Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Embroidered Fable Dress

Floral embroidered maxi dress with "V"-neckline in front and empire waist. Front of waistline is stretchy. 3/4-length bubble sleeves. Sleeve hems are stretchy.
overall average rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Embroidered Fable Dress
Review 1 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:41-45
body type:petite
Perfect summer dress!
7.8.2014
"Everybody was right about this dress, it's beautiful! It's very airy & light, although it is a bit on the sheer side. I got the flaming red in XS & had to wear a half slip. Some people might get turned off by the low neck, it didn't bother me. Length is perfect! I'm 5'3 and the hem hit just above my ankle. Overall, this dress is worth every penny."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:West Palm Beach, Florida
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Perfect romantic, sweet dress!
6.29.2014
"I am so in love with this dress! First of all, the fit is perfect. I wear a size 8-10 dress typically and am 36DD, the Medium was a perfect fit. It's extremely difficult to find a dress that is both fitting and flattering with my larger chest...but this one is beyond perfect. The sweet neckline is cut low enough to be alluring but not at all too revealing or showy, which makes it super romantic. Everything about this dress just screams romantic actually. I'm 5'2" so it comes down to about my ankles (almost a full maxi on me but not quite) so it looks perfect with boots. The material is a little sheer but I like that, I wear a half slip with it and it's perfect. The embroidery is beautiful, you can see it's very well made and high quality. I was skeptical about if I would like the color, I bought the Flame Red, which at first was not my first choice (I wanted a blue or neutral color originally) but the red was the only one left in my size so I went for it and I'm so glad I did! I actually think that the red is the best color now that I've seen it in person. It's not a bright red, more of an orange red, the name Flame Red is very fitting as that's what it reminds me of. I couldn't have asked for something better, so excited to wear it all the time! If you're on the fence about this one, don't be. I think it's a flattering, beautiful and romantic dress for all sizes and the quality is flawless."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:CA
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
So Comfortable
6.24.2014
"I get so many compliments on this dress. Great everyday dress:)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:live in ohio
age:over 45
body type:curvy
looks awesome...not great in person
6.4.2014
"this dress is beautiful in the picture and is beautiful when you see it in person. after wearing it for only 30 minutes holes in the fabric started to appear all over the dress, front and back. the material is very thin and did not hold up at all. i did return dress and by the time i did the front of dress was filled with holes."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Flame Red Dress
5.30.2014
"Love this dress. Just arrived in Flame Red. It's a bit sheer but due to the darker color I think it'd only be a problem in some intense light with dark underwear. But be warned if you get a lighter color. Great fit, may be a little loose but it looks great that way."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Beautiful
5.23.2014
"I really love this dress. It's light and flowy and so comfortable. I like the sleeves and how the empire waist gives a nice definition. The embroidered print is lovely; the pattern that streamlines down the front of the body is flattering and makes me look taller than I am. Most maxis are pooling at my feet because I'm short, but I'm so glad that I didn't have to get this altered because the length came to my ankle--perfect! I bought a L and the fit was fine. Others mentioned that this is slightly see-through, but I bought this in black, so it wasn't too noticeable. You could see my bra if I stood directly in the sun, but that's about it. I imagine that this dress in lighter colors might be more sheer. Overall, it's a very pretty dress. If I could, I would buy these in other colors! I have my eye on the flame red and mulberry ;)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
lovely dress
5.13.2014
"Bought this dress in the dew drop blue color and it is simply beautiful. After reading past reviews on the fit running large, I ordered an x-small and couldn't be happier. The dress complements my figure and you can dress it up or down."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Great Dress
5.8.2014
"I bought this dress in white! SOOOOO many compliments. I had to buy an XS as the S was a bit large. The dress is also see-through so I purchased a vintage black slip to go underneath and it worked perfectly. I wore it with black high heeled boots and felt on top of the world!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:slender
In love!!
4.28.2014
"167cms, 55kg, 88cm bust.
Purchased this in Flame Red in xs. Fits loose around the middle even when pulled super tight which makes it pucker at the front. I don't care about the looseness as this dress is fabulous!! Super flattering. Envisaged the Flame red as being more red however it is exactly as pictured and I love the colour. The embroidery is gorgeous and I love the dress so much that I purchased the pale blue as well. Hope it comes out in a pale pink or that gorgeous raspberry colour. Great for casual or dress it up, really classy dress.
