyway. I also thought it was a little pricey for a simple summer dress. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:Upstate New York
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Great Dress!
5.25.2013
" Bought this dress just a few days ago, and I am so happy with it. I'm 5'7'' and 130lbs, usually wear a small, but xs was perfect in this dress. This dress is great on its own for a comfy, flowy look, but also looks incredible belted; the bottom ruffles gather just right! Overall a great buy for the summer! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, il
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Great for all sizes
4.30.2013
" Great style, I'm 5'6" and a size 12 I also have a large bust. This dress fits great! I'd say it even runs slightly large. Super comfortable and light weight without being see through! I loved it so much I bought the kaki color after I bought the black. I get so many compliments! Great buy! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:Warm, sunny California
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Absolutely stunning
4.26.2013
" I couldn't wait to get this dress and it was all I hoped for. I am 5'3" and it came below my knee and mid calf in the back. I love the loose style and looks great with a tan and sandals. I ordered the ruby, also, and can't wait to get it. I want it in black so I hope it will be back in black and other colors. I'll buy as many colors as they can manufacture!!! Please more colors! This is the exact style of dress and top that I have to look so hard for so when I finally find it, I order every color! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:USA
age:41-45
body type:petite
Loved dress, but TOO SHEER!
4.25.2013
" The positive:
-- Super-comfy!
-- Fit was great (5'3", 114 lbs., ordered XS). Yes, it was loose and flowy, but this is true to style, I thought.
-- The length was great, even for me at 5'3" (front of dress hit at knee, which I wanted).
The negative:
-- SHEER. If you look at the back view of the dress in "olive," you can see the model's underwear pretty clearly. I ordered the dress in black, given that it did not look see-through online. WRONG. I tried it on and it's completely see-through. For me, this crossed the line from sexy to trashy. Stylistically, you cannot really pull this dress off as a tunic with leggings--too long and too voluminous. And... Who wears a slip these days?!
So, I LOVED the dress in general--it was comfy and just look look I was going for, but the sheer fabric was a deal breaker. I sent it back. :( "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:US
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Love This Dress
4.25.2013
" I ordered a M in the olive. Its well made. The material is not too think or too thick - perfect for summer and spring. The color goes with everything and the style is versatile- you can layer it, can go with flats, sandals or boots. Its got great detailing as well. Overall I love this dress - it's so cute on and it was well worth the money. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Perfect Summer Dress
4.10.2013
" L O V E this dress! I purchased the black one in M. I tend to wear between a L and M in FP. This hits me just below my knees and it dips a bit more in the back than pictured but it looks great. I should probably mention that I am 5'11 39-29-39. The fabric has this great subtle waffle-like texture and the straps are adjustable which is great. A tad pricey for what it is but totally worth it! I can style this dress for work or play too. If you are on the fence about it I say go for it! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:toronto
age:31-35
body type:slender
Nice and simple
4.1.2013
" I have this one in olive which was the only color available online at the time. They now have it in black and red! I found this dress to be quite roomy, and there are a few inches of space around the bust area (I'm small chested). Since the straps are adjustable, I shortened it so the fit was better but still a bit loose. It was acceptable to me though. I love the way this dress hangs. The length is the same on me as shown on the pics. But I think the length also depends on the length you make the straps. I'm 5'5 and 108 lbs for ref. I wore this with a long tea lace cardi and Frye boots. So simple and comfortable. The hems are finished unlike a lot of fp pieces. There is a fine diamond pattern throughout the fabric which is not seen very clearly on the pics. The fabric is very soft. I loved this piece so much I ordered in black too! Again another very versatile fp dress that you creative fp lovers can wear just the way you like! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:Sarah, Mississippi
age:31-35
body type:curvy
wanted to love:(
3.29.2013
" Got this in the red. Gorgeous color. Fabric soft, although COMPLETELY sheer. I got a small. I usually wear a 4 or 6. I understand Free People's "loose" fitting style, but this thing swallowed me whole. I am 5'4. the front came down well below my knees and the back was close to my ankles. Just too much. Really nice details around the neckline, but not enough to make up for the enormity of the cut. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Natural Habitat Dress
Name:
Location:Alberta, Canada
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Lovely
3.21.2013
" This dress is sooo lovely! At first I was hesitant because the bottom looked too much like a bubble however, once I tried it on, I fell in love. The fabric is extremely soft and flowy, and it could not be more perfect for a warm summer day. This one does fit large, so I sized down to an XS and it fits wonderfully. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants a comfy, yet cute dress for the spring/summer! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large