Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cascade Convertible Skirt

Soft marled maxi skirt with ruffled high-low hem and elasticized waistband. *56% cotton, 44% polyester *Machine Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Back Length: 41" Waist: 25 1/2" relaxed
overall average rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Review 1 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
A favorite.
2.22.2013
" I have this in Ivory and wear it all of the time, as a dress, and as a skirt. I love the convertible aspect of this! I would love it if they came out with more colors. I'm wishing for this one in black. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
runs long and large
2.16.2012
" I recommend to size down. I am a medium and I went for the small. This is just as pictured. Thin material. Sheer, so I would recommend layering shorts. Very effeminate. Great for the beach. Perfect for spring/summer. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Tampa
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Comfortable and versatile
2.7.2012
" I went one size down to a S in the tangerine and I love this skirt! Its lightweight and a little sheer, but wearing nude shade undergarments should suffice. I was a little surprised at how long this is. With the elastic waistband right at my bellybutton, the bottom hits the floor, and I'm 5'8". I rolled the waistband over a few times and that did the trick. I love how this can be worn as a skirt or a dress. Great piece. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Beautiful summer item
1.26.2012
" This skirt looks awesome as a dress or as a skirt. I either layered it because it is a little see-through or wore it as a cover up in the beach. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:31-35
body type:slender
so very tropical!
12.24.2011
" All this skirt needs is a coconut, a hammock and a bikini! Life is simple with a skirt like this. Oh, and it can be a dress?! Sweet deal 'cause they barely let you take anything on the airplane these days! Smart choice for packing for the tropics. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Nice
12.10.2011
" This is a nice skirt to wear out and about. Looks great with a band/logo t-shirt and sandals. I had to cut the back ruffle a bit to get the skirt off the ground, and the slit opening doesn't go up as high as pictured, but the ruffle does, so no biggie. Not really a winter skirt, so don't plan on wearing this again until summer if you get it. As for sizing, this is one of those items where it really doesn't matter what size you get. If your usual size is available, get that. If not, you could go up or down and not notice. I say this because when I got mine the store was out of smalls, but I was able to get the white in an xs and the charcoal and a medium, and frankly, they both fit the same. There's not even much difference in the length. The waistband is super stretchy. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Calabasas
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Perfect for every season!
12.2.2011
" I bought this over the summer in tangerine and it can be warn in so many ways. I am only 5'2 so its too long for me to wear it at the hips without it dragging a bit. I wear it high wasted with a longer bandeau and a belt or as a dress. I get so many complements on this skirt and highly recommend it... But just a warning it is a little see through. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:14-20
body type:petite
Super versatile
9.22.2011
" I own this skirt in both orange and white and loooooove them both. It looks great as a dress or skirt. I tend to wear the white one as a dress, and the orange as a maxi skirt more frequently. However, the one drawback is that both colors are very sheer. Layering is an absolute must with this skirt/dress. This is not a problem for me, so I love this piece just the same. It's super comfortable as well. If you are a fan of the maxi trend, definitely give this skirt a shot. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Easy Hi Low Tank Dress
4.6 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
Stretch Rayon Jersey Chemise
4.4 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:petite
The white is a smidge sheer
8.28.2011
" I bought this in the white, and while it is a fabulous layering piece, I wouldn't wear it alone unless you have a bodycon under it. For a 5'2" girl, I'm finding it to be too long when worn as a skirt (as it drags on the ground), so I will have to mend it a bit. However, when wearing it as a dress, the length works well (though a bit longer than shown on the model). The fabric is very thin and casual looking, so I can't imagine someone getting away with this as a formal piece, but that's not what it was made for anyway. A great piece if you don't mind hemming it! :)
Tip: If you wear it layered over or under another fp skirt (as in the floral godet duster like I do), it looks fabulous! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP New Romantics Floral Godet Duster
4.5 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Concept = A+ Execution = Epic Fail
8.13.2011
" I don't often write horrible reviews for FP clothes, but this skirt is def one piece I have little good to say about. This is coming from a gal who lives for warm bright colors and feminine styles. In this skirt I was thrilled to find both...a tangerine dream. Then it arrived. Basics first. I am 5'5" and measure 38-26-36. I normally wear S or XS in FP bottoms. I went for XS and it was still roomy. If there was an XXS, it would fit perfectly. The length was actually great, which makes the rest so sad. I can wear this in bare feet and the hem is just off the ground. OK. Here goes. The tangerine color is not as bright as it appears online. The fabric is very thin and cheap looking IMO. This honestly looks like a discount store beach cover up. I assumed I could wear this with while frilly tops and boots, etc. NOT! The only place I could see myself using this on vacation, when you need disposable pieces that can get wet and sandy to throw over your bikini. Even then, I would not pay $88! The thin elastic waist adds to the low quality vibe. The worst is still to come..the ruffle. The unfinished ruffle hem is not bad but the ruffle up the front of the skirt is hand cut with no particular symmetry. I truly believe that the seam was stitched up and then a wavy line was cut freehand with scissors at the fabric edge. I sent this back. I wish FP would use more bright warm colors outside of beachwear and bras. :-( "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Not Sheer!