Highly, highly recommend."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love Love Love
4.13.2014
"I LOVE this dress! The embroidery is surprisingly well done. The color is true to the image, size and super comfortable! The material is super light so its perfect for spring. The one reason I couldn't give it a five was the REALLY poor sewing. My dress ripped where the drawstring was."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous dress
4.10.2014
"This dress is truly lovely, but it does run large. I'm usually a medium, but the small is quite roomy. The color and embroidery is lovely, I got the dew drop blue, which is really more of a periwinkle. It is longer than pictured on the model, but I still feel it doesn't swallow up my frame (I'm 5'2''). Does wonders for your neckline and very slimming. Would definitely recommend, though it is a little see-through and probably needs a slip or nude underwear."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:Akron, Oh
age:36-40
body type:slender
I think I'm in love!
3.28.2014
"This is one of the cutest sweetest dresses I have ever seen! I am 5'6 125lbs and a 32dd and I ordered it in xs and it fits like dream! I wish they make this again in solid cream!!! Adorable! A+ FP"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:boston
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Cute~ Some minor fit issues
3.28.2014
"I ordered the apricot color in XS since that was the only size available and all the reviews said that this dress runs large. The XS just fits me, and it's just ALMOST a bit tight on the shoulder(I'm a 34D and I consider myself to have broad shoulders). The waist and the length are fine, but I wish the sleeves are an inch longer so they wouldn't ride up above my elbows. The color is actually in a darker tone, like expected, but it looks great. So overall, I think it's a great dress. Sizing would be a bit tricky for someone in my shape. I think I would've gone with a S if available just so it would fit easier and more comfortable. Anyway, I'm still happy with the dress and going to keep it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:TN
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
One Not Enough
3.12.2014
"I love this dress. I am 5'3" and 125lbs. and bought this dress in a size small. It hangs nicely and is flattering on. I bought this dress in 3 colors and am happy with all 3 purchases."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:montreal, quebec
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
just gorgeous!
3.5.2014
"This dress is perfect for my curves. I ordered the black in M and fits amazing. I wish you restock the dress in red. so far my favorite dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:NH
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
beautiful dress, unique and flattering
2.24.2014
"I bought the dress in both black and white after contemplating spending that much money! When it still hadn't gone on sale after a year, I decided to splurge, although my favorite color was sold out! So, the fabric is beautiful, the embroidery is very special, it is indeed low cut but if you snap up the top snap, it is just fine. The fit is great, especially since you can cinch the waist if need be. I am 5'3 and 160 pounds with a 38C and the medium fit perfectly, with room to spare, so obviously this runs large. Also, it hits me at my ankels which is perfect for me. I may order it in apricot, as this is a perfect dress for weddings, dinners out, interviews and work ( I am a teacher)., it can be dressed up or down depending on shoes and jewelry. You will need a slip for the white dress, not the black. I will have to see how it does in the wash but so far, I can find no faults except the price!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Great dress
2.3.2014
"This is a fantastic dress - I am 5'11" tall and 190. Large is great - very long and fits great!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:athletic
LOVE
1.22.2014
"This dress is great. It's unique, easy, and has a special look about it. I get compliments every time I throw it on. I got the Tobacco color and am debating picking up another. For reference, I am 6'0 tall and this dress definitely "works" for tall girls."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:California, USA
age:31-35
body type:petite
mixed
1.22.2014
"This is the most beautiful dress I've ever worn! The embroidery is so lovely. The cut is perfect for my body type (5 foot and 114lbs). It is loose especially in the waist and chest but still has shape to it. I got an xs. It hits right at the ankle and looks so cute with the steven freebird luxton ankle boot! I just love it! But here's the sad part...I've worn it twice just for a few hours each time, haven't even washed it yet and already it has a hole beginning to form in the front! For the cost I am very disappointed. I understand Free People makes exchanges easy if need be but this just shouldn't be an issue with a dress this price. Can't it be made with better material then rayon if it's going to be nearly $200 when you throw tax into the mix!? Or at least up the quality...This dress would've gotten 5 stars if an exchange didn't need to happen"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Embroidered Fable Dress
Name:
Location:L.A.
age:36-40
body type:curvy
The girl with the curves wins!
1.19.2014
"Oh my word, I love this dress! Tried on a pale pink version off the rack and decided to go home before I bought it and see if other colors were available. Ordered it in online in black and I love it so much, I might need it in all the other colors. It is light and comfortable but should be worn with a slip unless you like to look naked when the sun shines through your clothes. Also, if you are a skinny mini, forget about it. I am a size 6/medium on average with clothing and the size xs/s fit me perfectly. Which is so wrong, yet alright. In my opinion, this is made for a girl with some buns and some chest. The hungry models in the photos do not do it justice. For once, the girl with the curves wins!
Please make this in a few more colors and offer this online in the real pale pink that I didn't buy in the store!"
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>