Product Reviews

Festy Super Flare

Distressed denim super flared 4-pocket jeans with denim patches destroyed holes. Bottom hems have been lengthened with extra distressed denim. Cool, All-American denim blue color that has a perfectly worn in, kicked back look. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size 28: Waist (all around): 31" Rise: 10 3/8" Inseam: 34 1/2" Leg Opening Width: 15 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Festy Super Flare
Review 1 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Bay City Michigan
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Love these jeans!
2.4.2013
"I am 5' 5" 135# and bought a size 28. I wish I had gotten the 27 for a perfect fit but since its my first Free People purchase, I cant complain. They are SO LONG, I had to cut the whole bottom hem off, wear boots with heels and they were still dragging the ground... but I knew that too so again no complaint really ;) Lastly, as mentioned, these are high waisted which takes some getting used to! But... nothing I couldnt deal with. Overall, I LOVE these jeans and got tons of compliments. Ill definately be back for more Free People!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:The Great White North
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
size down big time if your petite or slender
1.27.2013
"Great but I could have used a much smaller size as I am all legs and a small butte....bought size 28 but could have used a 26 or smaller and my normal size in other jeans is a 29"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Charlotte, NC
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
I love these jeans!
12.20.2012
"I'm not sure why so many people don't like these jeans. I'm 5'9 size 26-27 and I think they fit great. Free People, please don't start making jeans shorter. I like a 35" inseam myself so I do have to pull these down a hair to get that length but other than that they're perfect."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute, but huge.
12.5.2012
"I love these jeans and get a lot of compliments on them, but they are humongous. Based on the measurements and other reviewers, I bought a size 27 and definitely should have gone with a 25. However, being that they have that casual hippie look to them, they work being baggy just as well (with a belt). That said, I do wish I would have exchanged them for the correct size, but I ripped the tag off in my excitement and am stuck with huge jeans."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:41-45
body type:petite
Just need to work with these a little
10.3.2012
"I agree with what other reviewers said about the fit being weird, but they are workable for me. I might need to wear a belt to keep them from slipping down and I will probably where a longer shirt to cover the weird waist but the legs are the best part and they are ADORABLE! The thighs do fit slim but I think it makes my legs look skinny so I like that! If you are willing to work with them they are adorbs!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
great if you can make them work for you:)
8.13.2012
"Fabulous looking flares!!! Really really wanted to love these-...my regular size, 25 fit tight on the thighs big in the waist and did not flatter me butt while 26 looked better but landed low on the hip and had a funky fit in the crotch area. hiking the 26 up did not help either, they are very high wasted and this was clearly grandpa fit. The FP crew said these jeans fit totally awkward on most people that tried them on, but i agree with other reviewers, if you want them, you gotta work on the look. Its probably better to stay with your regular size and wear them until the fabric around the thighs stretch out. Did not think they were too long, though I'm petite at 5"4' and the 26", even riding low on the hip barely brushed the carpet with 2,5" platforms"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:36-40
body type:slender
Deal with it
7.25.2012
"I love these jeans, the fit requires getting use to. I was uncomfortable in my regular size 25, as the thigh is snug, so I ordered up & had a 26 shipped~ the problem is if you up size the waist is way to big so the jeans slide down & you get a long bunchy crotch area which is not at all comfortable. Get your regular size, deal with the tight thigh, it's meant to be tight to balance the extreme flare bottoms & they do stretch out as you wear them & break them in. They are insanely long, even with Campbell extreme platforms, unless you're pushing 6 foot plan to cut off bottom or take to seamstress to alter & re-attatch the hem. Finally they are high waist. So if you can deal with a tighter thigh, high waist & the extra expense of having the hem altered these are FANTASTIC statement jeans."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:northeast
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Crazy Long, Super Tight Thighs
7.5.2012
"I tried these on at a local Free People store where they are on sale for $37.50. Even at that price I didn't want them. The thighs were so tiny and they were long enough that I could have cut off the entire bottom above where they are seamed and they still would have been long (I'm 5'7"). The rise is really high, so they kind of fit like they were made for a guy. I have a friend who is almost 6' tall and about 110 pounds... these would be awsome on her...or Barbie...For the rest of us...eh."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
roaring 70s
5.29.2012
"compared to the original extreme flares, i find the waist to actually be looser. the crotch is very long, i think it's meant to fit higher waisted. besides the weird fit, i love the style of these jeans. i also like the color, patches and distress details. i'm 5'3" so these are super long on me. but the bottom cuffs come off quite easily, so you can get these hemmed and still keep the style."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Scottsdale Az
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Sexy, cool, an totally me! LOVE!
