Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Heartstopper Dress

Black mini dress with brightly colored pattern at front of chest, around armholes and at upper back. Light pleating around the waist. Keyhole at upper back with button detailing. Zips up side of waist. Lined.
overall average rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for Heartstopper Dress
Review 1 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:DC
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Not what I thought it would be
8.8.2013
"I thought this would be a woven rayon dress with a batiked type (dyed into the fabric?) pattern. It's a t shirt knit thing. The design reminds me of those t shirts I bought at the beach in the 70s. Sticky, tacky, plastic-y feel. Terrible, feels just very very cheap. I'm sending it back first thing tomorrow. I've bought some vintage FP things on ebay and they were lovely. This is just awful."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful Dress
7.21.2013
"This dress is effortlessly beautiful. I bought this dress in black for a wedding and I cannot wait to wear it. The sizing is a little loose for me in the bust area, though. I bought a size 2 and I am 5 foot three inches and 107 lbs. Other than that it looks really cute on my petite frame!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:Cherry Creek Colorado
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love this dress
6.25.2013
"I ordered the black in a size zero and was literally checking the tracking info on a daily basis (maybe more often than that). I was just so excited to get it. I tried it on as soon as I got it and just loved it, the colors are exactly as pictured. I'm very very small so sometimes the 0's are still a little loose on me. I had to have it brought it under the arms, but other than that it fit really well. Every time I wear it I loose track of how many people stop to ask me where I got it. It's a great buy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
age:14-20
body type:athletic
great dress
5.24.2013
"bought this in black as a prom dress and I absolutely love it! it is a great flirty summer dress and i am planning on pairing it with super tall black heels. I am a size 2 and while the dress is tight in the chest (I am also a D) it definitely fits with a low- profile bra."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love the look but it's too Short!
4.27.2013
"I saw this and immediately fell in love with the black color. I tried it on and it looked good but was a little short. The shape is good and the color is even better. I'm an inch shorter than the model wearing this dress and I wear a 2 but this dress was almost too short to bend over in. It's really cute and has a great texture to it though. Even though it is short, I still and glad I bought it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:pennsylvania
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
perfect
4.21.2013
"i've been thinking about buying this dress for almost 2 months, but was really hesitant based on the reviews. i went to the store and actually found the dress and fell in love. the black and green contrast is unbelievably unique and i do not think it looks cheap in any way. reviews said it was way too short, but i'm 5'8 and a size 0 and had no problem. so happy that i bought this dress and can't wait to wear it!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
short
2.24.2013
"I wanted to love this dress so much! The colors are beautiful but its so short. I'm 5'8" and I could probably wear it with leggings but not on its own. I was really disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:slender
Not what I was expecting
2.8.2013
"I first saw this dress online and I loved it and almost ordered it. However, I went to my local Free People store, and saw it there. I was so disappointed! The dress looked really cheap. I didn't like the material and the pattern looked like someone just put a sticker on it. I'm so glad I didn't order it online."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:over 45
body type:petite
Very nice
2.6.2013
"I tried this dress in sizes 0 and 2, both fit but the length of the size 2 worked better for me. It is not difficult to have it on and off because it has both a button a the top back and a side zipper. I tried both colors, both were very nice but I liked the contrast of the green/blue against the black background better. It is not embroidered, and mine smelled a bit (chemicals) out of the bag it came in, but I left it hanging outside my closet for a few days and the smell was gone. I wore it yesterday and received many compliments and was asked where I had bought it by several people. The skirt part is lined so there is no need for a slip. Definitely a good buy for the price."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:Arizona
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Adorable!
2.4.2013
"When I first saw this dress online I wasn't super impressed, but once I tried it on in the store I fell in love! My usual size 2 fit perfectly (for reference my measurements are 34A, 26, 33). I do wish the detailing was more intricate and perhaps embroidered but I don't feel like it looks cheap at all. I got so many compliments when I wore it and it is definitely a new favorite!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:detroit
age:31-35
body type:petite
Heartstopper to get off!
2.4.2013
"This was a heartstopper dress for sure, as i struggled in the dressing room worried i couldn't get it off!~ I am 5'4", 115lbs, with narrow shoulders and a small bust. I tried on the 4 in this dress and although it fit me (was actually a little big in the armpits) i couldn't get this dress on or off easily because of the cinched waist. It is an adorable dress, very thin fabric, just didn't do much for me. I absolutely loved the print."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:Under Cover of Night
age:over 45
body type:petite
Sticky Screenprinting
2.3.2013
"I love the fit of this dress, which is pretty tts. The flare is just enough to give you some curve definition without being too poofy. I purchased this in the black color way and it looks pretty close to the online photos. The green and blue print is vibrant and eyecatching. I just could not get past the slightly sticky screenprinting that was done on it, which made the dress feel cheap. Unfortunately, this one is going back."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Sweet sweet simplicity
1.31.2013
"I LOVE this dress. Tried on the 0 and although it fit, I would not be able to wear a bra under it (too tight in the chest). So I opted for the size 2 (i am 5'2", 120lbs). I did not find that it was made poorly at all. I think it looks exactly as pictured. ( I bought the white dress. ) Great spring/summer find paired with some cork wedges or brown strappy sandals!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Very pretty, Wish the quality was better
1.27.2013
"The dress fits true to size, perfect length in my opinion (though I am very short). My only complaint is the pattern detail quality. Its like some weird, cheap-feeling, plastic-y I don't know what.. I wish it was embroidery or something nicer... Free people usually opts for quality, but on this dress I think they could have done so much better. Although I guess if it was embroidered it would be a lot more expensive! haha"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Heartstopper Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Striking colors but not for me
1.27.2013
"I tried this dress on in the store since I was drawn to the contrast between the black and the blue/green, which is very striking in person. The top of the dress was a bit loose on me (I'm 34A) and so was the waist line in my regular size 2. It was a bit on the short side, I could've used an extra inch or two since I'm looking for dresses that are long enough so I do NOT have wear leggings underneath in the summer. Overall, a nice dress but just not a great fit for me."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large