8.4.2011
" I purchased the Cascade skirt in the tangerine color at a Free People shop for $29.99 last week and I love it! Contrary to what others have said, this skirt is not transparent. Of course you can't wear dark leopard print underwear under it, but that seems to be common sense, right? Other reviews make it seem like this skirt is made of Saran Wrap, but it is definitely a decent weight. The fit is great and it looks adorable both as a dress and a skirt. As I mentioned, I bought this in one of the shops and for $29.99 you can't beat it. I may go back and pick up the black one as well. Definite thumbs up! "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
HUGE rough fabric
8.1.2011
" This skirt is ridiculously big and cannot be worn as a dress, even with a belt. The material is kinda terry cloth like and more suited for the beach. it looks really basic and plain. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Lovely piece
7.27.2011
" I got the black in size Med which is my normal FP size. I am 5' 6"and have to wear this right below my bust if I dont want it draggin on the floor. I got the black since it is more wearable in both Summer and Fall. Still a bit sheer but nothing a slip cant fix.
Lovely piece and I am glad I purchased it!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
LOVE IT
7.15.2011
" I got the coral in a large and it is veryyy pretty. Yes, it is a bit sheer but that is what layers are for. I love the fact that you can wear this as a skirt or a dress. The fabric is very soft and comfy. When I wear this as a skirt, it is a little long, so I hike it up to my natural waist and that fixes the length issue. Very pretty! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:maui, makawao
age:41-45
body type:curvy
cute but long for a skirt
7.6.2011
" i love the color for summer as a dress its cute and a skirt its long but nice cool fabric "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:21-25
body type:curvy
love love LOVE
7.2.2011
" I bought this skirt in the tangerine color and i can't stop wearing it! I originally tried on the white but it was just too sheer for my liking. I'm normally a Large, but my sister convinced me to get a Medium and it fit perfectly. I love it as a dress, whether casual or formal. I haven't tried it as a skirt yet. i'm still looking for the right top to go with it, but i know I'll find one soon. So if you're looking for an easy breezy skirt/dress, this is it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Great as a dress for short people, not a skirt!
6.21.2011
" If you want to wear this piece as a dress, get the XS!!! I'm normally a medium in FP skirts and dresses (5'3", 34D and 140 pounds) and the XS was the only size that didn't fall right off me. It's difficult to wear this piece as a skirt either high waisted or at your hips if you're my height, since it's so long (yes, I tried rolling it down, but it's not that comfortable that way) but if you are over 5'7" it would probably be totally fine. I bought this in black and I will warn you, if you wear black underwear under this dress/skirt everyone will be able to see it! Get some good layering shorts in a lighter color and you should be fine. I love this piece, it's super light and airy, very comfy. The cascade ruffles fall beautifully. It's one of those dresses that makes you want to do pirouettes all day and watch as it fans I recommend getting a nice skinny belt to wear around either your waist or just under your boobs, otherwise it has no shape as a dress. With wedge heels this is a stunner! The reason it's only 4 stars is because of its length... too long to wear as a skirt! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Costa Waist Belt
3 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 18 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:indiana
age:21-25
body type:petite
looove this skirt!
6.20.2011
" I got this in the tangerine in a size XS and I looove it! It is semi-sheer, so I wore a nude bandeau and nude bloomers to fix that issue. You could also wear a seamless slip underneath if you have one! I wore it as a strapless dress with a belt, jean jacket, and flat sandals and it was sooo cute! I got tons of compliments. On me, it was like the perfect maxi length (I'm about 5'2'') with flat sandals and I could probably do it as a maxi skirt if i wore it at my (empire) waist with heels. I get that the price point is sort of high, and I admit it almost held me back from getting it. But the dress was so cute on and I just kept thinking about it, so I went ahead and bought it. I think if you're really crazy about it and know you'll wear it & get your use out of it -- ie, wear it different ways -- then you should get it because it really is a fun piece! "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Lace Trim Bike Shorts
4.7 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Southern Florida
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Severely Sheer!
6.11.2011
" The skirt is pretty, light, and perfect for warm weather. However, for the $88 price tag, I had to return it, as the quality is not quite worth that much. This skirt is VERY sheer! Be forewarned. If you plan on wearing this a lot--for casual work days, for afternoons out, whatever--you'll be conscious of how sheer it is. In that sense, it perhaps makes a good item to throw on atop a swimsuit, but something like this should be more versatile than that. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Cascade Convertible Skirt
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:slender
love this skirt
5.15.2011
" I recommend going a size larger so it will rest below the belly button like displayed in the picture. I did not like the fitted feel in my regular size. I bought this cream skirt in April and wore black and heather gray leggings under it and in warmer weather with a long tee and belt. Love it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>