5.28.2012
"Well the issue with the fit everyone is talking about.... I don't see it. It is a higher waist style( I know the model has them lower) if you pull them up they look amazing. I have thiner thighs maybe I got lucky there. I am 5ft6 so yes they are long. I weigh 128 and I bought my regular size a 27. They make my butt look freakin awesome and they are snug enough in the thighs which I love. It's hard for me to find jeans tight enough in that area. Anyway they look hot and I can't believe I finally got them! Now I'm off to shop for some platform sandals do I don't drag these all over the place lol. Truly they are wicked cool in so many ways!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Cool but Weirdest fit ever :-(
5.7.2012
"I LOVE these jeans, and I LOVE this style-- no style better defines me. And when I saw these jeans, I fell in love. SADLY however, they are super tight in the thighs-- I wear size 24 usually, but the thighs were so tight that they felt weird in the crotch (pulling down). The size 25 was too bunched up in the crotch and waist, so alas... I can't wear these jeans :-("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:ny
age:21-25
body type:petite
Please re-do!!!!
5.2.2012
"These pants are freaking amazing..in theory. I mean look at them, the patchwork, the wide flare. For a festival lovin hippie like me these are a dream come true. From the moment I saw these in the catalog, I knew they were trouble. To me, they didn't even appear to fit the model. So I went to my local store and I tried these on because I just had to see for myself, maybe I'd get lucky. These pants have a terrible fit. I'm 5'2, that's the first problem, these would be impossible to hem and no doubt necessary. I'm 105 llbs. I normally wear 25. Here's the thing, they ray large around my waste and small around my legs? The inseam is all wrong. The crotch falls way too low and is kinda tight. The girls at the store all agreed they had the same issues. I so wish FP would re-do these, but get the fit right."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Houston
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Cute but Weird Fit
4.25.2012
"My advice it to go try on in store if you can. Im a 29 and had to get a 28 because the front belly and crotch was so big...looked like it was made for and man and his goods. In addition the crotch was long.and you wanted to pull up but made them high waisted jeans. Extermely tight on thighs. So here is the deal.....they will stretch out some....so I got the 28 and brought them to the tailor and he removed the waistband and cut them and put the waist band back on! The jeans were poorly designed for fit but are soooo beautiful I couldnt not get them. cost me an extra 30."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Super cut BUT...
4.22.2012
"This jean has so much character that I had to run to the nearest Free People to try them on. It's was disappointing. . The fit is not all aroung perfect. Like one of the feedback said, it's tight around the leg and loose in the waste. I nornally wear 24 and I had to go up to 25. The waste is big but the thigh area is tight. I'm planning to bring it to the seamtress and see if she can take in the waste and the length. If not, I need to return them. If you have to alter the hem then you are taking away the unique look so I'm torn as I really love the pants."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Sized up twice
4.20.2012
"Perfect hippie jeans but I concur with the other reviewers who had issues with the fit. I'm slender but not straight up and down (have hips) - for reference, 5'10" and 125 Ibs. I normally ALWAYS wear a 26 with room left over, but 26s were way too tight in the thighs. The 27s seemed like they fit OK in the thighs but were somehow tight in the crotch. Finally, I settled on 28s because I had a bit of extra slouch in the thighs, the crotch could be pulled up to a normal place; however, the waist is huge. I figured my best bet is to get the larger size and have them taken in at the waist. I've never bought size 28 jeans, so I'm glad I was able to go into the store and try them, as the difference from regular FP fit is huge for these jeans. The jeans themselves are adorable, denim is sturdy yet soft, and they have a perfectly worn in look. I couldn't give more than 3 stars because of the odd fit and the fact that I now have to pay for tailoring. Since they're high waisted, I'm not so sure that wearing a belt will look right - I think there will be too much scrunched up denim once the gaping waist is brought together."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Switzerland
age:31-35
body type:curvy
my summer of love jeans
4.20.2012
"I couldn't be happier about this pants! Very unique, super soft denim, comfortable, sexy and I must say they fit me perfectly. Worn with a pair of heels or platforms they have the perfect length. A+ hippie goodness!!! For reference I am 1,70m and wear a 31. If they would come in a darker wash as well, I will not hesitate to grab another pair :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:north central florida
age:26-30
body type:curvy
AMAZING!!
4.16.2012
"So I just got these in the mail today and immediately put them on, and I haven't taken them off!! These jeans are AMAZING and exactly what I was hoping for!!!! Denim is great quality, perfectly faded, comfy but NOT stretchy (I hate freaking stretch denim. I want some real jeans, thanks) and I could not be happier. I know some folks have taken issue with the fit, but I recently had a baby and I'm carrying extra weight around my middle/upper hips, and it's SO hard for me to find pants that fit...but these TOTALLY worked. Very comfortable and totally flattering, I'm kind of an unusual shape and I needed some pants with an unusual fit. They're long but it's workable. Love. For reference, I'm 5'8', 180 lbs, got size 31."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:36-40
body type:athletic
SUPER CUTE BUT AWFUL FIT!
4.15.2012
"So because I read the reviews before I ordered, I sized up. I normally wear a size 27 or 28 in free people jeans and I ordered a size 29. I am 5'7. They are so cute and exactely as pictured, but the fit, HORRIBLE. The waist is big and the thighs are tighter but because I sized up they are fine. I just wear a belt and Voila, they work out great. Still very long but I wear my high platforms with them. If you dont like wearing platforms ( High ones) then dont bother getting this jean because the cost to alter them is not worth it because you want to keep the cute way they are at the bottom. Just size up and wear a belt. If you like a bell bottom fun pair of jeans you have never seen before, get them:-)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Why so long FP??
4.13.2012
"The look of these jeans are fantastic, but they are sssooo long! Not sure why a lot of FP jeans have a 34" or longer inseam instead of 31". With these jeans if you hem or cut them, depending on how much, it will take away from the detailing at the bottom of the legs. When I tried them on with 3" wedges, they were still too long. I'm going to cut the bottoms about 2" just so I can wear heels with them. I don't really have the same problem as the other reviews in the crouch area. Because the jeans didn't have any stretch I ordered the next size up. I have a set of "hips" on me and without stretch I wanted to accommodate for this and they fit me perfectly in the hips and seat area and the gap in the back is minimal, but the size larger also fits me more "high rise" versus the lower waist. I am going to keep them because they are so authentic. I just wish FP would make the inseams shorter for us women with average heights. I'm 5'6" and I'm only hoping after cutting 2" off the bottoms they will be short enough."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Festy Super Flare
Name:
Location:Denver
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Super Cute Awful Fit
4.12.2012
"I have to agree with the other reviewer. I got these in the mail today and was unbelievably excited as they were on back order when I purchased them. The look and color are amazing and exactly what I've been looking for in a flare. That being said when I put them on the thighs were comfortable the butt was huge and the waist was massive. Even with a belt the pants bunch and look funny for such a high waisted style. They fit right at the belly button. I am disappointed but hopeful that if I just size down about 2 sizes they will fit the way they are supposed to. I am still very in love with these jeans and will attempt to keep them just in a smaller size. Oh and they are very long. On my 5'8 frame I could still lose about 2 inches off the bottom while in a platform."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>